Ely1

The Best Journey Always Leads Us Home

Hi Adi :)

Wow, you've summarised everything well in that list. Reading it definitely gave me a jolt of reality!

You're so generous with your compliments - thank you Adi :) Such a gem! And it shows that you really went through my loquacious t-blog! Too honoured. You don't look like the sort who can be scary though. Hard to imagine you being fierce. You seemed a little shy to me, in fact :)

Meta-tags for teh win~ The ID knows I'm on Renotalk cos I casually remarked that I'm having a RT gathering, and that I was over at May's etc etc. I even said "How do you expect to inspire confidence with my dad if you're facing all these problems with my project?". My father REALLY did talk to him about the clogged pipes problem because I mentioned that the professional drainage guys were coming over. When the ID contacted my dad to schedule another meeting, my dad questioned him about it and he was upfront about the concrete rocks and rag, and my dad, naturally, blew his top~ ID apologised and said that he would meet him personally to explain...(?)

I also found drawings on the painted walls in blue ink behind the doors. Diagrams that are totally not technical - like arrows and stuff. So the painters had to redo those walls. Not sure who is sabotaging my reno. AHHHH!

Need a IV-drip of Valium~ Going to watch my adopted kitty videos - my Happy Place :)

- Ely

Edited by Ely1

They are like a bratty child who has never encountered discipline and is now happily taking a dump on your head! Your hb and you really need to put your foot down about this whole mess and involve the company your ID left, it is getting beyond ridiculous and the total lack of respect they have for you is just appalling. They really take you for some little woman who knows nothing and is too nice so it doesnt matter what you do now to handle them yourself, they dont care! Are you paying the former ID company or your ID?

:curse::furious:8|

The former ID company - Ideal House. When The Husband questioned the painter about the paint being poured down the toilets, he said it's standard practice. So we didn't know what to say...

The ID reprimanded the plaster guy for leaving all the debris on the roof, knowing the neighbours would lodge complaints but he didn't clear it (saying the rain would wash it away...), so The Husband had to jump over the railing and sweep everything up.

I don't want it to come to a point where I snap, like Seth pointed out - it might be nasty, and I would feel really guilty after. I'll keep up the nice routine because I believe you treat people like you would like be to treated yourself, so I might get lucky with my persistent niceness and they might be touched. Naive, naive. I feel like a child because life still baffles me.

I'm just too exhausted and stressed out to scold people anymore. I am simply too fu*king tired of all the crap that has been thrown at me (which is why I brought Maxey, my portable Prozac, with me to the house yesterday).

BUT...

Knowing how many of you are rooting for me definitely helps. I cannot thank all of you enough. It touches and heals me so deeply. :)

- Ely

You're so generous with your compliments - thank you Adi :) Such a gem! And it shows that you really went through my loquacious t-blog! Too honoured. You don't look like the sort who can be scary though. Hard to imagine you being fierce. You seemed a little shy to me, in fact :)

Just stating the facts... RB has put on his boots enough times right? :rolleyes:

As for being fierce, take my word for it lar. Not nice to give specific examples of how scary I can be lor... :bleah:

And too bad "Woo Powertm" is not something I can get off the shelf. Almost didn't want to go to May's house cos was a bit daunting to meet so many ppl... :P

Need a IV-drip of Valium~ Going to watch my adopted kitty videos - my Happy Place :)

- Ely

Take care gal.

:furious: for you

but :drunk::yamseng::thumbs up::wub: to you. do what mae does and take photos of them, we can throw darts at them during your open house!! :jammin:

Edited by sleek

my dear, just highlight to Ideal House boss ba.

Either way, whether your ID did try his best or not, get the boss (in this case ex-boss) involved will hasten things up.

In fact, i ask my ID, according to him, rightfully when the ID left, all projects are handled by others.

so wonder y he is still handling yours. (i know you mention before your ID is being responsible thus he want to clean it up, but if he don't have the means then ... )

Mine also done by Ideal House as you know, and frankly, i don't face such problem faced by you.

Don't realize they pour paint down my toilets (even if they did, they clean up really well ba)

Highlight and can spare you from alot of heartache/headache...

in fact, i kpo abit, had ask my Id to let his boss aware of this, and see what can be done to get it rectify.

Coz i read until i also cant tahan le... so horrible.

and pls .. dun bring drinks out for them.. dun SERVE them my dear ...

its their job le..

i know, u are nice, but too nice ... :(

Edited by footprint

Thanks for the heads-up, Marshy. You know I'm using Ideal House right (since ID is no longer with them :P)?

Well the painting today was so blotched up, I don't even know why I bothered with paying that much for the extra plastering... Apparently, dumping paint down my toilets is also standard practice, is that true?

They turned up at 430pm, hoping to leave at 5 (MCST regulations)...Sigh. I kept offering them drinks, and they kept declining, and then I catch them all helping themselves to the drinks in my fridge! Seriously! Not sure how much longer I can be "nice".

So frustrating.

- Ely

yea in the first page you mentioned I**** H****. I guess there isn't a lot of IP company going by this name~ :P

the paint job is really bad... i'm sure they have more than one painting subcon! (for e.g., i thought footprint one was okie? We have enough sample size of pple using Ideal House here) if the painters are doing a bad job, demand them to change~! :curse:

dun offer them drinks la~ take them away and enjoy the drinks yourself. the workers don't deserve the treats from you! :angry:

reading all these really made me feel very angry for you~ :furious: maybe it's really time to let the company know their reputation is at stake with this kind of workmanship :fire: you should also let the company know that your things have been disappearing and someone has to pay for the damage~

When nice people snap - the effect of fierce-ness is double. :D

this is very true. i need to deal with different vendors/contractors at work. i'm nice to them most of the time... but when i ever get angry, the contractors will be very scared cos they know i really mean it, and suddenly things get done much faster~ ;)

I know it would be useless trying to reason with them in regards to their expertise (oh, they have so many excuses from a 30-yr trade etc)

a get-around to this is, i will tell the contractor "wah you have 30 yrs of experience! you must be very good! i'm sure you are a professional and doing this easy thing would be a breeeeze to you... :lol:" so far it works. you can considering trying that :P

How to get you to help scold them? They might be angry I get reinforcements to help me, or angry that I must have said bad things about their work.

Just that they know you can be bullied cos you can't really speak mandarin well. And YOU ARE TOO NICE! Even if you try be fierce, you still can't look or sound like it. Haha.... Let you hubby handle, can? Hate to see you so stressed!

enlist your hubby to do the scolding? he's part of the team mah, not reinforcement... effectiveness will be x2 if the scolding is done in Hokkien~ :lol: (provided workers are local/malaysians...)

You have the eyes for beauty and just attract those that are around you. Hehe.... Your sense of humor are so fun, no one will ever get bored with it. I definitely won't. :)

definitely agree with May! it's really great talking to you... you're such a nice and fun person! :)

my ID actually call me and i ask him to please ask the boss and ask him to come dw ur hse...

Right now, cant say who right or wrong, most impt, get things rectified!!!

i feel for u.. really.. :(

mine was done really nicely le..

and yes, no reason to accept such a bad bad job done!!!

Either way, whether your ID did try his best or not, get the boss (in this case ex-boss) involved will hasten things up.

In fact, i ask my ID, according to him, rightfully when the ID left, all projects are handled by others.

so wonder y he is still handling yours. (i know you mention before your ID is being responsible thus he want to clean it up, but if he don't have the means then ... )

Mine also done by Ideal House as you know, and frankly, i don't face such problem faced by you.

Don't realize they pour paint down my toilets (even if they did, they clean up really well ba)

in fact, i kpo abit, had ask my Id to let his boss aware of this, and see what can be done to get it rectify.

its their job le..

my painter diluted the paint with water and pour down directly to the drainage pipe, definitely not through the toilet bowl. (if they did, they will have a good time cleaning it cos my toilet bowl is white :D)

yea footprint your ID seems like a good and helpful guy. if he was the one handling Ely's home, probably she would have moved in liao :(

but can tell that somehow her ID is not getting along well with the company.... so maybe afterall, it's a good thing that he left and started his own~ can you imagine... Ely's neighbour moved in already and they are using the same ID??

my painter diluted the paint with water and pour down directly to the drainage pipe, definitely not through the toilet bowl. (if they did, they will have a good time cleaning it cos my toilet bowl is white :D)

yea footprint your ID seems like a good and helpful guy. if he was the one handling Ely's home, probably she would have moved in liao :(

but can tell that somehow her ID is not getting along well with the company.... so maybe afterall, it's a good thing that he left and started his own~ can you imagine... Ely's neighbour moved in already and they are using the same ID??

ya.. mine also white, so guess not down there ba. :P

thus i ask him to please do something. :(

my id did tell me something regarding the id but not to discuss now, no point either.

right now, just hope things can get rectify and resolved.

esp ely reno not those massive type, but drag way too long.

Ely, wow,lots of drama with your reno. Hope it gets better soon.

Imo you need to be more assertive. My ID and his team don't dare try to delay the project or come up with any carp excuses for poor execution. They know I will gouge their eyeballs out. They also know that what they utimately deliver is a reflection on the quality that their company's brand and reputation.

My ID does not allow eating, smoking or drinking in the unit. I am however a little more flexible. I will allow it until the painting stage.

Don't serve them mate. I just buy cartons of mineral water and leave out for them.

Hang in there.

its their job le..

Hi footprint, I thank you for your kind intentions. I know it comes from a good place, but now not sure how things are going to turn out as I heard this morning that the boss is very, very unhappy about this Renotalk blog. I may close this down now.

The poll will remain open so we can still arrange for all of you to come see the place in the flesh. Am not going to document anymore for the sake of protecting my ID.

Please don't feel guilty at all! I really do appreciate all the help you've extended - fancy going out of your way to help me! So touched, but I don't my ID to be upset or get reprimanded by the boss. Obviously, Rick worked fast as I got an SMS early this morning.

I feel that Ideal House is certainly very popular and reputable on this board, and that this one job shouldn't affect their reputation entirely. That was the reason why I went to Ideal House in the first place, from their recommendations on this forum and I'm not regretful at all with my ID. I know he is trying his best. But I certainly don't want anyone to get into trouble (maybe I'm being too nice again??).

I don't know anymore - freedom of expression, documented evidence, truthful facts, sharing of opinions - it shouldn't be wrong, at all. Yet I feel bad.

- Ely

yea in the first page you mentioned I**** H****. I guess there isn't a lot of IP company going by this name~ :P

the paint job is really bad... i'm sure they have more than one painting subcon! (for e.g., i thought footprint one was okie? We have enough sample size of pple using Ideal House here) if the painters are doing a bad job, demand them to change~! :curse:

dun offer them drinks la~ take them away and enjoy the drinks yourself. the workers don't deserve the treats from you! :angry:

reading all these really made me feel very angry for you~ :furious: maybe it's really time to let the company know their reputation is at stake with this kind of workmanship :fire: you should also let the company know that your things have been disappearing and someone has to pay for the damage~

this is very true. i need to deal with different vendors/contractors at work. i'm nice to them most of the time... but when i ever get angry, the contractors will be very scared cos they know i really mean it, and suddenly things get done much faster~ ;)

a get-around to this is, i will tell the contractor "wah you have 30 yrs of experience! you must be very good! i'm sure you are a professional and doing this easy thing would be a breeeeze to you... :lol:" so far it works. you can considering trying that :P

enlist your hubby to do the scolding? he's part of the team mah, not reinforcement... effectiveness will be x2 if the scolding is done in Hokkien~ :lol: (provided workers are local/malaysians...)

definitely agree with May! it's really great talking to you... you're such a nice and fun person! :)

May's shelving guy came today, and my dad came up with me after giving me a lift. Shelving guy is quite annoying (maybe he's old, but phone conversations with him annoy me cos I've to keep repeating myself over and over), and he started to make small talk. My dad immediately blasted him!! Was so embarrassed >< He told him to stop asking irrelevant questions and to just do his job and not to waste time. Seeing the ex-military Dad in action really showed how I pale in comparison. Shelving guy came to work immediately and didn't dare to talk to me anymore. :D Of course, got lecture from Dad to not talk to them and to just ask them to do their job etc etc.

Well, I think The Husband looks a little meek so the sub-cons are not afraid of him either. They will have to wait till he blows his top, since he's in the construction line and does his share of controlling his workers.

Took more pictures of the paint job - there is a wall which is completely wet? It's weird. Dad commented they must have diluted the paint because you can still see the plaster underneath. It's like drops and streaks of moisture. Not sure what it is. Dad said to just stop the painting and to wallpaper but I kept quiet because we cannot afford more wallpaper. There's also a pic of the entire canister of paint over the toilet bowl.

Thanks Marshy - It was great talking to you too! :) Did I mention how cute your earrings match your shoes? :P I'm quite friendly and love laughs but it can be intimidating to some (or so I've been told). Still working on a good balance :)

- Ely

Ely, wow,lots of drama with your reno. Hope it gets better soon.

Imo you need to be more assertive. My ID and his team don't dare try to delay the project or come up with any carp excuses for poor execution. They know I will gouge their eyeballs out. They also know that what they utimately deliver is a reflection on the quality that their company's brand and reputation.

My ID does not allow eating, smoking or drinking in the unit. I am however a little more flexible. I will allow it until the painting stage.

Don't serve them mate. I just buy cartons of mineral water and leave out for them.

Hang in there.

Drama is the right word. People are unhappy with me today, and all I want to do is run away and stay in bed.

I allow smoking (in designated areas now - before I allowed them to smoke anywhere), drinking, eating. When I didn't have the car, I ordered McDonalds for them, I leave butter cookies on the counter, they have chilled green tea, I ask them to take breaks sometimes, tell them to go for lunch, provide band-aids when I see cuts on their hands, give meds when one worker had gastric, and offer to turn on the aircon so they can work in comfort.

Sometimes you feel nothing is do is ever enough. In a perfect world, they should be more grateful with my hospitality and treat me better, but it's not a perfect world. And this leaves me more disenchanted than anything else. Not the bad paint jobs or huge delays - but the disenchantment with this imperfect world and I being in it.

- Ely

I went tangs yesterday which was a big mess! Everyone is buying non stop! I was going crazy too... Haha.....

You should have seen what was happening at Isetan sales instead.

I went to both Tangs and Isetan sales - (was at Isetan queuing to get in at 8am, and a 200m long queue has formed, when it opened at 830am, the queue was at least 600m)

Yeah, pouring wall paint down the blocks waste pipe is probably very common, they did it on our reno, because wall paint is usually emulsion and so water soluble. If you take a wet sponge and run the painted walls, the paint will usually come off. The pint should be sufficiently diluted and flushed. If toilets are installed then they should pout down the floor traps after opening them and then flush with water spray or a bucket.

If they are pouring oil based paint then that is a big no-no. Paint used for doors and door frames etc should not go down the waste as they will not disperse with water.

RB