joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 As long as the price feels ok to you can liao... - I paid $528K (val) + $27K (COV) for mine, and interior conditions are a lot worse. only saving bonus is that it's near my parents' place, near MRT, and mid-high level lor. Your floor area is bigger than most EMs (due to the extra recess area for corner unit); and I think corner EMs are rare lor... all the privacy... (the only reason i'll sell my EM is to get a corner EM! LOL... coz I don't think I can afford a pte pty lah... anyway, Hougang's also part of the HDB's "Remaking Our Heartland" phase 2; can expect more neighbourhood renewal programmes and upgrading programmes. and there's NEX mall nearby too... as you said it, marble flooring leh... so nice... and can save some money (just polish)... 2nd floor is ok; near to trees and nature mah... don't think can play badminton la... the ceiling too low... yeah we felt still ok though still a bit steep..cov reasonable since i can keep some items and not total overhaul..aiya only a few sqm bigger leh! i agree corner EMs are really hard to find!!! i also dun think i can ever afford a pte property so an EM is the next best thing!! privacy within hdb flats. haha my flat is on 2nd level but i will be sleeping on the 3rd floor ma! haaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LADY_R 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 yup....i wish my toilets can be done like your design!! so cool...bathtub 1.4m issit sufficient? ooh my dream toilet!! just tat partner was commenting toilet bowl in between the standing shower and the bathtub seems weird...told him there a partition in between..so the area from the standing shower is considered wet area?? hey for the common bathroom door..what type would be suitable since that area no ventilator? lourve door type or folding?? hmm but folding type also no ventilation wor..what kind of doors you using for that toilet??? how tall are u & ur partner? Im 1.52 and hubby 1.78 therefore mine, i try to find 1.5m since my hubby say its only for him to sit down and rest not for him to take a nap Im suggesting a glass partition in between the shower, Wc and bathtub. And yes, standing shower is considered the wet area. From the design u can see that visitor can only see ur shower but wont be able to see ur wc and also bathtub which will be more private. my common toilet will be using bi-fold door with top hung on top of it for ventilation. HDB officer did question my contractor where my ventilation would be n I told him definately on top of the door laaa.. if u don't like that type of top hung, i suggest when u build the wall between the common wc and master bath wash basin, ask ur contractor not to build it full height. Maybe he can leave ard 30cm from top of the ceiling for ventilation, meaning common n master bath will be sharing ventilation. just my 0.20cents Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LADY_R 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 only saving bonus is that it's near my parents' place, near MRT, and mid-high level lor. definately saving bonus laa...u got the 40k grant right Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 oh mine is in hougang, not yishun!! heeee so big meh???? hmmm open concept yes i think!!! i got this at val 550k and cov 35k....total 585k...ex right??? think due to the marble flooring...and it's only 2nd floor!! but once you step inside, dun really feel the 2nd floor!! oh at hougang... i was at hougang area to look at many many units but can't find anything i like. I viewed at least 12 at hougang and 2 in Boon keng..... but in the end bought boon keng. hehehehehe..... The price is quite ok... i think those blocks near hougang mrt (8xx) for 5 room also abt $600k already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 definately saving bonus laa...u got the 40k grant right yes... 40K grant split between me and my wife lor... anyway, i heard the grant is to help first-time buyer to get their place "easier"... if you choose to sell your current place (bought with CPF housing grant), when you sell it, you'll have to cough back the "grant" to HDB/CPF... 40K in the pre-2007s era, is worth quite a bit for new 4-rm BTO flats, which are less than $200K, that would have amounted to 20% "subsidy" for it... but 40K now, for 5-rm or bigger, which usually cost in the range of $450K and above)... like mine $555K, it's only 7% "subsidy"... but of coz, cannot complain so much la, coz i choose to buy such $$$ unit at an overheated property market cycle... oh well... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LADY_R 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 if you choose to sell your current place (bought with CPF housing grant), when you sell it, you'll have to cough back the "grant" to HDB/CPF... Nope..the amount will go to your cpf acct. Previously I bought my old flat using the grant as I choose to stay near my parents, and when we sold the flat I realised in my cpf acct is more than what I come out for the flat.. 20k is also $$$ eh..u tink ah gong will give you just like that meh.. not even once in the blue moon okay Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
footprint 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 hi, i'm here! so when is your second appt? Another 6-8weeks time? got your ID le? Looking fwd to see transformation! the marble floorings looks good le. ya, save money, polish and it will be good as new. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 Nope..the amount will go to your cpf acct. Previously I bought my old flat using the grant as I choose to stay near my parents, and when we sold the flat I realised in my cpf acct is more than what I come out for the flat.. 20k is also $$$ eh..u tink ah gong will give you just like that meh.. not even once in the blue moon okay oh... i think i'm really confused with how the grant is being used. coz i've been hearing different versions... maybe when some of them said "the money cannot be used, or goes back to CPF", they might have meant, it won't be cash-on-hand profits for you to spend... when they say "goes back to CPF", it means go back to your own CPF account, not returning to CPF Board.. LOL.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 how tall are u & ur partner? Im 1.52 and hubby 1.78 therefore mine, i try to find 1.5m since my hubby say its only for him to sit down and rest not for him to take a nap Im suggesting a glass partition in between the shower, Wc and bathtub. And yes, standing shower is considered the wet area. From the design u can see that visitor can only see ur shower but wont be able to see ur wc and also bathtub which will be more private. my common toilet will be using bi-fold door with top hung on top of it for ventilation. HDB officer did question my contractor where my ventilation would be n I told him definately on top of the door laaa.. if u don't like that type of top hung, i suggest when u build the wall between the common wc and master bath wash basin, ask ur contractor not to build it full height. Maybe he can leave ard 30cm from top of the ceiling for ventilation, meaning common n master bath will be sharing ventilation. just my 0.20cents oh i am only 1.56 and him 1.66...not very tall....thin 1.5m tub is still ok for us....heeee glass partitions sounds cool!! ya your suggestion of using bi fold door and put the top hung on top is good....otherwise sharing ventilation seems lack of privacy! heeeee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 24, 2011 oh... i think i'm really confused with how the grant is being used. coz i've been hearing different versions... maybe when some of them said "the money cannot be used, or goes back to CPF", they might have meant, it won't be cash-on-hand profits for you to spend... when they say "goes back to CPF", it means go back to your own CPF account, not returning to CPF Board.. LOL.. HDB rulings always change.... most importantly get the grant and buy your flat first. whether goes back to cpf board or your account, you only worry abt it when you want to sell your EM lah.... and you mentioned, most probably will not sell anytime soon then don't worry about it too much. But for your info, what i know of the grant is you have to pay back HDB if you buy new flat the next round. but still buy resale, then it will be into your cpf account. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2011 oh at hougang... i was at hougang area to look at many many units but can't find anything i like. I viewed at least 12 at hougang and 2 in Boon keng..... but in the end bought boon keng. hehehehehe..... The price is quite ok... i think those blocks near hougang mrt (8xx) for 5 room also abt $600k already. ya at hougang...i also viewed at least 12 too before i settle on this one...... yeah the 8xx series of flats prices are crazy...heeee EMs there selling at least 670k n above...cannot afford ah... hi, i'm here! so when is your second appt? Another 6-8weeks time? got your ID le? Looking fwd to see transformation! the marble floorings looks good le. ya, save money, polish and it will be good as new. another 2 months time lo........still searching for ID.... yeah we love the marble flooring..just tat the staircase also marble..not sure if it is good. HDB rulings always change.... most importantly get the grant and buy your flat first. whether goes back to cpf board or your account, you only worry abt it when you want to sell your EM lah.... and you mentioned, most probably will not sell anytime soon then don't worry about it too much. But for your info, what i know of the grant is you have to pay back HDB if you buy new flat the next round. but still buy resale, then it will be into your cpf account. oh just buy the next flat under resale...then dun hv to pay back HDB lo..if buy BTO, hv to pay back i think.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 25, 2011 ya at hougang...i also viewed at least 12 too before i settle on this one...... yeah the 8xx series of flats prices are crazy...heeee EMs there selling at least 670k n above...cannot afford ah... yeah we love the marble flooring..just tat the staircase also marble..not sure if it is good. Ya, i also cannot afford..... that's why never buy anything bigger than 4 room. marble is good leh... my parents house are marbled everywhere except bedrooms lah. staircase also marble... very nice... i like... too bad i cannot afford it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2011 (edited) Here's the sketch... hi sarah, i saw your sketch..my concern is the new room near the stairs which has no windows for ventilation. and the fact that the bar counter is so near the wc. but alas the toilet cannot b changed downstairs.will the living area seems cluttered with so many things in the living room? while the shoe cabinet is at the living room..a bit weird as it is just beside the sofa where guests would be sitting near there. Edited March 25, 2011 by joyousonline Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joyousonline 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2011 Ya, i also cannot afford..... that's why never buy anything bigger than 4 room. marble is good leh... my parents house are marbled everywhere except bedrooms lah. staircase also marble... very nice... i like... too bad i cannot afford it. ya anything more than 600k i cannot afford leh..too siong ah!!! woo cold marble stairs..too smooth..just hope i dun spill water there..otherwise will really 'slide' down the stairs! hahahaa... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 25, 2011 ya anything more than 600k i cannot afford leh..too siong ah!!! woo cold marble stairs..too smooth..just hope i dun spill water there..otherwise will really 'slide' down the stairs! hahahaa... hhmm.... what my bro did was make 2 strips of "something" so that it will not be smooth.... the strips are a bit rough. HHmm... don't know how to explain to you.... haahaaaah..... you ask your ID to see whether there is anything to make the stairs not so slippery when wet?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites