iamnorah

Mini Jumbo

I also see that you placed your aircon near kitchen entrance.. But your kitchen is open concept...Hmmm

I will read if you have write anything on that, i might want to understand... Due to me having 2 living room,

The aircon installer is telling me to seal up all the rooms and kitchen for better and energy saving and install the higher BTU inverter.

Ok talk later. I hoped it to your blog first.. Bye!

Ok, your question 1st... I wanted an open concept for the beauty/feeling of spaciousness. So we did consider installing glass doors, but 1. It's expensive & 2. It kinda mars the spacious feel so we did not seal up the kitchen in the end.

For AC, well, 1stly my place is really windy, so we hardly use the AC. AC is only for really rare occasions so I think I can live with the higher utility for that day. BTU wise, both the dining and living room AC are fairly high blowers. Think 18K and 24K? I can't really remember, but we got the highest possible ones knowing that we will work the blowers hard when we need them. We have 2 inverters, so each AC is linked to a separate inverter so when we use both, the inverters can support the blowers. The AC is divided like 2 bdrms + one living/dining each.

I actually wanted AC in my kitchen but veto-ed by my ID, aircon contractor, and... everyone else lor. :P

Anyway I hardly cook or use the AC, so my case could be very different from yours.

========

Was bored so I had a go at playing with your config if I got your mini-Jumbo just for fun... I really like that it's got so many toilets actually, so I wouldn't convert any to a 'non-toilet' kinda space. Without knowing where the beams and pipes actually are, this is what I would propose:

1. Master toilet wise, combine 2 toilets. Since there is space, put in a bathtub in the big combined toilet just for fun... I would put your hollywood dresser (with LED lights so it's not hot lar) near the window for better ventilation and natural lighting (needed for putting on make-up right?).

2. Retain the toilet at the newly created laundry yard/storage for guests.

3. The other toilet stays as an onsuite for the junior master bdrm.

Kitchen and dining area wise... I put in a long island, with a small sink for purposes I'd mentioned above... without sink, I think can easily fit 10 pax comfortably, or more if squeezed. To hide the non-hackable walls, install cabinets for storage or display, depending on needs/hobby.

Long vertical kitchen layout, starting with 1. fridge at the end nearest living room (easy access to drinks mah), to 2. prep area, to 3. vertical cabinets to put oven n microwave/toaster/coffee machines for easy access, then 4. actual stove, with backsplash of course for easy cleaning, 5. vertical cabinets for dish rack (to prevent wet armpits if rack is above head height - i.e. the racks at standing shoulder height or lower), 6. kitchen sink.

Beam wise, instead of 'hiding' or ignoring, I'll play it up by lowering the entire ceiling aligned with width of island and install downlights. Possibly install hanging shelves like those mean for glasses, etc to give the cafe vibe at the island.

Since I took away one storeroom you'd originally wanted at the toilet, I put in more shelves/cabinets at the side where the shoerack is, and also possibly at the right side of the kitchen depending on budget. Stuff like pails, vacuum cleaner and mops can be kept at the newly created yard.

20111227-1435081.jpg

Wah, wrote a lot huh? :unsure:

Edited by adidaem

Hi may_dream1,

Clck on your reno pics...

My jaw drop to see your bed.... So big sia :jawdrop:

Your long island... :dribble: my eye pop out

Your WIW...... my nose.... Is bleeding already... Cannot tahan ..to see the wonderful pictures.

Wait....I need to put everything together ... Left at page 1 of 43page.. To come back post this note :D

Thanks for sharing.

I'll be back after i read your adventure ! Ok bye...

as i also knocked down the wall, there was a beam... and to cover it up, i make a cove lighting so that is covered up....

my island is 10ft long... not the longest but i think is already quite long for a hdb. :) there are a lot of islands available here on RT. I think almost everyone that can have an island, sure to have.... depends on whether its long or short... hehehehe...

enjoy your research!!

20111227-1435081.jpg

Wah, wrote a lot huh? :unsure:

Me speechless...... my heart almost stopped.

My Xmas Present! Santa came early.. gave me a yard!!

See I got a Yard!! I got a yard!! :sport-smiley-004:

Soo nice of ya.

Thank you Santa Adidaem.

I love to visual the Hollywood vanity and this seems that my journey is getting so exciting.

Breathe in..Breathe out.

Me speechless...... my heart almost stopped.

My Xmas Present! Santa came early.. gave me a yard!!

See I got a Yard!! I got a yard!! :sport-smiley-004:

Soo nice of ya.

Thank you Santa Adidaem.

I love to visual the Hollywood vanity and this seems that my journey is getting so exciting.

Breathe in..Breathe out.

You like the yard? Me too... after I move in then I realize best to have a dedicated space for pails, mops and other cleaning stuff. Sounds so auntie but yeah... also good to isolate the noise from the washing machine.

Btw, forgot to mention that one reason why I seldom use AC is cos I have lots of ceiling fans. I know not everyone likes ceiling fans, but it's really the easiest way to cool down the room (not to mention more energy efficient, economical, etc). If you want, you can install a couple in your big living/kitchen space to alleviate your AC worries.

Hmm, on 2nd look, I'll re-do the long counter and lighting for human traffic flow and save lighting points cost. Sigh, such a long time before I can play with my next reno. :(

Do share with us your final proposed layout from your ID k? Have fun!

islandtable.jpg

This is my humble island table, in a small 90sqm 4-room flat. Now that my bar chair has arrived, I forgot to take another picture.

islandwppl.jpg

A good place for guests to gather and munch. Simply love my tiny little island. =)

Hi Shiqi,

Thank you for sharing me the wonderful pictures.

Love love love the island layout of your house.

Theres actually a beam just above the island same as my new house and the cove lighting that you place at the ceiling

actually makes the whole ceiling beam story go away!

Great Idea!

This was the initial idea exactly what i have in mind to cook in the middle

and feel like a chef on a cooking show.

So not installing a chimney is actually a choice that you have made. ..i see...i see.

Love love love also your super large Mirror!

Do share with us your final proposed layout from your ID k? Have fun!

The layout that you share is very good. I like it.

I will update this progress.

I can't wait for my Keys now.Excited!

The layout that you share is very good. I like it.

I will update this progress.

I can't wait for my Keys now.Excited!

Oki, 2 more revisions... the common changes:

1. Rubbish chute moved to yard (hide all the ugly things and less cockroach?)

2. Length of island reduced to 3m. Still can easily seat 4 pax on one side.

3. Reduced island to accommodate passageway for easy access to yard for owner n guests (who need to visit the loo) instead of going around the island.

4. Build the cabinets on the right side - It will be needed anyway in the future and otherwise poses a lighting symmetry problem cos I visualise the downlights from the main entrance to be in a row down the passageway. If there isn't any cabinets, have to install lights which is expensive anyway. Might as well build cabinets.

5. Kitchen cabinets - aligned with lowered ceiling... and added a spice rack.

Lights & fans:

6. 4 baby KDK fans all around the living and kitchen/dining rooms for ventilation

7. Cove lights all down the central 'spine'/beam

8. Downlights at the sides around the living room

9. Downlights at the kitchen prep area from below the upper cabinets.

10. FL lights for kitchen at the lowered ceiling area (based on my kitchen design, needed for their brightness cos downlights are just not bright enough)

And the difference bt the 2 pics:

i) First pic still has a baby sink (for washing fruits, vegs and refilling coffee machine, plus for guests to wash hands?), but moved from the end to the front of the island.

ii) 2nd pic has the stove in the island instead, so no need baby sink and the main sink is moved from the window area. The counter corner at window could be used as a mini herb garden for fresh basil, pandan leaves, etc.

20111228-140804.jpg

20111228-142456.jpg

I think prefer the revised layout (vs the original one I posted) cos of better ventilation (fans!) and I think the lighting is now better thought out. Of the 2, I prefer the 1st cos I prefer to have a backsplash where I cook, but since you like to be TV cook show host... :) I think the 2nd one will suit your preference better plus I also like the herb garden idea...

Haiz, ok enough of me playing around with your floorplan. Now we wait for your actuals. Will your ID be providing 3Ds?

Edited by adidaem

Oki, 2 more revisions... the common changes:

20111228-140804.jpg

20111228-142456.jpg

I think prefer the revised layout (vs the original one I posted) cos of better ventilation (fans!) and I think the lighting is now better thought out. Of the 2, I prefer the 1st cos I prefer to have a backsplash where I cook, but since you like to be TV cook show host... :) I think the 2nd one will suit your preference better plus I also like the herb garden idea...

