west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 (edited) a look at the platform in the MBR Edited July 12, 2011 by west Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 Oh! I am so happy to hear that abt the progress ! eh.... one qtn... how come yr floor is not covered with protective cardboard or something like that? are they preparing to acid wash the place? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 carpentry placed temporarily in the study roomi think this should be my TV feature wall??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 well got some of the shelves, but all no doors ... hahaha I was really mad that day.. but alas.. over liao For the smell.. i put acitivated carbon bought from fish shop, moth balls.. I actually listened to mao mao (erm forgot his name while typing this post.. the owner of mabari house hahaha) and put a bowl of water with lemon slices in my new fridge, really smell gone very quickly. didnt try it in cupboards tho.. the activated carbon works but slowly.i just hope the smell won't be too overwhelming... intend to start cleaning and do some light unpacking on fri nite.. actually we shifted quite a number of things into the storeroom already... quite kiasu!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 Oh! I am so happy to hear that abt the progress ! eh.... one qtn... how come yr floor is not covered with protective cardboard or something like that? are they preparing to acid wash the place?i believe it is becos the heavy/messy works (ie. hacking, wet works) all done??Actually the painter did put plastic sheets on the floor when he was painting... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 i believe it is becos the heavy/messy works (ie. hacking, wet works) all done??Actually the painter did put plastic sheets on the floor when he was painting...He better loh... i got lots of paint specks everywhere zzzzz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 i just hope the smell won't be too overwhelming... intend to start cleaning and do some light unpacking on fri nite.. actually we shifted quite a number of things into the storeroom already... quite kiasu!!I love storeroom!!! hahahaha I actually had one built in my new place (at the time of my purchase, zero storeroom! ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 but flooring wise quite easy to remove for tilesi would be concern if the specks are on elsewhere besides the tilesthats why we are kinda relieved when ID told us that painting will go up first, following by carpentry and flooring(i think).of cos there will be one round of touching up painting for flaws/imperfection at the end but i think the careless specks/dripping will be minimal lah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 (edited) I love storeroom! hahahaha I actually had one built in my new place (at the time of my purchase, zero storeroom! )we were fortunate that the prev owner left a metal cabinet for us in the storeroom! yes, those full height use in office one!as well as those 4 tier rack, saved us $ from customising one!actually the metal cabinet was a life saver, before the hacking and drilling, we actually shifted quite a no. of things (from our old storerm) into that storeroom, most of it we kept and locked in the cabinet... during the reno, the workers were quite careless, sometimes the left the storeroom door open cos they had to access the power source inside for their drills and cutters, end up storeroom also kenna dust, lucky the stuff inside the cabinet were unaffected. we spent last sunday cleaning up the storeroom and putting newspaper and trashbag to prevent the rest of the exposed items from dust. Edited July 12, 2011 by west Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 but flooring wise quite easy to remove for tilesi would be concern if the specks are on elsewhere besides the tilesthats why we are kinda relieved when ID told us that painting will go up first, following by carpentry and flooring(i think).of cos there will be one round of touching up painting for flaws/imperfection at the end but i think the careless specks/dripping will be minimal lahmy bathroom tiles are black... any paint colour other than black showed clearly on them.. I gave up cleaning liao.. haha yah, painting will touch up and touch up one.. i think for my apt, they did 2-3 rounds hahahahahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 we were fortunate that the prev owner left a metal cabinet for us in the storeroom! yes, those full height use in office one!as well as those 4 tier rack, saved us $ from customising one!actually the metal cabinet was a life saver, before the hacking and drilling, we actually shifted quite a no. of things (from our old storerm) into that storeroom, most of it we kept and locked in the cabinet... during the reno, the workers were quite careless, sometimes the left the storeroom door open cos they had to access the power source inside for their drills and cutters, end up storeroom also kenna dust, lucky the stuff inside the cabinet were unaffected. we spent last sunday cleaning up the storeroom and putting newspaper and trashbag to prevent the rest of the exposed items from dust.wah why u never say... can come clean my store room too... hahahahaha i didnt customise the shelvings in the storeroom either, previously i already 2 4-layered stainless steel racks from the old house and i migrated here.. very useful Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 wah why u never say... can come clean my store room too... hahahahaha i didnt customise the shelvings in the storeroom either, previously i already 2 4-layered stainless steel racks from the old house and i migrated here.. very useful it was really tough work, we had only a small area to work with, cos all ard us were debris, had to becareful not to throw or dump things around us cos it will cause another dust storm and make our effort useless... due to the constraint and controlled movements, our bodies were aching at the end of the day. anyway, i guess we did the right preparation, cos when move it, will just slowly remove all the newspaper layers/protection no need to clean anything else cos all pre-cleaned! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bluesummerayz 2 Report post Posted July 12, 2011 it was really tough work, we had only a small area to work with, cos all ard us were debris, had to becareful not to throw or dump things around us cos it will cause another dust storm and make our effort useless... due to the constraint and controlled movements, our bodies were aching at the end of the day. anyway, i guess we did the right preparation, cos when move it, will just slowly remove all the newspaper layers/protection no need to clean anything else cos all pre-cleaned!That is so clever de lor!! : )))))))))))))) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 13, 2011 (edited) today the plumber came today to install the rainshowers for our 2 toilets today... MBR toilet bowl also fixed up.. but sink and taps have to wait till the carpentry on the vanity top are done.. should later todayelectrician was here also to do his job, but given so many areas and switches to work on, I think it will take another day at least, now we have only 2 days left to handover... its like a race against time!! the house is starting to look cramped again with some of the carpentry delivered to my place for installationMBRCommonwe kept this built in wardrobe from the prev owner, lets see how they are gonna revamp it...angle from the inner corner of the MBR Edited July 13, 2011 by west Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
west 1 Report post Posted July 13, 2011 came in just nice after work to see the electrician working on the living room ceiing lights Share this post Link to post Share on other sites