Tanhc 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 Hi eugene,I was wondering if ArtistRoom brought you to specific places for tile choosing or furniture selection? Do they get a better price ? Also, do they settle the aircon stuff for you? Like what system or brand to get, getting pple to install etc. Would just like to do some hw first on their frequented furniture/fittings/tiles shops . am thinking of engaging them to Reno my new plc too..appreciate the extensive info thus far! Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strikingreality 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 Hi eugene,I was wondering if ArtistRoom brought you to specific places for tile choosing or furniture selection? Do they get a better price ? Also, do they settle the aircon stuff for you? Like what system or brand to get, getting pple to install etc. Would just like to do some hw first on their frequented furniture/fittings/tiles shops . am thinking of engaging them to Reno my new plc too..appreciate the extensive info thus far! Thanks!I am not with ArtistRoom, but just to share... Tiles, the ID will def bring you to see. For tiles because the ID will know the amount of tiles to get etc, this one have to let the ID settle. I dun recommend to go with the ID for furniture or toilet fittings selection. Yes, it seems like you get a better price, but likely the ID also get a commission for bringing their clients to their recommended shops. Best is to settle all these yourselves. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 (edited) Hi eugene,I was wondering if ArtistRoom brought you to specific places for tile choosing or furniture selection? Do they get a better price ? Also, do they settle the aircon stuff for you? Like what system or brand to get, getting pple to install etc. Would just like to do some hw first on their frequented furniture/fittings/tiles shops . am thinking of engaging them to Reno my new plc too..appreciate the extensive info thus far! Thanks!hmm for me i source most of the stuff myself as i dun think the IDs will have better then we can get. reason so, they are too busy to go around looking for good deals. Best is to search the forums for good buy and all.. Lightings--> Light station at jalan besarToiletries ---> royal fancoAirxcon--> Gaincity , i feel they did a good job and they have 5 yrs warranty haha so i feel best to go for reputable companies although they may be a bit ex but if u catch them during the fair when they throw in 5 yrs warranty for free then it is worth it.. ArtistRoom do have their aircon contractor but i feel no 5 yrs waranty better not..Furniture--> I source the sofa myself and the platform only... as for the dinning and chairs they brought me to buy and of coz if u have no idea.. katy have lots of them on where to get them and cheaper i feel.. heheTiles--> nope, i was not brought to any of the shops to choose..katy have selected them for me. I dun have any preference in that since not much tiles for me.. haha but i am sure they can bring u.all in all if u have any other items ordered, they will arrange for you like what they do for me but pls do bear in mind.. U have to check it urself to make sure things are up to ur standard. They will help u liase, open the door, see if the general are okie.. Details wise will still have to depend on yourself to check... Edited August 24, 2011 by ugene512 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adidaem 6 Report post Posted August 24, 2011 I am not with ArtistRoom, but just to share... Tiles, the ID will def bring you to see. For tiles because the ID will know the amount of tiles to get etc, this one have to let the ID settle. I dun recommend to go with the ID for furniture or toilet fittings selection. Yes, it seems like you get a better price, but likely the ID also get a commission for bringing their clients to their recommended shops. Best is to settle all these yourselves.Actually for my toilet fittings my ID got us a better deal than if I had bought myself. So it depends on whether your ID is willing to pass on the designer discounts to you or keep for themselves. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strikingreality 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 (edited) Actually for my toilet fittings my ID got us a better deal than if I had bought myself. So it depends on whether your ID is willing to pass on the designer discounts to you or keep for themselves.Adidaem, you using high end TOTO and Grohe bought at shops like Water Atelier leh, with designer discount, the savings are substantial. We are using the cheaper ones, designer discounts won't work in shops like Royal Fanco where the better deals are found, cuz they are already giving us a good price, and even with designer discount (if they accept in the 1st place) the savings are minimal. Edited August 25, 2011 by strikingreality Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 i noted the sharp edges for the left hand side of the mini steps leading up to the plaform...u might hurt yourself..coz my frens did.Thanks for the reminder diva, maybe i will just push my bed to the corner so it covers the edge.. if not ill just get something to cover it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Adidaem, you using high end TOTO and Grohe bought at shops like Water Atelier leh, with designer discount, the savings are substantial. We are using the cheaper ones, designer discounts won't work in shops like Royal Fanco where the better deals are found, cuz they are already giving us a good price, and even with designer discount the savings are minimal. hahahah... ya lor.. although shower set all from grohe but i bought it during the GSS where they offer package deal haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Katy contacted adrian and evorich guy will be coming up to do the touch up on wednesdayThe skirting that was not made good was good yesterday already however, the guys from evorich still didn't do a good job in applying silicon at some corners where trunking are in the way. Will let them know again, they should remove the trunking to put the silicon mah.. haiz.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strikingreality 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Thanks for the reminder diva, maybe i will just push my bed to the corner so it covers the edge.. if not ill just get something to cover it. Wah, be careful, don't fall off the bed! You'll fall from pretty high! hahahah... ya lor.. although shower set all from grohe but i bought it during the GSS where they offer package deal hahaI also bought from Royal Fanco! One of the best prices around and Henry is so friendly! Even delivered personally. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Wah, be careful, don't fall off the bed! You'll fall from pretty high! waaahaha no prob.. my current house also similar haha have been sleeping like that for the past 15 yrs laioz. hahahI also bought from Royal Fanco! One of the best prices around and Henry is so friendly! Even delivered personally.yup i agree.. best prices and he is very friendly haha Even my IDs cannot fight his price, they were shocked when they hear the price haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stardust205 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 (edited) Hey bro, I can't agree anything more with you.Shared the same sentiments as you do, cuz I was in the same shoes too..And I also dun fancy "acting all bossy to my contractors" either, esp to the workers whom really toiled for the $. House renovating is a very worrying task to do, i need to please my wife, my family and my pocket. Furthermore, with all the things coming together, wedding,phototaking and career it make it worse and added up to the stress level. Any mistake or wrong in any part of the phase will be an big impact on me, therefore my mentatily is always "ask a favour" from da service provider instead of that kind of "i pay money u better do the work" which hurts the relationship i feel or make it very mono, one way. Although, i agree that sometimes people will take advantage to you because u do just that, but i feel the world is round ,what goes around comes around.Sorry guys, talk so much hahaha.. just sharing.,. maybe i too stress liaozhaha Edited August 25, 2011 by stardust205 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stardust205 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Hmm.. or you can ask the ID/contractor to do a chamfer, or install a rubbery track at the edges? Should be easy task for them. i noted the sharp edges for the left hand side of the mini steps leading up to the plaform...u might hurt yourself..coz my frens did. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Hey bro, I can't agree anything more with you.Shared the same sentiments as you do, cuz I was in the same shoes too..And I also dun fancy "acting all bossy to my contractors" either, esp to the workers whom really toiled for the $. hahah ya lor.. i agree.. but i am gald things are still going as plan and smoothly haah.. need to focus on my wedding stuff already... still many things not done yet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ugene512 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 Hmm.. or you can ask the ID/contractor to do a chamfer, or install a rubbery track at the edges? Should be easy task for them. oh ya.. can ask design tray to do a camfer or just round the edges for me haha ya.. thanks for the suggestion!@!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Tanhc 0 Report post Posted August 25, 2011 I see..thanks for sharing! When is your estimated completion date? Looks like things are progressing rather smoothly with Artistroom! Been hearing many Reno horror stories so just wanted to make sure.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites