snoopy2006 0 Report post Posted August 22, 2011 Hi,I know nuts about renovation. This forum indeed is a 'great help' to me.I just gotten a quote from the ID.Appreciate you guy to to please help me to take a look whether is it a reasonable quote.Appreciate all your feedback and comments and what i should take note and look out for. Thanks!< Quote>Re : Renovation works at above mentioned address Amount Professional Services 1 Design & site co-ordination 2 Space planning layout plan 3 Perspective drawings on all carpentry works 4 Warranty of workmanship & after sales services for 12 months 5 Arrangement for PUB gas pipe installation 6 Consultation on selection of lights, furnitures & accessories Demolition Works 1 Hack existing flooring @ kitchen $450.00 2 Hack existing flooring @ living & dining $880.00 3 Hack partial wall between living and kitchen $550.00 4 Hack existing flooring & wall tiles @common bathroom $550.00 5 Hack existing wall tiles @ kitchen area $660.00 6 Hack existing flooring & wall tiles @ master Bathroom $550.00 7 Hack existing flooring & skirting @ 03 bedrooms $600.00 8 Dismantle existing kitchen cabinet, wardrobe storage cabinet if any $450.00 9 Dismantle all bathroom sanitary @ 02 nos. bathrooms $100.00 10 Dismantle all doors , door frames , sliding doors etc.(as per owner's request) $100.00 11 Dismantle all cornices , false ceiling & L-Box (as per owner's request ) $500.00 12 Distmantle rubbish chute FOC Living / Dining & Bedroom 1 Create new tampered glass partition btween living & kitchen $1,500.00 2 Supply & lay new cement screeding flooring @ living $950.00 3 Supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ living $4,225.00 4 To supply & do cement screeding to two bedrooms $380.00 5 To supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ 03 bedrooms $3,079.00 6 Made good at affected area on hacking wall $450.00 Kitchen Area 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $300.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $1,300.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height (expose area only)$2,850.00 4 Supply & construct fridge, washing machine base with tiles finish $150.00 5 Supply & construct cement mortar kitchen cabinet base $150.00 Master Bathroom 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $150.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $450.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height $1,450.00 Common Bathroom 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $150.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $450.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height $1,450.00 Plumbing Works 1 Supply & run new stainless steel piping to whole unit $650.00 2 Supply & run PVC inlet / outlet piping for kitchen sink & washing machine including installation $220.00 3 Supply labour to install instant heater or storage heater $80.00 4 Supply labour to install WC, wash basin & kitchen sink $420.00 5 Supply labour to install bathroom accessories FOC 6 Box up sewage pipe $350.00 7 Supply labour to install hand spray point $60.00 8 Supply labour to install shower sets $80.00 Painting Works 1 Supply & apply 03 coats of NIPPON paint to all internal walls & ceilings (max. 5 colours) $1,450.00 2 Supply & apply ICI gloss paint to all water piping, gates, doors, door frames & sewage pipe $150.00 3 Supply & apply sealer coating to all new partition ceiling $220.00 4 Supply & apply easi plaster to plaster smooth wall areas for whole unit *upon request $2,500.00 Door Works 1 Supply & install 02 nos. of aluminium frame bi-fold door c/w acrlic panel @ 02 bathrooms $440.00 2 Supply & install 03 nos. new designer timber doors $900.00 Tampered Glass Works 1 Supply & install col. Glass backing between kitchen cabinet $1,500.00 2 Supply & install 02 sets shower sceen $1,400.00 Design Ceiling Works 1 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ living $900.00 2 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ dining $900.00 3 Supply & install design false ceiling @ master room $550.00 4 Supply & install design false ceiling @02 bedrooms $1,000.00 Miscellaneous 1 Chemical wash upon completion of wet works $250.00 2 Provide & lay protection sheet $220.00 3 Provide HDB debris container from relevant department & disposal off site $800.00 4 Haulage Of sand and material $680.00 5 Supply & install 01 set wrought iron main gate to entrance $550.00 6 To supply & install new rubbish chute $220.00 7 To supply & install new louvre windows at toilet $480.00 Custom Made Build-in Furniture Kitchen Area 1 Design & fabricate top / bottom kitchen cabinet in laminate finish c/w swing door & drawer * accessories supply by owner base on 36ft $4,400.00 2 Supply & install new design glass door @ kitchen entrance $1,200.00 3 Supply & install kitchen solid surface work top with intergrated sink base on 15ft $1,800.00 Wash Area 1 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles and wall tiles $1,200.00 Grand Total : $50,394.00 We thank you for the opportunity to the above quote and look forward to be of service to you. Should you require any other further information, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned. Thank you. TERMS & CONDITIONS Payment Terms 30% of Contract Sum upon Signing & Confirmation 40% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of works 25% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of Carpentry works at Factory 05% of Contract Sum upon Completion CONFIRMED BY: ____________________________ NAME : NRIC : Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Tiler Seng 57 Report post Posted August 22, 2011 Hi,I know nuts about renovation. This forum indeed is a 'great help' to me.I just gotten a quote from the ID.Appreciate you guy to to please help me to take a look whether is it a reasonable quote.Appreciate all your feedback and comments and what i should take note and look out for. Thanks!< Quote>Re : Renovation works at above mentioned address Amount Professional Services 1 Design & site co-ordination 2 Space planning layout plan 3 Perspective drawings on all carpentry works 4 Warranty of workmanship & after sales services for 12 months 5 Arrangement for PUB gas pipe installation 6 Consultation on selection of lights, furnitures & accessories Demolition Works 1 Hack existing flooring @ kitchen $450.00 2 Hack existing flooring @ living & dining $880.00 3 Hack partial wall between living and kitchen $550.00 4 Hack existing flooring & wall tiles @common bathroom $550.00 5 Hack existing wall tiles @ kitchen area $660.00 6 Hack existing flooring & wall tiles @ master Bathroom $550.00 7 Hack existing flooring & skirting @ 03 bedrooms $600.00 8 Dismantle existing kitchen cabinet, wardrobe storage cabinet if any $450.00 9 Dismantle all bathroom sanitary @ 02 nos. bathrooms $100.00 10 Dismantle all doors , door frames , sliding doors etc.(as per owner's request) $100.00 11 Dismantle all cornices , false ceiling & L-Box (as per owner's request ) $500.00 12 Distmantle rubbish chute FOC Living / Dining & Bedroom 1 Create new tampered glass partition btween living & kitchen $1,500.00 2 Supply & lay new cement screeding flooring @ living $950.00 3 Supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ living $4,225.00 4 To supply & do cement screeding to two bedrooms $380.00 5 To supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ 03 bedrooms $3,079.00 6 Made good at affected area on hacking wall $450.00 Kitchen Area 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $300.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $1,300.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height (expose area only)$2,850.00 4 Supply & construct fridge, washing machine base with tiles finish $150.00 5 Supply & construct cement mortar kitchen cabinet base $150.00 Master Bathroom 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $150.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $450.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height $1,450.00 Common Bathroom 1 Supply & apply waterproofing membrane with upturn of 300mm $150.00 2 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles c/w cement screeding work $450.00 3 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous wall tiles up to ceiling height $1,450.00 Plumbing Works 1 Supply & run new stainless steel piping to whole unit $650.00 2 Supply & run PVC inlet / outlet piping for kitchen sink & washing machine including installation $220.00 3 Supply labour to install instant heater or storage heater $80.00 4 Supply labour to install WC, wash basin & kitchen sink $420.00 5 Supply labour to install bathroom accessories FOC 6 Box up sewage pipe $350.00 7 Supply labour to install hand spray point $60.00 8 Supply labour to install shower sets $80.00 Painting Works 1 Supply & apply 03 coats of NIPPON paint to all internal walls & ceilings (max. 5 colours) $1,450.00 2 Supply & apply ICI gloss paint to all water piping, gates, doors, door frames & sewage pipe $150.00 3 Supply & apply sealer coating to all new partition ceiling $220.00 4 Supply & apply easi plaster to plaster smooth wall areas for whole unit *upon request $2,500.00 Door Works 1 Supply & install 02 nos. of aluminium frame bi-fold door c/w acrlic panel @ 02 bathrooms $440.00 2 Supply & install 03 nos. new designer timber doors $900.00 Tampered Glass Works 1 Supply & install col. Glass backing between kitchen cabinet $1,500.00 2 Supply & install 02 sets shower sceen $1,400.00 Design Ceiling Works 1 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ living $900.00 2 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ dining $900.00 3 Supply & install design false ceiling @ master room $550.00 4 Supply & install design false ceiling @02 bedrooms $1,000.00 Miscellaneous 1 Chemical wash upon completion of wet works $250.00 2 Provide & lay protection sheet $220.00 3 Provide HDB debris container from relevant department & disposal off site $800.00 4 Haulage Of sand and material $680.00 5 Supply & install 01 set wrought iron main gate to entrance $550.00 6 To supply & install new rubbish chute $220.00 7 To supply & install new louvre windows at toilet $480.00 Custom Made Build-in Furniture Kitchen Area 1 Design & fabricate top / bottom kitchen cabinet in laminate finish c/w swing door & drawer * accessories supply by owner base on 36ft $4,400.00 2 Supply & install new design glass door @ kitchen entrance $1,200.00 3 Supply & install kitchen solid surface work top with intergrated sink base on 15ft $1,800.00 Wash Area 1 Supply & lay heavy duty ceramic / homogeneous floor tiles and wall tiles $1,200.00 Grand Total : $50,394.00 We thank you for the opportunity to the above quote and look forward to be of service to you. Should you require any other further information, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned. Thank you. TERMS & CONDITIONS Payment Terms 30% of Contract Sum upon Signing & Confirmation 40% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of works 25% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of Carpentry works at Factory 05% of Contract Sum upon Completion CONFIRMED BY: ____________________________ NAME : NRIC :If ID can provide you fantastic design & service, then is worth paying for Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arowana 2 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 another point you can negotiate for is better payment terms:I'm currently renovating my place. my terms are:10% upon signing10% after hacking and selection of materials25% after 25% of work is done25% after 50% of work is done15% after 75% of work is done15% after completion and handing over.My contractor is comfortable with such payment terms with us. We told him we don't feel comfortable paying before work is done and we heard alot of horror stories in the industry. So he's has so far kept his side of the bargain by performing well so we might pay faster to encourage him.Very important is the final payment after handing over it has to be minimum 10%, if can get more.. better. 5% usually is no power. If there's any disputes, contractor/ID is prepared to walk away and dun earn the last 5% as their margin is already 15-20% in some cases. If you hold more than 10%, you can be sure he'll do his best to do a good handing over. This forum has too many threads of homeowners paying too much in advance and even pay complete before handover. When you control the money flow, you can control the work process and satisfaction. Renovation is not cheap, do your homework, check.Lastly, one look at your quote and I know it's expensive by 10-15% liao. Go read up in this forum ,there's alot of discussion on market prices. BUT you must make sure you are comparing apples to apples. Materials used can make alot of diff to the price. So do compare correctly.Enjoy! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
whisper 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 All the prices are marked up around 10% for you to negotiate it down if you really want to engage this ID. By the way, there are few items I noticed the quoted price is far too high than average. You better search around. 2 Supply & install 02 sets shower sceen $1,400.00 Is your living room very huge? Maybe you want to check the psf price for the flooring because I wondering why your living room is bigger than total 3 bedrooms. I am not very sure too because I don't intend to do laminate flooring but perhaps you want to double check on this. 3 Supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ living $4,225.00 5 To supply & lay new berry floor hydro plus laminate @ 03 bedrooms $3,079.00For painting, better check which type of Nippon paint will be provided unless you are not particular on this. Some contractor will want you to top up $$ if you want better range of paint.Supply & install kitchen solid surface work top with intergrated sink base on 15ft $1,800.00Also check with your ID which brand of solid kitchen top will be provided because $120pfr shld get a good brand I think. 30% of Contract Sum upon Signing & Confirmation/40% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of works This means 70% $$ will be paid once work start. Don't you think it sounds risky to you? Anything you find not to your requirement on site during the renovation may not be fully rectified then. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JezLaw 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 FYI4. Cost of clearing of debris and haulage**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given. Best is to check with your HDB branch office. HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 how big is your house??? some items are expensive..2 Supply & install 02 sets shower sceen $1,400.00- dun think the glass screens are so big right?1 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ living $900.00 2 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ dining $900.00 these 2 also ex...mine is EM is about this price....- your hacking quoted is very expensive! at $5390? maybe you want to check around with others.- Your flooring seems expensive. I am not sure of the size of your living room. I know Berry flooring also not cheap too.2 Supply & install 03 nos. new designer timber doors $900.00 - what kind of timber doors are they giving you? veneer?? comes with lockset? mine is at $270 per set for veneer doors and comes with lockset.3 Provide HDB debris container from relevant department & disposal off site $800.00 4 Haulage Of sand and material $680.00 - def overcharge on this!!! 3 Supply & install kitchen solid surface work top with intergrated sink base on 15ft $1,800.00 Wash Area - they are charging you at $120 per foot run for solid surface top which is expensive. Usually contractor price is $80 per foot run. If you go direct to granite supplier, you can also get $80 per foot run for Indian black granite.Payment Terms 30% of Contract Sum upon Signing & Confirmation 40% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of works 25% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of Carpentry works at Factory 05% of Contract Sum upon Completion - Payment terms is def not to your favour! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
snoopy2006 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 Arowana! Thanks men!!! I will definitely neg on the payment terms once we confirmed on the renovation Co.Whisper: thanks!! Jezlaw: Thanks for the info!! Good lesson learnt.Joyousanline: yes, is exp. I almost fall off from my chair. The 5 room flat to me not very big. About 114-118sqm.I dunno how to attach the floor plan.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
snoopy2006 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 FYI4. Cost of clearing of debris and haulage**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given. Best is to check with your HDB branch office. HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note.I just check with 1 contractor. He told me $215 is for new flat without doing any hacking and retiling work ? And he said resale flat at least $600 Hmm..i will call up town council tom & check. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MingzhuAng 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 I just check with 1 contractor. He told me $215 is for new flat without doing any hacking and retiling work ? And he said resale flat at least $600 Hmm..i will call up town council tom & check.I'm using a contractor and mine is a resale unit and we are going to hack all the floor and wall tiles includes the toilets plus a door sized wall. And it is $300, that is for the haulage service and clear all debris off site. Maybe you want to check with him again.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
snoopy2006 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 I'm using a contractor and mine is a resale unit and we are going to hack all the floor and wall tiles includes the toilets plus a door sized wall. And it is $300, that is for the haulage service and clear all debris off site. Maybe you want to check with him again..$300!! cheap !!! Can email your quotation for me to compare ? HeeeeI called up town council & also HDB office, for resale flat, it all arrange by the contractor. So HDB or town council wont't arrange any container and haulage for clearing the debris except for NEW FLAT. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
whisper 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Follow the guideline here then you can learn & test how to upload image in this forum. Very useful!Guide on how to upload photos in renotalkI dunno how to attach the floor plan.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jmev 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 how big is your house??? some items are expensive..2 Supply & install 02 sets shower sceen $1,400.00- dun think the glass screens are so big right?1 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ living $900.00 2 Design and construct new false ceiling light box cum cove lighting @ dining $900.00 these 2 also ex...mine is EM is about this price....- your hacking quoted is very expensive! at $5390? maybe you want to check around with others.- Your flooring seems expensive. I am not sure of the size of your living room. I know Berry flooring also not cheap too.2 Supply & install 03 nos. new designer timber doors $900.00 - what kind of timber doors are they giving you? veneer?? comes with lockset? mine is at $270 per set for veneer doors and comes with lockset.3 Provide HDB debris container from relevant department & disposal off site $800.00 4 Haulage Of sand and material $680.00 - def overcharge on this!!! 3 Supply & install kitchen solid surface work top with intergrated sink base on 15ft $1,800.00 Wash Area - they are charging you at $120 per foot run for solid surface top which is expensive. Usually contractor price is $80 per foot run. If you go direct to granite supplier, you can also get $80 per foot run for Indian black granite.Payment Terms 30% of Contract Sum upon Signing & Confirmation 40% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of works 25% of Contract Sum upon Commencement of Carpentry works at Factory 05% of Contract Sum upon Completion - Payment terms is def not to your favour!Hello joyousonline, can you please share your contractor's contact??? thanks so much!!! =D Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MingzhuAng 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 $300!! cheap !!! Can email your quotation for me to compare ? HeeeeI called up town council & also HDB office, for resale flat, it all arrange by the contractor. So HDB or town council wont't arrange any container and haulage for clearing the debris except for NEW FLAT.eh, i guess some of my quote may not be suitable for you. As we have different size area of things to be done, and different things and material to do. Things like haulage service and debris can be comparable, and some other basic items, such as plumbing work, paint work, rewiring work, etc. Just to note, my quote is from a contractor not an ID. If the quote is from ID, of course it will be roughly 10% more then contractor. Reason is that, ID will look for contractors to get the jobs done. So, IDs will get their cut of comm. They can't possibly do work for you for free. So you can't expect the ID to charge the same price as contractor. And if hiring contractor, you should know what you want.Will PM you in a while. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted August 26, 2011 Hello joyousonline, can you please share your contractor's contact??? thanks so much!!! =Dhave PM you his contact! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
snoopy2006 0 Report post Posted August 26, 2011 eh, i guess some of my quote may not be suitable for you. As we have different size area of things to be done, and different things and material to do. Things like haulage service and debris can be comparable, and some other basic items, such as plumbing work, paint work, rewiring work, etc. Thanks!! U r right! Maybe I should re-consider contractor instead of ID.Just to note, my quote is from a contractor not an ID. If the quote is from ID, of course it will be roughly 10% more then contractor. Reason is that, ID will look for contractors to get the jobs done. So, IDs will get their cut of comm. They can't possibly do work for you for free. So you can't expect the ID to charge the same price as contractor. And if hiring contractor, you should know what you want.Will PM you in a while. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites