ayazumi 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 The aircon trunking looks scary. Unless you do false ceiling, otherwise got to re-route the whole trunking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XTR 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 wow..check out how far in the sunlight reach. Bright and Hot at the same time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Terrain1976 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 Cant wait to see the progress of your reno.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2012 This is the current idea of the layout, those black horizontal lines are track lights.No furniture have been purchased so final placement of the living/dining area may still change. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Hi renotm, why don't you place the track lights parallel with the sofa? I personally prefer that way so that the lights won't shine directly on me when I'm sitting at the sofa. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 This is the current idea of the layout, those black horizontal lines are track lights.No furniture have been purchased so final placement of the living/dining area may still change. your layout totally different from what you told me you wanted. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Not enough space loh, actually there is a top beam above the sofa. With the min 2ft requirement from ceiling fan, this is what I can think of. One thing good about track light is you can turn the bulb to face whichever direction you want. Hi renotm, why don't you place the track lights parallel with the sofa? I personally prefer that way so that the lights won't shine directly on me when I'm sitting at the sofa. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Very different meh? I like this coz I can still watch TV from kitchen and the dining area is closer to kitchen, easier to mingle if got guests over. And the TV area is 'block' from direct sunlights if watching in the afternoon. your layout totally different from what you told me you wanted. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Very different meh? I like this coz I can still watch TV from kitchen and the dining area is closer to kitchen, easier to mingle if got guests over. And the TV area is 'block' from direct sunlights if watching in the afternoon. yup, very different. the extra bedroom is so far away from the common toilet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XTR 1 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 renotm, need more fans. your bedroom whole evening/night on air con? standing fans cheapens the place.i feel that valerie has a pt bout the track lights being aligned with sofa but its not an issue since u can turn it away. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Got, all rooms have wall fans (see closely, hee), coz I dun like ceiling fan above my bed when sleeping. As for the track lights, I can ask my electrician if got enough clearance if change the direction of the tracks. Any other suggestions? All are very welcome. TIA! renotm, need more fans. your bedroom whole evening/night on air con? standing fans cheapens the place.i feel that valerie has a pt bout the track lights being aligned with sofa but its not an issue since u can turn it away. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Oh well, my dad refused to come over, even for short stay. So I might as well do what I like to it. Worst case, I let him have the master room. yup, very different. the extra bedroom is so far away from the common toilet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Got, all rooms have wall fans (see closely, hee), coz I dun like ceiling fan above my bed when sleeping. As for the track lights, I can ask my electrician if got enough clearance if change the direction of the tracks. Any other suggestions? All are very welcome. TIA! wall fans doesn't look nice leh.... if choose between wall fans and standing fans, then you better get standing fan. cos there are tower type of standing fans.... hehehehe.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Yeah, wall fans not very nice, but kitchen one I think still OK, 'hidden' at one corner near fridge. Heehee. As for the rooms, other than I dun like fans above bed, I also feel is less cooling than stand fans. I loved my current 6yr old 12" kdk standing fan. Small and powerful. Maybe add one more ceiling fan to the study room. The other 2 main bedrooms either standing or keep as wall fans. @thinking@ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renotm 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2012 Today went over after work at ~630pm to meet my contractor to go over the laying of tiles. As sky was totally covered with dark clouds, the place was very dark, unlike a few days ago, the sunlight shines across the entire hall to the main door. The workers made smooth some of the raw edges from the hacking and some cement screed already on the toilets' wall. But it was too dark to take any picture, even with my HP's flashlight on. Anyway 2 things came up today that may require me to make some changes to my original choice. First is air-con. As I am intending to keep the current air-con units, and just changing the piping and relocation of 1 of the fan-coil, my contractor suggested to have the air-con guy come in to remove all old pipings and take down all fan coils. Then after the plastering, then install back the fan coils. So I called up my original intended air-con guy A. He was nice (as always), but stated that if need to come down to remove the pipings, there will be extra charges (+GST). He suggested my contractor to take down the piping since they should know how to remove. Then my contractor recommend me her usual air-con contact and ask me to give Z a call. So I did. His price is about 30% lesser than A and he is okay to come down 2x without extra charges!! Now I am in dilemma, as I have previously verbally told A I will engage his service (but we did not make any deposit or fix any date) and he could not make it sooner as their work is quite packed. On the other hand, Z is able to make it these 2 days and has a good working relationship with my contractor (her own place's air-con is done by Z). So should I just go with Z since I did not make any deposit with A? 2nd thing is my kitchen top. Today I called up Ocean Granite to double confirm the quotation, specifically for my island. To cut the long story short, the lady boss politely explained to me that for the size of my island top, it will be VERY heavy for her workers to move it into the lift and furthermore, my place is not yet lift-level. Therefore she may not be able to take my order for the one-piece island top. Then I asked if cut into 2 pieces, ok? She said possible but not very nice (looking). She then ask me to email her the exact dimension of my island top, and she will try to see if this can be make possible. So this means I need to start looking at alternate source for my kitchen top. :bangwall: I started calling some companies that I found on google, and 1 turns out to be quite promising. The sales guy told me he will send me some catalogue and pass me a sample tmr to check it out. I will see if this alternate source is workable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites