belle 0 Report post Posted March 5, 2007 I used Shalom on various people's recommendation last year. We found them quite good. My MIL recently used Highpoint which she found cheaper.Both Shalom and Highpoint are companies that give ex offenders or those on probation (not too sure which) a second chance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cornetto 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2007 just got a quote... 1 queen bed & 50 boxes about $260... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2007 hi, anyone who engaged a mover with wardrobes to be dismantled and reassembled?shifting in june, now still looking for someone who knows how to reassemble the wardrobes without problem. tia Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dizzy 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 hi, anyone who engaged a mover with wardrobes to be dismantled and reassembled?shifting in june, now still looking for someone who knows how to reassemble the wardrobes without problem. tiaHi applefreak, we just moved ! the mover I engaged was pretty good...they can dismantle and reassemble for you. They are also pretty careful with our furniture, although no bubble wrapping. Their services are pretty good, punctual, fast and courteous. You can contact Jimmy at 92716042. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2007 thanks. it seems he is recommended by quite a few pple Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
krisietong 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 is it possible to pay less than $200 for movers service to shift 1 ikea computer table, 1 single bed (oreadi detached), stacks of clothes, books, CDs, small TV, DVD player and computer+printer.. i would estimate we will need ~20 cartons.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2007 is it possible to pay less than $200 for movers service to shift 1 ikea computer table, 1 single bed (oreadi detached), stacks of clothes, books, CDs, small TV, DVD player and computer+printer.. i would estimate we will need ~20 cartons..if you've friends who drive a lorry can help you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
krisietong 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2007 if you've friends who drive a lorry can help you. actually i was thinking of hiring a van as well.. but we have to DIY to shift our barang..so was thinking whether it will b cheap to hire service to move our things.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
korea 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2007 actually i was thinking of hiring a van as well.. but we have to DIY to shift our barang..so was thinking whether it will b cheap to hire service to move our things..it'll be best that you borrow your friend's lorry or van. after that treat your friend a meal. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
krisietong 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2007 keke.. that will be cheapest way.. but we dun have frens with lorry or van leh..mayb have to ask my lao pei Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chunky Monkey 2 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 Has anyone used Sir Move Services? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chunky Monkey 2 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 Q1 - Do all movers provide FREE packing materials, i.e. boxes, tapes?Q2 - Do all movers know how to dismantle bed sets, box shelves and fix them back?Q3 - What is the cost differential between complete pack-move-unpack services versus "move only" services? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 3, 2007 (edited) 1. not all provide. it's a matter of negotiation for everything including bubble-wrap, boxes, tapes etc2. not all know how to fix them back properly3. one packs for you and the other moves only? the complete ones are good for pple who are too busy to pack, dun know how to pack to maximise space in boxes, a lot of different stuff going to different parts of the house, have fragile items to be transported. other times, move only services will be good enoughnote - not all movers provide insurance so if you have fragile AND expensive items better to get a more reputable company. can be an antique table or wardrobe from your grandmother Edited July 3, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chunky Monkey 2 Report post Posted July 4, 2007 Thank you, applefreak. As you can tell, I have never done a major move before. DH mentioned about using Crown. He used Crown a few times when he relocated from Jkt to BKK to SG. I am thinking using Crown for local move is a kind of OTT.The other reputable ones I have heard are Sante Fe & Allied Pickfords.I want a fuss free move, and as swiftly as possible. As I anticipate a delay in completion of my reno, and I will have relatives coming to live with me in my new home at the end of the year. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted July 4, 2007 no problem. all these i gathered from friends and forum threads coz i'm a very kiasu person depending on your items, using Crown may not be OTT if you have some valuable yet heavy itemsread about a forummer whose table was damaged during the move but the company refused to take responsibilitythat after he repeatedly tell them that the table is expensive and of sentimental value to him, from the receptionist who picked up the phone to the person who made the appt to the person who came down to do valuation to the person who actually moved the table big companies are fuss free, also have heard horror stories where the movers load everything onto their lorry, then stop halfway and demand for more money. or else they will unload everything Share this post Link to post Share on other sites