Erwinong

Cove Lighting - Led Or Plc?

I have a dilemma now. My ID said it is better to use PLC lights for the cove lighting. He said I need a lot more LEDs to brighten up the place which will add the cost. Above all, LEDs require some kind of generator to run them? These don't last as long as the LED lights and cost a lot more to replace.

I'm confused now as I read LEDs are the "in thing" now and many have used LEDs for cove lighting.

Do you all have any issues with LEDs so far? Anyone chose PLC lights instead?

Appreciate any feedback. Thnx.

for cove lighting.. u mean T5 lighting? Go for T5, still the best for cove lighting. There's an existing thread on this in Electricals section.. go search for it..

I have a dilemma now. My ID said it is better to use PLC lights for the cove lighting. He said I need a lot more LEDs to brighten up the place which will add the cost. Above all, LEDs require some kind of generator to run them? These don't last as long as the LED lights and cost a lot more to replace.

I'm confused now as I read LEDs are the "in thing" now and many have used LEDs for cove lighting.

Do you all have any issues with LEDs so far? Anyone chose PLC lights instead?

Appreciate any feedback. Thnx.

Agree with Arowana. Are you sure that many have used LEDs for cove lighting?

To create the right effect for cove or recess lighting (that is, to have the light covering the entire cove perimeter without gaps of shadow), T5 is still preferred. To convince yourself, just test them, LEDs vs T5.

Edited by Lauer

Thank you arowana and Lauer.

Pardon me for my ignorance. I'm confused with LEDs and T5.

Prior to posting, I did some search and reading. I thought LED and T5 are the same? Cos when I did a goggle search, "LED T5", there is such a thing as T5 tube LED light.

And when I read some postings here, I see people using LED strips for their cove lighting. That's why I thought LED is the way to go.

So hope you all don't mind me asking further: What is T5 lighting? Is it fluorescent tube? Or some "PL-C" lighting as recommended by my ID?

Thank you very much!

Hi, I am going to do cove light too. Just like you, I didn't know what is T5 until I read the following:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=42979&st=0&p=661057&fromsearch=1entry661057

There is a link to a site where you can get the picture of T5 tube. Actually it is like the conventional fluorescent tube lah. Just that it is much slimmer.

In fact HDB is using it as lighting at corridor or void deck area. If your area is new or upgraded, go take a look of it.

Market is selling $15~$20 per tube for the longest 4' T5.

You can find it at any DIY homefix shop also but higher price, around $25~$30.

If you want to do cove light because of its soft beam, go for T5. :good: Never wrong, no need to worry so much.

Btw it is energy saving too. ;)

Prior to posting, I did some search and reading. I thought LED and T5 are the same? Cos when I did a goggle search, "LED T5", there is such a thing as T5 tube LED light.

And when I read some postings here, I see people using LED strips for their cove lighting. That's why I thought LED is the way to go.

So hope you all don't mind me asking further: What is T5 lighting? Is it fluorescent tube? Or some "PL-C" lighting as recommended by my ID?

Thank you very much!

Edited by whisper

Hi whisper,

Thanks for the link and explanation. :)

Yah, I've been trying to read more lately.

So you not considering LED strips? I'm getting confused on this also.

Many told me LED strips not as bright as T5. But a lighting specialist I spoke to said there are good LED ones which can rival T5. Advantage of LED is it saves electricity bill in the long run.

Thank you very much!

I think that, "the way to go", is really about what kind of effect you like to create. A cove is not similar to other coves; the size of its perimeter and it's height, and then the height of the cove from the floor. So, the effect you want, follows by the means to get that effect. Of course, there is also the wallet to consider.

T5, T8 are fluorescent tube of different length. Indeed, there is a LED T5, much more expensive but its lighting effect is not the same as T5 fluorescent. Please go to a lighting shop to see the difference.

PLC is commonly referred for downlight, but also loosely used to refer to other types of light by different IDs.

Just my two cents worth of thought.

LED lights are usually more 'hard' while T5 lights are much softer, therefore it is more suitable to create the soft effect of cove lighting.

I am going to do a full rectangular cove lights. Some ppl do only 1 side, or 2 sides or 3. Up to what kind of design you want to create for your living room ceiling.

I will be doing the conventional 4 sides one and thinking will use switch to control it. Perhaps one switch to on only 2 sides of 4, the other switch to on all of the tubes. Hope can achieve at least a little electricity savings.

Unless you are a LED lover, else I think T5 is good enough.

Good LED means expensive LED?? I don't know ah...be careful huh.

We ever consider LED strips (only consider very short while, :D ) but some ppl told us if one or two of the LED burnt out in the whole strip, it will create a dark shadow. Ugly leh. T5 easier lah, any tube burnt then just use ladder climb up change the burnt tube, done.

We thought of the energy savings in long run also. Long run....sigh, really need to run very long leh. Who knows after MOP we might sell the house leh.

Hi whisper,

Thanks for the link and explanation. :)

Yah, I've been trying to read more lately.

So you not considering LED strips? I'm getting confused on this also.

Many told me LED strips not as bright as T5. But a lighting specialist I spoke to said there are good LED ones which can rival T5. Advantage of LED is it saves electricity bill in the long run.

Lauer:

Thanks for the further explanation. You do sound to me to know the stuffs well. :) Ok, I'll likely check out the difference. Seeing is believing I suppose.

Ultimately, I just want to make sure I can consider the facts properly. The danger about going into the shops blindly is that everyone will say his or her lights are the best. I've learnt more from my own reading and also the good help over here.

whisper:

Ya, I think I'm more into T5 now. I've also just read the LED bulbs can blow and I can imagine if the bulbs go off here and there, the lighting will be uneven and ugly. Can't even change individually.

I think life is very fair huh. We can't always get the best in everything. I set my mind on LED all the time thinking they will help to save costs. Now I know the disadvantages of LEDs....

Lauer:

Thanks for the further explanation. You do sound to me to know the stuffs well. :) Ok, I'll likely check out the difference. Seeing is believing I suppose.

Ultimately, I just want to make sure I can consider the facts properly. The danger about going into the shops blindly is that everyone will say his or her lights are the best. I've learnt more from my own reading and also the good help over here.

whisper:

Ya, I think I'm more into T5 now. I've also just read the LED bulbs can blow and I can imagine if the bulbs go off here and there, the lighting will be uneven and ugly. Can't even change individually.

I think life is very fair huh. We can't always get the best in everything. I set my mind on LED all the time thinking they will help to save costs. Now I know the disadvantages of LEDs....

Erwin,

No la, it is just that I have gone through the same process as yours. I supposedly most people do also.

The bottom-line is what you like to have, the effect and so on. For cove, and also ambient lighting (behind mirror, above shelf etc), my experience is that fluorescent can provide more of the "wow" effect. Economical too, when compared to LED.

Lauer:

whisper:

I have personally carried out quite a number of home reno using LED covelight with very good result. LED covelight consumes 50% less energy than T5 and last 3 times longer. The key to a successful implementation is to install and position LED lighting in the proper way. Electricians usually casually stick the LED light in the cove without adjusting for optimal dispersion pattern and sometimes inferior power supply is used which compromises the reliability of the light.

T5 is still a good option for covelight, but LED is worth considering as well if the right light is installed by the right people.