Soichiro 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2011 Had my ceiling fan installed in the middle of the room. Realized that if I stood a little further away, didn't feel much of a breeze. That was where I intended to put the sofa...! So... when you all positioned the ceiling fan in living room, did you make sure it was above or at least in front of the sofa? Or right in center coz it looks nicer? This is what I have now. TV on right, sofa on left! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
steelze 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2011 my ceiling fan is at the centre like your. my sofa is leaned against the wall facing the opposite feature wall with tv console (very typical layout for most of us i guess). i can feel the breeze leh. but subjective lah, maybe u r expecting those big big sea breeze. haha.. i am using kdk56 (4 blades) fan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ykeng 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2011 (edited) Had my ceiling fan installed in the middle of the room. Realized that if I stood a little further away, didn't feel much of a breeze. That was where I intended to put the sofa...! So... when you all positioned the ceiling fan in living room, did you make sure it was above or at least in front of the sofa? Or right in center coz it looks nicer? This is what I have now. TV on right, sofa on left! did you hang your ceiling fan with false ceiling? any shadow effect created when you on your downlights and also your fan? I intend to do something like yours, but my ceiling fan will definitely be at the TV cosole area where the sofa is. More practical as will be seated over there most of the time while in the living room. Edited March 29, 2011 by ykeng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2011 my ceiling fan is at the centre like your. my sofa is leaned against the wall facing the opposite feature wall with tv console (very typical layout for most of us i guess). i can feel the breeze leh. but subjective lah, maybe u r expecting those big big sea breeze. haha.. i am using kdk56 (4 blades) fan. Yes exactly same situation as me and same fan model! I tried standing briefly at where the sofa is supposed to be and didn't feel anything leh. What is the length of the room from sofa to tv? Mine was quite wide at 4.4m did you hang your ceiling fan with false ceiling? any shadow effect created when you on your downlights and also your fan? I intend to do something like yours, but my ceiling fan will definitely be at the TV cosole area where the sofa is. More practical as will be seated over there most of the time while in the living room. Nope, no false ceiling. I didn't like lowering the entire ceiling, prefer the fan to be high up. No shadow effect since lights are all at the side. Usually shadow effect appears if u have lights on the fan itself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mkl22 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2011 Had my ceiling fan installed in the middle of the room. Realized that if I stood a little further away, didn't feel much of a breeze. That was where I intended to put the sofa...! So... when you all positioned the ceiling fan in living room, did you make sure it was above or at least in front of the sofa? Or right in center coz it looks nicer? This is what I have now. TV on right, sofa on left! the fan should be over where you want to cool. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
endlssorrow 1 Report post Posted April 11, 2011 guess my living room will also be similar to urs.. now that u mentioned this problem ah.. total no wind at all meh? or maybe ur ceiling fan blade power not strong enough? But mine will be having 8 down lightings only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soichiro 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2011 guess my living room will also be similar to urs.. now that u mentioned this problem ah.. total no wind at all meh? or maybe ur ceiling fan blade power not strong enough? But mine will be having 8 down lightings only. I didn't really sit down to test yet, think more accurate when the sofa and coffee tables are there. Right now at most... got wind at my feet. lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
endlssorrow 1 Report post Posted April 11, 2011 I didn't really sit down to test yet, think more accurate when the sofa and coffee tables are there. Right now at most... got wind at my feet. lol hahaha... i see.. although i have ceiling fan, but i will put 1 more standing fan inside living room ba.. but those fan which does not have turning head type.. free-standing type. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites