timothyng27

My 5 Room Bukit Merah Flat T-Blog

Hi pinkwhale. 2k includes everything (shipping, import/ export taxes, handling etc). But I'm pretty sure it doesn't cover delivery of items to your house and warehousing.

Can you pm me your email address? I can forward you the detailed quote I received from someone from Natha Logistics. Here's a screenshot with details too:

Screenshot2011-10-13atAM014155.png

Chances are, I won't be bringing in anything in a container. I think a container is too much capacity and individual logistics and delivery will probably be a nightmare.

I'll just go recce and see if they ship and deliver individual pieces for furniture, and pick up some smaller decorative items (rugs, clocks, table lamps, kitchenware etc) if I see them.

And fingers crossed about the flooding!

Can I check who r u engaging in Singapore to help u on the import custom clearance? And if few of us wanna share the shipping with u, required time of the furniture might be different so might need to get a warehouse? And also the transport cost to our house?

And can I also ask SGD 2k for logistics what does it include? Only the ocean freight for the 1X20 footer container or is an all in cost which includes the export cost in bkk and all importing cost in spore? Cos SGD2k for just the ocean freight alone seems kind of ex actually..

Paiseh I say so much just wanna find out more.

XTRA sounds expensive - any idea how much he paid for his? I have been getting the rest of my KDK fans in JB for a pretty good price (about half the price here), so I don't wanna burst my budget with this.

I'll check around and see if there's anything similar and cheaper elsewhere. Sadly, only this kind of fan will fit in functionality and aesthetic-wise. Might really have to bargain hard. Hehe

I know Defelio has this or something v similar in his living room, so should not be an issue. You can check out his t-blog for more info. He bought his fan at XTRA.

Thanks! Will go check it out. Do you have the address? Can't seem to find anything on Google about it.

Anyway I posted something on your T-blog. Wanted to find out how to restore the old ship lamp I bought (pictured below)

IMG_0934.jpg

I wanna sand it and smoothen it and paint it a shade of FUSCHIA. Any tips, or a spray paint gun I could borrow? :P

Tim. , I thik i saw that fan at King of fans..

lurve yr tiles by the way!

Thanks! Will go check it out. Do you have the address? Can't seem to find anything on Google about it.

Anyway I posted something on your T-blog. Wanted to find out how to restore the old ship lamp I bought (pictured below)

IMG_0934.jpg

I wanna sand it and smoothen it and paint it a shade of FUSCHIA. Any tips, or a spray paint gun I could borrow? :P

I've been reading Apartment Therapy and it seems that most of such projects are left to car-auto shops to spray paint, you might like to consider that (not sure if they'll be as willing to do that as they are in the US), as I don't think that the off-the-shelf sort of spray paint really caters to metal surfaces.

Hi tim!

I've recently just restored a lightly rusted office table for our study.

What I did was:

1. give the item a dammmmmm good wipe with Cif - i don't rub to hard... (clears of years of grime)

2. clean the product with a clean cloth to get rid of all detergent

3. if there're severe rusting, sand paper the rust off to a even surface

4. used autosol to remove rust from lightly rusted areas

5. apply rust retardant to rusted areas - rust retardant will retard rusting and some rust retardant will like an organic layer over the rust which is great for items requiring a paint job (pls take not that the organic layer formed is in a dark shade thus do not use rust retardant on items which u'd like to keep it's original colour)

6. after the rust retardant is dried (approx 0.5hr), I use plox spray paint to spray over the item. (do mask the area you;d like the paint from covering eg glass etc ... with good ole masking tape :) )

7. after letting yr item to dry.... you can now enjoy it !

ps. shake spray paint cans well... pre-test to get rid of splatters etc before spraying yr item, do light layers at a time allowing the layers to dry in between

IMG_0934.jpg

ps. the fan place I THINK i saw yr fan is at paya lebar area, across the highway from cisco....it's a industrial area and you can see the banner from the highway if you are heading towards towns from the east. I will try to search for the fan place for ya later... so far I can't seem to find it. I just remember it's some ulu name like king of fans or something....

Hey gaikusean, thanks for the tip! Someone else told me the same thing too, just that i don't know any car spray painting shops.

If I just step in to the shop like that surely will kena chop carrot one! Haha... another friend told me to use Tamiya car spray paint.

In the meantime I'll just sand it out with sandpaper first.

I've been reading Apartment Therapy and it seems that most of such projects are left to car-auto shops to spray paint, you might like to consider that (not sure if they'll be as willing to do that as they are in the US), as I don't think that the off-the-shelf sort of spray paint really caters to metal surfaces.

Wow... this is really good stuff! Thanks!

Rust retarded and retarded rust and rusting retardant all sounds **** funny to me... But it's just me being stupid :sport-smiley-004:

Do I need a base colour before (eg.white) I paint it over with the fuschia paint? And is there any particular kind of paint I should be using?

Hi tim!

I've recently just restored a lightly rusted office table for our study.

What I did was:

1. give the item a dammmmmm good wipe with Cif - i don't rub to hard... (clears of years of grime)

2. clean the product with a clean cloth to get rid of all detergent

3. if there're severe rusting, sand paper the rust off to a even surface

4. used autosol to remove rust from lightly rusted areas

5. apply rust retardant to rusted areas - rust retardant will retard rusting and some rust retardant will like an organic layer over the rust which is great for items requiring a paint job (pls take not that the organic layer formed is in a dark shade thus do not use rust retardant on items which u'd like to keep it's original colour)

6. after the rust retardant is dried (approx 0.5hr), I use plox spray paint to spray over the item. (do mask the area you;d like the paint from covering eg glass etc ... with good ole masking tape :) )

7. after letting yr item to dry.... you can now enjoy it !

ps. shake spray paint cans well... pre-test to get rid of splatters etc before spraying yr item, do light layers at a time allowing the layers to dry in between

Ok folks; just got back from Bangkok on Sunday. Thankfully no flood! A little bit of rain here and there; but we brought ponchos and an umbrella, so we were mostly covered :)

Our itinerary was super packed for the 3 days we were there. Arrived on Thursday about 3pm and flew off Sunday morning. Very rushed.

Despite this, we managed to go to Crystal Design Centre (CDC), Tuba, Joe's Beautiful Objects, Hawaii Five-O, Danish Design, Chatuchak Market, Platinum Mall, Papaya and Rod Fai Market.

Day 1

Checked in at the hotel and straight away went to Platinum Mall for some speed shopping. The other half bought tons of dresses and tops, while I found nothing that I liked or could fit :(

Went back to the hotel to dump our purchases and headed over to Tuba for dinner and drinks.

Tuba, which is somewhere around Thong Lor or Ekkamai (still not too sure of the directions) was just next door to all the other retro shops (Joe's BO, Hawaii Five-O, Danish Design etc).

Was super excited when I finally found the place and saw all the other shops nearby :sport-smiley-004:

Dinner at Tuba was pretty decent. A lot of Ang Mohs around, but the place was really eclectic, with a very weird and interesting mish mash of pieces, art, sculpture, figurines etc.

The boss also seems to have a penchant for the nude female form (as seen from a lot of artwork). Here's some pics I took (on Day 2):

Entranceway:

SAM_9043.jpg

Superman stands just next to the door:

SAM_9060.jpg

Seating area with a view of the bar counter (and Darth Maul):

SAM_9041.jpg

Groovy lights at another cosy corner:

SAM_9039.jpg

More Tuba pics. I didn't really like any particular pieces there; combined they looked a little rojak-like.

But the furnishings and feel is really eclectic. Definitely interesting, has personality and makes for colourful photos.

Nice Chinese / Peranakan style doorway:

SAM_9050.jpg

Another cosy chill out corner:

SAM_9046.jpg

Dining table area with a monster pendant lamp:

SAM_9047.jpg

Wine rack and misc display cabinet:

SAM_9048.jpg

Day 2:

Had breakfast at Siam Paragon before heading over to Hawaii Five-O.

Met Khun Satit, who is a very warm and extremely approachable guy.

Hawaii Five-O is a little messy, but contains really nice mid modern century pieces which I like.

He mentioned he can customize the fabrics and wood, and also the woodwork.

We saw 2 pieces we really liked and are probably ordering through email.

He'll get a quotation for shipping, customize to our exact specifications, and then work out the deposit and payment and shipping.

Here's some pics:

SAM_9038.jpg

SAM_9037.jpg

SAM_9036.jpg

More pics to come!

Hi Timothy, thanks for the BKK updates! Glad to know that there was no flood when you were there.

Tuba seems very cluttered leh. Heard a lot about Hawaii Five-O. We will be going next month and hope we will manage to find some nice pieces too.

Can't wait to see more pictures.

Hi pinkwhale. 2k includes everything (shipping, import/ export taxes, handling etc). But I'm pretty sure it doesn't cover delivery of items to your house and warehousing.

Can you pm me your email address? I can forward you the detailed quote I received from someone from Natha Logistics. Here's a screenshot with details too:

Screenshot2011-10-13atAM014155.png

Chances are, I won't be bringing in anything in a container. I think a container is too much capacity and individual logistics and delivery will probably be a nightmare.

I'll just go recce and see if they ship and deliver individual pieces for furniture, and pick up some smaller decorative items (rugs, clocks, table lamps, kitchenware etc) if I see them.

And fingers crossed about the flooding!

The quote does not include delivery from port to warehouse.... if you shipping on a FCL (Full Container Load), do note that you need to include unstuffing cost too.

I don't think Tuba tries too hard. I just think Tuba is wayyyy to eclectic for me, maybe even bordering on being a little weird / freaky.

Yes my job is pretty flexible (but don't tell my bosses) ;)

Love the pictures. I dun really like Tuba as they try to be too many things at the same time

Btw you sleep really late! I suppose your job is not a 9-5 one??