Ely1

The Best Journey Always Leads Us Home

Cats are one of those pets that do not require a companion. In fact, many of them prefer being the only cat. I've had cats who simply could not assimilate into a multi-cat home despite all my efforts, and had to be rehomed to a single-cat household. I always tell potential adopters this when they mention how long they'd be away from home - cats are the easiest to maintain with no housebreaking needed at all. I've never had a single cat make a mistake, not even a 3 week old kitten. It only takes ONE "demo" for them to get it. Cats sleep 85% of the day, with 5% for playing, 5% eating and 5% grooming. They really don't need you at all, except during that 5% playing, and that too is by invitation only :P (interactive toys like laser pointers, wands etc). Most are happy just to sit at your feet while you watch TV, meow when it's dinner time, and greet you when you come home. No fuss.

Ha! Cool avatar. I played on Blackrock, but my guild is mostly Americans, Europeans and Australians. Played with selected Singaporeans during DAoC - uber. I managed to play GW during their closed beta - very fun. Was an elementalist then.

OMG, my reply was eaten by the internetz!

seth, I concur that a cat would be a good low maintenance starter pet after the fish, bird, bunny range. They are really intelligent; with individual feelings, personalities and characteristics. With 4 former rescues , 2 of them a bro-sis pair I personally hand-raised, we can see their personalities shine through and how the girl-boy issue even influences animals! Not to scare you but I do have one OCD/ ADD type cat who has been officially diagnosed as one who would need medicating with anti depressants like a human but we dont since it is at a high cost and even the vets say it is up to us but we do use rescue remedy and just try to love him more.

Ely I totally forgot that I used to be a slave to WoW for 1 1/2 - 2 years, I cant even remember how long exactly as it was >4 years ago before my #1 arrived. The guild went through some big drama, broke apart , blah blah and it came at a opportune time since i was pregnant, so I quit the game all together. I miss those days but do keep in touch with some of the other loonies from then. I never did play on any localised servers as the hb initially created our toons on Doomhammer and so I stayed on there, he quit earlier then me lol, since I am an extreme night owl anyway the american time zone worked for me.

Sleek, you are indeed down to earth and all Ely mentioned and more. Both of us are full of praises for u when we secretly whatsapp another. Haha..... No need extended living to appreciate you!

Ely, you must be the most gorgeous t-blogger here and even t shirt and jeans not going to stop the men from looking. Before meeting, I already sixth sense you would be but after meeting, even more so. And I can hear the deh-ism coming from you will bring down the moon and stars. Hehe.....

oooy! both of you please stop praising me all over other peoples threads la, so paiseh now! Also I dont want to raise expectations that I am some saint mummy okay! lol sport-smiley-018.gif

and what's this about secret messages about me?!?!?! omg jawdrop.gifohmy.gifhelp.gif

ely is certainly the most gorgeous of us all. and like friends78, i too am captivated by her beauty. take a photo with the potato sack and let us know how it works out okay tongue.gif

Edited by sleek

oooy! both of you please stop praising me all over other peoples threads la, so paiseh now! Also I dont want to raise expectations that I am some saint mummy okay! lol sport-smiley-018.gif

and what's this about secret messages about me?!?!?! omg jawdrop.gifohmy.gifhelp.gif

Sleek, I don't simply praise people. If u hear me praising means it's really what I feel. If nothing good to say, I just keep quiet. If good, I sure will comment. Hehe... I am not quiet type.

Not saint mummy.... Just like the way you take care of your boys. Different ppl different type but the way you did, was one of my prefered style! :)

I am glad I met ppl online that can click and can see eye to eye. Haha....

Edited by May_dream1

Yep, think mine is next in line :) I'll keep everyone posted.

Was also great meeting RB last night for drinks - HUGE ang moh guy who had me in stitches telling me his experience with a Thai massage. Too funny. RB is great to get along with, superbly funny, and an incredibly sweet guy.

- Ely

Haha, huge huh. Better get back down to the gym ASAP then ;).

Great to finally put a face to the name with you and ED. Great finding out that BoyBlunder is moving very close to me as well so another person to meet up for a coffee or something stronger. It was great to see we were all fighting to talk most the time which is a great sign of people being very comfortable together and having a great time. So much a great time in fact that I was quite surprised when I saw the time on getting home. Wow, time really does fly when having fun. With us all living pretty close, it would be great to make a regular thing of it. I think you would get on fantastically with my wife too. She used to love clubbing too but has now hit that Aunty line too :P.

Same May was not able to join us. Hope you are feeling better now May.

We have a few things to get out of the way first but then we will have everyone over and also see if we can organise regular movie nights.

Great people, great night. Thanks for the heads up.

Now just have to get the hang of Whatsapp which I have finally got installed :D.

RB

OMG, my reply was eaten by the internetz!

seth, I concur that a cat would be a good low maintenance starter pet after the fish, bird, bunny range. They are really intelligent; with individual feelings, personalities and characteristics. With 4 former rescues , 2 of them a bro-sis pair I personally hand-raised, we can see their personalities shine through and how the girl-boy issue even influences animals! Not to scare you but I do have one OCD/ ADD type cat who has been officially diagnosed as one who would need medicating with anti depressants like a human but we dont since it is at a high cost and even the vets say it is up to us but we do use rescue remedy and just try to love him more.

Ely I totally forgot that I used to be a slave to WoW for 1 1/2 - 2 years, I cant even remember how long exactly as it was >4 years ago before my #1 arrived. The guild went through some big drama, broke apart , blah blah and it came at a opportune time since i was pregnant, so I quit the game all together. I miss those days but do keep in touch with some of the other loonies from then. I never did play on any localised servers as the hb initially created our toons on Doomhammer and so I stayed on there, he quit earlier then me lol, since I am an extreme night owl anyway the american time zone worked for me.

Wow, sleek, we do have many things in common! I'm a night owl too (which explains the dark eye rings~) - I just love the night and find that it's my most productive, which is how I instinctively got into US/EU/AU guilds. Also, have two rescue cats with me which are un-adoptable so I kept them. Like you, I tried Rescue Remedy, Richard's Organics and Feliway but nothing worked. He's now almost 4 yrs old and he's mellowed some. Still a very unpredictable cat, but much easier to live with after we allowed him to roam. The female who's almost 5 yrs old still hisses at me, and doesn't allow anyone but my younger brother (who is away in Australia) to touch her. Both of them were rescued as kittens but exhibited the traits early enough for me to keep them instead. I would hate that they go to someone who wouldn't practice the same kind of patience and kindness like you, sleek, and would eventually put them down or abandon them.

Like I was telling Seth, I'm extremely honest about the kittens I foster, and should any seem un-adoptable (temperament/health issues), I keep them. So, Seth, you're perfectly assured that I won't allow a crazy OCD cat to be rehomed :) I also adoption videos so potential adopters can see how they behave, play, without having to visit them in person. It gives a much better idea of what the kitten is like instead of a pretty picture and embellished write-up.

- Ely

ely is certainly the most gorgeous of us all. and like friends78, i too am captivated by her beauty. take a photo with the potato sack and let us know how it works out okay tongue.gif

It wasn't the mummy part I was refering to. Just you, as a person :)

And AIYOH, can you guys stop exaggerating the "captivation"!! RT-ers are going to have some false impression that I'm some head-turner or worse, Venus-incarnate or some kind of seductress! AHHH!!! It's just that I'm very fair lah!

- Ely

Haha, huge huh. Better get back down to the gym ASAP then ;).

Great to finally put a face to the name with you and ED. Great finding out that BoyBlunder is moving very close to me as well so another person to meet up for a coffee or something stronger. It was great to see we were all fighting to talk most the time which is a great sign of people being very comfortable together and having a great time. So much a great time in fact that I was quite surprised when I saw the time on getting home. Wow, time really does fly when having fun. With us all living pretty close, it would be great to make a regular thing of it. I think you would get on fantastically with my wife too. She used to love clubbing too but has now hit that Aunty line too :P.

Same May was not able to join us. Hope you are feeling better now May.

We have a few things to get out of the way first but then we will have everyone over and also see if we can organise regular movie nights.

Great people, great night. Thanks for the heads up.

Now just have to get the hang of Whatsapp which I have finally got installed :D.

RB

Haha, HUGE not in the fat-sense. There's a reason why I so politely squirmed into the back seat you know :)

Yeah, I was surprised how late it was when I got home, and still chuckling about how you were standing at Parkway waiting to meet someone else! :rofl: We had a great time last night too - simultaneously holding several conversations at once. Can't wait to meet your lovely Virgo wife, and your kids. I miss the days when I was referred to as "little sis"~

And good on you for getting Whatsapp! Finally, the laggard has hopped on the bandwagon.

- Aunty Ely

- Aunty Ely

Hello,

Since when you took over my 'title' and called yourself 'aunty'? If you are Aunty, then what am I? :(

Hello,

Since when you took over my 'title' and called yourself 'aunty'? If you are Aunty, then what am I? :(

Mae you are the revered (or more likely feared when it comes to workmen) aunty ;). Wise through experience. Knowledgeable through your successes in the face of adversity. I would use venerable but lots of people have the impression it just means old which it doesn't.

Ely is just a younger sister to us older ones. Funnily enough her husband and me are the same age and Ely is the same age as my wife (I think, you don't like to ask a lady these types of things).

I will not comment on Elys looks apart from saying that I believe Ely would feel more comfortable if people concentrated on the person she is rather than the outer appearance which is as good as the inner glow she radiates. Ely and her husband make a very nice well matched couple together. I wish them every success together.

Ok, enough back patting for now :P.

RB

Haha, HUGE not in the fat-sense. There's a reason why I so politely squirmed into the back seat you know :)

Yeah, I was surprised how late it was when I got home, and still chuckling about how you were standing at Parkway waiting to meet someone else! :rofl: We had a great time last night too - simultaneously holding several conversations at once. Can't wait to meet your lovely Virgo wife, and your kids. I miss the days when I was referred to as "little sis"~

And good on you for getting Whatsapp! Finally, the laggard has hopped on the bandwagon.

- Aunty Ely

oh geez, i must be the only one without whatsapp!

And I thought I was the last of a breed ;).

RB

Hehe, am totally outdated with my apps...... Will figure it out soon. Will need people to "whatsapp" with though!

Sethho:

Here's the infamous and hilarious Guide to Cats:

Enjoy!

- Ely

ROFL :sport-smiley-004: This is hilarious and geeky...lol

Your love for cats remind me of Angela in "The Office" (US version) :D

Just had dinner with Ader and mum + her sis. Brought up this subject and got shot down!

Looks like this will be an uphill battle that will take some time - I need reinforcement :help:

Fur and claw damages will be the main problem for her now, so I need to put forth rationalized and convincing arguments for our future 'debates' :P

Edited by sethho

Hello,

Oh Sis Mae,

You hardly look Aunty - more like a tai-tai! Classy cougar imo (no need Ah Pek) :P

Was actually referring to how strangers call me Aunty, when I used to be "Miss" (Xiao Jie) or "Lil Sis" (Xiao Mei). That really jolted me into the realisation of my mid-thirties! Sadness.

- Ely

Hehe, am totally outdated with my apps...... Will figure it out soon. Will need people to "whatsapp" with though!

patsy, whatsapp automatically tells you who on your phone book list already has it , am sure lotsa your friends will show up :)

Wow, sleek, we do have many things in common! I'm a night owl too (which explains the dark eye rings~) - I just love the night and find that it's my most productive, which is how I instinctively got into US/EU/AU guilds. Also, have two rescue cats with me which are un-adoptable so I kept them. Like you, I tried Rescue Remedy, Richard's Organics and Feliway but nothing worked. He's now almost 4 yrs old and he's mellowed some. Still a very unpredictable cat, but much easier to live with after we allowed him to roam. The female who's almost 5 yrs old still hisses at me, and doesn't allow anyone but my younger brother (who is away in Australia) to touch her. Both of them were rescued as kittens but exhibited the traits early enough for me to keep them instead. I would hate that they go to someone who wouldn't practice the same kind of patience and kindness like you, sleek, and would eventually put them down or abandon them.

- Ely

It wasn't the mummy part I was refering to. Just you, as a person :)

And AIYOH, can you guys stop exaggerating the "captivation"excl.gif RT-ers are going to have some false impression that I'm some head-turner or worse, Venus-incarnate or some kind of seductress! AHHH!excl.gif It's just that I'm very fair lah!

- Ely

wub.gif ely. thanks for the compliments. and yes quite a few similarities , if only i was as beautiful and with the sweetest most generous personality instead of being this yellow-faced perpetually angry & grumpy sahm :P

hmmmz, with both of us being so self deprecating. perhaps i should say that you are the most hideous creature i have ever seen in my entire life and you say i am the most insincere, 2faced person you have ever come across? rofl.gif

Just had dinner with Ader and mum + her sis. Brought up this subject and got shot down!

Looks like this will be an uphill battle that will take some time - I need reinforcement :help:

Fur and claw damages will be the main problem for her now, so I need to put forth rationalized and convincing arguments for our future 'debates' :P

Those are real issues to deal with, my hb actually hates the fur all over his stuff and barely tolerates the cats but he puts up with them cos of me and they will be delegated to the kitchen only for the new place. As for scratching, they've marked everything and anything they can get their paws on, we've been told that they should be given a designated scratching post and so will be trying that for the new place as well.

Ely, how do we limit their scratching everythning?