matrix0405 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2011 Dr Chen SM 4 languages + Hokkien address last nite.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCUy9ge-aIc&feature=player_embedded#at=239http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTSPNeBDTh4&feature=player_embedded#at=265 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2011 for discussion:while i really hope there will be some fresh new opposition voice into the parliament, i'm still wondering what is the real odds for them in this election.it seems to me that although there is so much online buzz going on, many pple still buy into the "scare" tactic by you-know-who.my frens (late 20s~early 30s, the so called "young voters) actually told me things like:> he will want to vote for PAP cos he wants upgrading in future (hello he's in new part of Punggol. upgrading probably needed 15 yrs later)> another one said he worried that PAP cannot form government if pple votes for opposition so he must vote for PAP (just think and you'd know that it's almost impossible for PAP to lose more than 50% of total seat, no matter how good opposition is this time)> then got one told me he scared opposition will "anyhow say things" and mess up the whole parliament (there are also PAP MPs "anyhow say things" in the parliament ). 1 or 2 opposition enough liao, else govt cannot run (again another person who got it mixed up: political party is not govt ).you can see the "scare pple" tactic really runs deep for generations until now that the young pple are still affected. how many of the pple complaining online will actually vote for opposition?how many of those attending rallies eventually cast their votes to the opposition?how many actually want to change?how many actually concerns more about the fresh paint than accountability in the govt?having zero opposition MP in the parliament will be a really sad thing for the nation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted April 29, 2011 (edited) You've raised a good & practical yet "big" issue for discussion: just some of my thoughts here, I'm in late 40.-Older generation (40 and above)have gone through the phrase and experienced how LKY and his old kakis fighted for singapore which end singapore today. Deep in their hearts, due respects to them, die die support the "brand name".-Time flies, 2nd, 3rd gen leaders now on stage likes "stars","elites","scholars". Self-proclaimed "servants to/of ppl", but the behavious in the public act otherwise(majority of them), walking in the "centre", protected by the "subservants" in front & at back while "having dialogues" down to earth with residents. Smiling face, sweet voice, who know what's on their mind? bouncing head as if like a "bouncing head bug" which I used to play with when I was young in kumpong..1st world class actor/actress indeed. I would prefer you quitely with one or 2 ppls, with paper & pen, knock the doors.....Gooden rule, be remembered the real defination of SERVANT is one who washes master's feets quitely. The hard-earned, long established "image" or "brand name" is fading away liao,to me, by the public acts of these "servants".-Most voters are "see $ eye open" nature, cos it deals with stomach, holidays, property, needs(simply put all material needs).That's why ruling party whacks on voters' "weak point" in order to get more votes.-Only those who know exactly what they want will vote for frist world parliament or first world gov.Opp, likewise should whack at the weakpoints of the ruling party to gain access into parliament.For secrecy of ballot, read this: http://www.elections.gov.sg/voters_ballotsecrecy.html Edited April 29, 2011 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dean 5 Report post Posted April 29, 2011 can post any nice funny ge 2011 talk video? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted April 30, 2011 So many: can post any nice funny ge 2011 talk video? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted April 30, 2011 PAP's Tin Pei Ling at Marine Parade GRC rally, Apr 30 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted April 30, 2011 SDP's Tan Jee Say at Yuhua SMC rally, April 29 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted April 30, 2011 can post any nice funny ge 2011 talk video? "Tak Boleh Tahan! 受不了!" - Concerned Singapore Patriots I don't know whether am I watching the video and enjoying the song.LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dean 5 Report post Posted April 30, 2011 do u think Times have Change? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted May 1, 2011 (edited) Opp should take this chance join hand and recite the NATIONAL PLEDGE (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_National_Pledge),(http://mystory.sg/content/1567) aloud during rallies, to challenge PAP's JUSTICE & EQUALITYE against the NATIONAL PLEDGE:We, the citizens of Singapore,pledge ourselves as one united people,regardless of race, language or religion,to build a democratic societybased on justice and equalityso as to achieve happiness, prosperity andprogress for our nation.Obviously(hardcore fact), enpowered under Constitution as ruling party, who manages all voters' money, use money collected from ALL voters, as a political tool to threathen voters in constituencies with opposition contesting in, with regard to "upgrading". This is completely against the spirit of the NATIONAL PLEDGE.!No doubt ruling party has contributed alots towards the nation building and has many capable ppls, however, the "glory" and "respect" have been duly paid by the wage they received.Really hope ALL the ruling party members understand and carry out the spirit as apell out in the Nation Pledge, otherwise, the Pledge is indifference to a piece of blank paper! PAP's Tin Pei Ling at Marine Parade GRC rally, Apr 30 Edited May 1, 2011 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites