ejszaka 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2011 trust me, u'll be shagged from talking to so many IDs. so my advise.. stick to less than 5, and slowly strike out. for myself, only went to 3 IDs. and that was tiring enuff! haha. :sport-smiley-003:Haha... spoken like a true 过来人. I totally agree. Very tiring. Telling just one ID what u need is tiring as it is.. having to repeat 5x or more like a broken record... is torture +++. I milled about in IMM, and was told there are something like 17 or 19 of them there... faint! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2011 Haha... spoken like a true 过来人. I totally agree. Very tiring. Telling just one ID what u need is tiring as it is.. having to repeat 5x or more like a broken record... is torture +++. I milled about in IMM, and was told there are something like 17 or 19 of them there... faint!my sentiments exactly bro, the most painful thing about meeting all this IDs is to repeat what i've said to the previous IDs hope you dint go through more then 5 to find your ideal ID to do up ya place? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2011 (edited) As the flat is rather bare with no existing fixtures nor flooring, the works require would be rather major. Thus after discussing with the ID and budget constraints, here are the things we will be doing up.We are going to just renovate the kitchen, living room, storeroom, both common and MBR toliets and MBR, leaving the other 2 bedrooms untouched other then new electrical and painting works.We have also chosen the all the tiles needed for the Dining+Kitchen and both toliets from Hafary.Dining+KitchenCommon Toliet (Lowest = Floor, Middle = Walls & Top = Shower Wall FeatureMBR Toliet (Lowest = Floor, Middle = Feature Walls & Top = Other walls Edited September 15, 2011 by MeRfMeRf Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejszaka 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 I love your tiles... VERY nice.. especially the one for the common toilet... the striped one. Cool! Actually your unit looks very bare and nice. Excellent for those who want to rip out everything. Can save on hacking. Cement screed? Can do the industrial chic style, then don't need to spend so much on flooring... just kidding.... since you already chose the tiles. hehe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ejszaka 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 my sentiments exactly bro, the most painful thing about meeting all this IDs is to repeat what i've said to the previous IDs hope you dint go through more then 5 to find your ideal ID to do up ya place?No, I just looked around, flip their portfolios, found the most earnest (and 'gong') looking guy around, sat down and talked to him, and that was it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 I love your tiles... VERY nice.. especially the one for the common toilet... the striped one. Cool! Actually your unit looks very bare and nice. Excellent for those who want to rip out everything. Can save on hacking. Cement screed? Can do the industrial chic style, then don't need to spend so much on flooring... just kidding.... since you already chose the tiles. hehe.No, I just looked around, flip their portfolios, found the most earnest (and 'gong') looking guy around, sat down and talked to him, and that was it.i totally agree, having a bare unit can save $ on the hacking and removal of unwanted fixtures and stuffs. my ID is very into Loft/Industrial themes and he did suggest using cement screed, but i was afraid of high maintenance as they tend to crack after long periods due to weather expansion and contraction. so the next best thing was to apply losta grey and white themes to the house's design and introduction of wood grains/patterns. i think you made a good choice on the ID too as it all boils down to being comfortable the designs and ideas proposed. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 Hacking & Removal...Since our flat is rather free of old fixtures and we were not intending to hack any walls, the H&R was a rather simple one with spot hacking done to the foyer/dining & kitchen, removal of toilet fixtures, the louver windows in the living area, doors for storeroom and toilets. Spot Hacking in Foyer/DiningSpot Hacking in Kitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 Removal of Louver Window and made good Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 Removal of Toilet Fixtures Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 Arrival of Cement, Sand and Tiles that were ordered Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Terencetcw 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 wow tons of tiles there~ Act your floor plan for 103sqm seems quite big ya....Are you changing your bathroom wall tiles? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 16, 2011 wow tons of tiles there~ Act your floor plan for 103sqm seems quite big ya....Are you changing your bathroom wall tiles?not really alot as im only tiling the dining+foyer, kitchen as well as the 2 toilets. the bathroom tiles are a tad bit tricky as i initally dint know they are actually prefabricated toilets before confirming my purchase, due to its prefab nature, i cant hack the existing tiles as the HDB branch office does not approve of it for fear of damaging the steel box frame surrounding the toilet, so i got my ID to do an overlay instead.Hi Merf!i noticed that in your toilet pic, the pipes for the showers are concealed in the wall. Is this the standard for newer HDBs nowadays? Thanks in advance!Jonhey jon, as mentioned in my reply above, due to the fact that the toilets are prefab, thus all the configuration of piping has already been done and concealed within the walls of the toilet and i cant make any changes unless i do not want it concealed. the flat is already 13years old and i believe this was one of HDB's guinea pig projects for new building technologies. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2011 (edited) That's wonderful! Having concealed piping is a BIG "+" for your toilets. not having those ugly pipes running around really can make your toilet look different.I am having such a big headache with those hot & cold piping running around my toilets. i don't understand why HDB doesn't allow them to be concealed! Smack in with a concealed Grohe Mixer & Rainshower, your toilet will look fantastic!Jonwell theres both pros and cons definitely, i cant hack and remove the old toilet tiles and have to live with the unsightly waste pipes located at the rear of the WC. see pics below...the drainage pipes instead of going downwards goes back in to the sidewall, so have to get a P-Trap WC and i can't conceal the pipes due to HDB's regulations, if not would have done those hanging WCs found in commercial and private homes. hmm maybe paint the pipes to match the colour of the tiles? Edited September 17, 2011 by MeRfMeRf Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2011 Hey Merf!Yes you can do those wall hung toilets as seen in condis nowadays! I initially wanted to do that but couldnt because the WC manhole(am i correct to call that? Sounds wrong! LoL) is too far from the wall! I will have to extend a hollow block wall by 250mm which is too bulky! But for yours i think it could work! The flushing system can be placed on top which is covered by a solid surface or marble slab. Vvv nice!!!Jon1 of the contractor i got in touch with ask me to do those wall hung toilets, which is to extend a hollow block wall behind the hanging WC to hide the water tank frame and sewage or "manhole" within. Problem is cost as well as HDB regulation also forbids such designs unless do anything but don't get caught lor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MeRfMeRf 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2011 (edited) contractor says estimated cost between 600-800 for the whole setup for 1x wall hung toliet and yup gerberit flushes, WC can be any other brands thou. *cross-fingers* liao...Tiling & Wet Worksanyway just to update on my reno progress, the workers have finished the tiling works.Foyer/Dining Areanoticed we used a brick-wall pattern over the usual tile end to end to create more uniqueness to the flooring, this pattern goes all the way into the kitchen as well.the tile works stopped short halfway as the rest of the living room area we will install laminate flooring. Edited September 17, 2011 by MeRfMeRf Share this post Link to post Share on other sites