renotm

4A Resale... Somewhere North

Haha... I think we can all guess not just Terrain1976's age but also his/her exact birthday. :sport-smiley-004:

Wah, if that's Kiasu-ism, then I am one too. I started reading renotalk in Oct 2010 (or even earlier? :P )... then start looking at apartments from Mar 2011, ~4-5 months before I can official get the place, but only OTP in Oct 2011.

Yup yup.... i can guess your age, that is why i know we are ard the same age although i am younger than you.... :sport-smiley-004:

I OTP in Oct 2010, 1st appt in Jan 2011 but i started reading renotalk since Dec 2010. Is that kiasu? hahahaha.... i guessed moving ard for years have taken its toil on me. All i wanted was to settle down in my own home and that is why i was so kiasu too.

I already have the vision of my home before i went flat viewing so when i confirmed the flat, i had 90% of the design finalised. So it was quite fast that i decide on my contractor!! the one that able to catch my dream and i know for sure he can put it to reality is the one i chosen. Of course price wise also play a part but the rapport with my contractor makes me trust him that he will not add more costs to my reno. So in the end, my reno is as what was quoted!

So all the best to you! :good: don't just look at the pricing cos the cheapest now might not be at the end if your chosen contractor keep on adding and adding more costs.

:yamseng: Traits of dragon!

Haha... I think we can all guess not just Terrain1976's age but also his/her exact birthday. :sport-smiley-004:

Wah, if that's Kiasu-ism, then I am one too. I started reading renotalk in Oct 2010 (or even earlier? :P )... then start looking at apartments from Mar 2011, ~4-5 months before I can official get the place, but only OTP in Oct 2011.

hahaahha.... i know its a him but i don't know his exact bday though. hehehehe.... you are too good in guessing game.

before i started renotalk, i already did my research through home decor mag for past 2 years... so also considered as kiasu, right?

LOL...Haha, actually no need to guess, he said so himself that he OTP (with date) a day after 35. :P

hahaahha.... i know its a him but i don't know his exact bday though. hehehehe.... you are too good in guessing game.

before i started renotalk, i already did my research through home decor mag for past 2 years... so also considered as kiasu, right?

Met another contractor this evening. This is actually the 2nd meeting with her. I must say I like the interaction with her. Her quotation is not as itemized as the other quotations that I have received, but when I asked on those items, she would either add them in (some at no additional cost) or explained that they are already included in her quotation.

Some examples:

1. She did not include the bedroom doors, and when I asked about that, she would explained to me that there are actually 3 main type of doors I can choose from, and tell me the pros and cons, and price range between them. :jawdrop: She will put them in for my next quotation reference.

2. When I ask for some items which she normally dun do, she would gave me the rough quote but tell me if I can find a cheaper direct source, I should go with them instead of her.

3. Blum drawer runners: she did not include that in her quotation, but told me that if I want to, I just need to tell her what model I want and she will get it for me, and I only need to top up the difference (between the original and blum's runners).

4. She is perfectly okay for me to go direct source. Eg, I told her I would like to get my own kitchen solid top during the 1st meeting, and this round, she readily remove that item from the quotation. She did not "insist" nor comment that my choice was "a waste of $". She even said that when I finalize the source, I should let her know so that she can liaise with them for smooth installation.

5. She said that she would prefer to go for a site visit/measurement before (if) we sign the contract. This is to avoid surprises and differences in expectation. I thought that shows that she took the work seriously.

And the best part is, her quotation is by far, the cheapest (and I think most reasonable one :P). So with the above positive impressions, I added a few more items and ask her to give me another revised quote. Hopefully she would give me as promised by next Monday. The "weakness" I find of her so far is that she needs a little pushing to get the quotation out. zz

LOL...Haha, actually no need to guess, he said so himself that he OTP (with date) a day after 35. :P

Wahahaha... Good Guess !!! Think i have disclosed too much info and ya, i am a him.

Renotm, can PM the lady who you had met up with? Maybe i will need quote from her too before making the final decision..

PM sent. Rem you may have to "push" her for quotation.

Do comment if you find her quote's reasonable... you probably will confirmed your contractor before I do. :P

Wahahaha... Good Guess !!! Think i have disclosed too much info and ya, i am a him.

Renotm, can PM the lady who you had met up with? Maybe i will need quote from her too before making the final decision..

Do comment if you find her quote's reasonable... you probably will confirmed your contractor before I do. :P:D

Noted.

Will contact her on coming Monday.. Thanks.

Edited by Terrain1976

Have been thinking about my kitchen layout. Initially wanted an U-shape kitchen, but with the storeroom (originally) in mind, there is not enough space for the breakfast sitting area. After meeting May_dream1 (thanks, May! :yamseng:) and seeing her kitchen in person, have been wondering if I can place an island in my kitchen (May_dream1 can give lots of ideas, pple who needs help in designing their place can look for her... :P).

kitchendesign.jpg

Option 1: a ~10ft 0.8m wide Island in the middle of the kitchen with ~0.9m walkway on both sides. With this layout, thinking of not doing any wall(top) cabinets on top of the hod/hood and sink side bottom cabinet. The wall side bottom cabinet will be ~13ft.

Option 2: Keep the original L-shape kitchen, with 2 top cabinets on each side of the chimney hood. Replace the breakfast top with a 80cmx80cm dining table. Something like this Helping Hand's old coffee shop style.

http://www.thehelpinghand.org.sg/product.php?id=6&type=Dining

Any suggestion/comment?

Edited by renotm

Have been thinking about my kitchen layout. Initially wanted an U-shape kitchen, but with the storeroom (originally) in mind, there is not enough space for the breakfast sitting area. After meeting May_dream1 (thanks, May! :yamseng:) and seeing her kitchen in person, have been wondering if I can place an island in my kitchen (May_dream1 can give lots of ideas, pple who needs help in designing their place can look for her... :P).

kitchendesign.jpg

Option 1: a ~10ft 0.8m wide Island in the middle of the kitchen with ~0.9m walkway on both sides. With this layout, thinking of not doing any wall(top) cabinets on top of the hod/hood and sink side bottom cabinet. The wall side bottom cabinet will be ~13ft.

Option 2: Keep the original L-shape kitchen, with 2 top cabinets on each side of the chimney hood. Replace the breakfast top with a 80cmx80cm dining table. Something like this Helping Hand's old coffee shop style.

http://www.thehelpinghand.org.sg/product.php?id=6&type=Dining

Any suggestion/comment?

Wow! you say till so good, i will get shy and have to cover my face when i go out liao :ph34r::ph34r::ph34r:

to clarify, i am not an interior designer but rather, i like to play with interior designing... hehehe...

with the long island in the middlw with cabinet, you only have 0.9m to walk is ok. but if you have drawers, when you open, then you might not have space to stand in front of the drawers, but have to stand sideway... hehehehe....

i still prefer what i told you.... the island nearer to where the old store room is. :) if you plan to move the storeroom.

Do comment if you find her quote's reasonable... you probably will confirmed your contractor before I do. :P

I will be meeting her this evening. :o)

Also, Andrew have not even get back to me after more than 10days and i don't think i will chase him for reply..

I think its not Andrew that is doing your quotation but another ID. his company have more than 1 ID and i guess the other person not doing a proper job. anyway, i called Andrew on your behalf and he will call you back soon (he haven't slept the whole night due to some issues).

will you move? for me, i don't think i want to move unless govt is going to chase me out to enbloc my place.... if the chances of you moving is low, then don't think about able to take it with you when you move... although i would say, that table raelly looks nice in pic. but need to feel and touch it to know whether its really as good quality as it looks. :sport-smiley-018:

so how was your discussion with him? any good? did you follow my advise? ;)

His carpentry is quite good, i shall say.... at least externally.... that means, place that you can see, its done very well.... all smooth and nice, nothing sticking out... but internally, there might be some screws that are quite obvious where they will use stickers to cover it.... which i think its quite normal?

but i like the feature wall that they did. really very good quality and smooth.... when i do the turn.

Some contractor don't even cover those screws internally. So for those that covers, consider more detail ba :thumbs up:

I'm waiting for my turn to visit May place too ; )

BTW, I have been talking to Andrew too. Think if I remember correctly, he have about 9 project under his hand. So to juggle between 9 + meeting new referral, challenging + tiring.

Luckily mine will start only mid May, so he will be able to plan how many more jobs to take in order not to over load himself :sport-smiley-004:

Wow! you say till so good, i will get shy and have to cover my face when i go out liao :ph34r::ph34r::ph34r:

to clarify, i am not an interior designer but rather, i like to play with interior designing... hehehe...

with the long island in the middlw with cabinet, you only have 0.9m to walk is ok. but if you have drawers, when you open, then you might not have space to stand in front of the drawers, but have to stand sideway... hehehehe....

i still prefer what i told you.... the island nearer to where the old store room is. :) if you plan to move the storeroom.

Don't need to be shy lar :sport-smiley-004:

You are indeed generious in sharing your experience in the ID part. From reading some of the blogs (very time consuming to read as many are like 30-40 pages :bow: :bow: siong, May is always sharing he experience :good: :good: (I benefited from it too :P )

Nice to be in RT : )