Clare80

Using Contractor Or Id Is Better?

Dear all,

I would like to check with you guyz / gals .. anyone can comment on what's the difference between choosing a ID and a contractor? I'm kinda confused over the 2 and still deciding which shld i go for?

Thanks in advance for your advice. :yamseng:

Hi Clare80, below is 'how i peronally feel the difference between ID and contractor'

ID - mostly with show rooms and alot of ideas(depend on who u choose also) but not so much of pratical experience. Can let u see 3D drawing but with a deposit of abt 1K.

Contractor - mostly uncle type. haha...but with years of pratical experience and ideas from years of renovation done. Most likely cant let u see 3D drawing but only 2D sketch.

Cheers....

Contractor

You must have the time to supervise their work and progress. Coordination has to be done by yourself as well. Cost is definitely cheaper than going with an ID.

ID

Propose you with designs. Coordination and supervision of work will done by themselves. Cost is about 20% mark up from the costs that they got from their respective contractors.

Unless you have the time, and also already have a design in mind, then you can go ahead with contractors. If not, then I would suggest to go with an ID. Some money just can't be saved actually, but it really depends on yourself on what you are really looking for.

Hope this helps.

Edited by luckycoin

Hi Clare80

Luckycoin is right. It will not be cheap to get an ID and some may even emphasis too much on the beauty aspects but not practical. I myself have personally met some IDs who are like that. But for Contractor, they may be practical but beauty sense...not that much.

Hmm to have the best of both worlds, it is best to hire a contractor but yet has done designer house before, In that way we as the customers can tap on their expertise and experience since they have seen and know how to replicate another up to standard designer works but yet at a lower cost. *wink wink*

My contractor that I engaged was through my mum's referral and he actually provided me with some designing ideas for my entire house.

I have some picture to show you on the workmanship and designing effects. Mine is actually a 4 rm flat in the east. Most of my friends who have seen my house said the design actually looks more like a condo style rather than the HDB flat. Well I change the toilet basin and replace with new ones like those you can see in those Spa places and added in vanity top to give it a more classy feel. Photo taken maybe not so good hor because I m not professional photographer.. just took it after the whole house is cleaned before handover.

Another thing to note is he also did the floor tiles for my mum-in-law and she also said the workmanship for the tiles is really gd. One thing is that he doesnt do 3D and can only do 2D sketches for me. SO when we first talk abt the designing concept it is really a bit difficult to relate initially. However all these are solved when i showed him some deco magazines and asking him to modify a bit of here and there, or using some sample pictures that I like to relate to his concept or my concept, and the list goes on.

In order to save $ and yet wan a good feel of the house like designer pattern, we got to compromise yah.

Anyway enough of talking, let me share with you my new house pictures and i hv uploaded the pictures under this link as I dono how to upload pictures in this forum.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150176569653133.301567.627188132&l=cc19184b90

Btw my contractor did not quote me that expensive as compared to other IDs that i approached, hehe maybe because both of us were working on the designing concept together. A bit DIY but the $$$ saved is worth it!

If you want to get him to do your house, I strongly recommend him because he is reliable and my mum-in-law also recommend him too. Referral is still one of the best option if you wan some assurance. U can contact Mr Lim at 97836443 of LS Image. If you wan ask me more things can pm me or email me at elainelim83@hotmail.com. I check my emails few times a wk. cheers and gd luck to yr reno search!

Dear all,

I would like to check with you guyz / gals .. anyone can comment on what's the difference between choosing a ID and a contractor? I'm kinda confused over the 2 and still deciding which shld i go for?

Thanks in advance for your advice. :yamseng:

It really depend on your time, money and creativity.

Time- no time n no idea, let ID cover all for you, but = $$$$

If got a little bit of time and you want to do things you prefer, get contractor. They can also give you advise to certain aspect but major decision still lays in you. U got to plan what you want to do, who to do, what to do first, and co-ordinate everyone. Not easy (I'm doing that for my new place, but luckily got an ID friend who sub some of the work for me, and he give ideas as well... Time well spend, and seeing results soon....

Contractor

You must have the time to supervise their work and progress. Coordination has to be done by yourself as well. Cost is definitely cheaper than going with an ID.

ID

Propose you with designs. Coordination and supervision of work will done by themselves. Cost is about 20% mark up from the costs that they got from their respective contractors.

Unless you have the time, and also already have a design in mind, then you can go ahead with contractors. If not, then I would suggest to go with an ID. Some money just can't be saved actually, but it really depends on yourself on what you are really looking for.

Hope this helps.

Hello Luckycoin and all,

That's what I thought too and that is why I chose an ID. But my ID expects us to QC everything also and also, want us to take to the various personnel such as carpenter etc directly. So I think I am paying money to ID need to do some of his work, must see his attitude and also, listen to his threatening statement to us of stopping the project.

I am still in midst of renovation but what I learnt from this reno experience is, you (house owner) can check blogs, magazines etc and choose the house design that you like. Then, talk to either ID or contractor to see whether it is feasible for your need. For a nice home, just ensure your colour scheme is consistent (meaning, for example, you dont choose more than 3 colors for your home). Also, visit condo showrooms to have a look for their decors are always very nice. That will give you inspiration and also, which colour scheme to choose....

Then, the rest is really up to the contractor or the ID that does the job.For no matter how nice the 3D design is, if the contractor/ID is not particular about his work, the final piece wont be good.

So I feel overall, you can choose either ID or contractor but the person must have these traits - initiative, is hungry for the job and also, has pride is his works.

Just my 2 cents

hI Ppzzyy11

huh I tot ID is supposed to take the work off yr mind, and that is what was told to me when I met up with a few prospective IDs but eventually i went for the referral as it is much cheaper.

Anyway I do agree that the ID or contractor that we choose must be responsible, initiative and take pride in his work.

SO far my house is near to completion and I do not need to oversee the QC except pop by once a while to check things out.

Hello Luckycoin and all,

That's what I thought too and that is why I chose an ID. But my ID expects us to QC everything also and also, want us to take to the various personnel such as carpenter etc directly. So I think I am paying money to ID need to do some of his work, must see his attitude and also, listen to his threatening statement to us of stopping the project.

I am still in midst of renovation but what I learnt from this reno experience is, you (house owner) can check blogs, magazines etc and choose the house design that you like. Then, talk to either ID or contractor to see whether it is feasible for your need. For a nice home, just ensure your colour scheme is consistent (meaning, for example, you dont choose more than 3 colors for your home). Also, visit condo showrooms to have a look for their decors are always very nice. That will give you inspiration and also, which colour scheme to choose....

Then, the rest is really up to the contractor or the ID that does the job.For no matter how nice the 3D design is, if the contractor/ID is not particular about his work, the final piece wont be good.

So I feel overall, you can choose either ID or contractor but the person must have these traits - initiative, is hungry for the job and also, has pride is his works.

Just my 2 cents

hI Ppzzyy11

huh I tot ID is supposed to take the work off yr mind, and that is what was told to me when I met up with a few prospective IDs but eventually i went for the referral as it is much cheaper.

Anyway I do agree that the ID or contractor that we choose must be responsible, initiative and take pride in his work.

SO far my house is near to completion and I do not need to oversee the QC except pop by once a while to check things out.

Yes, by right if we use ID, we should have 'free-er' time as we can leave things to the ID. Can only say ID must have above traits in previous reply.

Edited by Ppzzyy11

if you are like me, like to design and enjoy the process of designing your own house and appreciate going through the actual involvement in the renovation, get a contractor - but you must be very sure of the grand picture of the final product u want - eg color scheme, choice of material, technical details, etc etc

if you want hassle-free , minimal involvement and headaches, spend 20-30% more and get a id

but u miss all the fun in getting 100% involved

view my design here: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=40916

Hi everyone,

Thanks for all your advices. I guess for me, I would have to go for ID as my choice since I don't really have much time to do track and DIY. Just hope won't get conned. ;p

Hi Clare,

Don't assume that using an ID, he'll take care of everything for you. You will still have to go down from once every few days to check on the progress of the work. Especially in important areas like tiling where the tiles laid are uneven. Most IDs would just accept any standard of work done by their contract which is likely not to be accepted by you. There have been horror stories of IDs just doing slipshot work because the money has mostly been paid.

For contractors, don't assume their pricing is cheaper unless you go even more direct and engage various project specific contractors to handle diff parts of the house (for eg tiler, carpenter, painter etc) If you engage just 1 general contractor to manage everything, he mostly will subcontract the various projects to other job-specific contractors and just make additional on the top.

I think it takes more than a hope. Have to pray pray u don get the slipshod ones.. Y not u call my contractor at 97836443 for a quote? Anyway he is quite trustworthy and reliable, in my opinion. I am quite pleased with his services and work lor. most importantly, I don need to everytime spot check his work too much because mostly done quite well, though got a few loose ends to tie up here and there. But it still saves me time because i heard from my friends that they have endless complaints and endless loose ends with their contractors because they always makes mistakes. u can consider my contractor lah, anyway call no harm. gd luck! :)

Hi everyone,

Thanks for all your advices. I guess for me, I would have to go for ID as my choice since I don't really have much time to do track and DIY. Just hope won't get conned. ;p

If you have time, idea and knowledge to manage ur "in progress" house. Of course you can hire contractor to work with you.

But if other way, pay ID is wise way. Because one only learns from one's mistakes.....

After you have knowledge, idea and time.... definitely you can hire contractor and save some cost of it....