renotm

4A Resale... Somewhere North

If I'm you, I choose Z. First is price cheap by 30%. 30% can be little can be more, depends on the total price quoted. Second is this is your contractor's contact. It will be easier for them to work together, you don't have to liaise. Third, no additional charges for two trips. All the advantages are laid on your table, you decide.

Edited by ayazumi

Hi, thanks for the advice! I am also leaning towards Z, just that I felt bad as I verbally agreed to engage A previously. Now thinking of how to tell A. Haiz.

If I'm you, I choose Z. First is price cheap by 30%. 30% can be little can be more, depends on the total price quoted. Second is this is your contractor's contact. It will be easier for them to work together, you don't have to liaise. Third, no additional charges for two trips. All the advantages are laid on your table, you decide.

Hi, thanks for the advice! I am also leaning towards Z, just that I felt bad as I verbally agreed to engage A previously. Now thinking of how to tell A. Haiz.

Z Z Z!!!

Seems like your reno progress is just about the same pace as mine. Hehe

Well, if I were to be in your position, i would just engage Z and let the contractor liaise with him, on top of that can save 30%! No need to think liao. Consumers are realistic they go to whoever gives the best price and best quality. :P

no need to say anything lah.... if A calls, then tell him your contractor already did it. no need for him to do it already loh.

or else, you can call him and tell him the same. no need to feel paisey.

Day 3:

The Big Red/white container that greets me when I arrived late in the afternoon. :sport-smiley-018:

IMG_5240.jpg

From Main door, most debris cleaned up, replaced with loads of sand.

IMG_5265.jpg

Bags of cements and the tiles... Lots of cements but not that many tiles?? :unsure:

IMG_5244.jpg

The remains of the hacked off wall...

IMG_5260.jpg

A partial view of the "bare" kitchen.

IMG_5266.jpg

Day 4:

Went up after work on the 4th day, but as it was quite dark, can't take much pic. Only managed to take one decent photo of the common toilet. They have started patching the hacked walls with cement and make good of the hacked edges.

IMG_5267.jpg

Day 5:

They patched up the "hole" which was a beam (on the left)

IMG_5277.jpg

The kitchen's side is also patched up.

IMG_5281.jpg

They also make good of the rough floor.

IMG_5270.jpg

Finally the tiling began... in the kitchen. :dribble:

IMG_5272.jpg

Day 6:

Busy day. Window guys are here to install the new windows; air-con guys here to remove the old piping, the tilers are quietly tiling away... took half day off to meet the air-con guy to go thru the possible route for re-piping.

These greets me when the lift door opened, the old windows: :thumbs up:

IMG_5291.jpg

As I walked up the stairs... the new windows greets me again! :dancingqueen:

IMG_5294.jpg

When I opened the main door, at least 8 men are in the apt. :jawdrop: Very different from the last few days... no one was there. But all are very cooperative, quietly doing their own things. Although it's full of pple in the apt, the place is actually quite quiet.. :thumbs up:

The new window frame, with air-con piping gone.

IMG_5311.jpg

IMG_5310.jpg

Day 6 (cont):

Window guys at work:

IMG_5301.jpg

IMG_5317.jpg

Tilers at work:

IMG_5302.jpg

Am fascinated by the way they mix the cements... stood there for a good 5-10 mins watching them doing the mixing and "blending"

IMG_5304.jpg

IMG_5307.jpg

Day 6 (cont):

After discussion with the air-con guy (he took my 4 blowers with him as there is no "safe" place in the apt to place them), spent some time chatting with one of the window guy. He said normally by early afternoon, a total replacement of windows should be completed by then, but mine was only 3/4 completed. He said for HDB, my windows are consider very "tall", that's why they need to spend more time to do it. Decided not to disturb them anymore, I left the place after spending ~2hr there.

Took a pic of the old windows that are sitting by the corridor when I left... this is what I saw, at eye-level (me height ard 1.55m). This should indicate how "tall" are these windows. ;)

IMG_5319.jpg

Day 7:

Went up after work as usual, the tilers are still working. Chat with them a little then I left.

As I forgot to bring my camera, so no pic.

Day 8:

Did not go up.

Day 9:

Went up today to check the progress and to bring more water up for the workers.

The kitchen's wall tiles are 90% completed! :dribble:

IMG_5324.jpg

Water proofing on-going for kitchen and both toilets:

IMG_5332.jpg

IMG_5323.jpg

The common toilet's wall tiles are also 90% completed:

IMG_5327.jpg

The toilet's new windows (with cut-out for ventilation fan):

IMG_5321.jpg