Ely1

The Best Journey Always Leads Us Home

I luv the wicker balls! Ely, everything u touch seems to turn gold! Luv all your purchases and your DIY items.... Where is the earth u can dig out these treasures online? I try to search for stuff in eBay but I gave up half hr later... The items I saw were old and boring... Do consider conducting a course for eBay dummy like me for a nominal fee so that I can be the first to sign up :)

Hi friends78 :) Thanks so much! Been a while since we chatted! :wub: DIY is fun and sooo easy!

This is pretty subtle and no one really notices till they stare at it hard :lol: so more for my own vanity's sake:

Pearls on WIW ottoman:

5595088535_943f98fd6c.jpg5860255631_b8d2a43fca_z.jpg

With the leftover pearls, I used them on the tissue box:

5851551645_c44c3db8e4.jpg

Also have rhinestones on the soap pump dispensers, cameo brooches on hand towels etc keke! And of course, the guest amenities shelf :)

5866272664_8c827a7ce0_z.jpg

Chalkboard door:

5865719133_f18afeaf2b_z.jpg

LOL! Friends78, already contributed my guide to the Internet Shopping thread! If there's anything you need, whatsapp me and I'll get the links for you :) May did the same when she was looking for a laser pointer :) Honestly can't say how I found them, mostly by chance since I actually had no intention of getting wicker ball lights in the first place!

- Ely

babe, missed all the drama here.

sorry if it was me who sort of started the Art conversation.

btw, erm, i really cant see any pearls on the ottoman! close up pic pls!

babe, missed all the drama here.

sorry if it was me who sort of started the Art conversation.

btw, erm, i really cant see any pearls on the ottoman! close up pic pls!

Heya newnyew,

Please don't apologise for someone else's insensitivity - our joke did not have to turn into something quite inappropriate or offensive.

Pearls are lined against the strips down the sides, just to cover the stitching! Meant to be subtle haha, as I obviously lack your mad art skillz. Amazing how you painted that horse light!! Should really engage you to help you do my canvas for the bedroom :P It's only writing but even I don't trust myself totally with that. Would Bras Basah be the best place to buy a canvas?

- Ely

As the balcony has always been too dark, I recently ordered some handmade wicker balls from Thailand. Really cheap and I was surprised they didn't look cheesy!

5863206060_a85b295732.jpg

5863205984_0d2858a7a9.jpg

5863205844_19c1e79e20_m.jpg

5862655287_6c0e686121_m.jpg

Totally cosy! :)

- Ely

very nice! so loving it!

:wub: :wub:

ah i finally managed to see a teeny tiny line! hehe

as for the horsy, photoshop(PS) is my best fren. always PS the image onto the wall u wan then decide.

like below: i tot chandelier would look great but after seeing the mockup, neh...

and i tot black will definitely be scary if i was to wake up in the middle of the nite getting a drink

i will definitely scare myself! haha..

5866947666_fe4c9fdc88.jpg

as for wordings, shy to show u wat i have done for my previous place.

abit mushy la. hehe.. took me 2hrs just to cut out the wordings..

very siong.. but very proud cos they looked so nice eh? :notti:

5866385631_93cd4ff765.jpg5866940176_5610b27f80.jpg

why dun u email me your wall n the wordings u like n i help u to PS?

canvases r actually overpriced everywhere but if u need to buy anything from Artfriend, i got 10% discount.

Takashimaya also has a branch which i like better.

wow ely,

the wicker balls are really nice...makes the place so cosy without being too bright!

love it!! oh will drop by the online sites to see if i can buy anything for my house. how long does the shipments arrive? heeee..

you are really a shopping queen!!

ah i finally managed to see a teeny tiny line! hehe

as for the horsy, photoshop(PS) is my best fren. always PS the image onto the wall u wan then decide.

like below: i tot chandelier would look great but after seeing the mockup, neh...

and i tot black will definitely be scary if i was to wake up in the middle of the nite getting a drink

i will definitely scare myself! haha..

as for wordings, shy to show u wat i have done for my previous place.

abit mushy la. hehe.. took me 2hrs just to cut out the wordings..

very siong.. but very proud cos they looked so nice eh? :notti:

why dun u email me your wall n the wordings u like n i help u to PS?

canvases r actually overpriced everywhere but if u need to buy anything from Artfriend, i got 10% discount.

Takashimaya also has a branch which i like better.

LOL, newnyew somehow I lack the discipline when it comes to photoshopping mock-ups for the house, though I do that when ordering harnesses and collars for the dogs and cats lol!! I'm ridiculous I know. :rofl:

Such a lovely verse on the wall! I think it's really pretty, and so meaningful as you both go to bed at night. :) Unfortunately I'm not that romantic. The Husband had to vet my picks because he knows I have dark and twisty taste and said NO to several lol! Bleh. I might do one of those prints for the bathroom though :P And besides, I told him I'm leaving the wall (where the zebra couch is) bare so we can hang some artistic (read: cannot see my face type!) wedding portraits :)

I did the chandelier decal on a boxed-up pipe. They initially wanted to make everything level but that would compromise the height of the cabinets so I said no. Decided to make it a feature:

5595052727_d8fb84ed0c_z.jpg

5860810448_e7f57d343b_z.jpg

Then I simply installed an $5 Ikea bulb. Chose silver because I didn't want to distract from the wording decal, which is more of my baby :) Had that in planning for a while and got Modishop to do it for me.

Same goes for the strange beam. Since it looked kinda out of place, turned it into a magazine nook with a clock on the other side.

5509065956_4dea1ac7a4.jpg

5867127870_f8c9dda287.jpg

5867126754_519ce61603.jpg

- Ely

wow ely,

the wicker balls are really nice...makes the place so cosy without being too bright!

love it!! oh will drop by the online sites to see if i can buy anything for my house. how long does the shipments arrive? heeee..

you are really a shopping queen!!

Heya joyous! Thank you! :) It really depends, was surprised that the shipment from Thailand was much quicker than some stuff I've ordered from the states. Also, a shipment from Hong Kong took 2 days when they usually arrive in a month, so always go by seller ratings :)

For like US$10, had no idea that the wicker ball lights would be so popular on RT! :D

Again, if you're looking for something in particular, let me know and I'll help you sniff out some sites :)

- Ely

U have such great ideas! Love that ceiling chandelier babe!

I realised I have an empty canvas measuring 122 x 60.5cm

If it's the size u need, I will be glad to pass to u n get a chance to visit Bondi hehe :)

NP, ksa! :)

You can get chalkboard paint from any DIY shop, including those chalk markers.

As for inspirations, I visit DecorPad, Apartment Therapy and Ikea Hacker. Awesome sites - check them out!

Tks dear! Checking out them soon! Btw, I hv those wick balls bought in Thai many yrs bk! I rem it's less than s$5 then.. Lol..

Omg.. Ur diy is amazing lor! The chandelier on the wall is cool leh!! N the mag rack idea too..

Btw, where u got ur fork decal from..?

And a silly ques: anyone knows if I can place my wash sink opp my bathroom in the kitchen.. Was debating between a l shaped kit or a long cabinet kit..

Tia!

- Ely

U have such great ideas! Love that ceiling chandelier babe!

I realised I have an empty canvas measuring 122 x 60.5cm

If it's the size u need, I will be glad to pass to u n get a chance to visit Bondi hehe :)

Wow, what a generous offer, newnyew!! :)

Thanks so much, but I think 122 is really pretty huge lol! May go for something 80x60. Think I'll hand-paint a verse from Shakespeare, so it's more personal. Let's see how it goes! Ugh, I'm terrible at these things lol!

- Ely

Tks dear! Checking out them soon! Btw, I hv those wick balls bought in Thai many yrs bk! I rem it's less than s$5 then.. Lol..

Omg.. Ur diy is amazing lor! The chandelier on the wall is cool leh!! N the mag rack idea too..

Btw, where u got ur fork decal from..?

And a silly ques: anyone knows if I can place my wash sink opp my bathroom in the kitchen.. Was debating between a l shaped kit or a long cabinet kit..

Tia!

Thanks ksa! The fork decal was custom - I searched online for a vintage fork image then asked someone from etsy to do it. Gave height measurements and colour and that's it :) Same goes for the wording decal on the door. Gave height/width measurements, text, and font, alignment and Modishop sent me a proof and then delivered it after I approved.

As for your sink placement, if it's the Fengshui then I have absolutely no idea. If it's simply space planning, some free software like Sweet Home 3D would be able to help you visualise better :)

- Ely

Wow, what a generous offer, newnyew!! :)

Thanks so much, but I think 122 is really pretty huge lol! May go for something 80x60. Think I'll hand-paint a verse from Shakespeare, so it's more personal. Let's see how it goes! Ugh, I'm terrible at these things lol!

- Ely

d a r n.. was trying to get a sneak preview of ur place with the canvas excuse.. haha..

care to let us have a sneak of ur romantic verse then? :D

Thanks ksa! The fork decal was custom - I searched online for a vintage fork image then asked someone from etsy to do it. Gave height measurements and colour and that's it :) Same goes for the wording decal on the door. Gave height/width measurements, text, and font, alignment and Modishop sent me a proof and then delivered it after I approved.

As for your sink placement, if it's the Fengshui then I have absolutely no idea. If it's simply space planning, some free software like Sweet Home 3D would be able to help you visualise better :)

Tks... Wil chk it out.. Btw, did u mentioned before tt ur curtain lobang is gd..

I'm looking at curtains and blinds.. Are they doing blinds too?

Can giv me the contact if so?

Tks alot!

- Ely