assirac 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2011 (edited) Getting Keys on the 28th of July. Target Completion for Reno 28 August.Reno/Furnishing ListMust Do1. Kitchen Cabinet + Hood + Hob + Oven (Blum System)2. Wardrobes for 3 bedrooms (Sliding Door)3. Sand down and Re-varnish wood flooring of rooms4. Polish existing marble tiles5. Wallpaper for Living/Dining, Master Bedroom and Study Room6. Curtains for Living roomMust Buy1. King Size bed frame + Side tables2. Dining Table + Chairs - DoneOptional1. Re-varnish existing veneer TV-console and feature wall2. Curtains for master bedroom3. Platform bed for baby/maid room4. Herman Miller Chair x 25. Carpet for Study RoomTo decide1. Study Table/Shelves and TV console (Custom Make, Or Buy)2. Overhaul Toilets or Change Toilet Fittings?3. Additional Cabling/Power Plug (Open net?) Edited July 11, 2011 by assirac Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2011 (edited) Study table --> Custom-built-in versus ready-madeLeaning towards buying ready-made furniture. --> Easier to re-configure, and we can bring them along when we move house again.We saw Herman Miller Sense Table at Xtra Showroom in Parkmall. Love the simple yet intelligent design design, but the price tag is really OMGGGGG (1800++).Went to Vhive to see if we can get a similar design at more affordable prices --> NADA Will want to check out Ikea. Edited July 1, 2011 by assirac Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2011 (edited) Saw the following on Ikea's website. Although the durability of Ikea's furniture is quite questionable. But priced @ less than 10% of the Sense Table, I can always change a new one after a few years of usage. Edited July 1, 2011 by assirac Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2011 assirac,saw that you are using wallpaper for your new home. Have you decided where to get the wallpaper? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2011 assirac,saw that you are using wallpaper for your new home. Have you decided where to get the wallpaper?Hey. sorry for the late reply. I signed up with the De next page for wallpaper ... totally on impulse -.-" hope i dun regret. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Honeygal 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2011 Hey. sorry for the late reply. I signed up with the De next page for wallpaper ... totally on impulse -.-" hope i dun regret. am i the only one who can't view any of your pictures here? shows a 'cross' in the image. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 am i the only one who can't view any of your pictures here? shows a 'cross' in the image.My bad, I accidentally deleted my web album. Let me try to upload again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 Hey. sorry for the late reply. I signed up with the De next page for wallpaper ... totally on impulse -.-" hope i dun regret. Hi assirac,Oh i c. btw your floor plan very tiny, cannot see leh . Are you engaging a contractor or ID? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 (edited) UpdatesAgain we selected Patrick from Hobee as our Reno Contractor. We had a pretty good experience with him the first time, so prolly a good idea to stick to someone who is tried and tested. Reno/Furnishing ListTo Do1. Kitchen Cabinet + Hood + Hob + Oven (Blum System)2. Wardrobes for 3 bedrooms (Casement for MasterBedroom, Sliding Door for other 2 Bedrooms, Veneer Finish)3. Sand down, Re-varnish wood flooring of rooms and Repair Damaged Strips4. Polish existing marble tiles5. Wallpaper for Living/Dining, Master Bedroom and Study Room (De Next Page @ 450 per roll inclusive of Labour)6. Curtains for Living room7. Overhaul both bathrooms.Must Buy1. King Size bed frame (Done) + Side tables2. Dining Table + Chairs - DoneOptional1. Re-varnish existing veneer TV-console and feature wall --> Cannot be done due to design of Console and Feature wall. 2. Curtains for master bedroom --> After completion of Reno, depend on Budget3. Platform bed for baby/maid room --> No go, use existing furniture ... due to Budget constraints4. Herman Miller Chair x 25. Carpet for Study RoomTo decide1. Study Table/Shelves and TV console (Custom Make, Or Buy)2. Overhaul Toilets or Change Toilet Fittings? <-- Decided ... moved to To-do list3. Additional Cabling/Power Plug (Open net?) Edited July 1, 2011 by assirac Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 Hi assirac,Oh i c. btw your floor plan very tiny, cannot see leh . Are you engaging a contractor or ID?Aiyah, I will have to upload the floor plan when I get home tonight. I am going with Hobee... contractor... Therefore gotta do a lot of leg-work ourselves ... already went down to balestier 4 times for bathroom tile selection. Finally got it right. phew~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archenemy 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 Saw the following on Ikea's website. Although the durability of Ikea's furniture is quite questionable. But priced @ less than 10% of the Sense Table, I can always change a new one after a few years of usage.agree dude...if the price is right..i dont mind going for lower priced items. i dont believe 10 ikea tables cannot outlast 1 of the Sense table....whats more..if i get sick of the design or the colour..i can change! but this doesn't apply to things which are hard to change lah, eg toilet bowls, sinks...these items..buy good quality 1... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 agree dude...if the price is right..i dont mind going for lower priced items. i dont believe 10 ikea tables cannot outlast 1 of the Sense table....whats more..if i get sick of the design or the colour..i can change! but this doesn't apply to things which are hard to change lah, eg toilet bowls, sinks...these items..buy good quality 1...Yah, I think I have to cut back on buying expensive furnitures. I am gonna spend quite a bit on Bathroom Fittings. Already bought Grohe shower, mixers and taps for toilets and Kitchen. Now Looking for good WC and basins. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strikingreality 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2011 Yah, I think I have to cut back on buying expensive furnitures. I am gonna spend quite a bit on Bathroom Fittings. Already bought Grohe shower, mixers and taps for toilets and Kitchen. Now Looking for good WC and basins.Which line of the Grohe shower did you buy and from where? I will be shopping around for sanitary fittings soon, hence hunting for the best deal. And my hubby wants a Grohe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2011 Which line of the Grohe shower did you buy and from where? I will be shopping around for sanitary fittings soon, hence hunting for the best deal. And my hubby wants a Grohe. We bought from the bathroom fixture shop along the same stretch as Hafary. Not too sure if we got the best price though. Anyway ... we bought the Euro-style series for the bathroom and Euro-smart Kitchen Mixer. Euphoria series for the Shower head. We went for the cheaper range, but still cost about 700 bucks per set. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
assirac 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2011 So the Balestier shop name is "Home & Bathroom Building Products Pte Ltd"Our purchases include:2 Sets of Shower + Mixer + Basin Mixer + silver flex hose + Wall Elbows1 Kitchen Sink MixerTotal Damage: S$1620 (inclusive of GST)---> I didn't do much research before plunging into these purchases, I hope I paid a fair price. *Fingers-crossed* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites