mabaricows

Mabari House

The sale was on 16th to 17th April, 2 days only. At their main office at Jackson Square, think they have it once a year.

And the oven I got was not the high end one with tonnes of pre-set cooking programs, just had 5 pre-set ones or something like that. Lower range, it was listed as $799 but was on sale at $549. We like that it has an enamel coating inside, hardy and easy clean. :good:

Wah good price! Do you know where it is made? I saw 1 Electrolux made in Turkey which is like what you said, 5 preset functions - $699. But the salesperson was pushing the one with 7 preset functions made in Germany at $999.

Thanks for sharing about L-Phenom. I probably will just get the long basin from them and get the rest of the items from Royal Franco instead. Heard many good reviews about Royal Franco. :)

Wah good price! Do you know where it is made? I saw 1 Electrolux made in Turkey which is like what you said, 5 preset functions - $699. But the salesperson was pushing the one with 7 preset functions made in Germany at $999.

Thanks for sharing about L-Phenom. I probably will just get the long basin from them and get the rest of the items from Royal Franco instead. Heard many good reviews about Royal Franco. :)

The oven is made in Italy, saw a sticker on it just now. Prior to that, never thought about it before, haha.. Just my opinion, but I feel that good cooks don't need preset functions :sport-smiley-004:

About L-Phenom, I believe the listed price of that basin is 440. They'll also tell you to get some other "required" items, must bargain and insist that they throw in those things for free, I managed to get everything for 400.

Can share which sales person attended to u? I also wanna buy some items..Tks

Yr selection of furniture looks great! So u r going for rustic feel? Mao Mao is such a fluffy sweet cutie!

Went down to the house just now and took some photos of the lights. As with all other photos, pardon the quality, its all taken using our phones. Hehe.

All our lights were from Lights Arcade, owner was very friendly and quite helpful. Checked with fellow renotalk forummer cos we saw a similar light and we compared prices, his was cheaper! Haha.. But Lights Arcade did waive the delivery and installation charges and threw in a storeroom light for free. So I suppose it wasn't too bad of a deal. Can check out his shop la, along Balestier but do compare prices before purchasing.

Our MBR toilet light! Small thingy with some crystals, cute. Just nice to light up our tiny toilet :P

2011-06-26_21-15-34_745.jpg

Can spy our newly done walls.. hehe.. Will update that soon!

A closer look at the light and the shadows created by the crystals.

2011-06-28_20-52-53_892.jpg

Our MBR lights, 3 hanging glass balls with a metallic sheen. They're d@mn dusty now though, need to clean up.. Hahaa..

2011-06-28_20-53-31_63.jpg

Our 2 kitchen lights, chose black to go with the black kitchen, very bright! 3 bulbs each..

2011-06-28_21-07-43_571.jpg

Lit up

2011-06-28_21-08-21_876.jpg

Our hallway light, the moment we open the main door, this will be the light we see. Nice and shiny, everyone loves it.. haha.. :D

Posting 2 pictures, the actual light is white, the other one was taken with weird "sunset" feature on the camera phone.

2011-06-28_21-11-08_570.jpg

Sunset

2011-06-28_21-10-32_399.jpg

Our 2 other bedrooms are using this simple light, no budget liao.. :P

2011-06-28_21-22-31_337.jpg

Edited by mabaricows

This is maomao..

mao4.jpg

Why a picture of maomao? Because we had to think of ways to make the house cat-proof, so many reno and furnishing decisions revolved around her. Stupid cat. Haha.

Hello MaoMao!! So cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!!!:thumbs up:

Bonus picture of maomao with a duck on her head just for you :)

23-02-08_2025.jpg

Edited by mabaricows

Can share which sales person attended to u? I also wanna buy some items..Tks

Yr selection of furniture looks great! So u r going for rustic feel? Mao Mao is such a fluffy sweet cutie!

You should see maomao after a bath.. Hehe.. Fluffy sweet cutie transforms into skinny bitter cat.. :P

And yeah, we're going for a rustic look in the living room. Woody and comfortable, also going for furniture with a bit of character/history..

Regarding Living Phenom, can't remember the name of the guy who attended to me, it was a middle aged man who seemed quite placid..

This is his signature, dug out the receipt to take a look but can't decipher his handwriting.. haha..

2011-06-29_01-53-43_480.jpg

By the way, he made us get 2 x pop-up waste thingies and 2 x bottle traps to go with the basin. Have read from others who complain that they overcharge for these items. Do take note.

If you're getting the WCs from them, do some research, those Velin WCs that they are selling for 500 or so can be had elsewhere for less than 400. The sleek pretty Velin WC has a clone from Arino which is much cheaper too.

Happy shopping! :yamseng:

Edited by mabaricows

U got gd taste :thumbs up: I love the lightings too! I wanna b maomao 2 ok? Copy cat lor..

Name the pricing for the lights leh...tks ya!

Aiyoh, thanks for the compliments.. Paiseh leh..

Which light you want to find out about? Cannot be all right.. So maomao meh? :P

Edited by mabaricows

Aiyoh, thanks for the compliments.. Paiseh leh..

Which light you want to find out about? Cannot be all right.. So maomao meh? :P

We r really maomao..So late still loitering here...I love the master bedrm or toilet ones..

We hv some similar taste like the tiles. My theme shd b modern industrial look. Will b mainly white, black and grey. However, not many people understand our taste de. We did tiles selection on our own n took many months to confirm the finalist! How is Ronald getting on with yr Reno? I still looking around..share yr opinion on him pls.

Yr tiles r so expensive n if yr contractor dun complain then u r in luck! Mine was only in $3-$4.50psf range n many IDs or screaming Liao...

We r really maomao..So late still loitering here...I love the master bedrm or toilet ones..

We hv some similar taste like the tiles. My theme shd b modern industrial look. Will b mainly white, black and grey. However, not many people understand our taste de. We did tiles selection on our own n took many months to confirm the finalist! How is Ronald getting on with yr Reno? I still looking around..share yr opinion on him pls.

Yr tiles r so expensive n if yr contractor dun complain then u r in luck! Mine was only in $3-$4.50psf range n many IDs or screaming Liao...

Hehe.. Ye maos.. Night cats..

I think I got decent prices for my lightings, not the cheapest but also not too bad.. The MBR light costs 250 and the MBR toilet light is 185. Got them from Lights Arcade in Balestier, these prices include the bulbs, delivery and installation. Not bad actually.. Go talk to Andrew, he's the friendly and helpful boss..

Many have told us that we have weird taste.. Hahahaha.. So yeah, similiar.. :D

About Ronald, I chose him because after meeting him for our initial appointment, my gut feel told me that this man is responsible.

Up till now, I have to say that he really is responsible. Gives good recommendations, rectifies defects, responds to emails/sms/calls.. Thats all I want from him really.

On the flipside, he is a busy man and handles many projects. Means you got to remind him about specifics.

So far, so good. Tiling worksmanship has been good. Kitchen cabinets good.

Some small matters but it has mostly been a positive experience.

About IDs/contractors screaming about tile prices.. Haha.. I have seen people walking around tile shops and being told to select this or that tile by pushy IDs who feel that they know best. Ronald just gave input about what he knew about the stuff we selected, not pushy. I like that he knows everyone has their own likes and dislikes, no matter how weird they might be. :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by mabaricows

ohhh think we got the same front loader... am so obessed with doing my laundry now becoz it's such a wonderful machine to use!! (for now ;p *fingers crossed it stays that way)

We've the same rainshower too... nice even waterflow..quite shiok

and like you, we had to think of our furkid too, the only fortunate thing is he does not scratch much...

Boy was he stressed out on the first 1.5 days of the move!!!! he was so stressed that he jumped onto the window grilles and clung onto them. for the 1st 1-2 days, we had to make sure he was not left alone! @@ thank goodness he's fine now. He's now resumed to his King of the House status >.<

ps. yr maomao has a dammmmmm cute face! i like!

Further updates,

Some pictures of electrical appliances we bought and other stuff we bought but yet to post..

We went to the Electrolux sale some time ago and bought 2 items.

An induction hob (easy to clean!) with touch controls and a built-in oven.

Electrolux-EHD60020P-Induction-Hob-550x482.jpg

OvenEOB53000X.jpg

Wanted a dark colored fridge to go with our dark kitchen and happened to see this at Harvey Norman.

FridgeRT45TSGL.jpg

We thought it was black but actually according to the catalogue its a dark blue. Hahaa..

Also got this LG 7kg front load direct drive washing machine since we were there and it was on offer.

After reading about Gimz and Elsie's DIY exploits, we have ambitions of spray painting it black. Haha..

front-loading-washing-machine-177955.jpg