tangerinez

K+k's Home

i think it's useful to go for the marriage prep course. In fact, I've recommended it to some of my friends/colleagues... coz i think they have "problems" talking abt finances with the other halves...

wife wanted to go more, but i'm quite cool abt it... coz i think we already covered a lot of the discussion pts... but it's gd to go and do a "relationship inventory check"...

it's not related to religion... it's offered by Fei Yue Community Services... non-religion-related... covers very fundamental stuffs like communication, conflict management, in-laws, finance, sex & intimacy, parenting, etc...

in fact, the areas we both didn't talk abt much is spirituality and religion... coz we both are free thinkers... LOL...

let me know, if you have shortlisted your HTS... :P... lazy to think... i might really just get a standard package from onkyo or so.. at $1.5K or less.. :P

yea, i think marriage counseling is cool but the mr don't think so. let's see how i can try to talk him into it slowly. it's a one day course? (sorry i can google for it. just haven't done it yet)

on the very next day we actually went down to HN to audition the $1.5k onkyo setup! haha... we weren't impressed by it but maybe it's cos the setup is in an open area, not enclosed and curtained like the other systems so a little unfair to judge.

then we tried onkyo 508 + jamo speakers. not so good cos there is no tweeter and the high notes in vocals doesn't stand out.

then we tried onkyo 608 + mirage speakers. good in both music and movies.

still can't decide what to get.

most probably going down to Adelphi to test A'diva and KEF speakers, as recommended by someone from RT.

Hi there, what are they going to do for HT installation that needs charging you $599? Are you doing a lot of concealed cables or something which requires specialist tools? Careful of the "expert" sprouting "black magic" jargon about the complexity of such home systems. for the kind of money the average joe is spending on his HTS, it really isn't rocket science and is generally designed to be easy to install and tune...the satisfaction and bragging rights you'll get from your installation...priceless!

Re the marriage counselling: its a very interesting concept; did not have such stuff in my day. The deal I struck with "her who shall be obeyed" (aka the missus) is that I bring home the money, it goes into a joint account and she looks after all the bills/saving etc. seems to have worked well for the last 20yrs ;) . She keeps my wallet topped up so I don't run out of cash; great stuff. I am not ethnic Chinese but my wife is and her sisters were horrified that she did not have any "see gay cheen" i.e. personal cash in Cantonese. We still laugh many years later that she doesn't need it as she has all our money anyway :unsure: . One rule we do have which has worked through the years is to try not to go to bed mad with each other. Usually works well as both sides normally only argue because they don't understand each other.

AVone charges $450 for installation and it's just the HTS! I also dunno what it is they do. They say they will do free on site visit prior to installation. Provide "ID" services where they work with the carpenter to suggest design of TV console to house the systems. Work with electrician and advise where to lay the cables etc.

I suggested exactly the same thing to the mr! That he puts his earnings into our joint account and I will manage the bills and make sure he has enough to spend when he goes out. But he is dead against it. Haha... So we agreed on another arrangement instead.

Agreeing to not go to bed mad at each other sounds like a simple thing but it's never really came across my mind before. Thanks for this, I'll take note!

My fren's sis is working in Fei Yue as a counseller :) it's a Christian organisation but they provide community service to everyone, regardless of religion ;)

it's very good to go for marriage prep course. i also encourage my frens to go... sometimes some couples have been together for years and yet they can still discover hidden issues that they have not been addressed on~ it's good to realise and talk about early before marriage :)

oh i didn't know fei yue is a christian organization. it actually sounded quite 'buddhist' to me. ok, i'm going to google it next.

yea, i think marriage counseling is cool but the mr don't think so. let's see how i can try to talk him into it slowly. it's a one day course? (sorry i can google for it. just haven't done it yet)

on the very next day we actually went down to HN to audition the $1.5k onkyo setup! haha... we weren't impressed by it but maybe it's cos the setup is in an open area, not enclosed and curtained like the other systems so a little unfair to judge.

then we tried onkyo 508 + jamo speakers. not so good cos there is no tweeter and the high notes in vocals doesn't stand out.

then we tried onkyo 608 + mirage speakers. good in both music and movies.

still can't decide what to get.

most probably going down to Adelphi to test A'diva and KEF speakers, as recommended by someone from RT.

LOL...

The marriage prep course is 2 consecutive saturdays, 1-5pm.

http://www.fycs.org/

the onkyo 508 package i tested at HN @ Funan Centre basement, was inside the enclosed glass room...

of coz cannot compare with the"audiophile" kits at Adelphi...

didn't try the mirage or jamo speakers...

anyway, i popped by after work today, to go down to Adelphi again...

RimBlock recommended me a few 5.1 packages that I can try out.. which is within my budget (~$2K, incl AVR).

Tested the Q Acoustic 2000 cinema package + Onkyo 608 at KEC... quoted abt $1.6K for the speaker set... with the 608, it will be $2177.

seems quite ok...

but i think the pro-cinema 800 with denon avr1911... it's still the best so far...

I tested the Heco (German-based) Victa 5.1 home theatre series ($1999) @ AV One...

a bit out of my range...

I'll be looking at the following speaker package:

1. Q Acoustics 2000 Series

2. NHT Super Surround

3. Tannoy HTS 100

AVR likely to just get the Onkyo 608.... I'm too noob for this le... sigh...

oh i didn't know fei yue is a christian organization. it actually sounded quite 'buddhist' to me. ok, i'm going to google it next.

Yup, they are. My friends used to work there before they left to be full time in my church. :)

LOL...

The marriage prep course is 2 consecutive saturdays, 1-5pm.

http://www.fycs.org/

the onkyo 508 package i tested at HN @ Funan Centre basement, was inside the enclosed glass room...

of coz cannot compare with the"audiophile" kits at Adelphi...

didn't try the mirage or jamo speakers...

anyway, i popped by after work today, to go down to Adelphi again...

RimBlock recommended me a few 5.1 packages that I can try out.. which is within my budget (~$2K, incl AVR).

Tested the Q Acoustic 2000 cinema package + Onkyo 608 at KEC... quoted abt $1.6K for the speaker set... with the 608, it will be $2177.

seems quite ok...

but i think the pro-cinema 800 with denon avr1911... it's still the best so far...

I tested the Heco (German-based) Victa 5.1 home theatre series ($1999) @ AV One...

a bit out of my range...

I'll be looking at the following speaker package:

1. Q Acoustics 2000 Series

2. NHT Super Surround

3. Tannoy HTS 100

AVR likely to just get the Onkyo 608.... I'm too noob for this le... sigh...

you tested Heco!!!! if the price was friendlier, do you like it? till today, i am still dreaming about the Heco speakers! absolutely love it. the mr thinks that i am only lusting after its looks (chio lor!) but i like to think that i am attracted by the vocal details. because of my budget constraints, AVone paired the Heco front speakers with Morel satellite speakers but I'm hesitating because Morel doesn't seem to have good feedback (though it sounded fine to me). IMHO, Heco beats Pro Cinema 800.

the $2177 package sounds interesting. maybe I'll check it out too. i wonder if Jack will be impatient if I keep going down to audition but can never make up my mind to buy? LOL

You sure onkyo 608 is in stock? HN says they don't have any left and I thought that must be the reason why KEC keep recommending 508 instead of 608. The 609 will be out in April.

I thought Tannoy is a lot more expensive?

you tested Heco!!!! if the price was friendlier, do you like it? till today, i am still dreaming about the Heco speakers! absolutely love it. the mr thinks that i am only lusting after its looks (chio lor!) but i like to think that i am attracted by the vocal details. because of my budget constraints, AVone paired the Heco front speakers with Morel satellite speakers but I'm hesitating because Morel doesn't seem to have good feedback (though it sounded fine to me). IMHO, Heco beats Pro Cinema 800.

the $2177 package sounds interesting. maybe I'll check it out too. i wonder if Jack will be impatient if I keep going down to audition but can never make up my mind to buy? LOL

You sure onkyo 608 is in stock? HN says they don't have any left and I thought that must be the reason why KEC keep recommending 508 instead of 608. The 609 will be out in April.

I thought Tannoy is a lot more expensive?

You know what?

If you have similar budget like mine,

maybe we can group-buy to get more discounts?

I'm pretty flexible abt the choices, but don't want satellites... think they are too small for my living room...

I actually prefer the floorstanders... :P

I was served by Jack last Sat; today I was served by Dennis.

for the Q Acoustics 2000 5.1 package, if i were to take the floorstanders, it will be 900 more...

http://www.qacoustics.co.uk/2000.htm

If i were to take the 1000 series (with floorstanders, and onkyo 608), it will be $2335.

yeah... Dennis was like telling me, the 609 will be out very soon...

the Heco definitely looks more chio and solid-built... but w/o AVR, it's already almost $2K...

if your budget is $3K, can consider that over Pro 800 + denon 1911 lor... :P

Tannoy HTS 100

Actually I checked out the NHT speaker too.

but it's not the NHT Super Surround 5.1 that I'm looking for...

but the Verve series..

NHT Verve 5.1

Front L/R (a pair) - $789

Surround Sound (a pair) - $669

Center - $599

Sub - $1200

5.1 package - $2280

Onkyo 608 - $500

Can't remember which shop le... but think on the 2nd level one...AL Audio or wat...

Oh ya, your house so big hor.

My HTS is meant to be in the entertainment room, which is only 4m x 4m, so a powerful satellite is actually more than sufficient.

Maybe I should just go around testing different AVRs with Heco!

Let's take some time (if you are not in a rush) to check out the different configs and then decide whether we can try group buy?

You guys are so fast!

We are collecting our keys on 6 April and we have not visited anyone or sent floorplans to anyone yet!

With the wedding exactly 1 month after the reno, we are contemplating only starting on the reno after the wedding (and minimoon), ie. 3rd week of May instead....

After seeing all the finished product here, I want to start earlier too! :)

But HTB's swamped with work and he's leading the renovation (I'm project lead for the wedding), so I don't dare to rush him too much too....

You guys are so fast!

We are collecting our keys on 6 April and we have not visited anyone or sent floorplans to anyone yet!

With the wedding exactly 1 month after the reno, we are contemplating only starting on the reno after the wedding (and minimoon), ie. 3rd week of May instead....

But HTB's swamped with work and he's leading the renovation (I'm project lead for the wedding), so I don't dare to rush him too much too....

hello!

yea, i guess better don't rush your HTB. maybe can just casually mention to him that other couples in similar situation like you two have already started work?

i think if you really want, you can start going to ID or contractors for some ideas and quotations. they take a REALLY long time to get back (or some just MIA).

so nice, minimoon... i don't know when i'm going for my "anymoon"!

hello!

yea, i guess better don't rush your HTB. maybe can just casually mention to him that other couples in similar situation like you two have already started work?

i think if you really want, you can start going to ID or contractors for some ideas and quotations. they take a REALLY long time to get back (or some just MIA).

so nice, minimoon... i don't know when i'm going for my "anymoon"!

Honeymoon is where both can relax and have quality time together. Maybe after your house Reno, it could be the best place on earth. Hehe..

i'd say nothing beats staying in your own nest right after wedding :) BUT, but, if you are not in a hurry to move, and reno + wedding are going to be in the same time frame, then better to reno after wedding....

speaking from experience... we started reno in early Jun, wedding in end July. Moved in just 5 days before wedding.... we almost DIED from exhaustion... :wacko: and now we looked back and wonder how on earth did we actually made it, it was simply crazy~ :lol:

Honeymoon is where both can relax and have quality time together. Maybe after your house Reno, it could be the best place on earth. Hehe..

i'd say nothing beats staying in your own nest right after wedding :) BUT, but, if you are not in a hurry to move, and reno + wedding are going to be in the same time frame, then better to reno after wedding....

Hmmm, true true.... :yamseng:

i'm hoping to get a 5.1 HTS + projector + screen for $5K... :(

Its possible.. Projector can get from Amazon (US). They do shipping to SG. U like Epson? See the Home Cinema 8350. Incl shipping i think is S$1600+. Way cheaper than if u get from any shops in SG. Downside is no warranty as it US retail. But I think for Epson won't kaput in 1 yr la... U can also buy spare bulb from US or buy from Epson SG if they got stock for this model.

HiFi speakers get 2nd hand if u can.. like most electronic items, once out the shop door, the price will drop 70% immed. So for some good but a bit older speakers, u can get bargains.

For amps, i prefer buy new bec of the new tech that comes out so fast.. the 2nd hand speakers shld be able to take the new amp if the speakers not too old or amp not too powderful la.. hehe...

All in, i think can even cost below S$4k (incl cables).. but price is not all there is to it la.. bec we all itchy backside and always wan new n best-est stuff, so will pay thru our nose for it! hahaha.. been there, done that.. :good: