Ely1

The Best Journey Always Leads Us Home

Am I included? I'm going to post all the little stuff that I have bought for my hse over the weekend (Hope I can do it lah..so busy at work..and only randomly post little messages around nowadays).. Including two Simplehuman bins... Ha! Ha! *Scram*

You, reglxt, marshy, may dream - with the pretty kitchenaid mixers, the gorgeous ladders, the perfect built-in store room rack, the galore of drool-worthy partitions, the beautiful customised home sign, etc!! Ima not even read your t-blogs anymore! Can be seriously harmful to the wallet - I suggest you add disclaimers before you post any links! :D

-Ely

and i really really dig that pussy cat of yours!

is so pretty! totally a champion! <Neomesis>

That statement of yours which is meant to be a joke is utterly distasteful and disrespectful. You should retract that statement and apologize to the lady.

And I'm annoyed going to ignore the conntation. :P But yes, Bondi is a pretty kitty - he's coming home in 13 days!! I can't wait to see him!

sh*t, damage done.

no disrespect in anyways.

but retracted and duly apologies done.

and apologies if anyone out there is offended. my bad totally

:unsure:

Stop being a slacker and get to work on the HTS! /cracks whip

Very, very rarely at Great World but felt like I was passing out from excitement when I went to iwannagohome. Am planning a trip to Hommage before I confirm my choice of sofa.

I knew I HAD to get the Good Grips towel holder. It's looks as good as it's practicality. :D The soap squirting brush is more of a novelty, but the reviews are great, and it also means I'd need less hand cream! :D

there are still a few plans in the making for the house and i doubt, the HTS will draw good votes to have priority.

so yeap, in time to come ya!

you should head to greatword if you're around the area then.

molecule (the outlet goin to reno i think), iwannagohome and if you may like, lifestorey are all there!

and is not that a crowded shopping centre i think

OXO! XOXO!

Edited by ne0mesis

and i really really dig that pussy cat of yours!

is so pretty! totally a champion! <Neomesis>

That statement of yours which is meant to be a joke is utterly distasteful and disrespectful. You should retract that statement and apologize to the lady.

No harm done, ED. It takes a lot to offend me, and I think RB is right to say that I'm no doormat. (My previous posts last year regarding the HDB ruling is testament :P) But knowing someone has my back definitely is comforting :)

Whilst I have no wish to turn Elys T-Blog in to a passionate debate as to values of different generations and cultures, I do think that Ely is mature enough and well travelled enough to take it as it is meant without being offended. I am sure she has come across much worse in Oz.

If Ely has an issue with the light hearted comment then I am sure she will say.

Yes I am biting my tongue very hard to make sure I stop typing here..... :P .

Are you saying I'm old! :P

Humph.

But yes, definitely encountered worse, not just in Australia but here too, so certainly not a cultural debate. My friends come from all over the world, my best friend is Swedish, and with online gaming, my guild comprised mostly of Americans, Europeans and Australians.

"Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls. The most massive characters are seared with scars." - Khalil Gibran

-Ely

sh*t, damage done.

And gratefully accepted. No offense taken.

there are still a few plans in the making for the house and i doubt, the HTS will draw good votes to have priority.

so yeap, in time to come ya!

Oddly, that was one of FIRST things we bought for the house. I think our priorities are a little mixed up lol! We still don't have a couch, or coffee table, but are researching bookshelf speakers for our tube amp. I seriously need a reality check.

you should head to greatword if you're around the area then.

molecule (the outlet goin to reno i think), iwannagohome and if you may like, lifestorey are all there!

and is not that a crowded shopping centre i think

OXO! XOXO!

Never in that area. Made the special trip to see Molecule and iwannagohome - had a blast at Lifestorey too (hello, vanity chair! you're sooooo mine - need to return to get it). Moleclue was way out of our budget - $18k for a couch?!?! /cry Their cowhide rugs were $2k, and I managed to get them online at $288 each (with postage).

Having problems with vPost though - no towel rack registered as delivered though it was signed for on 30/03 - getting annoyed.

-Ely

hear a lot bout down under but well, that's another story totally eh.

but boy am i glad i can be my normal self.

almost had the whole liner typed out again but well, to placate and mollify ppl here, i shan't

hahaha

TGIF guys!

Am I included? I'm going to post all the little stuff that I have bought for my hse over the weekend (Hope I can do it lah..so busy at work..and only randomly post little messages around nowadays).. Including two Simplehuman bins... Ha! Ha! *Scram*

oh! so is your bro going to tell your mom about it? LOL :lol:

You, reglxt, marshy, may dream - with the pretty kitchenaid mixers, the gorgeous ladders, the perfect built-in store room rack, the galore of drool-worthy partitions, the beautiful customised home sign, etc!! Ima not even read your t-blogs anymore! Can be seriously harmful to the wallet - I suggest you add disclaimers before you post any links! :D

-Ely

also thanks to you and reglxt, now i'm starting to look at things like amazon.com.... oh! oh! :drunk:

Are you saying I'm old! :P

Humph.

LOL maturity doesn't necesarily be correlated to age~ hahaha :lol:

just wondering, why didn't you bring Bondi back to SG earlier? He must be missing you a lot in Oz~ :)

OXO! XOXO!

Strange name for the brand though as OXO in the UK is a brand of spices and stock cubes. There is also a building in London called The Oxo Tower which, if memory serves me, used to be a warehouse for Oxo products and was then converted in to flats with a trendy restaurant at the top with view over the Thames. The building got its name as it has a big OXO sign on the front.

Now.... for a bit of extra trivia, and those of a more 'delicate' nature may not want to click the link, there were a spate of reviews of this restaurant in a popular website which were very cleverly worded and could, if you understand the nuances of English well enough, take the review it to mean something else entirely. For a hint, the difference between 'taking someone to' a place and the other way it is phrased in the reviews is key. Yes I am being a bit vague as to not offend any blushing flowers who may be reading but I know my wife would find the humour in it so I would imagine some people here also might. The OxO tower comes highly recommended. A little blue but no pictures and not likely to offend, certainly no worse than any naughty joke my wife and her friends may swap when they think I cannot hear.

Quick edit. Taking a look at the Wikipedia article, someone has even managed to slip the double entendres under the reaction section.

Ok, I will leave you good folks alone now. Back to S&V forum.

RB

Edited by RimBlock

sh*t, damage done.

and apologies if anyone out there is offended. my bad totally

:unsure:

A gentleman you are. Words are sometimes said in a folly and I understand. Anyways, good on you.

3275692057_61143626df.jpg

Gosh! I love ur cat..so adorable. Pls dont tempt & make me regret.. :(

Im giving away my cat this week. He turning 7yrs old this december.. BUt he start to pee outside of his cage twice a day & my husband have to keep on washing the service balcony without fail. Few days now he keep to himself..he try to reach out to me whenever he saw me.. Guilty feeling lingering in me now :(

congo.jpg

You can find them at HomeFix at Marina Square :) I got mine online though.

-Ely

Hi Ely, congrats on your new home :)

Just curious - is simplehuman cheaper online as compared to getting them from HomeFix?

Strange name for the brand though as OXO in the UK is a brand of spices and stock cubes. There is also a building in London called The Oxo Tower which, if memory serves me, used to be a warehouse for Oxo products and was then converted in to flats with a trendy restaurant at the top with view over the Thames. The building got its name as it has a big OXO sign on the front.

Now.... for a bit of extra trivia, and those of a more 'delicate' nature may not want to click the link, there were a spate of reviews of this restaurant in a popular website which were very cleverly worded and could, if you understand the nuances of English well enough, take the review it to mean something else entirely. For a hint, the difference between 'taking someone to' a place and the other way it is phrased in the reviews is key. Yes I am being a bit vague as to not offend any blushing flowers who may be reading but I know my wife would find the humour in it so I would imagine some people here also might. The OxO tower comes highly recommended. A little blue but no pictures and not likely to offend, certainly no worse than any naughty joke my wife and her friends may swap when they think I cannot hear.

Quick edit. Taking a look at the Wikipedia article, someone has even managed to slip the double entendres under the reaction section.

Ok, I will leave you good folks alone now. Back to S&V forum.

RB

LOL! Too funny!

It's just like when I enter True Colours (makeup store) and say "Hi, can I have an Orgasm and a Deep Throat for my friend here?" (Nars' blusher colours...) So when people compliment me about my rosy glow, I always have to clarify it's "Orgasm" by Nars~

Cute kitty pic btw, here's to spread more love:

26929056-47f6-43a5-9676-914a0ddc61f7.jpg

-Ely

Gosh! I love ur cat..so adorable. Pls dont tempt & make me regret.. :(

Im giving away my cat this week. He turning 7yrs old this december.. BUt he start to pee outside of his cage twice a day & my husband have to keep on washing the service balcony without fail. Few days now he keep to himself..he try to reach out to me whenever he saw me.. Guilty feeling lingering in me now :(

congo.jpg

Please don't give away your cat :( There are ways to stop your cat from peeing/spraying. If he's suddenly doing it outside the litterbox, it's usually a sign of trouble - an underlying disease; the litterbox is not cleaned regularly enough; the placement of it is too near the food/bed etc. There is a repellent I use with community cats when I encounter residential complaints about cat spraying, and when they take their complaints to the town council to get the cats culled. You can buy it from Pet Lovers - do give it a try first. Repellents (even those meant for dogs) work like a charm, and I never receive follow-up complaints after. Use a solution of half vinegar and half water to remove the scent of cat pee (I know it isn't pleasant) and it may stop him from returning.

Your cat could also be depressed - try Feliway available at Pet Lovers too. It works for stressed out, frustrated cats and helps calm them down, and perfectly safe. Many people say the diffuser is more effective than the spray or droplets (Richard's Organics or something like that).

Sorry if I'm adding to your guilt but do try out some of these options first. I'm a HUGE animal advocate and volunteer with strays, and I know how low the adoption rate is. If you already have a good, loving forever home lined up for your boy, then it's all good. Otherwise a 7 yr old black cat (even though its long fur is a huge asset) is harder to adopt out - I foster animals, and ashamedly, I do select the ones I deem "adoptable" to foster. It is never an easy decision but I will end up a real crazy cat lady otherwise. Usually, it's the Caucasians who would consider a black cat.

Do PM me if you need more help, I'm more than happy to help you and your gorgeous puss. :)

LOL maturity doesn't necesarily be correlated to age~ hahaha :lol:

just wondering, why didn't you bring Bondi back to SG earlier? He must be missing you a lot in Oz~ :)

Feel old :( *sniffle*

I have two feral cats at my parents' place so unable to keep the peace. I tried with another female cat and even after an entire year of waking up to blood and fur splattered on the walls, I had to rehome the new addition. The two feral cats are... very different, and have very specific needs so they cannot be housed with another, even though I have 4 dogs, an Amazon parrot and fish here. Just brought home the male thug from the vet because he got so stressed out, he started to bite and claw himself till huge patches of his skin almost turned gangrenous! When I foster kittens, even for a few days, they wouldn't return home for weeks after so yeah, it was an extremely hard decision but I'm glad Bondi has been well taken of and I'm getting the apartment done up nicely for him to make it up to him! :P Maxey, the Chihuahua, returned home with me from Perth though - I knew he would fit right in with his gregarious, tolerating nature.

As the posts have been stemming in the direction of pets, here's a lively video of the last kitten I fostered (part of the volunteer work I do - He now lives at The Sail!! :o ) - Maxey was his nanny:

-Ely

Hi Ely, congrats on your new home :)

Just curious - is simplehuman cheaper online as compared to getting them from HomeFix?

To be honest, I haven't been to Homefix so I can't say. The simple slim caddy is US$12.99 and other with the pop-up is US$16 from Amazon. They're smaller and lighter items so I felt the shipping wouldn't be too high. It's just much easier clicking my mouse in my PJs while having my morning coffee! :lol: Hope this helps!

-Ely

DAY 44

Met up with ID AGAIN to go over my change of laminates and discussed my study nook by the kitchen island so I won't be isolated from the "family" when I'm on the computer a lot. Made some minor changes, and all for the better, I think - Definitely more "me" :)

There is now a heightened sense of excitement as things start to come together. Still fatigued though, and I haven't worked out at all this week from being ill the previous week so am feeling extremely sluggish and whale-like since I've been stuffing my face every night.

On a good note (pun intended), the wedding band has been engaged and it's going to be a 4-piece ensemble with a guitar and bass. The songlist has been prepared and it contains everything from Pink's Perfect to Lisa Ekdahl's The Colour of You, Journey's Don't Stop Believin', to Teresa Teng's I Only Care About You (since she is probably the only Mandarin singer I know...), as I'm hoping to cater to my 100-yr-old (yes, truly) grandfather, the teeny-bopper cousins and the Gen X peers.

Finally made the trip to Hommage and just got everything from there as it was much cheaper than what we've seen at Molecule (the next choice was FC at IMM), and the designs seemed modern enough. Got a 3-seater couch, an outdoor bar table with stools, a partition shelf, a coffee table, and a side table. All very cookie-cutter design so no pictures taken, especially since we were only flipping through catalogues. Shop was quite scary though, and The Husband almost didn't even want to go in. I felt like we were such spoilt brats, feeling freaked out we were buying furniture from a non-airconditioned store with pretty lights and plush settings! So, the reviews and recommendations from RT definitely helped, or else we wouldn't have stepped in!

I plan to return to iwannagohome, Lifestorey and Ikea to complete the furninishings and probably call the infamous Mr Chew for a quote for curtains/blinds next week. Missed the Audio House's sale, but went to Harvey Norman to finalise the delivery details and invoice as we made several additions and upgrades (the Time Manager washer).

- Electrical/white goods done!

- Laminates chosen! Carpentry to commence!

- All tiled with false ceilings and electrical outlets/lighting points!

- Furnishings almost done!

- Art, rugs and linen done!

- All shower fixtures/kitchen sinks/sanitary ware done!

- Roof done!

- HTS done!

Homework for next week:

Lightings

Switches

Rest of furnishings

Wheeeeeee! :sport-smiley-018:

Teeny tiny problem though: We have gone over our budget, with our purchases totalling almost 50k so we're getting stressed about how our over-spending will affect us. We can't afford to empty all our savings, and yet we tend to want the best of things. Very distressing. Ima go stuff face now~

P.S. I haven't been able to catch up with everyone else's blogs and I apologise - I promise to try to do so this weekend. There must be so much I've missed! So far, all my left over energy is expended on documenting my own t-blog but I do so want to be part of everyone's reno journey as well, like many of you have been part of mine.

OXOXO!

-Ely

DAY 44

Met up with ID AGAIN to go over my change of laminates and discussed my study nook by the kitchen island so I won't be isolated from the "family" when I'm on the computer a lot. Made some minor changes, and all for the better, I think - Definitely more "me" :)

There is now a heightened sense of excitement as things start to come together. Still fatigued though, and I haven't worked out at all this week from being ill the previous week so am feeling extremely sluggish and whale-like since I've been stuffing my face every night.

On a good note (pun intended), the wedding band has been engaged and it's going to be a 4-piece ensemble with a guitar and bass. The songlist has been prepared and it contains everything from Pink's Perfect to Lisa Ekdahl's The Colour of You, Journey's Don't Stop Believin', to Teresa Teng's I Only Care About You (since she is probably the only Mandarin singer I know...), as I'm hoping to cater to my 100-yr-old (yes, truly) grandfather, the teeny-bopper cousins and the Gen X peers.

Finally made the trip to Hommage and just got everything from there as it was much cheaper than what we've seen at Molecule (the next choice was FC at IMM), and the designs seemed modern enough. Got a 3-seater couch, an outdoor bar table with stools, a partition shelf, a coffee table, and a side table. All very cookie-cutter design so no pictures taken, especially since we were only flipping through catalogues. Shop was quite scary though, and The Husband almost didn't even want to go in. I felt like we were such spoilt brats, feeling freaked out we were buying furniture from a non-airconditioned store with pretty lights and plush settings! So, the reviews and recommendations from RT definitely helped, or else we wouldn't have stepped in!

I plan to return to iwannagohome, Lifestorey and Ikea to complete the furninishings and probably call the infamous Mr Chew for a quote for curtains/blinds next week. Missed the Audio House's sale, but went to Harvey Norman to finalise the delivery details and invoice as we made several additions and upgrades (the Time Manager washer).

- Electrical/white goods done!

- Laminates chosen! Carpentry to commence!

- All tiled with false ceilings and electrical outlets/lighting points!

- Furnishings almost done!

- Art, rugs and linen done!

- All shower fixtures/kitchen sinks/sanitary ware done!

- Roof done!

- HTS done!

Homework for next week:

Lightings

Switches

Rest of furnishings

Wheeeeeee! :sport-smiley-018:

Teeny tiny problem though: We have gone over our budget, with our purchases totalling almost 50k so we're getting stressed about how our over-spending will affect us. We can't afford to empty all our savings, and yet we tend to want the best of things. Very distressing. Ima go stuff face now~

P.S. I haven't been able to catch up with everyone else's blogs and I apologise - I promise to try to do so this weekend. There must be so much I've missed! So far, all my left over energy is expended on documenting my own t-blog but I do so want to be part of everyone's reno journey as well, like many of you have been part of mine.

OXOXO!

i can understand how you feel. for me, that heightened sense of excitement soon = a humbling achievement and experience when the id handed the key to me at my newly renovated place. it gets emotional. so PSE, will you pse grab that piece of tissue for me? OOO gggeeeee *blows nose* seems like just yesterday

for awhile, i mistaken your Lisa Ekdahl and Erykah Badu. always confuse the two just looking at the Ekdahl and Erykah.

i had Lisa Ekdahl "River of Love" playing in the background during my ROM ceremony! oo that lil greeneries outside the glass house, that soft splashing of the cascading water, that sun, my wife.. oooo then i had the entire album of Sofia from A Girl Meets Bossanova played inside the restaurant.. oooo so PSE, THERE, overthere... that box of tissue papers. for me? OOO gggeeeee *blows nose* seems like just yesterday

i tried to catch hold of the Mr Chew a few times but to no avail. he's always busy! nt sure i'm "suay" or what. but i said this and i'm gonna say this again. there are examples of many RT created tragic heros here. from nobody to a who's who in this community but their success turns out to their surest demise too - poor follow up, complacent blah blah blah. but this is my imho strictly

there's a much talked about place in RT to go for switches - CCM. much cheaper or so i heard. so head there. you never know.

is also da place to get the much talked about eubiq.

budget wise, i have little to start of too. but wife and i also shamelessly NOT admit that we are whores to designer chic, visually nice and performance not compromised products. so here we are, many things not settled not bought because we know very well is a good-to-have, not a must-have. so those can wait when the pockets recover. hope it helps