KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 (edited) I managed to dig out some very old history. Read posts #103 and #106.http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=12684&st=80OMG!! Thanks for highlighting the posts. Now I'm really worried. Going to check with Forest on the worms. Hopefully my cabinets will be ok. Dun want to pay $10k to get a lousy kitchen cos it's not cheap. Will be whole lot cheaper to get it done the normal modern style leh. Edited October 12, 2011 by KittyJems Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 Hey KittyJemsI've been really busy with my new job and no time to call Forest to complain about the peeling paint! Think I must really make an effort to get it done soon. Though it's not a very big problem...not very obvious unless you see very clearly, but it's our hard-earned money lor. When you see them the next time, feel free to tell them about my problem lah. Tell them we discuss this on the forum, so they better do a good job for u so u won't slam them on the forum. haha....So when is your reno starting? Have they given u all the perspective drawings?Hi Countrylover,Thanks for your reply. I spoke to Forest about your peeling paint. But they said no one from the forum contacted them. Then Jessica went on to assure me that their painting all no problems. Good idea. Will tell them better do good job, else we will all be slamming them on the forum siah. hahaha. Yup. She has given me the drawings liaoz. Looks good. See if I can post pics of the drawings here. I'm starting my reno at end of Dec. So can complete b4 CNY. Hopefully everything goes well cos I'm using my friend's contractor for the hacking and re-tiling works. Forest only in charge of the carpentry. Busy having to liaise with both sides. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 I just received a quote from Gorest for my 3 Room Flat Kitchen. Its about 9K. Can I know if that is normal??? I have put aside budget of 6K cos the kitchen is not big, its very small.Pls advice. Their design is very nice. I went to Country Kitchen but its not the same.....Which kitchen design did you select? Cos according to Forest, different designs got diff price cos depends on how 'complicated' it is. Main factor will be the size of your cabinets cos the amount of wood required for the job. Erm..., what counter top are you using? Granite or Solid Surface? Sometimes the quote can be more expensive depending on your requirements - eg: full height cabinets, adding decorative items like curve pelmets, etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
flermodders 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 I went to Roomyroom once. Agree with piggiedearz that they do not have a lot of French style furniture in their showroom, though website shows a wide range....quite misleading if you ask me. From what I understand, their furniture are custom made in Indonesia. If you really want to save costs and willing to take the risks, you should consider doing them in Indonesia then ship here....cheap and good workmanship! I had my French fireplace and mirror custom made in Indo. Quite a hassle but worth the time and effort. If anyone is interested, I can pass u the contacts.I went to RoomyRoom 2 times this year and as recent as a few weeks ago. There is a complete "showroom" in the basement for classic French furniture including bed, shoe cabinet, table, chairs, coffee table, TV console, dresser table, display cabinet etc. However the showroom and entrance is sort of hidden and may not be easy to locate. You can approach their sales people to direct you to the showroom that display classic French furniture. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
flermodders 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 Hey KittyJemsI've been really busy with my new job and no time to call Forest to complain about the peeling paint! Think I must really make an effort to get it done soon. Though it's not a very big problem...not very obvious unless you see very clearly, but it's our hard-earned money lor. When you see them the next time, feel free to tell them about my problem lah. Tell them we discuss this on the forum, so they better do a good job for u so u won't slam them on the forum. haha....So when is your reno starting? Have they given u all the perspective drawings?Hi countrylover,I think you should give them a call and settle this issue ASAP. The normal warranty period is about 1 year, anything longer than that would be quite difficult to persue. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 Hi piggiedearz,Ok, thanks for the advice. I think there are still other country style IDs availablethough their design may not be so nice. My place is at the newly built Havelock road flats. I think it will be either French or English or mixed depending on budget and the ID I choose but probably not shabby.hihiif their designs are not nice, u design yourself! hehe. that's what i did. i roughly know what i like and don't like, so i browsed the web, magazines etc to show them the designs i want, then ask them to do it. but of cos...if want nice design, have to have the $ lar...(that's why i focused on the main items like the fireplace, display hutch, MBR and kitchen only. the rest of the loose furnitures i bought at a much cheaper price and the 2 common rooms, 1 have only a single bed moved from hubby's house (luckily it has a slight country look ) and the other is a study room, only have a table and chest of drawers from the IFC country shop. I moved another small bookcase (From ikea) from my parent's house cos its quite new. Like that saved a lot of $ lor hehe. Most guests only sit in the living room or go to the kitchen for a drink, so the 2 rooms are not so impt as we also have a limited budget Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 Eekkss! Scary when I read your post on the moulds growing. Yah... you are right. If your place is humid then no reason why only their furniture is affected and not the other wooden furnitures. Agree that they should not push blame. Not right way to do biz. Hahah! We tink alike! I was just telling my hub last night that I wanna do wall paper for my MBR and perhaps some beading especially for the living areas. See how much it will costs first. I'm fast reaching my max cap of $20K for my reno's liaoz. ya lor..budget is always a constraint... there're many things i want too..but cannot lar...unless one day i strike big sweep...then im gonna create my dream country house whahahha :P:Pu do wadever is needed first...then slowly add on year by year, just like countrylover and me my shoe cabinet was done 1yr after my reno as i wanted to look ard for a cheaper one...who knows i cannot find one that im satisfied with...and its gonna be in the living room!..and i already done up the living swee swee le so cannot anyhow get 1 ma..and yet i dowan to spend too much on it as its for shoes! LOL. dilemma...so end up custom one again lol... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 I went to RoomyRoom 2 times this year and as recent as a few weeks ago. There is a complete "showroom" in the basement for classic French furniture including bed, shoe cabinet, table, chairs, coffee table, TV console, dresser table, display cabinet etc. However the showroom and entrance is sort of hidden and may not be easy to locate. You can approach their sales people to direct you to the showroom that display classic French furniture. oh i guess both of us went a few yrs ago...so now they have improved a lot already. we stay quite far from ubi and no car...so after the first time experience we never went back haha. are you buying furniture from them? must show us leh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 (edited) ya lor..budget is always a constraint... there're many things i want too..but cannot lar...unless one day i strike big sweep...then im gonna create my dream country house whahahha :P:Pu do wadever is needed first...then slowly add on year by year, just like countrylover and me my shoe cabinet was done 1yr after my reno as i wanted to look ard for a cheaper one...who knows i cannot find one that im satisfied with...and its gonna be in the living room!..and i already done up the living swee swee le so cannot anyhow get 1 ma..and yet i dowan to spend too much on it as its for shoes! LOL. dilemma...so end up custom one again lol...Yup... totally agree. So I've split up my main reno into 2 phases. First part (this year) is for kitchen. Then 2nd part (next year) is for bedrooms. Meanwhile, will buy the loose furniture for living areas as and when we see suitable ones. Lucky I'm in no major hurry to reno cos I've been staying at this apartment for past 3-yrs liaoz. Now need to reno cos of wear and tear and need to 'upgrade' my furnitures to accommodate my growing family. Then since I need to revamp my home, I take the opportunity to change from modern contemporary to country style also. Tats why more reno required. Edited October 12, 2011 by KittyJems Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 (edited) Share some drawings that Forest did for my kitchen. Cabinets will be in white with gold trimmings and gold handles/knobs.Kitchen with Teka Hob and HoodSink area with Hansgrohe TapThe doorway between the fridge and the cabinets is my Bomb Shelter. Uploaded with ImageShack.us Edited October 12, 2011 by KittyJems Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madolia 0 Report post Posted October 12, 2011 Which kitchen design did you select? Cos according to Forest, different designs got diff price cos depends on how 'complicated' it is. Main factor will be the size of your cabinets cos the amount of wood required for the job. Erm..., what counter top are you using? Granite or Solid Surface? Sometimes the quote can be more expensive depending on your requirements - eg: full height cabinets, adding decorative items like curve pelmets, etc.I chose the blue kitchen on display. its full cabinet. they gave me granite black which I dont want. I want white cos looks better with blue. Size not too big cos 3 rm flat kitchen is quite small. How about Cottage Craft? Are they better? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2011 (edited) Share some drawings that Forest did for my kitchen. Cabinets will be in white with gold trimmings and gold handles/knobs.Kitchen with Teka Hob and HoodSink area with Hansgrohe TapThe doorway between the fridge and the cabinets is my Bomb Shelter. Uploaded with ImageShack.usooh not bad! but hor white for kitchen ar... might be hard to maintain if u cook often which i tink u do cos u have 3 kids right? maybe can consider other colours like sage green or rosewood colour? u can do the white with gold trimmings in the living or rooms... will look very classic in those areas... just my 2 cents worth Edited October 13, 2011 by piggiedearz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2011 I chose the blue kitchen on display. its full cabinet. they gave me granite black which I dont want. I want white cos looks better with blue. Size not too big cos 3 rm flat kitchen is quite small. How about Cottage Craft? Are they better?Oh. I also chose the french blue design. Except that instead of having the blue for the bottom cabinets, I'm changing it to white with gold trimmings. Yah... totally agree that black granite will not look nice with the blue. A whitish shade will suit better. But not easy to find cos granite colours are quite limited. Unless you opt for onyx (which is rather ex) or use solid surface. Personally I dun like solid surface as my work place has lots of those. Although it's not easily stained cos still can use CIF to remove but scratches are a nightmare. And the scratches can look rather obvious on a plain white top.My experience with cottage was quite good. Fast to reply with quote and the designer was really friendly. Unfortunately, their quote was alot higher than Forest. Plus hub prefer the kitchen deisgn at Forest and it was more convenient as we could choose the hob, hood, tap and sink all at 1-shot. No need to go hunting all over SG. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
KittyJems 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2011 ooh not bad! but hor white for kitchen ar... might be hard to maintain if u cook often which i tink u do cos u have 3 kids right? maybe can consider other colours like sage green or rosewood colour? u can do the white with gold trimmings in the living or rooms... will look very classic in those areas... just my 2 cents worth Actually I prefer having the french blue for the bottom and white for top. But my kitchen area is quite dark. Even in the afternoon need to switch on the lights type. So hub prefer to get all the cabinets in white to open up the space and give illusion of brightness. Anyway my current cabinets are also white. So far no issues with my heavy cooking. Just spray on Mr Muscle and all the oil is easily removed. I also dun mind if the white color turns yellowish... will kinda give the aged and shabby look. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
madolia 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2011 I got the quote from Cottage Craft and its about 2K cheaper. Although my favourite is still the blue kitchen at Forest, I asked cottage to do almost the same thing blue as well. Any advice on comparing quality among them?Oh. I also chose the french blue design. Except that instead of having the blue for the bottom cabinets, I'm changing it to white with gold trimmings. Yah... totally agree that black granite will not look nice with the blue. A whitish shade will suit better. But not easy to find cos granite colours are quite limited. Unless you opt for onyx (which is rather ex) or use solid surface. Personally I dun like solid surface as my work place has lots of those. Although it's not easily stained cos still can use CIF to remove but scratches are a nightmare. And the scratches can look rather obvious on a plain white top.My experience with cottage was quite good. Fast to reply with quote and the designer was really friendly. Unfortunately, their quote was alot higher than Forest. Plus hub prefer the kitchen deisgn at Forest and it was more convenient as we could choose the hob, hood, tap and sink all at 1-shot. No need to go hunting all over SG. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites