Bluesummerayz

My Woodlands Den Raaaawwwrrr

Windows Installation by Tay Boon Tat Renovate Contractors

I had all my window panes and grilles changed and engaged Tay Boon Tat to do that job. I requested my ID to quote me on this, and on the side I went to rummage through renotalk and found a post which the guy chose Tay Boon Tat but their rates are reasonable. So I contacted them myself and got a quote. Indeed their prices are lower than what my ID quoted me, even can give me a discount after I confirmed on the grilles designs and type of windows.

The sales guy involved in this project was Andrew Lim and he was very polite and knowledgeable. He took the time to go on site to check out the windows, pointed out areas which require some attention and decision, came to my house to show me the designs, came to my office to collect the 50% payment when I told him I wasn't able to meet at the site. Throughout the installation process, he kept me updated constantly without my prompting, which I really appreciate. Most of the windows were replaced in the house, except for the common toilet lourve window, the lourve window in the kitchen/service balcony area. There was also a fixed window at the service balcony, and he was patient and understanding enough to wait until the hdb grilles outside the window gets painted before sending his guy to install the window yesterday. Paid him the balance only after that. In case you need his services or quotes, you can reach him at 9380 9187. Again I am not related to him or the company and bear in mind I only did 2 comparisons of quotes. To me, his service attitude and sense of ownership came in tops. If you been reading my blogs, you will agree with me on this point!

I am so glad I changed those windows, tinted green. Subtle changes but to me, made a whole lot of difference!

Here are the windows pics in original vs newly installed condition in some of the rooms that I took earlier:

windowsliving.jpg

windowsmaster.jpg

windowsrm1.jpg

Hi blue, been away so have been slowly catching up on the blogs here. First thoughts was - eh your reno like major leh not minor! Seems you went through some heartache, don't think you've been unreasonable. You get what you pay for but I think you may be seriously overpaying them from your account!

Best wishes on your completion - hope the final product would match your expectations. :)

Salam Hafiizh!

Thank you for dropping by and appreciate your time to write me. Yes the reno is major (I was in denial when I bought the flat thinking I won't be doing much on it), Well I am not about to give them any excuse that the progress in my reno project was due to my tardy payment, I have already paid up to 90%, what needs to be paid will be paid, its just a matter of time. The ID also paiseh, said the rest hold until finish reno. I am going to do just that and pay only after all settled. Been too nice already lah.

Of Curtain Rods and Curtains

Bought ready made curtains yesterday, and the rods will be installed later in the afternoon.

Not very satisfied with my purchase, last night had a night mare about those curtains chasing after me :jawdrop: One of the weirdest dreams I ever had... they were all out of their packaging and sheets of curtains just running after me.. crazy mind I have..

Our very own D-I-Y Water Feature

Went shopping at Nature Co for a D-I-Y water feature, started raining midway, heng ah got shelter and we already done viewing all the displays outside :D Selected all the components we required but they were out of stock on the spot lights, so have to get them at the fish shop or something. Net price $650 i think, thats after 10% discount.. we got free floaters and pebbles (think we took too little la)

Lugged the whole lot in bits and pieces all the way to woodlands, good thing my brother enlisted his friend to help. Really hard work carry the lava stones (of coz I exert the least amount of labour, but maximum mental and moral support :sport-smiley-004: )

My brother took a few hours to complete everything, and here's the results :rolleyes::

From the top

26897721761650843661254.jpg

Side view

26004521761626843061254.jpg

Floaters up close - so cute haha

26972821761630443151254.jpg

Neighbours

2 dropped by unexpectedly, one from our floor just a unit away, she popped by a second time asking if need to tabao food for us? :thumbs up:

The other one accidentally threw a wooden block 2 floors down and landed infront of our unit haha gave me a scare man.. think he went down to look for it and met my brother who's on his way up to investigate the source of this UFO object. Later I invited him to our house to have a look, and uncle Foo (haha) said must go have kopi next block one of these days :D I can see that this neighbourhood is very friendly, most families stayed for a long time already, some stayed from the time they bought the flat until now .. seems like everyone know each other, I like it :)

Reno Progress Update

Someone actually painted the storeroom door :good: Spent some time erasing the paint stains using thinner while my bro worked on the water feature.. felt so giddy from the smell of thinner and paint in the air.. wooohoooooo did i hallucinate?

Msged my ID and she replied wardrobe carpentry will be installed tomorrow est completion 5pm, have to go afterwards to see for myself and clean up to prepare for Tues move.

And to buy stuff instructed by our FSM.. huat kueh, pineapple etc..huat ahhhhhh :yamseng:

Hahahahaha Hi Tuasbird! And thank you for your kind words! Fingers and toes crossed, everything will be alright! One must always look on the bright side, and sometimes Big Heart must mixed with a good dose of sterness and wrath, h-e-l-l hath no fury like a woman scorned (hmmm can this be applied in this reno project? hehehe) :rolleyes:

ps: why is h-e-l-l a bad word? it actually got masked with ****

true...n it's gd to throw in displeasure of any forms to your id after those many days of smiles. she got your project, she got your money, then she got to deliver as promised. plain simple. though i always thought while it's gd to give some breathing space, there can be others who may not be deserving of such. remb you now hold 10% as trump card. aft your wardrobe's done, nego to release the $$$ only after a wk's of moving-in. may sound harsh but take it as 'compensation' for those sleepless nights she caused ya lor....maybe those curtains' nightmares can be debited into her account as well?? :P

Edited by tuasbird

true...n it's gd to throw in displeasure of any forms to your id after those many days of smiles. she got your project, she got your money, then she got to deliver as promised. plain simple. though i always thought while it's gd to give some breathing space, there can be others who may not be deserving of such. remb you now hold 10% as trump card. aft your wardrobe's done, nego to release the $$ only after a wk's of moving-in. may sound harsh but take it as 'compensation' for those sleepless nights she caused ya lor....maybe those curtains' nightmares can be debited into her account as well?? :P

Wahahahahaha I like your style :thumbs up:

Andrew was also in charge of installing windows in my house.

He is indeed a very polite young chap. :good:

:good: service line should have more people like him !

Today started off well even though it rained heavily in the northeast. Had our breakfast, went around scouting for bai bai stuff for tomorrow and went to the house afterwards. Saw that the workers are already there with the carcass of the wardrobe, and not long after, the ID appeared with her hubby, the tiler. Seems to be 'on the ball'. The reno with the drillings and knockings and bangings, the plumbing guy with the drilling and the knockings and the plumbings and the tubings etc very noisy and dusty.. all these taking place with my brand new furniture, sofa, bed, mattresses (heng these are covered), table, chairs, kitchen, water feature etc... wood shavings everywhere, cut plastic tubes, screws etc threw on the floor...

Was puzzled why the 'planks' didn't have the mirror design (for my wardrobe) and even checked with the ID if it will be 'stick on' and will protrude out or not.. she replied yes will stick on and no, wont protrude one.. then the ID went off with her hubby after spending some time ard the house. My brother went off to scout around for the elusive Huat Kueh needed for tomorrow.. rode to chong pang, dont have, rode back to seng kang, pre-order, tomorrow self collect at 11am.

Past 5pm and I couldn't stand the noise anymore and went to causeway point and bought cat foods, kitty snacks, kitty bed in anticipation of bringing them home on wed.

Ard 6 plus, a casual chat with one of the worker caused a volcanic eruption. Apparently, TODAY only the carcass of the carpentry will be installed. No doors, nothing. Even the mirror on the dining area will only have the wooden carcass. Everything else, install on Thurs. :furious: Immediately called ID to clarify and she could still tell me as if its a matter of fact! How many times must I repeat myself how important is TOMORROW????? I lost my temper and sanity there and then! I told her (shouted) I want all the doors to be installed today! Why wasn't I told this would be the state of the reno for the day? What is this? She said she would check with the factory to see if they can finish the doors today or not, but the answer was no. Then she said something abt the workers going to the site tomorrow morning .. that really snapped my sanity into half.. Just told her in the morning that tomorrow movers will be arriving at the house to drop off all my stuff I put up at the storage facility, and from 1 to 3pm, shifu and monk will conduct ceremony and prayers, so no outsiders are allowed in the house!excl.gif WAH LAU EH! Next she asked me to consider changing the material of the wardrobe, instead of the black mirrored pieces on the doors, to do glossy black laminate COZ IT WILL BE FASTER! I never thought I could get myself so worked up but that hit a raw nerve. I told her I am not about to compromise and change designs! WTF.! At this stage, I demanded to talk to her boss. She said will check with him (WTF??) I said I want him to meet me at the site, and she to come with him as well, and I will show them the state of my reno and let them tell me if this is MOVE IN CONDITION?? STill the boss didnt call, but she did and she asked me abt something else, and I said why isnt Jason calling me? She said he was busy with something.. I raised my voice again and said I want to speak to him!

Jason called prob 15 mins after that and apologised and explained. End result still the same, carpentry not ready coz confirmation late, fabrication will be late. I repeated to him that it was late because the drawings were late, dont put the blame on me and told him while I have no choice but to wait until Thursday for things to complete, I don't appreciate this kind of irresponsible manner of the ID. You would think important things like doors not going to be installed, mirror not going to be ready would be alerted to the owner but NO. Can you imagine if I had left the house much earlier, and came back in the morning with the movers, how much more trouble and stress and upset I would be, not to mention with the shifu? He surely would say House not ready, how to move in? Also my furniture all in liao, and they are drilling, cutting knocking, dust on everything, who is going to clean up this mess? I had to clean the toilet and the kitchen myself earlier.

Jason later called me back after checking with the factory and the workers on site and told me that tonight they will do all the carcass and thurdays will up all the doors, and complete the rest of everything on thursday too. He also said he has arranged for cleaners to come ard 8pm to clean up the house for me. I raised my concern that it was already so late and I need to be considerate to my neighbours too.. He said they will try to finish everything tonite so that they wont need to disturb the house until thursdays, and they will immediately stop all work the minute neighbours complain... Do I really have any choice at this stage? :dunno: I just hope my neighbours wont hate me. :(:(:(

I feel so sorry for the workers on site because my face was so fierce and my voice was so loud and angry, even when I told the uncles I was not upset at them because it was not their fault, I don't think they believed me. Did call my shifu to see if we can still move in, true enough, he objected. He said since cannot change movers, old stuff still move in no choice but people cannot live there yet. Will choose another date to 'move in' :(

The following smses are a ripple effect on this event:

me to friend with cat phobia who wanted to visit house on wed morning before my cats moved in wed nite:

date cancel. reno delayed. Thurs then they can finish.

me to boss because I took 4 days leave from mon to thurs:

Cindy, I will cancel 2 days leave and going to work wed and thurs. my reno delayed, but tom still need to move my things out from storage so i will still take my leave. very mad and stress today, lost my sanity and temper with the reno company today.

me to cat lady who is boarding my cats at her facility:

Hi Phyllis, my reno got delayed so I need your help to house my cats for at least another week of june. is it possible? i will pay for the boarding fees of course.

me to friend who booked holiday with her mom (mom's 1st holiday) after I confirmed that I will be in woodlands this tues and agreed to help her feed her horde of 5 cats while she is gone:

my reno got delayed. cant move in yet. any way to get any one nearby to feed your cats? because I wont be able to to move in this week.

friend: So sorry to hear. Ummmm.. would u mind still coming to feed them, we reimburse ur taxi fares?

me: ok since I already promised.

me to friend who has agreed to drove me with 2 cages to bring the cats home:

mei, dun need your help this wed. reno delayed, cant move in this week. damned f-u-c-k-e-d u-p.

friend: w-t-f!excl.gif cb la!

me to ID: Sophia, i want some form of compensation from outlook. because of this, the price i have to pay is high through no fault of mine. time, money, mental health. this reno has pushed me to edge. i would call you but this has made me out of control and i would just end up shouting. i cannot move in , rental for people and animals incurred, have to arrange one more time and money to hire mover to move things from fernvale to woodlands, have to take some more leave again,both myself and my brother, even that depends on approval, move in date have to check with master again and that also depends on his schedule,wasted all the time and money getting things ready for the move in so its not really funny to find out how much inconvenience this has caused. dont even know where to put all the things. all these grief, frustration and anger and stress are unnecessary if proper planning is done. i asked for schedule but never got one. although jason spoke and explained, the outcome still the same, delays.

ID: Hi Ivy, wad form of compensation u required?

me: monetary compensation. if you were me, can you swallow down this situation?

No more reply after that. Can you believe still can ask me what form of compensation? Do u expect me to reply 'a SORRY card'? :furious:I am so mad that I am almost driven to tears when talking to them... I wish none of this will happen to anyone..! Why play with our lives? Very fun izzit?

Edited by Bluesummerayz

My brother came home and told me he will still be collecting the huat kueh he ordered in seng kang tomorrow, because he pre-ordered a big one, and the auntie specially have it done for him ... i wish everyone would just keep their word and the world would be a better place ... :unsure: ?

Today started off well even though it rained heavily in the northeast. Had our breakfast, went around scouting for bai bai stuff for tomorrow and went to the house afterwards. Saw that the workers are already there with the carcass of the wardrobe, and not long after, the ID appeared with her hubby, the tiler. Seems to be 'on the ball'. The reno with the drillings and knockings and bangings, the plumbing guy with the drilling and the knockings and the plumbings and the tubings etc very noisy and dusty.. all these taking place with my brand new furniture, sofa, bed, mattresses (heng these are covered), table, chairs, kitchen, water feature etc... wood shavings everywhere, cut plastic tubes, screws etc threw on the floor...

Was puzzled why the 'planks' didn't have the mirror design (for my wardrobe) and even checked with the ID if it will be 'stick on' and will protrude out or not.. she replied yes will stick on and no, wont protrude one.. then the ID went off with her hubby after spending some time ard the house. My brother went off to scout around for the elusive Huat Kueh needed for tomorrow.. rode to chong pang, dont have, rode back to seng kang, pre-order, tomorrow self collect at 11am.

Past 5pm and I couldn't stand the noise anymore and went to causeway point and bought cat foods, kitty snacks, kitty bed in anticipation of bringing them home on wed.

Ard 6 plus, a casual chat with one of the worker caused a volcanic eruption. Apparently, TODAY only the carcass of the carpentry will be installed. No doors, nothing. Even the mirror on the dining area will only have the wooden carcass. Everything else, install on Thurs. :furious: Immediately called ID to clarify and she could still tell me as if its a matter of fact! How many times must I repeat myself how important is TOMORROW????? I lost my temper and sanity there and then! I told her (shouted) I want all the doors to be installed today! Why wasn't I told this would be the state of the reno for the day? What is this? She said she would check with the factory to see if they can finish the doors today or not, but the answer was no. Then she said something abt the workers going to the site tomorrow morning .. that really snapped my sanity into half.. Just told her in the morning that tomorrow movers will be arriving at the house to drop off all my stuff I put up at the storage facility, and from 1 to 3pm, shifu and monk will conduct ceremony and prayers, so no outsiders are allowed in the house!excl.gif WAH LAU EH! Next she asked me to consider changing the material of the wardrobe, instead of the black mirrored pieces on the doors, to do glossy black laminate COZ IT WILL BE FASTER! I never thought I could get myself so worked up but that hit a raw nerve. I told her I am not about to compromise and change designs! WTF.! At this stage, I demanded to talk to her boss. She said will check with him (WTF??) I said I want him to meet me at the site, and she to come with him as well, and I will show them the state of my reno and let them tell me if this is MOVE IN CONDITION?? STill the boss didnt call, but she did and she asked me abt something else, and I said why isnt Jason calling me? She said he was busy with something.. I raised my voice again and said I want to speak to him!

Jason called prob 15 mins after that and apologised and explained. End result still the same, carpentry not ready coz confirmation late, fabrication will be late. I repeated to him that it was late because the drawings were late, dont put the blame on me and told him while I have no choice but to wait until Thursday for things to complete, I don't appreciate this kind of irresponsible manner of the ID. You would think important things like doors not going to be installed, mirror not going to be ready would be alerted to the owner but NO. Can you imagine if I had left the house much earlier, and came back in the morning with the movers, how much more trouble and stress and upset I would be, not to mention with the shifu? He surely would say House not ready, how to move in? Also my furniture all in liao, and they are drilling, cutting knocking, dust on everything, who is going to clean up this mess? I had to clean the toilet and the kitchen myself earlier.

Jason later called me back after checking with the factory and the workers on site and told me that tonight they will do all the carcass and thurdays will up all the doors, and complete the rest of everything on thursday too. He also said he has arranged for cleaners to come ard 8pm to clean up the house for me. I raised my concern that it was already so late and I need to be considerate to my neighbours too.. He said they will try to finish everything tonite so that they wont need to disturb the house until thursdays, and they will immediately stop all work the minute neighbours complain... Do I really have any choice at this stage? :dunno: I just hope my neighbours wont hate me. :(:(:(

I feel so sorry for the workers on site because my face was so fierce and my voice was so loud and angry, even when I told the uncles I was not upset at them because it was not their fault, I don't think they believed me. Did call my shifu to see if we can still move in, true enough, he objected. He said since cannot change movers, old stuff still move in no choice but people cannot live there yet. Will choose another date to 'move in' :(

The following smses are a ripple effect on this event:

me to friend with cat phobia who wanted to visit house on wed morning before my cats moved in wed nite:

date cancel. reno delayed. Thurs then they can finish.

me to boss because I took 4 days leave from mon to thurs:

Cindy, I will cancel 2 days leave and going to work wed and thurs. my reno delayed, but tom still need to move my things out from storage so i will still take my leave. very mad and stress today, lost my sanity and temper with the reno company today.

me to cat lady who is boarding my cats at her facility:

Hi Phyllis, my reno got delayed so I need your help to house my cats for at least another week of june. is it possible? i will pay for the boarding fees of course.

me to friend who booked holiday with her mom (mom's 1st holiday) after I confirmed that I will be in woodlands this tues and agreed to help her feed her horde of 5 cats while she is gone:

my reno got delayed. cant move in yet. any way to get any one nearby to feed your cats? because I wont be able to to move in this week.

friend: So sorry to hear. Ummmm.. would u mind still coming to feed them, we reimburse ur taxi fares?

me: ok since I already promised.

me to friend who has agreed to drove me with 2 cages to bring the cats home:

mei, dun need your help this wed. reno delayed, cant move in this week. damned f-u-c-k-e-d u-p.

friend: w-t-f!excl.gif cb la!

me to ID: Sophia, i want some form of compensation from outlook. because of this, the price i have to pay is high through no fault of mine. time, money, mental health. this reno has pushed me to edge. i would call you but this has made me out of control and i would just end up shouting. i cannot move in , rental for people and animals incurred, have to arrange one more time and money to hire mover to move things from fernvale to woodlands, have to take some more leave again,both myself and my brother, even that depends on approval, move in date have to check with master again and that also depends on his schedule,wasted all the time and money getting things ready for the move in so its not really funny to find out how much inconvenience this has caused. dont even know where to put all the things. all these grief, frustration and anger and stress are unnecessary if proper planning is done. i asked for schedule but never got one. although jason spoke and explained, the outcome still the same, delays.

ID: Hi Ivy, wad form of compensation u required?

me: monetary compensation. if you were me, can you swallow down this situation?

No more reply after that. Can you believe still can ask me what form of compensation? Do u expect me to reply 'a SORRY card'? :furious:I am so mad that I am almost driven to tears when talking to them... I wish none of this will happen to anyone..! Why play with our lives? Very fun izzit?

sorry to hear bout what u went through, i can truely understand how u feel cos i also went through this ****. :curse:

how much have u paid them?

sorry to hear bout what u went through, i can truely understand how u feel cos i also went through this ****. :curse:

how much have u paid them?

90% liao.

shucks..sorry to hear abt that Ivy...must have been fustrating...

had a similar experience with the ID who did my parent's house 3 yrs ago...was supposed to renovate 3 toilets and the kitchen..dad asked how long it will take..ID said 3 weeks.

ok..3 weeks it shall be..it will be done in stages so we could still stay in the house while they worked on it...

3 weeks became 3 months! #@%$!$&%!@#!^%@%*!@&)(*!

caused us so much fustration and inconvenience! and the plug which held up the shelving in my wardrobe gave way just holding the weight of the shelf! WTF?!

call the fella..he never picked up the phone again...

my parents didnt pursue the matter further because they didnt want to make their own blood boil...

if me..i make sure he get it from me jia lat jia lat x 100!

shucks..sorry to hear abt that Ivy...must have been fustrating...

had a similar experience with the ID who did my parent's house 3 yrs ago...was supposed to renovate 3 toilets and the kitchen..dad asked how long it will take..ID said 3 weeks.

ok..3 weeks it shall be..it will be done in stages so we could still stay in the house while they worked on it...

3 weeks became 3 months! #@%$!{:content:}amp;%!@#!^%@%*!@&)(*!

caused us so much fustration and inconvenience! and the plug which held up the shelving in my wardrobe gave way just holding the weight of the shelf! WTF?!

call the fella..he never picked up the phone again...

my parents didnt pursue the matter further because they didnt want to make their own blood boil...

if me..i make sure he get it from me jia lat jia lat x 100!

Hmmmm thank you for the sympathies, after ranting I do feel much better. It's good to blog about it, just to get it out of the system. Tomorrow boxes will be delivered from storage to new place, with the furniture already there, and the workers still need space to work on Thursday, i really dunno where to put all my barang barang.

Hopefully tom I will go to a house which is clean. Jason the boss did promise me that he has arrange to send his cleaner down to clean up for me. I have to say throughout this, he is a calm man with reason. But that didn't help much with all the aftermath / mess I had to pick up because of the delay. Some readers might wondered 'how can plan things so nicely one', I just have to say this is a lesson learnt, being too trusting will be one's downfall and believing everything that is being promised is naive.

Did you see my D-I-Y water feature filled with water? Tomorrow I have to pump it out, macam I got nothing better to do.. but no choice since wont be living there for the time being and i certainly dont want to breed mozzies.. The water feature is beside the main entrance, with the workers going in and out of my house, one false move and the 3 stands will literally go do re mi tumbling down.. hmmm my brother read my post earlier, and said "it's normal to be angry, but cool down and dont be so emotional and get so upset with them, the most impt thing is to do the reno well, later they stop everything how?" I wondered how he would react if his precious water feature is destroyed by them accidentally... oh man.. i m being a mean sister today :jawdrop: