GrandReno 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2011 Yup I fully agree not the bigger the better de.. Those too big tv with short clearance distance is for 斗鸡眼 people one so that they can 看开一点 I thinking to get a 46" but need to see budget if not enough $$ then maybe get 42" mbr I think 32" is good enough for me liao.Btw hor.. Who is TS ah? (had been wanted to ask le) heheI hope it's not sarcasm or name-calling you were intending by the above first sentence. Kind of discriminating.Buy a TV that is suitable for your home. And know how comfortable you are with your budget and floor layout to accommodate the TV.Big is definitely better in general if you want to enjoy a good show. Question only is, do you have the $$$ to spend and can your home take such a big screen?But if you don't appreciate or watch too many shows, then of course, a smaller TV may suit you better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rottenramone 1 Report post Posted November 3, 2011 Btw hor.. Who is TS ah? (had been wanted to ask le) heheTS = Thread/T-blog starter. In this case, it means you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simontsh 0 Report post Posted November 3, 2011 I hope it's not sarcasm or name-calling you were intending by the above first sentence. Kind of discriminating.Buy a TV that is suitable for your home. And know how comfortable you are with your budget and floor layout to accommodate the TV.Big is definitely better in general if you want to enjoy a good show. Question only is, do you have the $$$ to spend and can your home take such a big screen?But if you don't appreciate or watch too many shows, then of course, a smaller TV may suit you better.chill chill.I agree....TV is subjective thing.like i said to TS, you have to know yourself before you know what TV to buy.Are you the spend less than 15minutes per day on TV kind of person? if yes just get a 2nd hand. CRT works too. If you are the daily watch mediacorp tv channels only, check the viewing distance for STANDARD DEFINITION. If you are the movie buff but watch VCD only, its time to consider going DVD/BlurayIf you are the movie buff like most techies are....and watch alot of HIGH DEFINITION TV, then go for viewing distance according to 1080PIf you are a perfectionist, there is only one calculator to use.http://www.thx.com/consumer/home-entertainment/home-theater/hdtv-set-up/and I quote from THX itself"If your HDTV is going in a living room with limited space, THX recommends the following: 35 inch class TV = 3.5-5 feet away 40 inch class TV = 4-6 feet away 50 inch class TV = 5-7.5 feet away 60 inch class TV = 6-9 feet awayIt might seem that THX is recommending a very large screen size for your room. But, it’s important to note two things: 1) THX screen size recommendations are based on recreating an immersive cinematic experience, and 2) the biggest complaint among TV buyers is that they wish they had bought a bigger set."so if you're like me, stuck with a 2-2.5m distance, best bet is to get 42"-47" and then complain about "I wish I bought a bigger set" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 Opps... sorry if my meant to be joke offended anyone.. but i guess noone here falls into that category cos all the people in here are so knowledgable btw after reading all the sharing on the TV distance, i also found this picture which also helps to explain, also very easy to understand for simple minded people like me...after my rough calculation, think i will go for 46" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 Would like to share pics which gave ideas Living Room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 (edited) Dining Area Edited November 5, 2011 by pinkwhale Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 Kitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 Hope you enjoy my sharing, though some of the photos could be common as they were featured in magazines before but they really gave me some inspiration and ideas for my own place... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hbo31 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 Hope you enjoy my sharing, though some of the photos could be common as they were featured in magazines before but they really gave me some inspiration and ideas for my own place... Nice sharing...Those "industrial" ones look really cool.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sleek 2 Report post Posted November 5, 2011 pinkwhale, love your huge WIW-to-be *shakes hands* some of the photos you have shared look to be of a hdb flat, so it should be do-able for your purposes too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 6, 2011 Thanks hbo31 and sleek for dropping by...hopefully i really can achieve the right look Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 6, 2011 We bought a new item today...we simply love it, hopefully it is suitable for our theme...no ID to consult... we only can agar agar...actual color differ, keep some suspense for it ba Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2011 Would like to share the empty house picsLiving room (view from main door)Living room (view from planterbed)Passageway Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkwhale 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2011 Common BathCommon RoomMBR BathMBR Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
angelbutterfly 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2011 Looks v spacious! Hope to see yr Reno starting soon! All the best! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites