renotm

4A Resale... Somewhere North

Have been thinking about my kitchen layout. Initially wanted an U-shape kitchen, but with the storeroom (originally) in mind, there is not enough space for the breakfast sitting area. After meeting May_dream1 (thanks, May! :yamseng:) and seeing her kitchen in person, have been wondering if I can place an island in my kitchen (May_dream1 can give lots of ideas, pple who needs help in designing their place can look for her... :P).

kitchendesign.jpg

Option 1: a ~10ft 0.8m wide Island in the middle of the kitchen with ~0.9m walkway on both sides. With this layout, thinking of not doing any wall(top) cabinets on top of the hod/hood and sink side bottom cabinet. The wall side bottom cabinet will be ~13ft.

Option 2: Keep the original L-shape kitchen, with 2 top cabinets on each side of the chimney hood. Replace the breakfast top with a 80cmx80cm dining table. Something like this Helping Hand's old coffee shop style.

http://www.thehelpinghand.org.sg/product.php?id=6&type=Dining

Any suggestion/comment?

Hi reno, hope your contractor confirmation had been smooth so far.

For option 1, think there are some webbies that recommend at least 1.2m of walking space, otherwise it may be quite cramped. You can try stacking some books or big items to that height and width so as to have a feel of the walking space.

Hi keyswz,

Thanks for the suggestion. I did roughly measure the 0.9m width in my current place. It does seems fine.

So how is your renovation going? Anymore updates? :)

Hi reno, hope your contractor confirmation had been smooth so far.

For option 1, think there are some webbies that recommend at least 1.2m of walking space, otherwise it may be quite cramped. You can try stacking some books or big items to that height and width so as to have a feel of the walking space.

China is ok, super tired... a 12-hr traveling (transit/wait/flight) is no joke. still trying to recover.

Nope, the city I went to got nothing much to buy. only bought some local snacks and souvenirs for colleagues.

Finally you are back. So how is everything on china? Bought anything back?

China is ok, super tired... a 12-hr traveling (transit/wait/flight) is no joke. still trying to recover.

Nope, the city I went to got nothing much to buy. only bought some local snacks and souvenirs for colleagues.

Oh, nothing for me meh??? No snacks?

didn't buy much snacks (and trust me, you most likely wouldn't like it either), coz got to bring the training materials back too.

But I do have some small souvenir if you like one. :)

Oh, nothing for me meh??? No snacks?

start a singles owner club liao....we visit each other every week.....lol.

count me in if got such club...lol..

still l@@king for a unit myself cos need to move out from current house by may/june...

hopefully can find the "ideal" house soon.

didn't buy much snacks (and trust me, you most likely wouldn't like it either), coz got to bring the training materials back too.

But I do have some small souvenir if you like one. :)

hahaah... just teasing you lah..... but so nice of you to offer.

count me in if got such club...lol..

still l@@king for a unit myself cos need to move out from current house by may/june...

hopefully can find the "ideal" house soon.

cookiez, you also single? hahaha.... if we have a singles club then maybe once a month meet lah. every week like too much leh.... hehehe....

yup...moi also single :yamseng:

once a mth meet up is a better idea cos i have to work during weekends so can't possibly meet every week..

yup...moi also single :yamseng:

once a mth meet up is a better idea cos i have to work during weekends so can't possibly meet every week..

why do you need to move out of your current place by may/june? then you started looking for flat? not so easy to look for flat and get everything done then do reno too.

i was needed to move out by march and i started viewing in Oct but in the end also delayed the moving to apr.

why do you need to move out of your current place by may/june? then you started looking for flat? not so easy to look for flat and get everything done then do reno too.

i was needed to move out by march and i started viewing in Oct but in the end also delayed the moving to apr.

sorry may_dream...i will reply u in your thread...dun wanna hijack renotm's thread :P

It has been a little while since I last updated any progress on my reno. Nothing much has happened for the past 3 weeks due to work. Went to check out a well recommended shop in the west last Sat (a ~70min bus journey) for rewiring quotation. The boss and staff are very helpful and friendly. If get the lights from them, the installation fee will be FOC. They even give me their price list so that I can do my own calculation based on my requirement. Very transparent in dealing. :good: Most likely they will be the one doing my electrical work.

Also arranged a site-visit with a potential main contractor and window contractor this coming weekend to my next residence for a more accurate quotation.

Was actually more or less settled with my layout design... until last night, my beloved sister drew me a new concept which I quite like.

So today, after work, spent some time changing the layout to see if her concept is workable (with some improv by me of coz :P)

The original one:

originaldesign.jpg

The alternative:

alternatedesign1.jpg

The alternative will possibly open up my kitchen and allow a real open concept kitchen. The downside of it means a bigger hole in my pocket because of a lot more hacking and moving of walls. One concern is the TV area will be very dark with no direct windows. The work-around is, since my ceiling is ~2.9m high, we can build the wall till ~2.5m with the top portion installed with frosted glass to allow the light from the modified room to shine in.

Maybe will show this alternate layout to the contractors for another round of quotation. :idea:

Edited by renotm

If you do this, all your marble will be gone. This also means the bedroom for your dad have no direct link to toilet, on top of having to pass through the dining table. That is not very elderly friendly. I know cos my father not so mobile already.

Edited by May_dream1

Almost can't find my own t-blog after not updating for a long while. :P

Anyway, finally finalized the following contractors for my renovation:

Main Contractor - Lina (confirmed)

Windows - Alex (confirmed)

Electrical - Zenterra (confirmed)

Air Con (using current, just need to repipe and service) - Contractor's contact, Z

Pole System Wardrobe - Beglas (pending confirmation)

Kitchen Solid top - (pending )

Also bought a few additional appliances for the new place:

- Pioneer Kuro 5020FD 50" Plasma TV (used)

- Panasonic NRBW465XSSG Fridge

- Samsung Front Loading Washer WF8804

- 2 sets of Arino Caprio WC with sinks @$380/set

The bank acct is draining non-stop once everything starts rolling.. :jawdrop: :jawdrop: :jawdrop:

Official handover date is Apr 15.

Ritual for reno start is set to be Apr 18.

First day of hacking is targeted on Apr 19.

Now busy going thru the tile selections... a few months back went to Hafary, LSH for a general idea, but it still didn't prepare me for the :bangwall: when looking at tiles. Went to LSH again and SBH 2x this past long weekend, finally have a few short-listed but nothing is fixed yet. Need to go thru with my contractor and see if suitable.

Edited by renotm

Almost can't find my own t-blog after not updating for a long while. :P

Anyway, finally finalized the following contractors for my renovation:

Main Contractor - Lina (confirmed)

Windows - Alex (confirmed)

Electrical - Zenterra (confirmed)

Air Con (using current, just need to repipe and service) - Aron (pending confirmation)

Pole System Wardrobe - Beglas (pending confirmation)

Kitchen Solid top - Ocean Granite (pending confirmation)

Also bought a few additional appliances for the new place:

- Pioneer Kuro 5020FD 50" Plasma TV (used)

- Panasonic NRBW465XSSG Fridge

- Samsung Front Loading Washer WF8804

- 2 sets of Arino Caprio WC with sinks @$380/set

The bank acct is draining non-stop once everything starts rolling.. :jawdrop: :jawdrop: :jawdrop:

Official handover date is Apr 15.

Ritual for reno start is set to be Apr 18.

First day of hacking is targeted on Apr 19.

Now busy going thru the tile selections... a few months back went to Hafary, LSH for a general idea, but it still didn't prepare me for the :bangwall: when looking at tiles. Went to LSH again and SBH 2x this past long weekend, finally have a few short-listed but nothing is fixed yet. Need to go thru with my contractor and see if suitable.

congrats on your confirmation... hope your reno will be a smooth sailing process... shall be looking at your pictures =)