Haiz, ok enough of me playing around with your floorplan. Now we wait for your actuals. Will your ID be providing 3Ds?

I am pretty excited on the two plans which you suggested.

the next thing i do, with the power of goggled vested in me, I pronounce the ideal kitchen that relatively close to your idea,

Picture 1

Imagine, I have yard hiding my Kitchen Window

ISLAND1.jpg

Picture 2

The Parallel Kitchen that if i plan to place cabinet both sides.

ISLAND4.jpg

It's really fun to see how my 2 kitchen can come develop many many styles of kitchen layout.

Oh another thing whom I engage is a Interior Design Company but he say , he just be the Contractor to work with me on the house renovation. Interior Designer is some other guy in his office.

He told me that he will give me some drawings once we discuss when we collect keys later next month.

As for Herb Garden, It's kinda cool to grow the home grown cilli, pandan leaves & curry leaves. Use them alot!

But i think i have these pots outside by the corridor. As the walkway corridor is super huge.

Thanks Adidaem!

Yep, didn't want to have any fume hood in the kitchen. So I have planned to do heavy cooking in the service yard. I will be using those portable single ring cooker to have my fried and oily stuff done in the service yard. All non fried or stir frying cooking will be done on the island table.

Without the fume hood,it makes the place looks more spacious and neater.

yes yes Shiqi,

If you put the island Chimney , it be close to beam like mine..cos i see the island is just below the beam hor... So weird lah.

So i see you have 2 cooking area. nice to have alternative.

Just in cylinder Gas run out at island. Can carry the pot to the yard !:good:

The Pool Story

My Hub fav toy.

pool9ft2.jpg

This is sitting in the living room and very often used other than our Xbox kinect.

Also as part of the Dining Table when a need too , as my hub had customize a top for it.

Today a quote came back to me if i planned to buy this stylo milo pool dining table .

poolfusion.jpg

Price: $6950

But Jawdrop :jawdrop: is priceless

This is the part i have say, Sorry Hub..this your dream pool table goes to the 'Wants List ' ...Not the 'Need List' :bleah:

The Pool Story

My Hub fav toy.

pool9ft2.jpg

This is sitting in the living room and very often used other than our Xbox kinect.

Also as part of the Dining Table when a need too , as my hub had customize a top for it.

Today a quote came back to me if i planned to buy this stylo milo pool dining table .

poolfusion.jpg

Price: $6950

But Jawdrop :jawdrop: is priceless

This is the part i have say, Sorry Hub..this your dream pool table goes to the 'Wants List ' ...Not the 'Need List' :bleah:

Perhaps you can consider buying the pool table, but get a carpenter to custom make a wood panel to place on top of the pool table, which can serve as a dinning table? It can be done, perhaps that wood panel will cost 200 or 300 dollars..

Hi Mingzhung,

For 6K hmmm..the cost of the new Pool Table.

I will not buy. We did paid for a custom table top that cost us $280 the last time .

For $280 just Custom Top comparing to $6K is such a big difference..

Maybe i get what you mean...arrange the carpenter to change the total outlook to fit our new house color scheme or Theme.

Like the reality TV always show that they improve the old to look new..

this will sound like .... " PIMP MY POOL TABLE" :notti:

Wonderful Idea!

Edited by iamnorah

Wah, I love the cool but expensive pool table cum dining table.. Hahahah. Must not show this to my husband.

Edited by piknik

Hi Mingzhung,

For 6K hmmm..the cost of the new Pool Table.

I will not buy. We did paid for a custom table top that cost us $280 the last time .

For $280 just Custom Top comparing to $6K is such a big difference..

Maybe i get what you mean...arrange the carpenter to change the total outlook to fit our new house color scheme or Theme.

Like the reality TV always show that they improve the old to look new..

this will sound like .... " PIMP MY POOL TABLE" :notti:

Wonderful Idea!

haha.. yeah.. Of course, must see if the carpenter is those willing to take up the challenge, not an easy job. Else, you can think of a design to explain to him if it is doable. 6k you can buy a few huge stuff for your house.

Wah, I love the cool but expensive pool table cum dining table.. Hahahah. Must not show this to my husband.

It's very hard talking to Hub about not buying this pool at first place.

Now it's even harder to ask him to let it go. :help: