Kobelala

We Bought A Flat, And Made It Our Home

No lar... I like to do some research before I go crazy shopping... in case I don't manage to post the info before I go (crazy work days!)...

What I have now...

1. Crystal Design Centre (Qualy is there too)

2. Chic Republic

3. Chatuchak

4. Siam Discovery Centre (Loft, Habitat, Propaganda)

5. Mid-Modern/Retro: Hawaii 5-0, Joe's Beautiful Objects, Papaya's warehouse of retro, Junkies, Nightingale Olympic, Y50, Tuba

6. Original Thai designs: Hygge, Oggi Living, Deesawat, Asana, Roi In

7. Supermarts and Handymarts: Boonthavorn, Carrefour, HomePro

8. Index (think Ikea, but from Thailand)

9. Misc Home Decor: Eco Shop @Siam Square, Oopsstuff

10. Foreign brands (just for completeness): Decor Mart

Yup... won't be able to cover all. Chatuchak, Siam Discovery and CDC for sure. The rest probably not unless I chance upon them. Or another shopping trip I guess. :)

Sigh, just as well I posted this summary... I just got home around midnight... :(

It takes a bit of time to do the links and addresses etc so looks like I won't be able to do up the list before I go off. :(

Since your reno is completed I don't think you need to visit no. 7 because that is really DIY stuff and mostly fittings... not much in terms of decor, which I reckon is really what you are looking for now.

CDC - a mixture of foreign and local stuff... I think you can allocate a day there, if you are those who like to walk in every single shop. Opposite CDC and approx 5 minutes from CDC there is another 2 places which are furniture malls, smaller versions of CDCs. You might want to check them out as well.

Thanks for the tip - as mentioned I planned to go CDC cos I know there are some home decor stores (like Qualy - I really like their stuff) that I would like to visit/shop. Ditto Siam Discovery & Chatuchak. The rest of the list is really more for 'collection'? Since I already got started, figured it'll be useful ref for others. Carrefour actually I dun mind (if I have the time) cos I like to look at 'rubbishy' stuff... am just happy window shopping and looking at local stuff actually.

No problem Sis, the more post the merrier :)

Nice list Sis Adidaem ! hmmmm I'll go to bkk again in January , your list will help !

Yeah, do let me know if you know of other places. :)

When ur housewarming btw? Durian season is over leh. :bleah:

Half an hour from Lat Phrao MRT (or the station next to it), not that far actually....

There are quite a few home decor shops there as well. :)

Eeh Sis Striking, u mean taking a cab from Lat Phrao MRT ??

Thanks for the tip - as mentioned I planned to go CDC cos I know there are some home decor stores (like Qualy - I really like their stuff) that I would like to visit/shop. Ditto Siam Discovery & Chatuchak. The rest of the list is really more for 'collection'? Since I already got started, figured it'll be useful ref for others. Carrefour actually I dun mind (if I have the time) cos I like to look at 'rubbishy' stuff... am just happy window shopping and looking at local stuff actually.

Sis Adidaem, LOL, we're slowly moving in our stuffs, have not even ask Sis Mae for help on official move in date.... though we're already sleeping over at new place all the time.... :o

Will definately try to arrange some gathering so we can meet up and talk and talk.... :sport-smiley-004:

Eeh Sis Striking, u mean taking a cab from Lat Phrao MRT ??

It felt like half hour but rottenramone says it's less than that...:) I remember have to take the cab from the station for more than 120 soi to a major junction, turn left, drive another 5 min and uturn. Seems v long to me lah...

Sigh, just as well I posted this summary... I just got home around midnight... :(

It takes a bit of time to do the links and addresses etc so looks like I won't be able to do up the list before I go off. :(

there is no habitat in bangkok , they hv been out of business since few years ago they been replace by loft now and they sell qualy at loft too if u are lucky they might hv some sale at loft sometime

cdc is a good place to look at nice stuff but not a place for bargain , but if u prefer rustic or resort stuff chatuchak is a better place,

carefour is a good place to buy titbits but defintely not a place for furniture or home decor

Edited by rayfox

Paragon is way too expensive. Might as well get stuff inSG. Go along the main roads of ekkamai and thonglor. U may find good furnishings shops along the way. That neighborhood is for expat ppl.

so long u enjoy the heat and the smell of exhaust pipe and maybe flood along the way

It felt like half hour but rottenramone says it's less than that...:) I remember have to take the cab from the station for more than 120 soi to a major junction, turn left, drive another 5 min and uturn. Seems v long to me lah...

Oh, okok, wife n me will want to visit CDC in our next trip.... Thanks Sis Striking....

wow :o that means one soap dispenser costs about S$40 **surprised**

Yes, from LOFt bout =/- 1k baht ... ...

there is no habitat in bangkok , they hv been out of business since few years ago they been replace by loft now and they sell qualy at loft too if u are lucky they might hv some sale at loft sometime

cdc is a good place to look at nice stuff but not a place for bargain , but if u prefer rustic or resort stuff chatuchak is a better place,

carefour is a good place to buy titbits but defintely not a place for furniture or home decor

Thanks Rayfox, how are u ?? Long time no see u ! thanks for sharing info on BKK here, do share more if you don't mind ! Cheers ! :D

Bro Ramone, your feature wall ROCKS !!!!! can you teach me how to get to ekkamai n thonglor ?? where are they actually ? Thanks and cheers ! :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by Kobelala

Oh, okok, wife n me will want to visit CDC in our next trip.... Thanks Sis Striking....

Yes, from LOFt bout =/- 1k baht ... ...

Thanks Rayfox, how are u ?? Long time no see u ! thanks for sharing info on BKK here, do share more if you don't mind ! Cheers ! :D

hv fun shopping in bkk

Edited by rayfox

Feeling bewildered by the wares and layout at/of Chatuchak n hving a coffee break.

- Adi, reporting live from JJ Market.

Feeling bewildered by the wares and layout at/of Chatuchak n hving a coffee break.

- Adi, reporting live from JJ Market.

Adi.... now that's impressive!!!

Yes I agree, Sis Adi, u are indeed impressive, u had set the standard, I'll have to do that too when I'm in BKK - t-blog live :sport-smiley-004:

Enjoy ! :yamseng: