Kobelala

We Bought A Flat, And Made It Our Home

If you looking for a better solid surface instead of granite, you can try for "Corian Top". My mom been using it for almost 15yrs now, and it still look new. No stain at all and heat resistance.

My bro also using but it's not as good leh. Hmmmm....

If im not wrong there is a grade for corian top right?.. hmm mayb you can ask your contractor for opinion.. My mom corian still in good condition bcos she handle the kitchen herself, I don't dare to mess her kitchen :P

Haha... Maybe the maid not clean enough. Haha...

Hi Bros n Sis, wife n I went to the unit yesterday with 2 contractor to access the current state of the flat and to narrow down and determine on what are the actual things that we need to touch on and renovate first .. ... (as we are working on tight budget, this process is absolutely necessary :( )

Following this post will be some pics of the unit, apologise for poor picture quality first... taken yesterday with my BB....

Edited by Kobelala

Wah... now i feel my contractor's quote for some items not very cheap leh..

his solid surface is $110 psf run (whereas I looked back at some of the other quotes I've gotten, it's abt $65 psf run)

and his granite (supposedly indian granite) is $135 psf run, compared to yours... which is $100 psf run...

$35 psf run for 21ft = $35 x 21 = $735!!!

sigh...

My exact sentiment & that's why I dropped the contractor with lowest quotation like hot potatoes!!

Main Door along common corridor.... my friendly contractor in red

EM_1a.gif

view of upper lvl bedrooms from common corridor

EM_1a1.gif

Edited by Kobelala

view from main door :

EM_1b.jpg

hmmm, can anyone teach me how to paste the pics instead of pasting links , dunno how photobucket works, picoodle is not working for me... :bangwall:

Edited by Kobelala

The staircase landing curvy corner n the final step protruding out is a must hack ! I need straight lines :P

EM_1b1.gif

Edited by Kobelala

Study room was hacked down by owner to create a dining area :

EM_1c.gif

View of Kitchen from Study room ; see the open kitchen concept of the 90s.... how do I solve this design issue without hacking the wall :furious:

EM_1d.gif

Edited by Kobelala

eh... actually, your existing EM flat condition looks better than mine liao...

LOL... :P

kitchen is link to Balcony... Balcony of this unit is multi purpose I should say... some owners use it as a backyard to dry clothes... ... but no, I'm not going to do that.... Wife had agreed Balcony is solely "My" possession :yamseng: where I can chill out with my my kakis... :) so .... no drying of clothes and no washing machine in Balcony (a la Bro csinegu)...

Thanks Wife, I love u for giving me the Balcony :sport-smiley-004:

EM_1e.gif

Balcony will link kitchen to Living area, I am crazy over a tempered glass door for the Balcony.. ..

EM_1f.gif

Edited by Kobelala

like this lor:

Bro, how ? Screen shot ?? Sorry i abit computer nerd other that the usual excel files... LOL

eh... actually, your existing EM flat condition looks better than mine liao...

LOL... :P

Yes bro, condition should say OK generally.... But kitchen n toilets really "torok".. ... need to revamp.. .. luckily 2nd floor quite ok... :)

Edited by Kobelala

The good thing about this flat ; Lvl 2 is on Parquet and the Parquet are actually still in acceptable condition, I'm going to save cost here, Lvl 2 only Polishing of Parquet :)

EM_a.gif

Edited by Kobelala

View of upper lvl walkway, the Arch doors are killing me :bangwall: but wife n me had decided to paint them white n living with them for the time being... our reno will only be focused on Living, Dining, Kitchen, the staircase and the 3 toilets.... :)

EM_aa.gif

Edited by Kobelala