Outofwork

Need Advice On Reno Cost

Finally after trying to ballot for HDB flat for 5 times unsucessful. My wife and I decided to go for a resale 3rm flat. We have decided to start family planning quickly before she turn beyond 35 years old.

Recently scouted for some IDs and found that renovating a 3rm flat that include hacking of walls, rewiring, relay the floor tiles, repaint the house, carpentry for kitchen and 2 bedrooms, spray white power on windows grills, installing of glass door between kitchen and living (after hacking the wall) and wall titles for WC and Toilet.

All these cost around $30-32k and does not include installation of aircon and wall tiles for kitchen.

Am I being ripped off?

Edited by Outofwork

Welcome here! Dun give up...try comparing for more n see what is the cost about...It's really expensive but also depends what u hv included...

My 5rm quotation ranged from 35k - 75k! Wah...so xiong....

Welcome here! Dun give up...try comparing for more n see what is the cost about...It's really expensive but also depends what u hv included...

My 5rm quotation ranged from 35k - 75k! Wah...so xiong....

Wow, if your 5rm can start with 35k. It makes me think that a 3rm flat can be lower than that isnt it?

We went for lourve design, that's the quote they gave. Just felt that we kena ripped off. Anyway paying a visit to discuss the quote in detail. See how.

Anyone went for Lourve Design before? Any comments?

Congrats on getting ur new home!

Like 'angelbutterfly' said, u can compare a few quotations to get a better feel of the mkt rates.. though the lowest quotation might not necc means the best.

Alternatively if you already have in mind what exactly you want.. can looks for a contractor instead. Easily can save at least 10%. That's what we did. :D

If budget is a constraint, certain items you can choose to do at a latter phase (after you moved in).. so you can have more time to save up!

Enjoy your renovation journey! :yamseng:

Finally after trying to ballot for HDB flat for 5 times unsucessful. My wife and I decided to go for a resale 3rm flat. We have decided to start family planning quickly before she turn beyond 35 years old.

Recently scouted for some IDs and found that renovating a 3rm flat that include hacking of walls, rewiring, relay the floor tiles, repaint the house, carpentry for kitchen and 2 bedrooms, spray white power on windows grills, installing of glass door between kitchen and living (after hacking the wall) and wall titles for WC and Toilet.

All these cost around $30-32k and does not include installation of aircon and wall tiles for kitchen.

Am I being ripped off?

That's true! It doesnt matter if it is 3 /4/5 or EA or EM. It depends on how extensive u want your reno to be? I m spending 35k to renovate my EM.

It seems like your quote is inclusive of electrical costs as well, since there is rewiring?

Most quotes come without rewiring/electrical costs.

You seem to be doing quite a bit, and I dun think you are ripped off.

If you need some creative input, go for ID, otherwise you can go for a contractor if you already have a clear design concept in mind.