Soichiro

How Do You Group Your Switches To Your Downlights?

I'm planning the switches to my downlights in living room area...

10 downlights as shown below, with TV on left, couch on right, and balcony on top.

- x - x - x -

x --------- x

- x - x - x -

Will want to group the lights as I won't have every light on all the time.

Thinking of this grouping.. but 4 switches maybe too much?

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

Anyone with experience with this, care to share the practical reasons for your arrangement?

I'm planning the switches to my downlights in living room area...

10 downlights as shown below, with TV on left, couch on right, and balcony on top.

- x - x - x -

x --------- x

- x - x - x -

Will want to group the lights as I won't have every light on all the time.

Thinking of this grouping.. but 4 switches maybe too much?

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

Anyone with experience with this, care to share the practical reasons for your arrangement?

actually i think your current arrangement with 4 switches is okie leh, my previous place also 4 switches for just one living room.

better to plan for more switches now than not be able to switch off when you want to, rite? ;)

Eventually depends on usage pattern I guess! Will meet electrician tmr to discuss on this, maybe he will have some practical suggestion too :)

Ok screwed up... electrician did the grouping much earlier and false ceiling already installed, even though contractor was informed early.

Now I seem stuck with

- 3 - 3 - 3 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 4 - 4 -

Anyone did something like this before? I don't think it makes sense to have just one part of the room bright when I just want a dimmer room sometimes.

Ok screwed up... electrician did the grouping much earlier and false ceiling already installed, even though contractor was informed early.

Now I seem stuck with

- 3 - 3 - 3 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 4 - 4 -

Anyone did something like this before? I don't think it makes sense to have just one part of the room bright when I just want a dimmer room sometimes.

Pardon my question :)

This means

3-3-3 will have one switch for top right side?

1-1 will have one switch for left corner side?

2-2 will have one switch for right corner side?

4-4-4 will have one switch for bottom right side?

Why dont want group 1-1 and 2-2 with one switch? And 3-3-3 and 4-4-4 another switch? At least when switch on 1 switch, the living room should have enough dim light coz at one point of time got 2 ends have the lighting. That is to say 3-3-3 and 4-4-4 will on togther or 1-1 and 2-2 will on togther. Hope u know what i trying to say. Hahaha

Edited by endlssorrow

Pardon my question :)

This means

3-3-3 will have one switch for top right side?

1-1 will have one switch for left corner side?

2-2 will have one switch for right corner side?

4-4-4 will have one switch for bottom right side?

Why dont want group 1-1 and 2-2 with one switch? And 3-3-3 and 4-4-4 another switch? At least when switch on 1 switch, the living room should have enough dim light coz at one point of time got 2 ends have the lighting. That is to say 3-3-3 and 4-4-4 will on togther or 1-1 and 2-2 will on togther. Hope u know what i trying to say. Hahaha

Yup correct. 1-1 is the location of TV, I may not want both 1-1 and 2-2 on at the same time because of the TV lor, keep the TV area dark when watching TV.

Actually got my contractor to correct the grouping to this:

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

For dim lighting, I would just switch on 3-3 or 2-2 when watching tv.

ur 3-3-3 and 4-4-4 got what thing below?

1-1 is tv and 2-2 is sofa right?

33 4444 empty. Just to light up the room. yup 1-1 tv and 2-2 sofa~~

then y 3 & 4 dun wan combine as one switch?

That layout was changed leh. Now I have 3-3 separate to have dimmer lighting in the middle

- 4 - 3 - 4 -

1 --------- 2

- 4 - 3 - 4 -