ejszaka

My City Haven

Renovation officially begins today.

DAY 1

Went up to the flat over lunch time to see how the hacking is getting on. It's really a warzone up there. Since it is a small flat, I am expecting it to finish on schedule (or even earlier).

The hall and rooms ....

P1010204-tile.jpg

Kitchen destruction ....

P1010211-tile.jpg

Edited by ejszaka

Hi ejszaka, Congtulation on your 1st day of Reno. we actually have a similar floor plan. but we do not have the luxury to tear the room wall down to create an extended living area like you. wish you have a good start and we are looking forward on more update from you.

Cheerz ! yk

Hey, potatoes, I don't quite get you. Horizontal as in? You refering to the toilet tiles ya? Leopard spots leh, how to make horizontal or vertical?

I also use the spotted tiles. ID also proposed to be a vertical border behind shower, but I disagreed. I got ID to make horizontal instead but only the shower and basin area. I wanted a white toilet with minimum spotted tiles :)

U can check it out on my blog at http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=40650&st=200

I also use the spotted tiles. ID also proposed to be a vertical border behind shower, but I disagreed. I got ID to make horizontal instead but only the shower and basin area. I wanted a white toilet with minimum spotted tiles :)

U can check it out on my blog at http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=40650&st=200

Saw it. Very nice. Looks like you have a thing for horizontal lines. Saw your orange striped bathroom also.

As mentioned earlier, I am using the Alumix pole system for my wardrobe. Turns out the choice of colours and laminates available for the doors are quite limited. They've got lots of frosted glass stuff which I am not keen on. Got my ID to re-do the 3D. Opted for a plain off white door with a horizontal black stripe running through. To add some texture to the door, I've opted for a PU material (to resemble leather) with an interesting and understated design.

So here are the revised 3Ds....

mb02-04.jpg

mb02-05.jpg

The colour of the bedroom has become very muted. I've requested that my ID add a dash of texture or colour to something in the room. Perhaps even wallpaper, to break the monotony of the whole theme.

Hehe, cant help it but kaypoh abit with ideas :sport-smiley-004:

Thanks, Reiki. I hope it turns out comfy as well too.

Yes, the WC area is indeed cozy, but I hope I don't have to spend too much time in there. Very valid considerations you brought up there. Not too sure why the previous owner sealed up the toilet door instead of the bathroom door, anyways, have to live with it, unless I wanna spend even more $$ moving the door. Another constraint is that I am building a cabinet with sink on the otherwise of the wall. Will have to live with it, rely on the expert tiler to lay the gradient of bathroom tiles such as water drains away into the floor trap quickly. :(

I understand the need for us to save; renovation can be a huge expense. As it is, ejszaka, that little business area can be very cozy. To put a big mirror above the cabinet will definitely makes the area looks bigger.

Do work closely with your tilers about the gradient. It is possible but you need to (constantly) highlight it before they take it for granted to lay in their normal ways.

The colour of the bedroom has become very muted. I've requested that my ID add a dash of texture or colour to something in the room. Perhaps even wallpaper, to break the monotony of the whole theme.

I tend to agree with your ID here. Somehow, as I vizualize the bedroom - which is usually not big unfortunately, to have too much colors tend to 'add' clutters in such a small environment. Actually, to add 'a dash of texture or color' can come from your bed sheet, quilt covers, pillow cases. As it is, our bed takes the center-stage in a small room.

From the revised 3D, those paintings will add colors to the room too.

Hi Ejszaka

Congrats!!! :sport-smiley-018:

I like your living room. Very nice. Post more pics regularly.

I will go for my 1st appointment this week. Thereafter, have to wait another 8 weeks for completion. I seriously hate the waiting.

Hehe, cant help it but kaypoh abit with ideas :sport-smiley-004:

I understand the need for us to save; renovation can be a huge expense. As it is, ejszaka, that little business area can be very cozy. To put a big mirror above the cabinet will definitely makes the area looks bigger.

Do work closely with your tilers about the gradient. It is possible but you need to (constantly) highlight it before they take it for granted to lay in their normal ways.

I tend to agree with your ID here. Somehow, as I vizualize the bedroom - which is usually not big unfortunately, to have too much colors tend to 'add' clutters in such a small environment. Actually, to add 'a dash of texture or color' can come from your bed sheet, quilt covers, pillow cases. As it is, our bed takes the center-stage in a small room.

From the revised 3D, those paintings will add colors to the room too.

Thanks for the reminder Reiki. Am actually very worried about the tiling, both the gradient, orientation and the workmanship. Gotta eye like a hawk, but very time consuming. As for the bedroom, I think might use a dark grey or even black wall paper on just one wall, so won't have too many colours. But at this point, my plans are still fluid. I think of shopping for paintings, I shack liao.

Edited by ejszaka

Hi Ejszaka

Congrats!!! :sport-smiley-018:

I like your living room. Very nice. Post more pics regularly.

I will go for my 1st appointment this week. Thereafter, have to wait another 8 weeks for completion. I seriously hate the waiting.

I can identify with you. Patience .... and the wait will be worthwhile. Make sure you create a t-blog too, and all posted about your reno plans. It's most exciting sharing in the 'joy'.

Now that I'm midway through the hacking, I am able to appreciate better where the pipes, beams and trunkings of my home runs. My biggest bugbear, .. how they do the toilet pipings in the good old days!! Also scrutinised properly how the gas and water pipes enter the home... and frankly, I don't know what to say.

IMG_2901.jpg

Can someone with more experience with this enlighten me please??? .... is it possible to relocate the entry points for the unsightly gas and water pipes? Got any HDB ruling that says CANNOT? As you can see from the above photo, they enter pretty low, which is so illogical. Wondering if I can move them upwards (as high as into the light box area), and then move the power DB slightly to the left, so it can be hidden in my full height cabinets. As worst I create a very shallow box to up the two pipes.

Edited by ejszaka

I think your ID has to submit for approval to HDB. Should not be an issue. Anyway, in the contract, they robably need to dismantle and change pipes. I notice mine is changed to st steel all the way to the mains. :)

Edited by potatoes

I think your ID has to submit for approval to HDB. Should not be an issue. Anyway, in the contract, they robably need to dismantle and change pipes. I notice mine is changed to st steel all the way to the mains. :)

That's great. Current position very awkward and downright weird if you asked me. :dunno:

DAY 2

The destruction continues. Most of the hacking is done. Only down to the last wall that separate the front bedroom from the living room, and the floor skirtings. They will clear all the debris tomorrow and the raw materials for construction will come in. It also means have to pay up another 40% of the bill.

P1010217.jpg

2 bedroom space combined.

P1010216.jpg

Kitchen and living room.

Edited by ejszaka

Dropped by again after work last evening to see the extent of destruction... I must say.. it's complete!!

P1010218.jpg

Nothing's left of the kitchen. All gone.

P1010224.jpg

The bedroom door (extreme right) has been re-opened and restored to it's original position. The big gaping hole in the centre is where the other bedroom was. It will be opened up to be the living area, where the TV will be. Should have been one continuous big open hole all the way till the end, if it weren't for one support beam/pillar which I can't hack off. Have to live with it. But heng ah.. looks like besides the horizontal beam in the kitchen, there are no other beams in the living room liao.

P1010228.jpg

Good thing the beam/pillar is narrower than I expected.

P1010220.jpg

View from my main door. Gotta dress up this beam/pillar when reno is done.

Edited by ejszaka