Johnson Lee

Our New Lovely Place

Congrats in getting your new flat soon! I hope your wife will get well soon. Better to meet contractor/ID together.

Btw, my contractor is Andrew. Same as sethho. Go and get as many quotes as you can tahan. Even though it's tiring but at least you know you have done your best. You will feel so much happier when everything fall in place for a beautiful home!

Hi, I need some advice and comments on the below mentioned quotation that I have received.

NEW STANDARD HDB APARTMENT Package Price = $10,388.00

A Professional Services

1 Design Consulation & Space Planning

2 Design Proposal, Concept & Perceptive Drawings

3 Colours, Materials & Accessories Proposal

4 Project Management & Site Supervision

5 Guaranteed After Sales Service with Warranty

B Masonry Works

6 Supply & lay Super Polishes Homogeneous floor tiles c/w skirting **** & dining

7 Supply & lay Super Polishes Homogeneous floor tiles c/w skirting at household shelter

8 Supply & lay designer Heavy duty laminated flooring c/w skirting at all bedrooms

9 Construct 50mm kitchen cabinet cement mortar base c/w side tiling

10 Construct 50mm fridge cement mortar base c/w full tiling

11 Construct 50mm washing machine cement mortar base c/w full tiling

12 Construct main entrance kerb

C Ceiling Works

13 Supply & install L-Box or False ceiling **** area

14 Supply & install L-Box or False ceiling at dining area

15 Supply & install L-Box or False ceiling at bedroom passageway

D Painting Works

16 Painting of internal walls & ceiling for whole unit with Nippon Emulsion Paint

17 Painting of all doors, frames, pipes & gates with Nippon Gloss Paint

E Plumbing Works

18 Extension of copper piping for kitchen sink and washing machine

19 Laying of drainage pipe for kitchen sink and washing machine

20 Supply labour to install kitchen sink & tap

21 Supply labour to install 2 sets of instant heater or storage heater

22 Supply labour to install 2 sets of bathroom accessories

F Carpentry Works

23 Design & Fabricate 20 ft kitchen cabinet in laminate finish c/w ABS trimming swing door

with stainless steel dish rack, anti-slam hinges, cutlery tray and designer handles

24 Supply & install 10 ft Solid Surface worktop

25 Supply labour to install cooker hood and hob

26 Design & Fabricate 6 ft full height wardrobe in laminate / veneer finish

G Miscellaneous Works

27 Floor protection with corrugated cardboard on affected area

28 Chemical washing for whole unit

29 General cleaning upon completion of works

Additional Items to be done

Masory Works

1 Hacking of Kitchen Wall $650.00

2 Make good affected area $250.00

Plumbing Works

3 To supply materials & labour to construct bath tub at MBR Toilet $550.00

Aluminium & Wrought-iron Works

4 To supply materials & labour to install powder-coated aluminium grilles at Service Yard. $250.00

5 To supply materials & labour to install powder-coated aluminium Sliding windows at Service Yard. $650.00

6 To supply materials & labour to install powder-coated aluminium grilles ****, Bed Rm 2 & 3 $789.00

7 To supply materials & labour to install Glass Shower Screen at Common Toilet $400.00

Door Works

8 To supply materials & labour to install veneer Bedroom door c/w lockset & magnet stopper at Master / BR 2 & 3 / Storeroom 3 set $840.00

Budgetary Carpentry Quotation

(Prices are subjected to change at final design, material & size stage)

To supply materials, fabricate & install the following items as per drawing:-

Foyer

9 To design & fabricate Full Ht. Shoes cabinet (8ft Ht) in laminate finish 4 ft $960.00

10 To design & fabricate Settee c/w cushion & storage cabinet 2 ft $250.00

11 To design & fabricate Feature Wall to hide Household Shelter 8.5 ft $1,955.00

Living Area

12 To design & fabricate Settee c/w cushion & storage cabinet 11 ft $1,650.00

13 To design & fabricate Half Ht Feature Wall in Wallpaper 5 sq ft $1,000.00

14 To design & fabricate suspended TV Console in laminate finish 5 ft $650.00

Dining Area

15 To design & fabricate Settee c/w cushion & storage cabinet 6 ft $900.00

16 To design & fabricate Half Ht cushion backing at dining area 6 ft $780.00

Master Room

17 To supply materials & labour to install platform (4" ht) in laminate finish 85 sq ft $1,500.00

18 To design & fabricate Settee c/w cushion & storage cabinet 9.5 ft $1,425.00

19 To design & fabricate Half Ht Feature Wall in Laminated 5 sq ft $1,000.00

20 To design & fabricate Walk-In Wardrobe in color PVC finishes (Top-up) 4 ft $1,500.00

21 To design & fabricate Full Ht Bookshelf 2 ft $520.00

Bedroom 2

22 To design & fabricate Full Ht Wardrobe 5 ft $1,250.00

Bedroom 3

23 To design & fabricate Full Ht Wardrobe 5.5 ft $1,375.00

Master Bathroom

24 To design & fabricate Vanity Top in Solid surface 5.5 ft $440.00

25 To design & fabricate Suspended Vanity Base Cabinet 5.5 ft $660.00

26 To supply & install Mirror (Half-Height) $120.00

Common Bathroom

27 To design & fabricate Vanity Top in Solid surface 3.5 ft $360.00

28 To design & fabricate Suspended Vanity Base Cabinet 3.5 ft $240.00

29 To supply materials & labour to fabricate additional kitchen cabinet with laminated finish c/w ABS trimming for door 1 ft $120.00

30 To supply materials & labour to install solid surface work top for kitchen cabinet 0.5 ft $40.00

31 To supply materials & labour to fabricate Solid Surface Island Top 4 ft $1,680.00

Total (inclusive of package price) = $35,142.00

Edited by holyavartar

I think it's better to state the type and cost of materials. ie type of tiles, cost of tiles. Dimensions of the tv console, so on and so forth.

Thks boyblunder for your comment :) , will check with the ID again but what do you think about this quotation in general? :help:

Will it be cheaper if i outsource the window grilles and window glasses and 3 bedroom doors? :blink:

Btw, Electrical wiring has not included and will be in separate order. :jawdrop:

Welcome!!

Do note, haulage for bto best get from hdb appointed ccontractor(mr lim). Whole hse is 800. Jus living area, 600.

Can try bargain la. I read some got it even cheaper. Haa.

As for PE, price range from 300-500. Mine is 500. :P

Also it's impt to get one that is hdb approved. At least u r assured they won't do things against hdb ruling (else risk getting fined)

N get one not jus within budget but feel comfortable with. This is impt too as u will b liaising with him/her for the next 2montgs or so.

N get one that listen to what u prefer n try to adapt yr preference into the design hor. :)

N also, enjoy the renovation! Hee. :)

Thks boyblunder for your comment :) , will check with the ID again but what do you think about this quotation in general? :help:

Will it be cheaper if i outsource the window grilles and window glasses and 3 bedroom doors? :blink:

Btw, Electrical wiring has not included and will be in separate order. :jawdrop:

I think anything outsourced will definitely be cheaper as the ID will need to take a cut from contractor too. Thats for my case at least. eg, my railing were quoted by ID at 7000, but i managed to source it at 4.3k.

Just one example, but u must be willing to scour the web for info.

Welcome!!

Do note, haulage for bto best get from hdb appointed ccontractor(mr lim). Whole hse is 800. Jus living area, 600.

Can try bargain la. I read some got it even cheaper. Haa.

As for PE, price range from 300-500. Mine is 500. :P

Also it's impt to get one that is hdb approved. At least u r assured they won't do things against hdb ruling (else risk getting fined)

N get one not jus within budget but feel comfortable with. This is impt too as u will b liaising with him/her for the next 2montgs or so.

N get one that listen to what u prefer n try to adapt yr preference into the design hor. :)

N also, enjoy the renovation! Hee. :)

Thanks footprint, finally see u post in my t-blog :jammin:

Been running through the quotation with my wife n filter out those items that might not want to do so that reno can be done within my budget. :idea:

I think will only need haulage (sand) for the living area and small part of kitchen as intends to hack part of the wall like urs but will be a full one and open concept. :notti:

Do u think that the ID will reveal every details such as materials and measurement before sign on the dotted line? :unsure:

I think anything outsourced will definitely be cheaper as the ID will need to take a cut from contractor too. Thats for my case at least. eg, my railing were quoted by ID at 7000, but i managed to source it at 4.3k.

Just one example, but u must be willing to scour the web for info.

Thanks again, boyblunder. :good:

Guess that i will have to scount through the forum and web for more tip-saving on certain items. :P

Thanks footprint, finally see u post in my t-blog :jammin:

Been running through the quotation with my wife n filter out those items that might not want to do so that reno can be done within my budget. :idea:

I think will only need haulage (sand) for the living area and small part of kitchen as intends to hack part of the wall like urs but will be a full one and open concept. :notti:

Do u think that the ID will reveal every details such as materials and measurement before sign on the dotted line? :unsure:

Haa.. I finally saw ur blog. :P

Others I not sure but my id yes. Hee.

Ya, then most prob ur haulage will be 600 ba. :)

Open concept concern will b cooking hor.

For mine, most air flow from kitchen, thus if no door/window, I think the cleaning afterwards will b horrible. Haa..

Just to take note ah.

Not sure if will b same as mine. :)

Else u can do something like mine, but go for frameless window! Guess will b so nice!

Edited by footprint

Open concept concern will b cooking hor.

For mine, most air flow from kitchen, thus if no door/window, I think the cleaning afterwards will b horrible. Haa..

Just to take note ah.

Not sure if will b same as mine. :)

Else u can do something like mine, but go for frameless window! Guess will b so nice!

Yup, agree with u on the cleaning up the place after cooking, footprint. :o

But then think back, my service yard is facing along the corridor towards the lift landing, so might not get much wind from then as well. The most, will have to minimise the windows opening when cooking then. :sport-smiley-004:

my advice to u is to get quote from other ppl and compare.I got some quote from RT members, mostly staying in Punggol BTO Flats, as their floorplan is similar to ours. Good luck!

Thanks cutiecat for ur kind advice, will be waiting for the quotes from u. :good: