Kobelala

We Bought A Flat, And Made It Our Home

Personally, I prefer your EM layout.

1. The bedroom/study at the first level is a proper room and can be used as a proper bedroom... unlike my utility room, which is not here not there size...

2. The balcony is linked to the living room and kitchen! Earlier to have afresco dining.

Hope you have a smooth 2nd appt and renovation journey. :)

Hi Csingeu, thanks for the well wishes, hey buddy u just gave me an idea of Alfresco dining :D ... ... Hmmm, the layout of my Flat is the Gen2 type, yours is Gen1 type but Gen1 have bigger floor area and kitchen is with bamboo holder, u'll realise that the only way to dry my clothes is to dry them at the Balcony area... ... pros n cons buddy :)

Edited by Kobelala

hahahahahaha Marshmallow, hmmm.... I think I can guess your age then.... only certain Sgrean will be familiar with Yishun 10 due to Yishun 10 being the 1st Cineplex in our Island :P

the irony is, all my colleagues are Singaporeans. i'm not one and yet i know! :rolleyes:

Woah!

Personally, I prefer your EM layout.

1. The bedroom/study at the first level is a proper room and can be used as a proper bedroom... unlike my utility room, which is not here not there size...

2. The balcony is linked to the living room and kitchen! Earlier to have afresco dining.

Hope you have a smooth 2nd appt and renovation journey. :)

Hi Csingeu, thanks for the well wishes, hey buddy u just gave me an idea of Alfresco dining :D ... ... Hmmm, the layout of my Flat is the Gen2 type, yours is Gen1 type but Gen1 have bigger floor area and kitchen is with bamboo holder, u'll realise that the only way to dry my clothes is to dry them at the Balcony area... ... pros n cons buddy :)

i also think kobelala's layout is better, though the kitchen seems to be smaller, maybe becos the balcony and study room are bigger? the balcony is really huge lor, as big as my common room~ :jawdrop:

kobelala, what's your floor area?

the only way to dry my clothes is to dry them at the Balcony area... ... pros n cons buddy :)

Hello :yamseng: Glad to see ur blog... hope to see more pictures soon. Btw no need to dry ur clothes at balcony laa...buy dryer, enuf liao :P

the irony is, all my colleagues are Singaporeans. i'm not one and yet i know! :rolleyes:

i also think kobelala's layout is better, though the kitchen seems to be smaller, maybe becos the balcony and study room are bigger? the balcony is really huge lor, as big as my common room~ :jawdrop:

Kobelala.. let me ans for u ahh

He say 146sqm laa sister.. :P

It's 146 sq metre, ok la, the Balcony is quite spacious but cannot be bigger than your room la ...

Hello :yamseng: Glad to see ur blog... hope to see more pictures soon. Btw no need to dry ur clothes at balcony laa...buy dryer, enuf liao :P

Hi Ladr R, thanks for the well wishes :) ... yes, I'll be posting more pics n also penning down more thoughts here... Haaa , buy dryer :( had not factored a dryer into my budget.. .. :(

Yah.. I actually wanted to converted my balcony to an Alfresco dining area, with a portable electric bbq grill set (i have already sounded out some friends to get that for my house warming... LOL!)... hence wanted to do up some outdoor slate wall tiles, chengal wood decking, water feature, outdoor dining set (small table with 2 chairs), etc...

BUT BUT BUT... dreams are dreams... no money... :( ... so wife told me to choose between my 5.1 HTS + projector, or the balcony... i guess the HTS + projector will be a better investment... though I still quite like the chengal wood decking idea... (but i feel maintenance might be troublesome)...

I told my wife... no drying of laundry at the balcony (except for bed sheets la..) :P

my floor area slightly bigger at 151sqm... but a lot more "unused" space... like my staircase, got 2 void areas lor... would be better if the void areas at the 2nd level can be added to the bedrooms...

yes... i do realize, that's the problem with Gen 2 EM units... no place to hang laundry... in a way, your balcony doubles up as your service yard... I guess..

anyway, check out some of the EM t-blogs... think some of them have very similar layout as yours, and they did a fantastic job transforming it... even made it to magazine pages lor... :P

see... his level 1 room is better lor... and it's named "bedroom/study"... not stupid "utility room"...

HDB a bit zzz one...

hi there! congratulations! previously have read about your woes with the sellers. i'm glad things are ok now. totally understand the anxiety when dealing with such uncertainty especially when the rules seem to favor the sellers more than the buyers. but yay!

and very nice layout!

It's 146 sq metre, ok la, the Balcony is quite spacious but cannot be bigger than your room la ...

Hi Ladr R, thanks for the well wishes :) ... yes, I'll be posting more pics n also penning down more thoughts here... Haaa , buy dryer :( had not factored a dryer into my budget.. .. :(

Thanks Lady R, Sis Marshy today stone stone.. .. :P

oops i completely missed that post... think i was posting my reply at the same time hahahaha~ oops :P not only stone stone, blur blur also :wacko:

really it's not much of a difference...

your balcony: 2975 x 3100

my common room: 3100 x 3000+

my home got small rooms... :(

Yah.. I actually wanted to converted my balcony to an Alfresco dining area, with a portable electric bbq grill set (i have already sounded out some friends to get that for my house warming... LOL!)... hence wanted to do up some outdoor slate wall tiles, chengal wood decking, water feature, outdoor dining set (small table with 2 chairs), etc...

BUT BUT BUT... dreams are dreams... no money... :( ... so wife told me to choose between my 5.1 HTS + projector, or the balcony... i guess the HTS + projector will be a better investment... though I still quite like the chengal wood decking idea... (but i feel maintenance might be troublesome)...

I told my wife... no drying of laundry at the balcony (except for bed sheets la..) :P

my floor area slightly bigger at 151sqm... but a lot more "unused" space... like my staircase, got 2 void areas lor... would be better if the void areas at the 2nd level can be added to the bedrooms...

yes... i do realize, that's the problem with Gen 2 EM units... no place to hang laundry... in a way, your balcony doubles up as your service yard... I guess..

anyway, check out some of the EM t-blogs... think some of them have very similar layout as yours, and they did a fantastic job transforming it... even made it to magazine pages lor... :P

Bro, those magazine houses are Dreams to me ... hahaha, having spend part of our miserable bank account on the COV, we are left with not much for reno, so we're only going to do what's really necessary and also those stuffs that will enhance the overall look of our home... (will touch on that later when my reno starts) :)

Hey and be sure to invite me to your house warming ok, I would love to look at your Cellini furnitures, your HTS projector and your reno ideas :)

hi there! congratulations! previously have read about your woes with the sellers. i'm glad things are ok now. totally understand the anxiety when dealing with such uncertainty especially when the rules seem to favor the sellers more than the buyers. but yay!

and very nice layout!

Hi Tangerinez, thanks for the well wishes :) yes, you're right, the waiting and anxiety is not good to go through... but for my case, it's really donw to a incompetent agent :bangwall:

oops i completely missed that post... think i was posting my reply at the same time hahahaha~ oops :P not only stone stone, blur blur also :wacko:

Sis Marshy, HDB style, the newer the flat, the smaller the floor area :unsure:

But like I've said earlier, to me a home is not about 50 sq metre or 5000 sq metre, not about $5k reno or $500k reno, a home to me, it's about who is inside your home with you and who you wanted to be in the home with that matters... :)

Bro, those magazine houses are Dreams to me ... hahaha, having spend part of our miserable bank account on the COV, we are left with not much for reno, so we're only going to do what's really necessary and also those stuffs that will enhance the overall look of our home... (will touch on that later when my reno starts) :)

Hey and be sure to invite me to your house warming ok, I would love to look at your Cellini furnitures, your HTS projector and your reno ideas :)

yeah... my COV is as abt half my estimated renov budget liao... :(

LOL... i hope i won't be lamenting to you my reno mistakes then... :P

despite having started doing research for my reno since Nov 2010 and going thru 20+ IDs/contractors... I still feel... kana "chopped", in some ways... it's like there's always some blindspots, that we have missed out or overlooked...

just the last round of amendments to the quotation, my wife suddenly said she wants to have black granite for kitchen worktop, rather than white solid surface top...

don't know why she got sudden change of mind... but since the kitchen is going to be her "baby" next time... plus we already "saved" a bit, by not doing my chengal wood decking and outdoor wall tiles...

I let her have it her way...

but just now, i was reading another topic on kitchen worktop...

seems like though granite is more heat and scratch resistant, compared to solid surface...

it is a natural stone, and can be quite porous, hence easily stained... water stains... or even beverage spills... soiled dishes...

hmmm.... *scratch head ah...*

Edited by csingeu

all the new hdb also small small rooms. The one I saw yesterday at city view is smaller than 3x3m..... Hehe....

Sis Marshy, HDB style, the newer the flat, the smaller the floor area :unsure:

But like I've said earlier, to me a home is not about 50 sq metre or 5000 sq metre, not about $5k reno or $500k reno, a home to me, it's about who is inside your home with you and who you wanted to be in the home with that matters... :)

Bro, mine is not new HDB... my house is 5 yrs older than yours... :lol:

but totally agree with what you said, it's the people in the family, not the house itself, that makes a home nice :)