Rover

3-Roomer : Bachalor'S Paradise

Not so fast, fren. Earliest will be year end. Haven settle the proceedings yet leh. But more or less hv in mind how I wanna dressup my unit. Hehehe. Juz hope can find suitable unit by then. Only worry is buy liao can't hack walls den jialat.

I know a bit early. No harm go walk walk look see. If find some unit with the layout you like, go buy the floor plan online lor. I suppose by looking at it, you would know which one can whack, which one die die cannot. But with most older HDB resale flats, bound to have some small surprises along the way. Then once you know which locale have the layout you like, you just need to monitor listings there lor. Otherwise very siong.

Ya. Actually, I had oredi worked out my designs for all types of 3 room units. The only catch is as I mentioned, whether can hack walls anot. U correctly pointed out tt older generation of flats hv 'surprises'. Also, I gathered tt some flats, if situated on lower floors, certain walls can't be hacked even if it's not structural. This is to maintain the 'stability' of the entire building.

omg i totally understand how u feel abt space planning even before you get the flat! i'm exactly like you and i too wanna get a unit with two rooms facing each other and a store room in the middle. to me thats the most ideal compared to some units with storeroom or bedroom near the kitchen, which is just weird. my only worry is since im currently staying in an EA and planning to downgrade to a 3-room soon i dunno if my king sized bed and 8-seater dining table & chairs would be able to fit into the house or not. i want open-kitchen concept too but i will need sliding glass door as i bake for a living so i will need to have aircon installed in the kitchen. what i like abt this flat layout is that the kitchen is big (i want an island) but the idea of small bathroom and corridor unit dont appeal to me :(

King size bed, 8 seater dining table & chairs, big kitchen with island in a 3rooms hdb flat?

Basically 3i or 3NG is long and narrow with the 4 rooms side by side and next to each other with or without a small storeroom in the middle on 1 side. To achieve your requirement, you need to hack off the master bedroom and combine it with your kitchen, your living area will be shorten leaving the most part to be your dining area, the common bedroom together with your storeroom and maybe part of your original master bedroom will be your bedroom.

This kind of layout is do-able but it will be very difficult to sell off in future.

You have no choice, 3i or 3NG build in mid 70's to mid 80's comes with small bathroom. You want big bathroom, can consider 4A1 build around YR2000 but tell you 1st, the kitchen is small.

Edited by albertchng

Sold my 4-room. First apptm in late Jul. Nw sourcing for a 3-room for myself. Looking at the current resale market and the balance of my cash proceeds after divorce (I'm only getting back abt $40K thereafter), I could only afford a 3I instead of 3NG. Had asked for quotation frm banks on my housing loan applications as well as asked my agent fren to start sourcing for resale unit.

Typical 3I layout :

fe4e9930.jpg

My self designed revamp :

c60939a2.jpg

Guess if I'm lucky, will be able to get a 3I of my budget. Housing loan shld not be an issue cos my CPF is sufficient. As for reno, hope can do something simple with the full loan $30K. Furnishings would need to rely on bonuses (worst case use installments).

Edited by Rover

Sold my 4-room. First apptm in late Jul. Nw sourcing for a 3-room for myself. Looking at the current resale market and the balance of my cash proceeds after divorce (I'm only getting back abt $40K thereafter), I could only afford a 3I instead of 3NG. Had asked for quotation frm banks on my housing loan applications as well as asked my agent fren to start sourcing for resale unit.

Typical 3I layout :

fe4e9930.jpg

My self designed revamp :

c60939a2.jpg

Guess if I'm lucky, will be able to get a 3I of my budget. Housing loan shld not be an issue cos my CPF is sufficient. As for reno, hope can do something simple with the full loan $30K. Furnishings would need to rely on bonuses (worst case use installments).

The internal useable area is smaller than the floor plan. For instant, the length of my mbr on floor plan is 3975mm, the actual is 3850mm; the width on floor plan is 3100mm, actual is 2900mm.

The queen size bed in your 2D & 3D drawing is not drawn to correct dimension; include bed frame is about 1700 X 2100, 4-dr wardrobe is about 1800 X 600. That leave you about 600mm walking space between wardrobe and bed frame edge.

EDITED TO ADD:

Your kitchen layout may not be practical, the actual useable width in a 3i kitchen is a about 2800mm, the fridge will take up 700mm, the L shape kitchen island width is about 600mm, that leave about 750mm walking space in between island & fridge and island & wall. A typical 3i ceiling is low, you got about 2400mm from floor to ceiling and there are ugly beam running across the kitchen. On the side of the wall with the rubbish chute there are ugly drainage pipe running from unit above down to yours, if you conceal this pipe, you will create a bottleneck with less than 600mm walking passage. Where is the space for washing machine and bamboo stick bracket?

No store room? Then better look for a 3i + 1 utility room, expect to ford out more than one without.

Edited by taichipanda

My agent managed to get a 3NG for me. Typical corridor unit but at side wing of the block, ie lift lobby with 4 units at each side (three 3-room units + one 4-room corner unit).

My floorplan :

443d5562.jpg

Location at Bedok North Road, 12th floor (highest level), Val $346k, COV $23k. Wall between kitchen oredi hacked so I'll save abit on this hacking. Design of my layout will remain the same, ie still need to hack the wall between common room and living room, and to hack away the storeroom to widen the MBR.

As illustrated in my earlier design, I intend to hack a walkway between both toilets. MBR toilet will only hv shower while kitchen toilet will hv the holy bowl and basin.

I understand that the existing pipes in the toilets can be reconfigured to re-route the pipe layout. Any genius or experienced folks here can comment on my existing pipe layouts and suggest how or whether I could reconfigure mine?

Kitchen toilet pipes :

8503c537.jpg

867f7e90.jpg

MBR pipes :

ec24d6ee.jpg

982f08a8.jpg

My concern will be on the above MBR pipes which are located below the sink, of which one of them is a huge one connecting to the kitchen toilet. Cos I'm intending to hack the walkway at the current MBR sink location and the current MBR toilet bowl position will be my shower area.

Comments pls...

My agent managed to get a 3NG for me. Typical corridor unit but at side wing of the block, ie lift lobby with 4 units at each side (three 3-room units + one 4-room corner unit).

My floorplan :

443d5562.jpg

Location at Bedok North Road, 12th floor (highest level), Val $346k, COV $23k. Wall between kitchen oredi hacked so I'll save abit on this hacking. Design of my layout will remain the same, ie still need to hack the wall between common room and living room, and to hack away the storeroom to widen the MBR.

As illustrated in my earlier design, I intend to hack a walkway between both toilets. MBR toilet will only hv shower while kitchen toilet will hv the holy bowl and basin.

I understand that the existing pipes in the toilets can be reconfigured to re-route the pipe layout. Any genius or experienced folks here can comment on my existing pipe layouts and suggest how or whether I could reconfigure mine?

Kitchen toilet pipes :

8503c537.jpg

867f7e90.jpg

MBR pipes :

ec24d6ee.jpg

982f08a8.jpg

My concern will be on the above MBR pipes which are located below the sink, of which one of them is a huge one connecting to the kitchen toilet. Cos I'm intending to hack the walkway at the current MBR sink location and the current MBR toilet bowl position will be my shower area.

Comments pls...

Wah your pipes look really complicated. Will your id or contractor have any advice for you?

First of all, congratulation in getting your flat. ; )

From the look of your toilet pipe, seems like those old type (non-plastic ones). You might want to check with either HDB if they plans to upgrade the toilet & piping. My MIL place (Bedok South Ave 2) is currently going through piping replacement & toilet upgrading (those shower & WC separated type).

If they have plan to upgrade or replace the old type of piping, than you won't want to spend too much or even do your toilet, cause if they really come & do upgrading, all will be gone. Than $$$ wasted.

First of all, congratulation in getting your flat. ; )

From the look of your toilet pipe, seems like those old type (non-plastic ones). You might want to check with either HDB if they plans to upgrade the toilet & piping. My MIL place (Bedok South Ave 2) is currently going through piping replacement & toilet upgrading (those shower & WC separated type).

If they have plan to upgrade or replace the old type of piping, than you won't want to spend too much or even do your toilet, cause if they really come & do upgrading, all will be gone. Than $$$ wasted.

Good point. However, as I'll be doing total revamp in reno, unless the upgrading is in line with my reno, if not, it's not doable cos I can't possibly redo my toilets again during upgrading. Frm experience, it's pretty hard to get the timelines in line too.

Wah your pipes look really complicated. Will your id or contractor have any advice for you?

Today juz signed OTP. Haven engage ID/contractor yet. Frm wat I gathered, there are ppl who reroute / reconfig the running of the pipes to suite their toilet reno designs, unless certain pipes are critical or hdb dun allow 'modifications'. Hope mine is not critical pipes :(

Rover. Why don't you go walk walk at IMM. There are many ID shops there, pretend to be shopping for ID (not sure if you are using ID at all), and just ask them if pipings can be rerouted.. and what it involves, etc. Alternatively, call HDB and ask. Send a photo in if you have to. See what they have to say. The pipings do look very complicated. For all you know, being on the top floor, you might not need to keep some of them?

just call the HDB technical officer from your town branch office. he is the person that would approve of your renovation permit, and he can definitely tell you what you can or cannot do. when the constraints are establish, then you can start designing.....