sleek

Our 2Nd Home Slightly Further West

i really dont mind as i wont be having an official housewarming and was just intending to invite a couple of you special RT kakis over to see-see since you kindly allowed me to view your places previously thumbsup.gif

Wah!! So privileged?? Hehe... Ok then... Let me know when u inviting us over. Hehe....

these 2 weeks have been very stressful for my mum, my 2 sons and myself with alot of having to supervise installations and be at the new place for deliveries for the move in tmrw.... crying.gifwacko.gif

some incidences this week

1. we discovered that the plastering of the wall they built up to make my master sleeping area was really horrible so we had to nag reno guy to rectify it to our satisfaction, ie sand it down, replaster and paint. There were also other parts of the painting/ plastering that needed touching up. All this has been done and will be done these couple of days.

2. Storage water heater installed in the stupidest place - directly above my shower - by the boss of the plumbing company, really angry and bang wall so after complaining to reno guy, we had to get it moved to where i want it, remove that tile where it was fixed previously and retile that tile. thought that was the end of our toilet woes but ......

3. Went yesterday to see the rainshower that was installed on monday and guess what, due to it being part of a 1meter fixed bar, it was too low to be of any use! so called reno guy who said that he is sorry for not being there to supervise as my mum is not expected to know that there needs to be a minimum clearance from the tallest person's head who is using it, to rainshower head for the full effect of the rainshower. so i called hansgrohe if there was a longer bar we could purchase and what was the clearance needed from head to rainshower, which is 30cm btw. luckily they have stock for the longer bar of 1.4meter so we paid for it today and it would be delivered tomorrow for us to re-install. however they had to remove and retile one of the toilet feature wall tiles where the rainshower was originally affixed. this means we wont be able to use the master toilet when we move in and luckily we didnt route the storage heater to the common toilet too but used an instant heater. We really hope this is the end of toilet issues bowdown.gif

4. one of my lifestorey sofas is too big to fit into the lift and so we ended up being charged an extra $10 per floor for them to bring it up for us even though we had already paid a delivery charge and informed them that there was a possibility that it would not fit into the lifts. nono.gif

5. the main and common room doors were able to be rushed out and installed today, but my younger son locked himself into his room by himself and the keys were inside the room with him! jawdrop.gif thank goodness the yale digital locksmith was at our house and could help us open the door to get him out, *sigh* but oh we all love the digital lock plus we are entitled to a free fire-rated yale safe worth >$700 as part of the year end promo!

moving in tomorrow, another big headache as it will be a busy day for everyone and juggling with lugging the 2 boys wherever we have to be or go! luckily we dont have to move out from the current place yet so not so stressful *wish us all luck* :D

Edited by sleek

Oh so sorry to hear about the hiccups but happy to hear that you are finally moving in.

Looking forward to pictures when u hv settled in k? :)

Urrrgh still havent finished packing the old place or unpacking in the new place, mad mad week! In the midst of all the packing and moving; I fell sick on monday, yet had to attend to a mum in her 20 hour labor in hospital with a fever and sore throat for my work as a doula. Kept having reno work done on Mon, Tues and Wed and having to clean up the house that took away those precious days from us packing up the old place, just so busy busy busy busy!!

Here are some photos of the living room as that is currently the neatest part of the whole house.

TV wardrobe as I dont want the TV to be the main focus of the living room and the boys attention!

img0559oi.jpgimg0560r.jpgimg0561h.jpg

View from bedrooms corridor and view from the balcony

img0562iu.jpgimg0563nj.jpg

Messy foyer/ balcony area but you can see the Yale YDM4109 digital lock which we all love the convenience of not having to bring out or think about keys !

img0564zz.jpg

Urrrgh still havent finished packing the old place or unpacking in the new place, mad mad week! In the midst of all the packing and moving; I fell sick on monday, yet had to attend to a mum in her 20 hour labor in hospital with a fever and sore throat for my work as a doula. Kept having reno work done on Mon, Tues and Wed and having to clean up the house that took away those precious days from us packing up the old place, just so busy busy busy busy!!

Here are some photos of the living room as that is currently the neatest part of the whole house.

TV wardrobe as I dont want the TV to be the main focus of the living room and the boys attention!

img0559oi.jpgimg0560r.jpgimg0561h.jpg

Got remote control to control those panels or not aa? :notti:

Got! Open my mouth and ask my hb or children to move it!! Hahaha

Or else you sponser for me as house warming present la? :P

View from bedrooms corridor and view from the balcony

img0562iu.jpgimg0563nj.jpg

Messy foyer/ balcony area but you can see the Yale YDM4109 digital lock which we all love the convenience of not having to bring out or think about keys !

img0564zz.jpg

Which reminds me.... Kinda in a fix now whether to buy a fabric or leather sofa. Currently using fabric sofa but now out of shape liao and kinda tired of using fabric and thinking of getting leather. But on the other hand, leather is hard to maintain and it's difficult to know for sure the leather material is good or not on this we would want.

Got! Open my mouth and ask my hb or children to move it!! Hahaha

Or else you sponser for me as house warming present la? :P

Err, I sponsor 1 day of labour supply as remote controller, can?

Hehe, you can see that I like sipeh eng hor? Year end, pha bang in office.... Hehe. Oso holiday mood liao, no mood to work....

Err, I sponsor 1 day of labour supply as remote controller, can?

Hehe, you can see that I like sipeh eng hor? Year end, pha bang in office.... Hehe. Oso holiday mood liao, no mood to work....

Onz ah, I will remember to collect from you your labor supply! :D You so hardworking also Bo use, everyone else also will be holiday mood hor! Saw your pm, thanks for offering really very touched but you just go and enjoy yourselves !

Which reminds me.... Kinda in a fix now whether to buy a fabric or leather sofa. Currently using fabric sofa but now out of shape liao and kinda tired of using fabric and thinking of getting leather. But on the other hand, leather is hard to maintain and it's difficult to know for sure the leather material is good or not on this we would want.

Leather also can out of shape too as it still depends on the cushions used? If you notice, I actually have two different type of fabric sofas as we all prefer different softness/ hardness. We prefer fabric cos not as hot, can wash (very important!) and can change covers if we want. But at the end of day is what you prefer and decide on :D

Sleek, can you please write a short summary of what is good and would recommend to forummers as well as what is not worth it (like what you mentioned when we went to your place).

Hi everyone, after staying in my home for the past 3 1/2 years , I have some feedback on the quality and longevity of the items purchased/ installed.

1. Miele washer and dryer set - *touch wood* no regrets so far , they are both going strong. we purchased a miele vacuum cleaner soon after too and it is doing well except for a slight problem with the on off switch.

2. blum & generic soft closing - waste of $$ and just advertising hype. the carpenters shared feedback when first installing that in their experience there would be problems with the mechanism in the long-term, which is true! while the soft closing aspect works well, the drawers started to slide open on their own shortly within that first year, and the cupboards are not closing fully anymore. even after changing some of the drawer mechanism, it starts to slide open shortly after changing.

3. lifestorey cloth sofas - both have been replaced as they started to sink and warp within these 3 years.

4. hansgrohe overhead rain shower and rain shower head - both are leaking but otherwise working ok, luckily still within the 5 year warranty period for free repair or replacement.

5. kdk fans, mitsubishi starmex aircon, philips tv, yale digi lock, lightning.com philips lighting, brandt appliances - all going strong so far

• Like 2