endlssorrow

Water Storage Heater

15L? i'm using a 15L for ONE toilet with a rainshower and it's barely enough (sometimes not enough for cold days). i think you can still make it if you are using normal shower set and not rainshower.

but one thing i'm sure is that for a 15L to be shared with 2 toilets, you definitely can't have 2 pple bathing in these 2 toilets at the same time - 15L won't be enough. so your family members need to stagger their bathing time. this is something you'll have to be prepared for~

I got my storage heater from Asia Excel. Initially wanted to get Ariston coz of the compact size and nicer design but dropped the idea after hearing of the leakage problem. Narrowed down to Joven but the guy (Ricky) at Asia Excel recommended me Alpha brand instead. He himself is using it so he can vouch for it's quality. The warranty for Alpha is 10 years for leakage and 2 years for heating element wheras Joven is 10 years for leakage and 1 year for heating element. He mention that the outer covering for Alpha is better then Joven coz it's Japan quality material, can't remember the name of the material tho.

I bought the 25L one as he told me the 15L is for 1.5 person usage and 25L is for 2.5 person usage, of coz oso depends on the person's usage of water.

Btw, the storage heater is for use in the mbr toilet only.

think should be enough ba.. unless both require 30min each lor.. hahahaha

15L? i'm using a 15L for ONE toilet with a rainshower and it's barely enough (sometimes not enough for cold days). i think you can still make it if you are using normal shower set and not rainshower.

but one thing i'm sure is that for a 15L to be shared with 2 toilets, you definitely can't have 2 pple bathing in these 2 toilets at the same time - 15L won't be enough. so your family members need to stagger their bathing time. this is something you'll have to be prepared for~

is 15 litres enough for 2 bathrooms? i'm not sure whether i should get 15L or more?

think should be enough ba.. unless both require 30min each lor.. hahahaha

i getting Joven 15 litres for 2 bathrooms.

is 15 litres enough for 2 bathrooms? i'm not sure whether i should get 15L or more?

guys, can anyone give a good/reliable and not that expensive storage water heater, an average brand that we can use? thanks in advance... and how many liters do I need for 2 bathrooms - 25L??? :rolleyes:

Edited by nick28drag

Thanks for your help really.

I don't intend to install rain shower, understand its pressure is good + shiok. I believe it will drain more of the hotwater out of the storage tank thus cold water fills up more frequent which lead to storage tank to heat up more frequently than using normal shower head.

Anyway i believe storage tank comes with thermostat, which can sense water temp drop then it will heat up.

yup there is thermostats, but of course if you switch off the storage heater then the heating won't "restart" on its own once water temperature falls enough below set-point :)

sorry bro... i'm no expert but try to answer and give my own opinion~ :)

do you bathe with very hot water? if yes, then probably not a good idea to switch off the storage heater once the water is done.

how storage heater works: say there is 25L of water, it will heat this 25L to a set temperature, for e.g. 70ºC. then this 70ºC water is supplied to the mixer to mix with cold water to give e.g. 38ºC of warm water.

when hot water is drawn during your shower, cold water will continuously top up the heater tank to make up 25L. obviously when this happen, the hot water in the tank become cool gradually.

if you are one that bathe with hotter water (say, ~42ºC), then more hot water will be used faster, cold water will be topped up faster and hence water in the storage tank cools faster.

but if you turn on the storage heater during shower, then this new cold water that added will also be heated up so the cooling will be slower.

also, of course if you have a storage heater of bigger capacity e.g. 35L, the hot water can tahan longer without heating...

back to your question: so it depends whether you are those that bathe with very hot water - if you are, then most likely you need to turn on the storage heater during your shower in order for warm-enough water to last the whole shower. some pple bathe with not-so-hot water so they can turn off the heater during shower.

for 45 mins, the hot water should still be hot cos there is insulation for the water tank.

as for which rating to go for, i will definitely choose 3kW if i can. just imagine - one day you get to home at 12 midnight, dead tired from work, can't wait to sleep but still gotta wait 30mins for the 1.5kW heater to heat up 25L of water zz too bad i stay in old resale HDB so can only use 1.5kW :(

btw, if you want to use rain shower, then instant heater is out of question.

sorry for being long-winded... hope you understand what i try to say~ :lol:

Thanks for your help really.

I don't intend to install rain shower, understand its pressure is good + shiok. I believe it will drain more of the hotwater out of the storage tank thus cold water fills up more frequent which lead to storage tank to heat up more frequently than using normal shower head.

Anyway i believe storage tank comes with thermostat, which can sense water temp drop then it will heat up.

So is it recommended to use storage for my usage pattern?

Of cos not running the water for entire 45mins.

But is it advisable to switch it off after heat up or have to switch it on for the entire 45mins?

Over 45mins if the heater is off, the hot water still can maintain right? cos we are not using the hotwater as we are mixing it with the cold water.

So which wattage should i go for?

sorry bro... i'm no expert but try to answer and give my own opinion~ :)

do you bathe with very hot water? if yes, then probably not a good idea to switch off the storage heater once the water is done.

how storage heater works: say there is 25L of water, it will heat this 25L to a set temperature, for e.g. 70ºC. then this 70ºC water is supplied to the mixer to mix with cold water to give e.g. 38ºC of warm water.

when hot water is drawn during your shower, cold water will continuously top up the heater tank to make up 25L. obviously when this happen, the hot water in the tank become cool gradually.

if you are one that bathe with hotter water (say, ~42ºC), then more hot water will be used faster, cold water will be topped up faster and hence water in the storage tank cools faster.

but if you turn on the storage heater during shower, then this new cold water that added will also be heated up so the cooling will be slower.

also, of course if you have a storage heater of bigger capacity e.g. 35L, the hot water can tahan longer without heating...

back to your question: so it depends whether you are those that bathe with very hot water - if you are, then most likely you need to turn on the storage heater during your shower in order for warm-enough water to last the whole shower. some pple bathe with not-so-hot water so they can turn off the heater during shower.

for 45 mins, the hot water should still be hot cos there is insulation for the water tank.

as for which rating to go for, i will definitely choose 3kW if i can. just imagine - one day you get to home at 12 midnight, dead tired from work, can't wait to sleep but still gotta wait 30mins for the 1.5kW heater to heat up 25L of water zz too bad i stay in old resale HDB so can only use 1.5kW :(

btw, if you want to use rain shower, then instant heater is out of question.

sorry for being long-winded... hope you understand what i try to say~ :lol:

oh sorry... for Ariston i should say, the better looking one only has 1.5kW model :lol:

Storage heater concept different from Instant heater. Instant heater needs "multi point" to supply to different locations. For storage heater, basically you only need one outlet for hot water from the heater, and the piping will bring the hot water to whichever area you required.

the hot water is then mixed with cold water at the mixer to provide the warm water you need for bathing etc :)

wah she spends so long in shower :o but i supposed water not running for the full 45 mins, rite? if she really uses so much water, then better get a heater with large capacity~

do you have rain shower? if yes, i think 25L just nice for one bathroom.

plan to have 2 pple showering in 2 toilets at the same time?

also, if the 2 bathrooms are very far away, not good to share heater too... speaking from experience :(

So is it recommended to use storage for my usage pattern?

Of cos not running the water for entire 45mins.

But is it advisable to switch it off after heat up or have to switch it on for the entire 45mins?

Over 45mins if the heater is off, the hot water still can maintain right? cos we are not using the hotwater as we are mixing it with the cold water.

So which wattage should i go for?

Thanks for ur detail explanation.

I know a clearer picture now.

As for me, i only spend 10 to 15mins time in shower. But for my wife she spend 30 to 45mins showering. So likewise, if using instant heater it will be consuming 3kw of power over the entire 45mins = high electrical consumption.

I have checked Ariston site, they offer quite a number of models, some with 1.5kw, 2.5kw and 3kW. 1.5kw models are they multi point?

i only require to supply to 2 bathrooms. so which model is recommended for my usage.

oh sorry... for Ariston i should say, the better looking one only has 1.5kW model :lol:

Storage heater concept different from Instant heater. Instant heater needs "multi point" to supply to different locations. For storage heater, basically you only need one outlet for hot water from the heater, and the piping will bring the hot water to whichever area you required.

the hot water is then mixed with cold water at the mixer to provide the warm water you need for bathing etc :)

wah she spends so long in shower :o but i supposed water not running for the full 45 mins, rite? if she really uses so much water, then better get a heater with large capacity~

do you have rain shower? if yes, i think 25L just nice for one bathroom.

plan to have 2 pple showering in 2 toilets at the same time?

also, if the 2 bathrooms are very far away, not good to share heater too... speaking from experience :(

okie i try to explain.

Part 1

let's leave instant heater out of the discussion 1st. we shall compare just storage heater of say, 25L.

basically you need X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

so for 1.5 kW storage heater, you may need 30 mins to provide this X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

but for 3kW, becos the speed of heating is 2x of 1.5kW, it will only need 15 mins to provide the same X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

theoretically, you can switch off the storage heater once the water is heated, and use that 25L of water for your shower.

Part 2

so now compare with instant heater. instant heater is 3kW, so if you turn on hot water for 20 mins in shower, you are using 3kW for 20 mins, hence using more energy as compared to storage heater (you only spend 15 mins heating up the water).

but if you are the type that only spend 10 mins in shower, then instant heater saves more energy by the same logic.

hope you understand what i mean :)

Thanks for ur detail explanation.

I know a clearer picture now.

As for me, i only spend 10 to 15mins time in shower. But for my wife she spend 30 to 45mins showering. So likewise, if using instant heater it will be consuming 3kw of power over the entire 45mins = high electrical consumption.

I have checked Ariston site, they offer quite a number of models, some with 1.5kw, 2.5kw and 3kW. 1.5kw models are they multi point?

i only require to supply to 2 bathrooms. so which model is recommended for my usage.

Still very confused.

Tot saying using 1.5kW storage which run more than 30mins can save electricity as claimed using instant heater with 3kW will consume more electricity when run it more than 30mins.

okie i try to explain.

Part 1

let's leave instant heater out of the discussion 1st. we shall compare just storage heater of say, 25L.

basically you need X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

so for 1.5 kW storage heater, you may need 30 mins to provide this X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

but for 3kW, becos the speed of heating is 2x of 1.5kW, it will only need 15 mins to provide the same X amount of energy to heat up this 25L of water.

theoretically, you can switch off the storage heater once the water is heated, and use that 25L of water for your shower.

Part 2

so now compare with instant heater. instant heater is 3kW, so if you turn on hot water for 20 mins in shower, you are using 3kW for 20 mins, hence using more energy as compared to storage heater (you only spend 15 mins heating up the water).

but if you are the type that only spend 10 mins in shower, then instant heater saves more energy by the same logic.

hope you understand what i mean :)

Edited by marshmallow