csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2011 Bro csingeu u sure like alfresco dining Yes! LOL... i'm thinking of inviting my friends over for BBQ next time at the balcony... though my balcony is "smaller" la... it's longer, but narrower. think your square balcony near the kitchen, will be easier and better to do BBQ and alfresco dining... i'm hoping some of my friends will buy me a portable electric bbq grill set... although no "charcoal smell" for the meat, it should be less smoky la... i hope... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2011 Welcome to start your own t-blog here..... hhmm... from the conversation above, i gather your EM at yishun also? I like your layout!!! no need to hack, the kitchen already so big. i can always have parties at home and no need to worry about permit not approved by hdb to hack. And your living can be used as a dancing studio... hahahhaha.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 You have a big house! Nice layout too! Another lucky owner with marble flooring! Envy! Hope u wld have a smooth reno journey ya thanks! i like my space too! hopefully my reno is smooth!! lots of things to consider...sink, cooker hood and hob, oven, cabinets, lightings, etc.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 Hey! The more i see, the more i envy you having an Gen-2 corner EM! all the privacy and space! Just my little suggestion; might seem stupid, but for your consideration 1. Can build back a small storeroom at the blue box; use PD door or tic-tac door; can be shorten accordingly... 2. Can build a small room at level 1 (should be ard 2.3m x 3.0m); should be habitable, coz there should be windows there? 3. Can have room divider at existing dining area, so that can install another system-2 aircon at level 1 for the "new" living room & the level 1 room. 4. Convert existing living room to open-concept kitchen and dining area 5. Convert back the "extended" kitchen back to balcony, for alfresco dining! 6. Change the staircase landing to U-shape, so that it won't crash into the new room... not too sure, if it's really feasible la... ya a corner EM is hard to come by! we really appreciate the spaciousness.... oh i saw your proposed layout! seems cool..esp the area for the new room and store...initially we thought of that too but scared will block the light from entering the staircase..meaning my staircase will be dark..unless i light up that area and make use of glass for that room and install curtains/blind when there is someone in there sleeping. but i not sure if the store is big enough to store things..at least must be able to fit someone inside to take things in and out... as for the staircase, it would be heart pain to hack away coz the staircase is also made of marble!! unless they hv spare tiles! ha u really like alfresco dining...my big space is conducive to hold parties...i also did think of hving a balcony and the possibility of having a bbq too. will keep your proposal in consideration..need to discuss with spouse! thanks for the suggestion!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 Yes! LOL... i'm thinking of inviting my friends over for BBQ next time at the balcony... though my balcony is "smaller" la... it's longer, but narrower. think your square balcony near the kitchen, will be easier and better to do BBQ and alfresco dining... i'm hoping some of my friends will buy me a portable electric bbq grill set... although no "charcoal smell" for the meat, it should be less smoky la... i hope... i must admit the square balcony is very big..i've seen other units with the square balcony!! gosh like a room! really can host bbq sessions there!! but it will also be the place where we hang our clothes too!!! not much hanging space in EMs...so indoor washing! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 Welcome to start your own t-blog here..... hhmm... from the conversation above, i gather your EM at yishun also? I like your layout!!! no need to hack, the kitchen already so big. i can always have parties at home and no need to worry about permit not approved by hdb to hack. And your living can be used as a dancing studio... hahahhaha.... ya coz it's all fully hacked!!!! what??? dancing studio??? unless i put glass on the wall lo! hahaaaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 wrroh! such a huge place! welcome to renotalk...and happy reno! if u wanna some tips for your reno needs like what hidden costs to look out for...just drop by my humble blog. heee..thanks for your offer! will drop by your blog and get some tips!!!! hope my reno will not dig a big hole in my pocket! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LADY_R 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 (edited) Whoa! Finally see your t-blog.. Congrats on your new EM. Nice layout & huge space you got there Edited March 23, 2011 by LADY_R Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kobelala 8 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 (edited) Welcome to start your own t-blog here..... hhmm... from the conversation above, i gather your EM at yishun also? And your living can be used as a dancing studio... hahahhaha.... Sis May_dream, no her's is not in Yishun, just happen that I viewed her unit during my house hunting... Yes, her unit very big cos the owner join the recess area , the balcony to the livin room... look like can play badminton inside Edited March 23, 2011 by Kobelala Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 mind sharing how much you've paid for such a gd unit? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 23, 2011 Sis May_dream, no her's is not in Yishun, just happen that I viewed her unit during my house hunting... Yes, her unit very big cos the owner join the recess area , the balcony to the livin room... look like can play badminton inside can say where is it or not?? hehehe.... play badminton? really really spacious leh.... i am also curious abt the price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 Whoa! Finally see your t-blog.. Congrats on your new EM. Nice layout & huge space you got there thanks! looking forward to my new house but hv to go through the reno process.... hey i've seen your 2 layout...really nice! nv thought can do like that...have you received your approval from HDB? Sis May_dream, no her's is not in Yishun, just happen that I viewed her unit during my house hunting... Yes, her unit very big cos the owner join the recess area , the balcony to the livin room... look like can play badminton inside oh mine is in hougang, not yishun!! heeee so big meh???? hmmm open concept yes i think!!! mind sharing how much you've paid for such a gd unit? i got this at val 550k and cov 35k....total 585k...ex right??? think due to the marble flooring...and it's only 2nd floor!! but once you step inside, dun really feel the 2nd floor!! can say where is it or not?? hehehe.... play badminton? really really spacious leh.... i am also curious abt the price. of course can say la!!! can play badminton if i dun furnish anything inside lo!! hahaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LADY_R 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 thanks! looking forward to my new house but hv to go through the reno process.... hey i've seen your 2 layout...really nice! nv thought can do like that...have you received your approval from HDB? The 2 design I gave you is subject to site meaurement, hopefully all measurement from your floor plan is tally with the site then you can make your dream toilet My kitchen has been approved, the rest still pending.. I called the officer yesterday to assist me as I need to renovate asap.. will try to call her again tomorrow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 The 2 design I gave you is subject to site meaurement, hopefully all measurement from your floor plan is tally with the site then you can make your dream toilet My kitchen has been approved, the rest still pending.. I called the officer yesterday to assist me as I need to renovate asap.. will try to call her again tomorrow yup....i wish my toilets can be done like your design!! so cool...bathtub 1.4m issit sufficient? ooh my dream toilet!! just tat partner was commenting toilet bowl in between the standing shower and the bathtub seems weird...told him there a partition in between..so the area from the standing shower is considered wet area?? hey for the common bathroom door..what type would be suitable since that area no ventilator? lourve door type or folding?? hmm but folding type also no ventilation wor..what kind of doors you using for that toilet??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 i got this at val 550k and cov 35k....total 585k...ex right??? think due to the marble flooring...and it's only 2nd floor!! but once you step inside, dun really feel the 2nd floor!! of course can say la!!! can play badminton if i dun furnish anything inside lo!! hahaa As long as the price feels ok to you can liao... - I paid $528K (val) + $27K (COV) for mine, and interior conditions are a lot worse. only saving bonus is that it's near my parents' place, near MRT, and mid-high level lor. Your floor area is bigger than most EMs (due to the extra recess area for corner unit); and I think corner EMs are rare lor... all the privacy... (the only reason i'll sell my EM is to get a corner EM! LOL... coz I don't think I can afford a pte pty lah... anyway, Hougang's also part of the HDB's "Remaking Our Heartland" phase 2; can expect more neighbourhood renewal programmes and upgrading programmes. and there's NEX mall nearby too... as you said it, marble flooring leh... so nice... and can save some money (just polish)... 2nd floor is ok; near to trees and nature mah... don't think can play badminton la... the ceiling too low... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites