babytan 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2011 (edited) hi ya, am back after such a long time...like all old birdies not around liao ah?not much changes, just that one of my furkid baby gal passed on due to old age(i missed her so much!!)i also had a baby (a toddler now), how time flies!!am moving for the 3rd time, purely wanted to upgrade as my baby will need more area to run around later and well, before the flat prices soar furtherhmmm nothing much to do now, waiting to complete current sale and purchase of flat.got 2 months extension from buyer, and just managed to get a resale flat today...in original condition, thats my intention as we wanted to have major renovationIDs wise, hahahhah maybe ROY TAN againbut that will depend on his quote liao!!well just to get down the dates:26/06/11 deposit paid09/07/11 exercise OTP23/07/11 Fengshui Audit29/08/11 1st Appointment21/10/11 2nd Appointment & Key collection23/10/11 Open Door Ceremony @ 2.30pm01/11/11 Hacking start @ 3.15pm Edited October 31, 2011 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2011 (edited) here's my floorplanbut this time dun really have much inspirations leh! haizz maybe too busy with babyi know i wanted a greyish kitchen only..any1 has any recommendation? Edited July 3, 2011 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mabaricows 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2011 here's my floorplanbut this time dun really have much inspirations leh! haizz maybe too busy with babyi know i wanted a greyish kitchen only..any1 has any recommendation?Greyish?Industrial style kitchen! Hahaa...Or sleek modern stainless steel grey look? A lot of brushed metal appliances these days.. haha..Good luck with your reno! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 just to update some pictures of current flatLivingCommon Room 1Common Room 2 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 KitchenCommon Toiletnot able to take picture of MBR as the owner was showering lolz...also gotton my quote from 2 person:1) Contractor (sister good fren)overall the quote was good and it was really a "friendship" pricebut is a contractor, so dun expect "fanciful" design, you have to tell him wat you wantbut me and hubby not much design sense, worried tat we turn our house upside down lolzzz2) Roy Tan from IR Design (former Inzen)as roy did up my previous flat and overall we were quite satisfied with himPros: good working attitude, good sense of design, chin chye, direct and most can click with himCons: he is very busy as he is like 1 man show. so waiting for his reply is like....zzzzz but i kiasu, getting my flat in oct and i already gotton him to quotewe decided on ROY again as my hub prefer him althought his quote is slightly higher than the contractor..."yi fen qian yi fen huo" lo in my case, i cant afford to wait till getting keys then quote as i need to move out of current flat by early dec 10 (getting flat in mid oct) so the reno timeline is quite tightbtw just to share, you can purchase floor plan online, take few days onlywith that you roughly know wat you want and can start to get IDs to quotecos i was kuku last time, get my floor plan only during 2nd appt thus wasted lots of time will post up the quote later Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yoshi 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 KitchenCommon Toiletnot able to take picture of MBR as the owner was showering lolz...also gotton my quote from 2 person:1) Contractor (sister good fren)overall the quote was good and it was really a "friendship" pricebut is a contractor, so dun expect "fanciful" design, you have to tell him wat you wantbut me and hubby not much design sense, worried tat we turn our house upside down lolzzz2) Roy Tan from IR Design (former Inzen)as roy did up my previous flat and overall we were quite satisfied with himPros: good working attitude, good sense of design, chin chye, direct and most can click with himCons: he is very busy as he is like 1 man show. so waiting for his reply is like....zzzzz but i kiasu, getting my flat in oct and i already gotton him to quotewe decided on ROY again as my hub prefer him althought his quote is slightly higher than the contractor..."yi fen qian yi fen huo" lo in my case, i cant afford to wait till getting keys then quote as i need to move out of current flat by early dec 10 (getting flat in mid oct) so the reno timeline is quite tightbtw just to share, you can purchase floor plan online, take few days onlywith that you roughly know wat you want and can start to get IDs to quotecos i was kuku last time, get my floor plan only during 2nd appt thus wasted lots of time will post up the quote later hi! i'm also considering roy from IR design and gonna meet up with him today.. dun mind can send me his quote? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2011 hi! i'm also considering roy from IR design and gonna meet up with him today.. dun mind can send me his quote?hi i do not have it in soft copy, will post up later for your referenceenjoy your meetup with him Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 (edited) My quote from RoyHackingall hacking except 3rooms (sink, stove, cabinet etc included)Masonry Works (Tiles @ $3.00)600mmx600mm matt homo floor tiles c/w skirting **** & store & steps outside house600mmx600mm matt homo floor tiles at kitchen300mmx300mm non slip homo floor tiles at master & common toilet600mmx300mm FH ceramic wall tiles at master & common toilet600mmx300mm FH ceramic wall tiles at kitchenmake good hack off skirting (3rooms)50mm cabinet based c/w side tiles finished50mm washer & dryer base c/w side tiles finished50mm fridge base c/w side tiles finishedConcrete support c/w full tiles finished for basin at master & common toilet50mm Shower kerb c/w full tiles finished for master & common toiletWater proofing for 2 toilets and kitchenSupply & install SS rubbish chutePlumbing WorksSupply & install SS pipes at kitchen & 2 toiletsLabour to install 2 toilet bowls / basin / instant heater / spray gun / inlet & outlet pipes for kitchen sink & washing machineCeiling WorksConstruct false ceiling & Lbox **** hallConstruct false ceiling & Lbox at master roomPaintingPainting for whole house & ceiling & pipes with ICI/NipponBox up existing pipes at master & common toilet finished in tilesLaminateSupply & install laminate flooring c/w skirting at 3 bedroomsWindow / Alumimium WOrksSupply & install sliding window ****, 3 rooms, kitchenSupply & install 2 sets of top hung window at master & common toiletSupply & install sliding grills ****, 3 rooms, kitchenDoor / Glass WorksSupply & install 2 nos acrylic folding door at 2 toiletsSupply & install 10mm fixed panel tempered glass at master toiletSupply & install 4nos veneer doorsSupply & install half glass fixed panel with glass swing door at kitchen entranceSupply & install Main door & main door frameCarpentry WorksSupply & install Top & bottom kitchen cabinet c/w anti slam & ABS 32ft Supply & install FH cabinet 2ft next to fridgeSupply & install FH wardrobe with sliding door at master and common room 1Supply & install FH Shoe cabinet est 7ftSupply & install TV feature wallSupply & install 3nos Blum for kitchen drawersSupply & install solid surface worktop for kitchen 18ftGeneral cleaningflooring protectionhaulage etcthere are a nos of items like dish rack / hydralic / glass panels / lockset / install sink & hood & hob etc etc not written in BUT it will be included as i know he will give it to meeven feature wall or cabinet that needs some glass or mirror accents for design purpose will also be includedTOTAL about $40k +/-ELECTRICAL NOT included for abovethere are bound to be additional cost, see if we could cut down anything from above quote...fingers crossed Edited August 24, 2011 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted October 23, 2011 back for some updates:sad to say that due to some communications breakdown / tight timeline / budget constaint, we decided not to engage Roy for the reno as he is not able to accomodate some of our requests.we have gotton a good friend for the job instead - Dave Wee from D5 Studio (we did engaged him for our first home but workmanship so so hahahah so second flat was done by Roy)Hubby have known him for 20 over years, didnt want to engage him in the first place as i was septical about the workmanship since we are gonna to stay long in this house and i am a pretty "meow" mama...but frankly, it was like 8 years back when he did our first house, so i think people's attitude and skills do change, ought to give him a chance. to my surprise, he made us feel comfy with the ideas, response time, attitude (MOST IMPT) & quote as some people cant be much bothered since we only have a budget of $40k for reno (maybe they dun earn much, thats why not very keen on my project)we just call him on 1 sat and told him tat we are visiting him on sun for discussion and he managed to show us a simple floor plan drawing even with the lighting points done up! next week he will be giving us our 3Dsour quote is a "friendship" price, including:all hackingall tilingall windows1 x TV console2 x wardrobesshoe cabinet OR bay window settee with storagekitchen cabinetall doorsall electrical rewiringplastering / painting / washing bla bla Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted October 23, 2011 pardon me for my loso-ness, some pics of electrical items brought today from Mega Discount Storeaircon from All Best Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
centrino2 0 Report post Posted October 24, 2011 Tight schedule yeah....good luck to your Reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Terencetcw 0 Report post Posted October 24, 2011 Nice household electrical appliciances I aiming to get the Panasonic (4ticks) fridge too can share how much u got it for?Harvy Narman:$1199BEST: $1199Retail Price:$ 1299 So much differences after I look around....Tks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted October 24, 2011 (edited) Tight schedule yeah....good luck to your Reno thanks much same to you =)Nice household electrical appliciances I aiming to get the Panasonic (4ticks) fridge too can share how much u got it for?Harvy Narman:$1199BEST: $1199Retail Price:$ 1299 So much differences after I look around....Tks hi i got it at $1080they gave me few dollars more discount since i brought few items else the normal price should be $1099 + FOC Rice cookeri think you can check out their store at kallang leisure parkor you can try kong tai or everjoint those retailers =) Edited October 24, 2011 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2011 tiles selection on tuesday (25 oct 2011)Livingwe are going for "matte" floor tiles as i realised not easy to maintain a glossy ones as i have a toddler running and dropping food around the house ahahahhagout wise, we also not going for traditional white, it would be cement based kind of goutmost commonly seen are glossy ones, wonder who would have same taste like us? kekekekKitchenwhite glossy wall tiles with little shimmer floor tilesMBR ToiletCommon Toiletactually i do not like white wall tiles for toilet but it make the area look brighteri still prefer a darker one, shall i change?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
angelbutterfly 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2011 Welcome to renoblog! I only use Matt tiles for whole house n I am loving it! No sticky feet anymore! Previous Reno was glossy n I felt sticky all the time FYI, my living n bedroom r all cement lookalike tiles...We do have something in common!As for dark bathroom, it's really dark so u have to consider the pros n cons as u have young kid. My twin boys r already 13yrs old n they love orh orh everything with warm light though... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites