porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2011 HiMay I know where/what brand I can find ceiling fan with light kit. Size must be smaller than 50" coz the room is small. Thank you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2011 Kekeke definately not KDK brand cos can't install light kit.... The most common that you can find in the market will be 48 inches blades fan, where there are various type of blades material you can choose from aluminium blades, wooden blades and also acrylic blades.Shop around and u'll be able to find the one that meets yr requirement.... hope this helps... palHi broya, too bad KDK no light kit otherwise a no brainer, i'll just take KDK. this ceiling fan thing is driving me nuts. 48" sounds great, are u refering to elmark+light kit. I used to use elmark hugger+litkit...to me the look is very simple, so i like.. but quality er, abit lousy leh, the sides of the blades rust so easily and the light not very bright too....or u have other brands to reco me? thank you v much Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bunnymummy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2011 I bought Fanco brand, which looks similar to the Elmark one you are talking about. Model FFM 3000. 3 metal blades and a round light which can fit 2 energy saver bulbs. I find the brightness is just right for a bedroom or study, just use higher watt bulbs. Fan power is quite powerful and also fits close to ceiling in case your ceilings are low.Also, the blades will not rust I think, since it is made of aluminium. I don't think aluminium rusts... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 i also bought fanco...most..if not all of fanco's fans can install light kit if im not wrong... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 I bought Fanco brand, which looks similar to the Elmark one you are talking about. Model FFM 3000. 3 metal blades and a round light which can fit 2 energy saver bulbs. I find the brightness is just right for a bedroom or study, just use higher watt bulbs. Fan power is quite powerful and also fits close to ceiling in case your ceilings are low.Also, the blades will not rust I think, since it is made of aluminium. I don't think aluminium rusts...there are also acrylic blades...confirm wont rust! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 (edited) Hi pal,keke... bcos KDK ceiling fans are not decorative ceiling fan, that's Y can't install light kit.There are many brands that carry the 48 inches blade size ceiling fan.Hugger type is using mounting plate, so it's more suitable for low ceiling.Metal blades will tense to rust in long run, and wil cos the fan to be unbalance.As for light kit, hamburger type will not be bright enough as the cover is frosted.Go for those holder type or if u're willing to spend abit more go for LED light kit (consumption is veri low, so can save the pocket) kekeke...Go for downrod mounting type and u'll feel the different liao.... Hope this helps ...If u need my help just PM me..., i'll try to help you out.... palHi BroFan with LED?! I am keen, where can I find it? I have seen a "bubble fan with LED" however I am not sure of the brightness hence dont dare to try. If i get a hugger type for ceiling hight 3m, is it for sure cant feel the wind? the room is pretty small 3x2.8m. I prefer the look of hugger to longer rod...how? Edited July 5, 2011 by porcupine12trade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 (edited) I bought Fanco brand, which looks similar to the Elmark one you are talking about. Model FFM 3000. 3 metal blades and a round light which can fit 2 energy saver bulbs. I find the brightness is just right for a bedroom or study, just use higher watt bulbs. Fan power is quite powerful and also fits close to ceiling in case your ceilings are low.Also, the blades will not rust I think, since it is made of aluminium. I don't think aluminium rusts...Hi BunnymummyThanks for bringing my attention to fanco, I'll google right after this, sounds like what I am looking for and good to hear it can fit 2 energy saver bulbs! The brightness is enough for bedroom and study, ooh if I want warm light still suitable as general lighting in kids' room? Thanks! Edited July 5, 2011 by porcupine12trade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 (edited) there are also acrylic blades...confirm wont rust!Hi archenemy,the acrylic blades by fanco too? I'll go google for them, thanks! Edited July 5, 2011 by porcupine12trade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 (edited) Hi bunnymummy, archenemy, broI googled and found the Fanco FFM300 (aluminum) and FFM400 (acrylic), both 48" and quite similar. However I dont know the difference (function/durability etc) between aluminum and acrylic blades, anyone can share with me? Edited July 5, 2011 by porcupine12trade Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 sorry dude..cant really help you on your question..but if 2 fans are ceteris paribus and only the blade material is different...i would take acrylic over aluminium... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 sorry dude..cant really help you on your question..but if 2 fans are ceteris paribus and only the blade material is different...i would take acrylic over aluminium...ah this is the ans i'm looking for, so acrylic is "more superior" material..thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2011 ah this is the ans i'm looking for, so acrylic is "more superior" material..thanks.haha bro..i wouldnt say that acrylic is the more "superior" material lah...to me..the colour on metal is usually painted..so if you accidentally scratch it while cleaning..the paint will come off..the aluminium might oxidise..whats more..we sometimes have to use a bit of water to clean it...accelerating the oxidisation process. the colour on is acrylic however added to the liquid acrylic and left to harden..so no worries about discolouration...and acrylic will not oxidise..and takes to water well. correct me if im wrong...thats what i understand.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bunnymummy 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2011 I was told by someone that aluminium fan blade provides the strongest wind, with acrylic blade being second and wooden blade being the least powerful. But I really don't know. All I can tell you is that I chose aluminium cos I like the look (simpler) and they are working quite well for me so far. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2011 I was told by someone that aluminium fan blade provides the strongest wind, with acrylic blade being second and wooden blade being the least powerful. But I really don't know. All I can tell you is that I chose aluminium cos I like the look (simpler) and they are working quite well for me so far. logically...if the motors are of the same specs..how much wind it will produce will depend on the angle of the blade and the weight of the blade..the lighter the blade...the more powerful the wind should be..because it will spin with more speed...so you might be right..because arcylic is not exactly very light... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted July 7, 2011 i'm using FFM4000 with light kit... no complaint so far. the fan comes with 2 Fanco bulbs. after the bulbs busted, i changed to a philip one with same voltage but somehow it became A LOT brighter~ one thing to take note is that the Philips bulb is a bit fatter than the Fanco original one... so sometimes when the fan rotates and vibrates, the bulb will hit the light cover and have a bit of small noise... not very noticeable though unless you pay attention in a very quiet environment~ i probably need to look for another light bulb that is smaller... hmmm bro, any advice on this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites