renotm

4A Resale... Somewhere North

Haha... you made it sound soooo easy! :bow:

Think u can open class, and start teaching the art of "teah-ness". :P

Now that i have probably "blew" the rapport, any advice to "patch" back?

All women knows how to "teah". It comes naturally in their voice. Haha.... Just speak a bit softer, drag your end words a bit longer and give an innocent big eyes look. Then you are good to go..... Haha.....

Haha... you made it sound soooo easy! :bow:

Think u can open class, and start teaching the art of "teah-ness". :P

Now that i have probably "blew" the rapport, any advice to "patch" back?

Are you copying what was written in my tblog?? Haha.... A few ppl commented that I can open a class too. But, no students yet. I think every one know that no need class cos its actually very easy. Hehe.....

The next time you meet, then talk about designs.... Abt materials and even though you might know a lot, listen to him. After all, he is in this line for years. Pat his ego a bit then pretend to be helpless (single lady staying alone) then he will do his best for you. I know him well enough..... Haha.... Even now I need some repainting, he will do it for me for free!!

Haha... of coz... NOT! Though I think I rem reading something about your "Teah power", but it was really after these 'conversation' here that I'm truly amazed by your "power". :dribble:

Are you copying what was written in my tblog?? Haha.... A few ppl commented that I can open a class too. But, no students yet. I think every one know that no need class cos its actually very easy. Hehe.....

The next time you meet, then talk about designs.... Abt materials and even though you might know a lot, listen to him. After all, he is in this line for years. Pat his ego a bit then pretend to be helpless (single lady staying alone) then he will do his best for you. I know him well enough..... Haha.... Even now I need some repainting, he will do it for me for free!!

Haha... of coz... NOT! Though I think I rem reading something about your "Teah power", but it was really after these 'conversation' here that I'm truly amazed by your "power". :dribble:

No power lah.... Just a helpless woman trying to make the best home she knows how. Hehe....

Don't worry, I will ask him to take care of u.

Today I went to the Expo for the "Luxury Living 2012". I have start going to these kind of exhibitions since I bought my place... my weekends have never been so "tiring" before this (flat). Since Jan, my weekends are usually spent at Balestier Rd, Jalan Besar or Expo for various "research". Today, I also decided to go to Courts Mega store at Tampines since it is quite near Expo. Spent over 10 hours (includes travel on buses since I dun drive) between these 2 places. zz

Anyway, the "Luxury Living 2012", as usual, it is a small scale one, just one Hall 6 (not fully occupied either). Normally nothing really caught my attention enough to wanna get it right away, usually is just KIV. But today, I came across this table that I liked a lot, and was thinking of using it as my kitchen's Breakfast table, so I dun have to do the build-in type. What do you guys think?

IMAG0164.jpg

This is a solid Muir Wood Console table, but the width and length (50cm X 150cm) is just nice for my breakfast table (refer to my earlier post for my intended kitchen layout).

Almost wanted to put a deposit for it, but as usual, I stopped myself from buying on impulse. :jail:

The sales lady Kristen was very nice, she said since tmr is the last day, if I really want to buy, I can come back tmr, and maybe she can even ask the boss to cut the price further (was $1300, selling $980 -> last quote $950).

Then saw this Matrixz boltless Rack 4-tier, starting from $100 and above. KIV-ing them for my storeroom storage solution. :sport-smiley-004:

%7Boption%7Dhttp://www.matrixz.sg/images/2-in-1-DIY-Rack-amended-1.jpg%7Boption%7D

Thanks a lot. He called me when I was at Courts looking at the fridges, he has completed the quotation! But verbally he said it has exceeded my budget (which I dun rem what figure I told him.. haha). Anyway, I refrained myself from asking the price over the phone per your advice. Will be meeting him tomorrow to go thru the quote with him. Wish me luck! :P

No power lah.... Just a helpless woman trying to make the best home she knows how. Hehe....

Don't worry, I will ask him to take care of u.

IMAG0164.jpg

This is a solid Muir Wood Console table, but the width and length (50cm X 150cm) is just nice for my breakfast table (refer to my earlier post for my intended kitchen layout).

For the price of this breakfast table if you get contractor or direct carpenter to doa custom ones, plus solid work top. It can be at only at $850 to $1000 and there is storage space below. I also did a breakfast table for my house, measurement is 150cm x 60cm. Due to my contractor's mistake instead of solid worktop, i got black galaxy worktop at solid worktop price.. :notti:

IMAG0164.jpg

Nice table! May I know what is this shop name?

Thanks a lot. He called me when I was at Courts looking at the fridges, he has completed the quotation! But verbally he said it has exceeded my budget (which I dun rem what figure I told him.. haha). Anyway, I refrained myself from asking the price over the phone per your advice. Will be meeting him tomorrow to go thru the quote with him. Wish me luck! :P

All the best!! He is fast to get it done so soon when you say it's tuesday. Remember, try to sound helpless instead of upset if it's too much. Then slowly see where to cut...

The table really look interesting. If u have that then you kitchen have to be "resort/woody" feel.

Yeah, the price for this console table is about equivalent to custom-build, but I was thinking that I can take it with me if/when I move (build-in can't). :sport-smiley-018:

For the price of this breakfast table if you get contractor or direct carpenter to doa custom ones, plus solid work top. It can be at only at $850 to $1000 and there is storage space below. I also did a breakfast table for my house, measurement is 150cm x 60cm. Due to my contractor's mistake instead of solid worktop, i got black galaxy worktop at solid worktop price.. :notti:

The shop is Geminis Lifestyle Pte Ltd. They said they are located at The Furniture Mall. If you are interested too, maybe can go to Singapore Expo Hall 6 today (last day) to take a look. They are towards the center back of the exhibition hall. According to the sales, their showroom price is much higher.

Nice table! May I know what is this shop name?

Thanks thanks. Haha.. Tues is also he said one.. I just told him earlier better. :P

BTW, how is his carpentry's workmanship?

Yeah, if I do get this table, need to rethink my kitchen's "theme". Wasn't going for resort/woody feel, so now is back to :idea: board.

All the best!! He is fast to get it done so soon when you say it's tuesday. Remember, try to sound helpless instead of upset if it's too much. Then slowly see where to cut...

The table really look interesting. If u have that then you kitchen have to be "resort/woody" feel.

Yeah, the price for this console table is about equivalent to custom-build, but I was thinking that I can take it with me if/when I move (build-in can't). :sport-smiley-018:

The shop is Geminis Lifestyle Pte Ltd. They said they are located at The Furniture Mall. If you are interested too, maybe can go to Singapore Expo Hall 6 today (last day) to take a look. They are towards the center back of the exhibition hall. According to the sales, their showroom price is much higher.

Thanks thanks. Haha.. Tues is also he said one.. I just told him earlier better. :P

Yeah, if I do get this table, need to rethink my kitchen's "theme". Wasn't going for resort/woody feel, so now is back to :idea: board.

You are right, it is better not to get this table if it doesn't match your theme. I have 2 antique pieces of furniture in my living hall .... Which cannot match with my modern theme. What to do? I just can't bear to part with them.... :(

will you move? for me, i don't think i want to move unless govt is going to chase me out to enbloc my place.... if the chances of you moving is low, then don't think about able to take it with you when you move... although i would say, that table raelly looks nice in pic. but need to feel and touch it to know whether its really as good quality as it looks. :sport-smiley-018:

so how was your discussion with him? any good? did you follow my advise? ;)

His carpentry is quite good, i shall say.... at least externally.... that means, place that you can see, its done very well.... all smooth and nice, nothing sticking out... but internally, there might be some screws that are quite obvious where they will use stickers to cover it.... which i think its quite normal?

but i like the feature wall that they did. really very good quality and smooth.... when i do the turn.

Well, I don't intend to move, at least not within the next 5 yrs... :P, but we never know too.

The table is really solid, the touch and workmanship is good. Heavy too. But on 2nd thoughts, I probably won't get it, the look is too "antique" for my "minimalist" theme.

Oh, it went better than the 1st round, I think. I let him do the most of the talking. ;) His initial quote was way out of my budget and expectation... by a good 30%!! :jawdrop: Really din expect adding a little here, a little there, will end up 30% more than I initially thought. But he did work with me to try to get the price lower by suggesting alternative. He will get back to me in the next few days.

One thing I noticed is that he do not like us to "outsource" things to other contractors, this is where I thought why the 1st meeting din go as well as I hope, he wasn't very pleased (I sensed lah, dunno if he really was) then when I asked if I can go direct (eg, doors). So this time, I never asked that again, I merely ask if can be cheaper or got alternative or not.

I am also meeting another contractor later this week for 2nd quote. I had a pretty good impression of her during the first meeting (early Jan), but during that time, a lot of things were not quoted. She also brought us up to one of her almost complete site to look at the workmanship, I must say it was quite good too. Let's see how things go then.

These meeting contractors-going through quotations after quotations sessions are starting to drain me out... so much so that I was telling a friend yesterday that I am very tempted to just dun do ANYTHING for the apt liao. (You can tell by this that I am a low-energy person. :P )

Actually the place is in well-kept conditions, and the sellers did the renovation ~5 yrs ago when they first bought it, so I really could have just move in without doing anything. Would love to post the current condition here but think to respect their privacy, I will only do it after they move out.

will you move? for me, i don't think i want to move unless govt is going to chase me out to enbloc my place.... if the chances of you moving is low, then don't think about able to take it with you when you move... although i would say, that table raelly looks nice in pic. but need to feel and touch it to know whether its really as good quality as it looks. :sport-smiley-018:

so how was your discussion with him? any good? did you follow my advise? ;)

His carpentry is quite good, i shall say.... at least externally.... that means, place that you can see, its done very well.... all smooth and nice, nothing sticking out... but internally, there might be some screws that are quite obvious where they will use stickers to cover it.... which i think its quite normal?

but i like the feature wall that they did. really very good quality and smooth.... when i do the turn.

Well, I don't intend to move, at least not within the next 5 yrs... :P, but we never know too.

The table is really solid, the touch and workmanship is good. Heavy too. But on 2nd thoughts, I probably won't get it, the look is too "antique" for my "minimalist" theme.

Oh, it went better than the 1st round, I think. I let him do the most of the talking. ;) His initial quote was way out of my budget and expectation... by a good 30%!! :jawdrop: Really din expect adding a little here, a little there, will end up 30% more than I initially thought. But he did work with me to try to get the price lower by suggesting alternative. He will get back to me in the next few days.

One thing I noticed is that he do not like us to "outsource" things to other contractors, this is where I thought why the 1st meeting din go as well as I hope, he wasn't very pleased (I sensed lah, dunno if he really was) then when I asked if I can go direct (eg, doors). So this time, I never asked that again, I merely ask if can be cheaper or got alternative or not.

I am also meeting another contractor later this week for 2nd quote. I had a pretty good impression of her during the first meeting (early Jan), but during that time, a lot of things were not quoted. She also brought us up to one of her almost complete site to look at the workmanship, I must say it was quite good too. Let's see how things go then.

These meeting contractors-going through quotations after quotations sessions are starting to drain me out... so much so that I was telling a friend yesterday that I am very tempted to just dun do ANYTHING for the apt liao. (You can tell by this that I am a low-energy person. :P )

Actually the place is in well-kept conditions, and the sellers did the renovation ~5 yrs ago when they first bought it, so I really could have just move in without doing anything. Would love to post the current condition here but think to respect their privacy, I will only do it after they move out.

i know... i know... going through quotations and contractors again and again are really tiring. i was choosing between 9 of them and it took me 2 months to go through all these. Each one have to meet at least 2 times..... my days were busy with working and nights with meeting contractors. :bangwall:

that is why, its better if we don't need to do this again and again.... i totally surrender!! so, i got to make sure i stay here for at least 20 years to make it worthwhile. hehehehehe... ;)

you can come to my place to have a look too.... then i can tell you what to look out for...

That is why i am asking you, how long do you intend to stay there. if at least 10 years or more, then its worth going through all these or else, like what you said, just do simple and that's it! hahahaha....

Today I went to the Expo for the "Luxury Living 2012". I have start going to these kind of exhibitions since I bought my place... my weekends have never been so "tiring" before this (flat). Since Jan, my weekends are usually spent at Balestier Rd, Jalan Besar or Expo for various "research". Today, I also decided to go to Courts Mega store at Tampines since it is quite near Expo. Spent over 10 hours (includes travel on buses since I dun drive) between these 2 places. zz

Anyway, the "Luxury Living 2012", as usual, it is a small scale one, just one Hall 6 (not fully occupied either). Normally nothing really caught my attention enough to wanna get it right away, usually is just KIV. But today, I came across this table that I liked a lot, and was thinking of using it as my kitchen's Breakfast table, so I dun have to do the build-in type. What do you guys think?

IMAG0164.jpg

Almost wanted to put a deposit for it, but as usual, I stopped myself from buying on impulse. :jail:

The sales lady Kristen was very nice, she said since tmr is the last day, if I really want to buy, I can come back tmr, and maybe she can even ask the boss to cut the price further (was $1300, selling $980 -> last quote $950).

Then saw this Matrixz boltless Rack 4-tier, starting from $100 and above. KIV-ing them for my storeroom storage solution. :sport-smiley-004:

%7Boption%7Dhttp://www.matrixz.sg/images/2-in-1-DIY-Rack-amended-1.jpg%7Boption%7D

Hi Renotm,

I noticed this table too during my visits to expo somewhere last week. The boss is an old uncle (located at the extreme end of the exhibition hall). It is really a nice table, solid and modern in design(to me lah :D ).

LIke you, i will be getting my keys on 21st Feb 2012 but i agreed to let the owner to stay for another two months(free) for their next house to be ready.

I started looking around before i OTPed on 18th Nov 2011 and had already got myself lightings, painting, laminated flooring package, dining table set way before.. (very kiasu).

Currently i am still sourcing for a realiable contractor too and have narrowed down to the final two contractors. Estimated time to 100% ownership the house will be around 20th Arp 2012! Mine is in the east. 4S model.

Edited by Terrain1976