Kobelala

We Bought A Flat, And Made It Our Home

Hi Kobelala, have you visited this showroom before? Worth going?

Wan Tai

Sis, never been, no ToTo but website looks good, maybe I'll go and have a look in a couple of days... :sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004:

Hehe, let us know how is it if you go k? I was looking at bathroom accessories and came across this site. Also agree the website looks good.

Hi Shirley, I think 35K for an EM reno is really affordable. Mine is at least double, but i think i'm a lot less disciplined than bro Kobelala... :dunno:

For WC, cos we use them quite often, I think it's ok to spend a bit more for better quality time on the 'throne'. :D

My 4A I think adding every single thing would cost almost 70k... OMG OMG

OXO, what's this brand about? Any good? Hafary having some promos on snatitary ware at their Tradehub outlet.

My 4A I think adding every single thing would cost almost 70k... OMG OMG

Renotalk peeps all very rich :D:bow:

OXO, what's this brand about? Any good? Hafary having some promos on snatitary ware at their Tradehub outlet.

Bro, OXO is an Italian Brand but confirm OEM China... Using Gamberit (dunno speel correct or not) system.... I was quoted 988 less 25% discount (best price I got) other places going at 20% discount.... The design is nice, but I prefer ToTo, I went to UE, saw Ideal Standard, some are not bad, but I need a rear water outlet in order to install (I never construct rear water outlet) so given up already... Still Hunting for ToTo.. ...

Anyway Brief updates on recent purchases :

1) Aircon :

My contractor told me that I can purchase my aircon since 2 weeks ago.... but I kept getting my attention diverted to other stuffs while shopping and researching on Air Cons.... lol :dunno:

Anyway, after reading numerous reviews, forums, asking friends and also friends in RT, we narrowed down 3 brands : Daikin, Mit Heavy Ind and Mitsubishi Electric in order of preference....

The funny thing about Daikin is that no retailers seems to be interested in selling them, and that include major local Aircon and Electrical appliances retailers.

We finally settled on Mitsubishi Electric Starmex Inverter, installation scheduled next week. Installing the compressor though may be an issue as I want to have the aircon compressor placed outside our unit and not inside the upper portion of our Balcony.... Aircon company will let me know if this is possible tomorrow. But I saw some of my neighbours of the same block doing so, and I have not personally checked with HDB on this.... ...

Anyway, after reading numerous reviews, forums, asking friends and also friends in RT, we narrowed down 3 brands : Daikin, Mit Heavy Ind and Mitsubishi Electric in order of preference....

Bro! First the rainshowers, then Toto WCs, now aircons... gosh, so many things in common that we both like. :yamseng:

Anyway my SO went to talk to the aircon guy n he seems to have settled on MHI. Daikin is out cos of the cost. Am leaving to him to decide on aircons cos feel a bit bad the IDs are spending so much more time on my design ideas. :dunno:

Hope your compressor ledge works out ok. But if the neighbours have done it should be ok right?

Edited by adidaem

2) Hob and Hood

I alsways name them wrongly i.e Hoob and Hod... and as this is wife's terrority (generally hod n hood is a women's terrority), I did not do much research on them, and honestly dunno how to research them.... So the criteria is simple : a) Good and reliable brand with good after sales support, b) nice design, 3) not over the top prices....

(very difficult to make my money cos I everything also want cheap and want good :o ) anyway, we were shopping and we wanted a conventional type chinmey hood with straight glass.... and we've very sure we want a chinmey hood with glass and a white glass top hob until we saw this :

IMG-20110509-00470.jpg

Rinnai slanted chinmey hood....

IMG-20110509-00473.jpg

wife n me love it at first sight.... and we forgotten about our intended target and bought this instead :D

matching hob : (sorry for poor pic quality as pic is taken from broucher, I forgot to take pic of the hob)

IMG-20110509-00474.jpg

we like the hob as it comes with inner burner, and a lifetime warranty on the glasstop...

... and the best thingy about this - it's MIJ :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

also dunno why wife n me (and we believe alot of Sgreans) hear the word "MIJ" means the stuff must be very good....

that's how the Japanese had build their profile and their branding since WW2 with tremendous success.... KUDOS to them and hope they'll recover well from their recent predicament and be back soon to woo the world with more products... :)

Edited by Kobelala

Bro! First the rainshowers, then Toto WCs, now aircons... gosh, so many things in common that we both like. :yamseng:

Anyway my SO went to talk to the aircon guy n he seems to have settled on MHI. Daikin is out cos of the cost. Am leaving to him to decide on aircons cos feel a bit bad the IDs are spending so much more time on my design ideas. :dunno:

Hope your compressor ledge works out ok. But if the neighbours have done it should be ok right?

Hi Sis, :yamseng: but we settled for Mit Electric instead, just a personal preference :) Yes Sis, according to Aircon salesman, if more than 4 neighbours do, should be ok, I check HDB website and did not find anything on this... also HDB website have too many stuffs :o too lazy to click and click , calling them tomorrow personally... hopefully ok.

Sis, u will have 2 compressor for your 6 aircons, so I'm quite sure 1 of your compressor will need to be inside your Balcony :unsure: do take this into consideration when discussing with your ID especially if your're not awning-ing up your balcony... ... cos I feel that a compressor in balcony spoils the look of the balcony :wacko:

All about the same lah... All in RT very rich... I see already I also scared.

Bro, yr reno quite low but all your things are all branded and ex one!!

All about the same lah... All in RT very rich... I see already I also scared.

Bro, yr reno quite low but all your things are all branded and ex one!!

Sis May, u also another 1 very rich 1, so dont be scared :notti:

Sis, no la, not all branded and ex la, I am on a budgeted reno, see my t-blog title :D

No leh, mine are all cheap cheap.... Hehe... Ready want to faint Liao.

Your title says budgeted but can buy all branded. Hehe... Just trying to misled us loh. Haha....

No leh, mine are all cheap cheap.... Hehe... Ready want to faint Liao.

Your title says budgeted but can buy all branded. Hehe... Just trying to misled us loh. Haha....

Sis I "pull long patch up short" (direct translate mandarin) :o:D:notti:

Bro Kobelala, I agreed with May. Although mentioned as budgeted reno but all your furnishing and accessories are expensive...LOL

Btw, do you do whole unit rewiring? If yes, is it including PUB testing? Just curious...

cheers:) emobebe

Edited by emobebe

Bro Kobelala, I agreed with May. Although mentioned as budgeted reno but all your furnishing and accessories are expensive...LOL

Btw, do you do whole unit rewiring? If yes, is it including PUB testing? Just curious...

cheers:) emobebe

Sis Emobebe, I (pull long patch up short-mandarin) :notti:

Yes Sis Emo, talking about wiring, I got my friend who's an electrical engineer to check for me. According to him I only need to change the circuit board, replace wires and spoilt switches... I only add on some new points in my house, so I did not get PUB to test yet (my electrical is done my contractor also-I told them what I want)... I also never ask them whether need to test, it's quite important hor ?? Scally whole block blackout they blame me... :o I check with my friend or contractor tomorrow and let u know again :good: