Ely1

The Best Journey Always Leads Us Home

Nah, I would have measured the box if I still had it. Unfortunately, the stored invoices from vPost shows the entire bill, not the break down so I can't help you further - I'm sorry.

Thanks so much for the compliment - I do hope it's pretty as it's not assembled yet and packed in one of the boxes. There will be pics once I've settled in. :)

For US$187, I'm not complaining - I've seen prices of the chandelier floor lamps here :jawdrop:

- Ely

try checking under my bills> view bills, i'm able to see all the breakdown for my different bills there.

What?!!!

Pour cement n rag down ur drain? They are so.... -_-"

Think u really abit off luck but no worries.. Reno is finally coming to an end soon!

God bless all be smooth-sailing from now on!

And we shall sit back n laugh it off n enjoy the company of bondi n maxey... :)

Those stuff were freebies the "kiasu" Singaporean couldn't resist taking home from the hotels, except for the Boots hand cream. There's Dove shampoo and conditioner too~ Being the Virgo I am, I like to cover all bases when it comes to overnight guests - bathrobe, guest slippers, nail buffers, emery boards, deodorant etc. :D

hahaha you must have stayed in that hotel for a long time to gather so many toiletries! (and must be a good hotel too! all branded~ :wub:)

TODAY - WEDNESDAY (DAY 92): Carpenter no show. Plastering is almost finished, and professional drainage guys unearthed cement rocks and an entire rag down my drainage traps! WTF?! Called my ID immediately because it flooded both the wet/dry kitchens and all the sub-cons are now pushing the blame to the other (plumber said it's painter, painter said it's tiler, tiler said it's not him). ID is trying to find the bastid who uses rags like that. Completely unacceptable! Also cannot believe they poured cement down my pipes! Definitely am not paying this hefty bill! :furious: (see, irritation with stupidity gets the blood flowing faster)

no show again?? :huh: this carpenter has really made his reputation. but hmmmm i feel that your ID should exercise some control to make sure the various subcons come as per schedule........

This pour-cement-down-the-pipe thing is not new, in fact we've heard it so many times on RT... :( i dun understand why everyone is still doing this - obviously it's gonna clog the pipes!

anyway, hope that all the necessary work will be completed in these few days! *hugz* it will be over soon~ :)

What?!!!

Pour cement n rag down ur drain? They are so.... -_-"

Think u really abit off luck but no worries.. Reno is finally coming to an end soon!

God bless all be smooth-sailing from now on!

And we shall sit back n laugh it off n enjoy the company of bondi n maxey... :)

It's always amusing watching a fat cat :P haha

Thanks, footprint, hoping things will go smoothly from now onwards - meanwhile, will try to retain the queenly inner poise.

hahaha you must have stayed in that hotel for a long time to gather so many toiletries! (and must be a good hotel too! all branded~ :wub:)

It was the Paiza (Sands' premium mansions - had a personal friend pull some strings for me) and the Ritz (thanks honey :wub:) - both use Bvlgari exclusively so I had a field trip with my BBB (Big Black Bag tm) :P

no show again?? :huh: this carpenter has really made his reputation. but hmmmm i feel that your ID should exercise some control to make sure the various subcons come as per schedule........

This pour-cement-down-the-pipe thing is not new, in fact we've heard it so many times on RT... :( i dun understand why everyone is still doing this - obviously it's gonna clog the pipes!

anyway, hope that all the necessary work will be completed in these few days! *hugz* it will be over soon~ :)

The ID has come to a point where he's now given up on the carpenter. I know he won't be retained for future jobs with him and their relationship is so sour that they no longer speak when the ID goes to inspect the works. I hope he turns up today though...

*hugz* Thanks marshy :)

ely, make yourself a martini (never too early for a cosmopolitan!) and breath... end is near.

So true, Patsy - all I'm lacking is my cocktail shaker so I'll just have a beer :P Nothing spells a holiday more than the luxury of having alchohol in the afternoon!!

- Ely

ely dear, i was surfing youtube and came across this. this is dedicated to you <3

That song resonates so well with me that I have it on my playlist for the band at the wedding :P I love covers too! I chose Boyce Avenue's:

Thank you, sleek. That made me smile today, and it's only 11am! :)

Much <3,

Ely

So true, Patsy - all I'm lacking is my cocktail shaker so I'll just have a beer :P Nothing spells a holiday more than the luxury of having alchohol in the afternoon!!

- Ely

oooohhhhhhhhhhhh if I didn't have to sit in the meeting with the boss today I'd kill for a boozy afternoon under the sun!

Ooh, that's bad timing isn't it? Hmm. Maybe I should look at another date? How about 19 June, Sunday, or 2 July? Maybe I should do a poll of some sort...

- Ely

I would imaging either of those two dates would be great :yamseng: .

RB

Thanks, being assertive when suitably annoyed suits my style best. :P

Well, progress update Sirs/Duchess/Queens/Kings/HTS-IT Call Center:

TODAY - WEDNESDAY (DAY 92): Carpenter no show. Plastering is almost finished, and professional drainage guys unearthed cement rocks and an entire rag down my drainage traps! WTF?! Called my ID immediately because it flooded both the wet/dry kitchens and all the sub-cons are now pushing the blame to the other (plumber said it's painter, painter said it's tiler, tiler said it's not him)

The concrete is more likely to be from the hacking and the pipes not being cleared properly afterwards. Concrete should not harden if poured into water as it is the absence of water that will generally cause it to harden. If the pipe was dry then you would most likely get a piece of concrete molded to the shape of the pipe and probably stuck. Concrete rocks suggest hacking debris. The cloth was probably placed there by the either the people hacking to try to stop the debris entering the pipe or the plasterer / tiler to stop the plaster / white cement going down. I would put my money on the people hacking and some debris pushing the cloth inside the pipe and no one checking.

Oh well it is sorted now.

In our last place, the pipe from the kitchen sink to the floor trap under the cabinets was too high in the floor trap and so no lid could go on it. This was an issue with bugs as the unit was ground floor. The other undesirable but slightly comical effect was that when my wife did the washing up, sometimes bubbles would start to come out under the kitchen cabinet where the drainage channel for the floor trap was like the beginning of a very small foam party... :sport-smiley-004:. It was never fixed as it would mean ripping out all the kitchen cabinets.

RB

The ID has come to a point where he's now given up on the carpenter. I know he won't be retained for future jobs with him and their relationship is so sour that they no longer speak when the ID goes to inspect the works. I hope he turns up today though...

btw, i just recalled coming across another t-blog, in which the owner was using the same ID company as you (if i guessed it correctly~). she also faced the same problem of the ID not able to control the various subcons and there were loads of issues. In the end, the boss has to go down together with the ID to supervise the jobs and got things moving.

i certainly don't hope your reno will end up like that, but just *in case* things still don't get done as per the promised weekly schedule, you can consider alerting the boss..... that's probably the ultimatum of course, but the company still must fulfill this contract with you in a satisfactory manner even though the ID has already left~

anyway, just fyi ya~ :)

btw, i just recalled coming across another t-blog, in which the owner was using the same ID company as you (if i guessed it correctly~). she also faced the same problem of the ID not able to control the various subcons and there were loads of issues. In the end, the boss has to go down together with the ID to supervise the jobs and got things moving.

i certainly don't hope your reno will end up like that, but just *in case* things still don't get done as per the promised weekly schedule, you can consider alerting the boss..... that's probably the ultimatum of course, but the company still must fulfill this contract with you in a satisfactory manner even though the ID has already left~

anyway, just fyi ya~ :)

Thanks for the heads-up, Marshy.

Well the painting today was so blotched up, I don't even know why I bothered with paying that much for the extra plastering... Apparently, dumping paint down my toilets is also standard practice, is that true?

5761893118_55d31e26b4.jpg

5761892920_dc46d5bd36.jpg

They turned up at 430pm, hoping to leave at 5 (MCST regulations)...Sigh. I kept offering them drinks, and they kept declining, and then I catch them all helping themselves to the drinks in my fridge! Seriously! Not sure how much longer I can be "nice".

So frustrating.

- Ely

Edited by Ely1

Ooh, that's bad timing isn't it? Hmm. Maybe I should look at another date? How about 19 June, Sunday, or 2 July? Maybe I should do a poll of some sort...

- Ely

Lady_R having her mini house warming on 19th. Anyway, it's fathers day so I won't be able to make it. :)

Thanks, Ader! I think they're pretty too :) Yeah, I did get them afterall - 4 in fact :lol:! Not sure if they're super nice (I doubt my taste now and then as I'm quite an impulsive buyer) - 1 is, 1 was more impressive in the pics than IRL so moving it elsewhere, and waiting for two others. :D

Actually, they're not as expensive as you'd think, especially the auction pieces. I've seen the relisted same item go for US$42 to US$280. It's all about stalking and bidding, like I mentioned in the Guide to Internet Shopping thread. Always keep a Watch tab and watch several and ALL relisted items after the bidding has ended. You'll know when you get a good deal :) The Buy It Now ones can be pricey and those are the artists' treasured pieces. Sometimes you can make them a offer and see if they'd accept. If the item has been listed for a long time (again, Watch, Watch, Watch!), you'll most likely be able to bargain for it.

- Ely

Wow...sounds like some stock broker in action leh... :jawdrop: Me known for being nonchalant aka blur :P thus really gotta train HARD HARD before I even consider online bidding :bangwall:

When got the chance, you demo during your housewarming lah :dancingqueen:

Thanks, being assertive when suitably annoyed suits my style best. :P

Well, progress update Sirs/Duchess/Queens/Kings/HTS-IT Call Center:

1. TODAY - WEDNESDAY (DAY 92): Carpenter no show. Plastering is almost finished, and professional drainage guys unearthed cement rocks and an entire rag down my drainage traps! WTF?! Called my ID immediately because it flooded both the wet/dry kitchens and all the sub-cons are now pushing the blame to the other (plumber said it's painter, painter said it's tiler, tiler said it's not him). ID is trying to find the bastid who uses rags like that. Completely unacceptable! Also cannot believe they poured cement down my pipes! Definitely am not paying this hefty bill! :furious: (see, irritation with stupidity gets the blood flowing faster)
  2. THURSDAY (DAY 93): MCST to fix water leakage from the walls above into my balcony; last of plastering; painters; Singtel to fix my broadband connection after charging me for an entire month of usage when it was not even activated, and gave me the wrong telephone number after making me choose (oh, why oh why do I have such luck! Managed to swing an entire waiver of the month's bill though); and *maybe* the carpenter will grace my place with his presence today
  3. FRIDAY (DAY 94): General wash & cleaning, shelving guy
  4. SATURDAY (DAY 95): Wallpaper, maybe will call electrician to fix the T5s if the carpenter finally shows.
  5. TUESDAY (DAY 98): Couch!

- Ely

OMG...poor Ely...sayang *pat*pat* :drunk: Cannot imagine a dainty you (you mentioned you are 156cm right??) having to face these loads of stress and frustrations... :( I agree with Marshy, maybe you should speak to the boss and demand things get rectified ASAP..no further excuses :no: Sometimes it could be just that the IDs are inexperience in handling & managing these sub-cons who are too experienced & proud to listen to IDs...

I really hope everything will turn out smoothly & nicely for you eventually :)

Thanks for the heads-up, Marshy. You know I'm using Ideal House right (since ID is no longer with them :P)?

Well the painting today was so blotched up, I don't even know why I bothered with paying that much for the extra plastering... Apparently, dumping paint down my toilets is also standard practice, is that true?

5761893118_55d31e26b4.jpg

5761892920_dc46d5bd36.jpg

They turned up at 430pm, hoping to leave at 5 (MCST regulations)...Sigh. I kept offering them drinks, and they kept declining, and then I catch them all helping themselves to the drinks in my fridge! Seriously! Not sure how much longer I can be "nice".

So frustrating.

- Ely

Seriously, they are crappy!!!

Paint until like that?

N act shy reject ur offer n help themselves?

N come at 4.30 expect to leave at 5?

U feedback to ur id Le?

Those are ur id own subcon??

Tot shld b better since he manage themselves.

But y like getting worse? :(

I really feel for u Le. So crappy!!!

Can let ur hub handle them n the id?

I know, u feel ur id is nice.. N u wan to b nice to him but it's getting abit.. Or rather, very ridiculous....

It's like he trying to treat u like a kid, give u abit, hoping u will b happy?