miap

Why Hdb Denied Grant For Staying Near Unmarried Single Parent?

I do not understand the rationale here. Is HDB saying that if you have a single parent, you do not need to stay near the parent. You can leave your single parent alone and far away as she was not lawfully married? Is single parent a stigma? A parent is a parent whether lawfully married or not, right? The person who raise and feed and teach us. So why the discrimination?

Edited by miap

Good question, election coming, why don't you shoot your question to the MP/team in your ward during the walk about?

Or best, arrange an appointment with your MP.

I do not understand the rationale here. Is HDB saying that if you have a single parent, you do not need to stay near the parent. You can leave your single parent alone and far away as she was not lawfully married? Is single parent a stigma? A parent is a parent whether lawfully married or not, right? The person who raise and feed and teach us. So why the discrimination?

Never realised this !! yea, sounds wrong and it should not be the way.. Go see your MP and you might get the grant !

I think the key word is Unmarried Single parent.

In order to apply for Near Parent Grant, the parent need to provide a marriage cerf.

Yup... no marriage cert = no grant... which is what I could not understand lor :)

Thot the keyword is "Parent"... So.. no marriage cert also = not parent? ridiculous leh!!!

which MP huh? current or new place one... I'll be moving in early June :rolleyes:

This world nothing is fair.

Nothing is reasonable.

Singapore still consider Asia country. Still quite conservative in some way.

HDB or the government all along don't recognize out of wedlock.

Ladies give birth out of wedlock. No Maternity Leave

Elite policy enrols tip-top scholars to set policies.

Elite system based on "paper".

"Paper" ensures fairness.

Elite says no paper no talk.

My brother inlaw did managed to obtain a HDB grant for staying near parents when he bought a resale flat 10 years ago. My mother inlaw was already widowed back then. No issues.

So, I think the HDB policy has something to do with a recognised family nucleus.

To get an answer to your question, you might want to email HDB. They will reply you in due course & provide an explanation.

If no explanation is given / explanation given is unacceptable from your perspective, then you could go & consult the MP.

Elite policy enrols tip-top scholars to set policies.

Elite system based on "paper".

"Paper" ensures fairness.

Elite says no paper no talk.

personally i think this has nothing to do with elite setting policies.

marriage cert = legally married.

imagine how much abuse people would have if the HDB do not require any cert or documentary proof?

i could technically get a house anywhere on the island and walk away with the grant.

govt sets policices which are beneficial to some and not beneficial to another group. Like for example having baby bonus. Those who choose not to have babies are not complaining that they are short changed right?

and btw, no point chasing HDB for an answer. They merely follow the "upstairs"

near parent grant = 10k.

imagine u ding dong with HDB for 1 year, the house prices would have went up more than 10k already.

see a house u like, within budget, buy liao....no need wait.

We were at the first appt when the hdb officer saw my husband's bc and realised that there is no records of the father's particulars. That's when she said cannot give us the grant. She just said it's hdb's law but she can appeal for us, which will definitely cost more time and appts which may prolong our completion date. My husband rejected as he felt that we have not done anything wrong so why should there be an appeal? He also very difficult to take leave too, considering the fact that he would already need to take leave for the new house - renovation and moving in and such.

Now he also dun agree to go look for MP.... haiz :(

and btw, no point chasing HDB for an answer. They merely follow the "upstairs"

near parent grant = 10k.

imagine u ding dong with HDB for 1 year, the house prices would have went up more than 10k already.

see a house u like, within budget, buy liao....no need wait.

We already bought the house and ya lor.. the hdb officer just said it's HDB law!!!

Hence, my husband also said no grant no grant lor... he just want to stay near his mother. At least this house is still within our budget and good location.. we really like it too :P

govt sets policices which are beneficial to some and not beneficial to another group. Like for example having baby bonus. Those who choose not to have babies are not complaining that they are short changed right?

True but to have babies or not is a choice yet whether parent married or not... we got no choice ma... and there is birth cert to prove relationship - only without the father's particulars nia :notti:

Back in Australia, there r many loop holes in their government policies.

They hand payouts to unmarried mothers for giving birth to babies. As such, the trend to do so & stay on as such, had been inevitably encouraged by their government's errant policies.

Some of these unmarried mothers even made it a point to add on to their long queue of babies every single year! Just to enjoy the carrot stick, which they do not use it for bringing up the children or for their education. Instead, for their own enjoyment. *sigh*

Perhaps our government over here had been very strict with single unmarried folks setting up their family here in Singapore. To ensure that their policie wouldn't be abused.

And I think, has also given a very strong hint that being single unmarried parent is not encouraged.

No offense on anyone in this thread or a reader is intended.

Elite believes only elite can manage the common. They believed firmly in "paper". No paper = No entry, better believe me. TS got what I mean? Ask HDB if they accept DNA test result(Paper).

Bring up yr case to opposition, let them shoot HDB (PAP)for you.

personally i think this has nothing to do with elite setting policies.

marriage cert = legally married.

imagine how much abuse people would have if the HDB do not require any cert or documentary proof?

i could technically get a house anywhere on the island and walk away with the grant.