edenstrauss

Bird Droppings/ Faeces!

Hi folks,

Although the case is more or less under control now that we alerted NEA, town council & HDB, I would nevertheless like to share these photographs.

I forwarded this to all 3 government entities as mentioned in the above paragraph. And if u have the patience, please read on as I narrate my story of these yukky episodes involving pigeons.

WARNING!

As gruesome-looking photographs are included in this thread, viewer's discretion is advised because it might just turn over your lunch, dinner or breakfast if you have just eaten.

Edited by edenstrauss

MY STORY :

The exterior of our masterbedroom had been severely plagued by bird droppings several months ago eversince the neighbours staying above our unit removed his faulty aircon compressor.

It wasn't just bird droppings found on the parapet at the exterior of our window. The bird droppings went as far as being found on the entire glass window, window sills, the walls flanking both sides of the windows and the top of our aircon compressor.

Those bird droppings weren't neatly placed onto these places but I would like to highlight that they were SPLUTTERED all over.

Meaning that, the bird faeces were being dropped down from a higher magnitude, resulting in the contents being thrashed out in all directions in view of the high impact fall from a great height.

To illustrate why I would suggest the above, I'll like to use an analogy of a watermelon being thrown down from a greater height and it reaching the ground.

What happens then?

Well, the high impact fall causes the melon to split open and the contents thrown out in all directions. And this was precisely what had happened to those bird droppings found on the exterior of my master bedroom windows! :(

Edited by edenstrauss

SEVERITY OF THE SITUATION:

To substantiate the claims in my story, these photos here would prove our predicament as owners of such a flat.

Let's start off in taking a look at how the exterior of my master bedroom looked like after we had to spend gallons of water scrubbing & cleaning up the place during a heavy downpour & isn't it so clean?

5725911785_329bca1ca7_z.jpg

And this is what happens a few hours (approx. 3-4 hours) after we took the chance to wash & scrub like crazy during a heavy rain...

Look at the windows; they were fully coated with contents coming from bird ****!

5725911789_b8c5dfacd7_z.jpg

5725911793_74cf79226d_z.jpg

5725911795_78e2122ed8_z.jpg

And zooming in with my camera lens, just take a look at how severe the situation was on the parapet and the top of the aircon compressor :

5725911797_6af271ec11_z.jpg

5725911799_94d9e4b01a_z.jpg

Don't you guys think that this is a health hazard?

We cannot open all our windows throughout the day and night, which effectively meant that our MBR is not ventilated at all.

And we also cannot bear turning on the aircon becox the bird dropings would be sucked into the compressor & chopped up. For all we know, both my hubby & myself would be breathing in air that's infested with germs, bacteria & whatever all of us can think of! :(

What was worse is that I spotted a variety of insects meandering among the bird droppings, be they intact or broken up. There were red ants, flies & a type of teeny weeny (tiny) bugs making their way among these bird droppings.

In order to relate my grave concerns & urgent request for immediate resolution, I took 2 other photographs using my digi cam's zoom in function the following day. And just look at how frightening the situation is based on the photographs below.

Can you spot the difference among the previous day's bird droppings and what had been new & "freshly" dropped from above?

5726510576_52f348f959_z.jpg

5725968579_8d16b20032_z.jpg

Edited by edenstrauss

just curious, u mean they did it in mid air??

i suppose your neighbours would have faced the same problem? and the ground floor would have been littered with all these as well?

get those needle-like mats that prevents them from resting there and defecating on the aircon.... i oso ever complained to my useless MP about the proliferation of crows flying into my parents' kitchen, in the end no use, i bought plastic wire mesh and attached it across the entire grille and the crows are gone permanently! :)

I wrote several emails to NEA, town council & HDB.

NEA told me that they cannot get involved in such matters pertaining to HDB and would forward my email to town council.

The town council officer has attempted to investigate on the cause of such a huge mountain of bird droppings outside our MBR.

He went up to the block of flats facing our master bedroom (with his colleague so that he wouldn't be accused of being a peeping-tom) & looked around our flat with a binoculors.

And sure enough, he found the unit on the highest floor had a badly corroded aircon tray, which was on the verge of falling off from where it was danggling at now.

After the owners of the unit directly above us removed their aircon compressor, we were no longer shielded from bird droppings. On the contrary, the bird droppings simply made its way down to the top of our compressor & our parpet.

And this explains why the bird droppings were found spluttered all over the exterior of our master bedroom.

Edited by edenstrauss

mean the birds are really zhun in aiming ..... obviously get the TC pple take a look at the inaccessible rooftop ledge where the birds are resting and ask them do something about it.

Both town council & HDB worked very closely and because the badly corroded aircon tray risked becoming killer litter, the HDB technical officer had visited the owners almost immediately.

And these owners were very cooperative & responsible people. We're thankful that we had such good neighbours. :)

They got the aircon tray removed the following day.

After the removal of the aircon tray by its owners, the condition has improved drastically much to our relief & delight. We could leave our windows opened as & when we wish to.

We are keeping our fingers crossed to ascertain if such good condition is sustainable. I would be uploading photographs of how the exterior of our MBR looked like right now even after days of not washing it.

There are still bird droppings on & off but it wasn't as bad as before.

Edited by edenstrauss

I mux say many big "KAM-SIAHs" (thank you-s in Hokkien language) to the neighbour who removed their highly corroded aircon tray, TC (town council) & HDB for solving our yukky problems.

And as for NEA, I would be updating them on what TC & HDB has done for us.

Please scroll down to see photographs of the current situation outside my MBR after TC & HDB have taken the relevant actions.

Edited by edenstrauss

zz eh still got alot of things to share & also, answer neubie & west's comments - shelf until 2morow then answer becox I cannot keep my eyes opened now... very sleepy so need to sleep already zz

Thats quite bad. Is it droppings from crows or pigeon. If it is crow, check out where are the crows roasting place and call NEA to cull them. One of my friend's place also suffered from the same problem. Loads of crow droppings. I helped her to identify the crows' nests on a few trees. They usually return at around 6pm. After which I called NEA to cull them at the right spot. I think NEA managed to cull about 100 crows that day. After that, the droppings were much less. Hope this helps.

just curious, u mean they did it in mid air??

i suppose your neighbours would have faced the same problem? and the ground floor would have been littered with all these as well?

The other neighbours below us were shielded by our aircon compressor so they were spared of such dire circumstances of bird droppings being spluttered all over the exterior of their MBR.

We started experiencing these problems only after the unit directly above us had removed their aircon compressor. The unit which was above them, had a badly corroded aircon tray which was on the verge of unhinging itself & dropping down.

So because it was dangling on both sides where the corrosion took place, the aircon tray was skewed to one side. The pigeons saw this as an ideal location for setting up their homes i.e. nest.

The Town council spotted the nests from their binoculours. When HDB approached the neighbours with the corroded aircon tray, the owners were very cooperative & quickly got the tray removed - we are very grateful to have such good & cooperative neighbours :D

Edited by edenstrauss

get those needle-like mats that prevents them from resting there and defecating on the aircon.... i oso ever complained to my useless MP about the proliferation of crows flying into my parents' kitchen, in the end no use, i bought plastic wire mesh and attached it across the entire grille and the crows are gone permanently! :)

Hi neubie,

I was told by the North-eastern sector of the NEA office that they take a very serious stance when there are complaints over crows.

Because of their aggressive nature, the NEA officer claimed that they could take action against those crows even if we are staying in flats. They would send their professional shooters down to your place & slaughter crows with their rifles.

U know what? Even with needle-like mats placed on top of the aircon compressor, the birds can perch on top of the aircon brackets (belonging to the unit directly above us) & poo-poo down while above. Then, we'll end up with... bird-caked mats!

But it's a useful suggestions. In fact, a neighbour staying further away from us almost resorted to creating his own nail bed but had second thoughts when it becomes a great danger should the nail bed get swept off by very strong wind & injure somebody walking or standing on the ground floor.

General chinese believed that " s h i t" is wealth. Water also wealth leh.

Yes I heard of such theories too!

When the chinese say that a person step on "sai" (the hokkien definition for faeces), it meant that the person is extremely lucky & in for very good luck.

But water - does it include the urine of the birds?

I can associate splashing of water to Loi Kratong i.e. the water festival in Thailand.

We bought a garden hose to wash the exterior of our MBR - some aunties staying across our block, with their side of flats facing our MBR, saw me washing the "sai" with the hose. They smile or laugh & we would wave at one another & shout our greetings across. Quite fun to get to know one another thru splashing of water outside our MBR leh... :D

But of course, we do not want to relive the same nightmare. Never! yuks! :(