hugobossy

My Em Modern Balinese Concept At Serangoon North

Bought my EM at Blk 14x Serangoon North which is just a stone throw to NTUC, wet market, kopi shops, restaurant and all amenities.....

Having search few IDs for 1-2months, in the end decided to sign with this ID - Jack(located at Ubi) to design a Modern Balinese concept. The price wise is quite reasonable after discount as compare with other IDs also as gesture from ID, IPad2 to be given as promised from him plus altar and kitchen accessories etc.... As for the interior design, my wife want to be 70% Balinese and 30% modern so as not to add too much Balinese style overall in the house. Timeline to complete is 5 weeks (before CNY2011) as confirmed by ID; reason is they have their own carpentry factory and wood direct supply from Malaysia.

Balinese design concept need a lot lot of woods and carpentry workmanship. Hopefully the ID ensures all works are done smoothly. Any short change, will "LD" them :-))

My next update and photo attach coming soon.

FloorPan.jpg

Edited by hugobossy

Hi neighbour Hugo, welcome to Serangoon N. Your place is indeed very convenient and amenities are easily accessible. Your floor plan is exactly the same as mine.

How is the current condition of your unit? 5 weeks of reno is very fast..... Mine took 9 weeks! Do you intend to hack down any walls? Are you keeping your balcony?

Hi neighbour Hugo, welcome to Serangoon N. Your place is indeed very convenient and amenities are easily accessible. Your floor plan is exactly the same as mine.

How is the current condition of your unit? 5 weeks of reno is very fast..... Mine took 9 weeks! Do you intend to hack down any walls? Are you keeping your balcony?

I think it looks slightly different (cos I recce-ed those units before) the utility room downstairs has a proper sized window which faces outside instead of porch, so that it can be used as a fourth room.

The toilet configurations are also slightly different from yours and mine, otherwise yes, the layout is pretty much identical.

Bought my EM at Blk 14x Serangoon North which is just a stone throw to NTUC, wet market, kopi shops, restaurant and all amenities.....

Having search few IDs for 1-2months, in the end decided to sign with this ID - Jack(located at Ubi) to design a Modern Balinese concept. The price wise is quite reasonable after discount as compare with other IDs also as gesture from ID, IPad2 to be given as promised from him plus altar and kitchen accessories etc.... As for the interior design, my wife want to be 70% Balinese and 30% modern so as not to add too much Balinese style overall in the house. Timeline to complete is 5 weeks (before CNY2011) as confirmed by ID; reason is they have their own carpentry factory and wood direct supply from Malaysia.

Balinese design concept need a lot lot of woods and carpentry workmanship. Hopefully the ID ensures all works are done smoothly. Any short change, will "LD" them :-))

My next update and photo attach coming soon.

FloorPan.jpg

Welcome to the neighbourhood, its a good place to be in! Lots of food, amenities and schools. Do allow 10-20% cost overruns, it will happen. How much are you budgeting for renovation?

I hope you got your LD clauses clearly listed, because if its not stated in black and white you're going to find it hard to penalize them.

Today, together with my wife and ID, we went to select the tiles for the living, dining, kitchen, maid room, all bathrooms.

Located at Balestier road when there are 4 shops selling tiles on the same row of shop house. I believe some of you know where the place is.

I visited both corner end of the tiles shops where they have holistic of tiles to choose (mostly from Italy, Spain etc..). NICE!!!

Below are the photos of the visited shops.

What surprise me was that after choosing the tiles, my ID gives us the sample of the tiles to take back. My ID also have the samples of the tiles, he will bring back to his office, take photo of the tiles and embedded into the 3D drawing and show it to us the exact looking before purchase the tiles from the shop. My wife was so happy with the ideas as we can't really decide the tiles we want and no visibility how it look when apply to my house although my ID has recommended for us. The only things we can do at the shop it’s to touch, feel the tiles and the see pricing.

Next shopping with my ID will be doors, gates, windows and grilles.

Standby for my next update with more photos of my house....

IMG_0657.jpg

IMG_0646.jpg

IMG_0652.jpg

IMG_0653.jpg

IMG_0654.jpg

Hack whole house including all 3 bathrooms, balcony, stairways, windows, doors, false ceiling, rewire whole hse, everythings revamp....

My balcony will be using plam wood decking (3 inch high) plus convertable roof shelter plus water feature.

My kitchen will be open concept with folding wood door with clear glass plus breakfast island counter.

My all bedrooms will be using wood strips (AC5, 100% water proof, resilent flooring) from Evorich.

My dining area will have a platform using wood strips (AC5, 100% water proof, resilent flooring) from Evorich plus cove light

My living room will have wall featues, bulit-in TV console, Altar, folding wood door with clear glass, cove light.

Hi hugobossy, I am really really looking forward to reading about your Reno progress! The tiles your chose are also those I looked at! How I wish i had the budget to get those tiles! Really looking forward to seeing your 3D pics!! Have fun!

Looks like u r going for major revamp.... Hope u have a smooth reno :)

Btw, can u share with me the convertible roof shelter u intend to construct? I have put this on hold. We want to keep our high ceiling balcony but at the same time we want to keep the rain away..... Hopefully this convertible system would solve our problem. Thx.

Modern Balinese Concept - interesting! Any 3D pic to share?

I'm still waiting for my ID to send me the final 3D pictures. Hopefully can get it this weekend.

In fact, I got few 3D pictures on hand but need to amend as certain reno need to amend.

Looks like u r going for major revamp.... Hope u have a smooth reno :)

Btw, can u share with me the convertible roof shelter u intend to construct? I have put this on hold. We want to keep our high ceiling balcony but at the same time we want to keep the rain away..... Hopefully this convertible system would solve our problem. Thx.

Yes, it a big revamp.

For balcony, I also like the high ceiling that why going for the retactable awning and outdoor bamboo chick to block the sun or rain.

Do you have any recommend shop? I have checked a shop at Jalan Besar which have both outdoor and indoor bamboo/wood chick/blind. The price range from $8-10 per sqft for indoor and $3.50 per sqft for outdoor. Good price?

Edited by hugobossy

Welcome to the neighbourhood, its a good place to be in! Lots of food, amenities and schools. Do allow 10-20% cost overruns, it will happen. How much are you budgeting for renovation?

I hope you got your LD clauses clearly listed, because if its not stated in black and white you're going to find it hard to penalize them.

Typical reno for EM range from $70k to $100k depend on what concept and reno work. For my reno, it approx 85k.

Got few ID quote approx 100k. Highest quote was 120k from a ID with lesser reno than other IDs, I almost faint............ design my stair railing only is 10k, I almost in coma.......

In the end, I go for this ID which the price is much more competitive in term of unit price.

Example, rewire whole house c/w 1 new circuit breaker/fix up 60 x lights pt/24 x power pt/4 x telephones/4 x tv points/3 x water heaters/3 x ceiling fans/1 hood-hob/1 door bell/1 air con pt, total 5k after discount. Exp?

Example, demolition work for whole house, haulage, clear/disposal of debris 5.5k. Exp?

Edited by hugobossy

Am oso starting my EM reno soon, my quote was at 110K, wow u can get below 90K is a good price indeed. Mine exclude aircon & electricity work. Beginning to feel ex but all 3D is finalize liao juz & paid 1500 but yet to sign any contract. Thinking of changing ID but no time liao...