stinker808

Our Very Own Place To Call Home

I would say the mosaic lookalike would make your house having middle eastern feel. What u want to achieve? Personally u would choose mosaic lookalike as it's really unique and I don't think u will feel bored soon. Peranakan houses a lot of mosaic also stand till today.

Hi Stinker,

Congrats on your new home and nice progress there indeed! Seems like you can retain most of the original place since its condition of the floors etc look pretty good still.

I love the 3D designs! Do post more pics as you progress :)

-Ely

Hi Ely,

No wor... if u saw my later posts, i actually took out all the laminated flooring for the entire house. will re-lay homo tiles for living, dining and walkway. Then laminated flooring for all bedrooms cos wifey dun feel safe and we went to check on the quality from the previous contractor. They actually used the lowest grade of Laminates!!! So decided to do it once and for all, do it good.......

Yeah, after much debates, finally it's starting already...... can't wait for it....... in fact, the hacking starts tml morning!!! Hahaha... will go down and spot-check liao......

Stay tuned for more updates

Cheers :)

Woohoo!!!! First day of actual renovation starts at 9am this morning. Managed to make a trip in the morning and one in the afternoon. Man, the workers are really fast!! Only half a day and the cement screed is off!!

Earlier on, went down and saw them clearing the debris already. But they told me their boss very funny, only give them one trolley to haul the debris, thus making so many trips up n down.... Then comes the standard action from Cyclops (X-Men).... Eye Power.....hahahahaha But luckily, all three of them very friendly, talked to them for a while before making my way back. They mentioned will continue clearing tml morning and shld finish by then.

Then comes the tiling :) Time to place all my antique coins.....Woohoo.....

Can't upload any pics at the moment. Will upload tonight. See u guys later

As promised : Hacking!!

Morning spot check. Saw three workers with two working on the machine and one moving all the unwanted items to the kitchen for easy hauling.

IMG_0844.jpg

IMG_0846.jpg

After the hacking: afternoon spot-check

IMG_0848.jpg

IMG_0854.jpg

Walkway

IMG_0851.jpg

Time to upload some more pictures for the renovation process loh........

Tiler started work this morning, while the tiles and material was delivered early yesterday. WooHoo....... went to spot check just now and the tiles are almost completed!!!! **** he's fast!!!!

Bonding and cement material

IMG_0861.jpg

Tiles

IMG_0863.jpg

Start work Loh!!!!! Getting the first tile right (At 10am)

IMG_0867.jpg

At night (From the main door)

IMG_0869.jpg

From the Window

IMG_0871.jpg

The master left the last stripe for me so that I can place the Feng Shui coins tml morning...... Huat Ah!!!!!!!!

!!!!!!! Suddenly, new problem surfaced just after 4 days of reno!!!!!!!

During the hacking of my existing cement screeding at the living, dining and walkway, the storeroom A.K.A bomb shelter was never touched.

However, yesterday when I have the chance to open the door (Cos the tiler was tiling the floor area near the door so unable to open til then), to my horror, the minute I stepped onto the flooring, felt something was wrong immediately!!!! Switched on the lights and found out that the ceramic tiles has pop-ed up and crack lines can be seen!!!!! Immediately called up my ID and inform him about the matter. Suggested that no choice, have to re-do but can check with HDB to see if they can help rectify without any cost incurred.

Call the Technical Officer and explained the situation to him, and guess what? He told me cos of renovation progress is ongoing, HDB is not responsible for the issue even if the place was not touched at all!!! Gave reason like due to the vibrations, etc,etc....... Sounded like he very bo chap and just wanna push me away and gget my ID to settle instead of HDB. (machiam ID built the place in the first place. Isn't HDB responsible as they are the one to bulid it?)

End of the day, have to top up extra $400 just to re-tile the place up again and in 2 days time, the tiler have to handover the place back to my ID. Hope everything will go smoothly.......haiz.........

Been a while since I updated the progress due to the juggling between work and rushing down to new place to instruct the workers and to spot check them.

Then the sudden arise of problem, need to discuss with ID and confirm countermeasures.

The pop-ed up tiles was one of them :

IMG_0874.jpg

IMG_0873.jpg

extra S$400...........

But at least the problem was solved so still considered ok.

Another comforting point to make the entire running around and calling around like a mad man worth it.

The finished floor tiling :

IMG_0885.jpg

Looks nice ah...........

After all these was done, electrician came and installed new points x 02, adjust the downlight in the living room, took out those in kitchen and going to install a thin trunking for the Opennet installation that will occur sometime in Sep~Dec.

Also took some time last week to have a look at the lightings at Joo Chiat.

Considering them as the pricing should be considered quite reasonable? 1k for 7 lights plus dismantle of existing ones, installation and remote

Here are some of the lightings that was considered.

IMG_0881.jpg

Balcony

IMG_0880.jpg

Dining

IMG_0879.jpg

MBR and WIW. WIW to KIV cos wifey saw something else which she likes more.

IMG_0878.jpg

What do u guys think?

Went down today to advise my electrician - my uncle about the Opennet advance trunking installation. Understand that the installer do provide the trunking when they came but because of the layout and the design, the installers will surely drill through my feature wall in order to reach the lan line and power source. That's why went down to give him the exact instructions so that I can save my feature wall in the coming months (Installation due in Sep-Dec).

Just nice, my construction of partition to cover the view of the kitchen as advices by my FSM came and they managed to erect the half partition within 2 1/2 hours. Could be shorter but due to the mis-communication, valuable time was wasted.

The frosted glass will come next week.

Here's the preview.

IMG_0893.jpg

IMG_0892.jpg

Finally confirmed on the last major item of the new place!!!! Sofa!!!!!!! So comfy!!!!!!

IMG_0805.jpg

IMG_0804.jpg

The best things is that it can be used as a bed too!!!!! So next thing, if so happen to quarrel with wifey and being chased out, at least got another comfortable place to sleep for the night..... hahaahahahha

Finally confirmed on the last major item of the new place!!!! Sofa!!!!!!! So comfy!!!!!!

IMG_0805.jpg

The best things is that it can be used as a bed too!!!!! So next thing, if so happen to quarrel with wifey and being chased out, at least got another comfortable place to sleep for the night..... hahaahahahha

Hi the sofa looks interesting with the little table on the arm rest. May I know where you got it from? TIA!

Congrats on getting the sofa but hope you don't have to use as bed. :sport-smiley-018:

Just saw from another T-blogger having the same sofa!!! Fantastic!!! At least now I knw the choice is correct!!! Hahahahaha........ Loved the sofa...... can't wait for my reno to complete and the sofa delivered!!!!

Painting work has commenced!!!! The painters are quite professional in my opinion ad they will get rid of the nicks n nacks of the wall in order to make sure the paint is nicely painted onto. Nicely done.

By the end of the day, the 2nd coat shld go up alrdy and waiting for the last coat when everything is done up. Can't hardly wait!!! The final result is slowly taking it's shape!!!