renotm

4A Resale... Somewhere North

Ya, true. Btw, May_dream1, I took ard 3-4days (less my beauty sleep, working hrs etc) to fin ur blog from pg 1-40+, and also read some of those renotalk friends of urs, like friends78 n her bro etc ... Really learn a lot from many T-bloggers in renotalk, be it ideas, lobangs on whr to source etc! Just wanna learn more n get myself ready when my reno time comes (haha haven't learn walk then run liao ~ haven't get e physical house, then orely jump to reno) :P

Purple fairy, soon you will be able to find the unit that you will love! Then you can paint some of your wall purple too, like mine! I like my purple wall.... Hehe..... 😉

Haha u read my mind :thumbs up:

Haha... thanks! What would you suggest for the "many things"? ;) I more or less know how I want to do my kitchen, but for the living area, still not fix... only know I want minimalist style.

Now waiting for Andrew (recommended by you! :sport-smiley-004: ) to contact me again after his CNY break. :sport-smiley-018:

Your layout is wonderful!! If I have yours, I can do many things..... Hope you will get a good contractor to do nicely for you.

Edited by renotm

Haha... thanks! What would you suggest for the "many things"? ;) I more or less know how I want to do my kitchen, but for the living area, still not fix... only know I want minimalist style.

Now waiting for Andrew (recommended by you! :sport-smiley-004: ) to contact me again after his CNY break. :sport-smiley-018:

Don't know how to tell you here.... But I see a lot of potential and things to be done. Haha....

Oh, I think he will contact you soon. 😉

Just met 1 contractor for initial discussion. It went well... I think, but most likely will blow my original budget. Now will wait to see his itemized quote.

I think I sounded Jin Jin Ji Jiao... Everything asked "how much? "..."is this expensive? " :(

Just met 1 contractor for initial discussion. It went well... I think, but most likely will blow my original budget. Now will wait to see his itemized quote.

I think I sounded Jin Jin Ji Jiao... Everything asked "how much? "..."is this expensive? " :(

Just wait and see loh..... see your contractor whether will over your budget. dont sound so sad lah...

Hi May_dream1,

It was your contractor whom I met this afternoon. As I am also trying to limit my budget, but still getting the best possible option, I asked about "outsourcing" some items (like what if getting doors and/or solid tops from direct) several times. At one point he said something like, "... you kept asking about the price hor...". I dunno what to react, but aren't we supposed to ask the price as part of our concerns? :dunno:

Anyway, he made a comment towards the end of the discussion that my expectation/requirement are not similar to yours... also not quite sure what he meant. haha.

He is working on the quotation now, hopefully can see the "damage" by Tues.

Just wait and see loh..... see your contractor whether will over your budget. dont sound so sad lah...

Slowly you will find items that fit your budget. Jia you.

(we are all the same, question every price if it's expensive/ reasonable/ discounted)

Hi May_dream1,

It was your contractor whom I met this afternoon. As I am also trying to limit my budget, but still getting the best possible option, I asked about "outsourcing" some items (like what if getting doors and/or solid tops from direct) several times. At one point he said something like, "... you kept asking about the price hor...". I dunno what to react, but aren't we supposed to ask the price as part of our concerns? :dunno:

Anyway, he made a comment towards the end of the discussion that my expectation/requirement are not similar to yours... also not quite sure what he meant. haha.

He is working on the quotation now, hopefully can see the "damage" by Tues.

Haha... I don't know what he meant too. Maybe my expectation very low, as long as the design I wanted are done then generally I am quite ok.

And I don't discuss the pricing with him until I see the quote. I get quote from everywhere, 9 quotes before I decide. After that only I try to get more discounts from him. Just like interviewing for a job, we discuss work, expectation, rapport, and everything else other than salary. After a few rounds then only the salary discussion comes in. For them, each new potential customer are like interview for him. The better rapport you have with him, the higher chance you will get better pricing. After all, they are human with feelings too.

They get satisfaction from a job well done... After a while, it's not just the money but also the satisfaction they get when they able to transform a cold flat into a warm home. They will be proud to show off to other potential customers too, just like I am proud to show off my home. Hehe.....

So my advise, don't ask too much abt pricing until you build the rapport and convey your expectation. Then you will have a smooth renovation within your budget! And then everyone will be happy..... That's how I got so many foc things from him.

If after a few discussion and certain items you want to outsource, then you can. I outsource my own electrician too. And Renotalk is a place you can find cheaper alternative, if he can't provide what you wanted at the price you wanted.

Wow, This is the art of talking, negotiation. I am more direct person, tactless sometime, guess this renovation journey also give me the opportunity to work on my negotiation, bargaining skills.

Haha... I don't know what he meant too. Maybe my expectation very low, as long as the design I wanted are done then generally I am quite ok.

And I don't discuss the pricing with him until I see the quote. I get quote from everywhere, 9 quotes before I decide. After that only I try to get more discounts from him. Just like interviewing for a job, we discuss work, expectation, rapport, and everything else other than salary. After a few rounds then only the salary discussion comes in. For them, each new potential customer are like interview for him. The better rapport you have with him, the higher chance you will get better pricing. After all, they are human with feelings too.

They get satisfaction from a job well done... After a while, it's not just the money but also the satisfaction they get when they able to transform a cold flat into a warm home. They will be proud to show off to other potential customers too, just like I am proud to show off my home. Hehe.....

So my advise, don't ask too much abt pricing until you build the rapport and convey your expectation. Then you will have a smooth renovation within your budget! And then everyone will be happy..... That's how I got so many foc things from him.

If after a few discussion and certain items you want to outsource, then you can. I outsource my own electrician too. And Renotalk is a place you can find cheaper alternative, if he can't provide what you wanted at the price you wanted.

Hi May

That is really very good advice! After the rapport is established and the contractor so much wanted ur biz he also more willing to give discount. I agree so much!

Wow, This is the art of talking, negotiation. I am more direct person, tactless sometime, guess this renovation journey also give me the opportunity to work on my negotiation, bargaining skills.

Thanks for listening to me too. Hehe.... Especially women, we can always "teah" and men will be soft hearted. Haha....

Not all women know how to "teah" leh... do wrongly will have even greater negative impact one.

I said so becoz I for one, dunno how, and the thought of me doing the "teah" already starts to give me goosebumps. :rofl:

Thanks for listening to me too. Hehe.... Especially women, we can always "teah" and men will be soft hearted. Haha....

Not all women know how to "teah" leh... do wrongly will have even greater negative impact one.

I said so becoz I for one, dunno how, and the thought of me doing the "teah" already starts to give me goosebumps. :rofl:

All women knows how to "teah". It comes naturally in their voice. Haha.... Just speak a bit softer, drag your end words a bit longer and give an innocent big eyes look. Then you are good to go..... Haha.....