lazybum9 1 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 yup, its always better to be recommended by someone here. And pricing usually will better as well. Ely, i sent you a pm regarding your washing machine. no reply from you yet. I do not want to buy on impulse.... but for this time, just want to be extra sure.... hehehehe.... but not for me leh...some recommended here charge me an arm & leg... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 but not for me leh...some recommended here charge me an arm & leg... maybe they got big headed from the advertising here.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 this is a post copied and pasted from the electronics sub-forum: need some comments from all of you pls went to Adelphi today and spent a good 4 hrs in just 2 different shops auditioning the HTS. to be frank, we don't know what we want from our HTS. in our current lifestyle, the boyfriend and i do not watch movies at home and do not listen to music at home. not because we don't enjoy them, but because we don't stay together so don't have the time to incorporate these activities into our lifestyle. the HTS will be in the entertainment room which is approx 4m x 4m and we need 2m x 1.6m to place a drumset, and another small area to place a digital piano. hence the sofa will prob be placed about 2.5 to 3m away from the TV. our budget is 3k for a AVR, speakers and sub-woofer. after 4 hours in 2 different shops, we are recommended the 2 set-ups below: 1) Denon AVR 1911 + Pro Cinema 800 2) Marantz NR-1601 AVR + Morel Soundspot SP-1 satellite speakers + Morel Soundsub PSW8 Subwoofer + Heco Victa 300 speakers The 2nd set is more expensive than the 1st set by $540. While auditioning the 1st set, we mixed and matched with Onkyo 508 and Wharfedale speakers. Pardon my noob language here. We tried Onkyo + Pro Cinema 600 and felt the bass was not strong enough. So we switched to Onkyo + Pro Cinema 800 and of course it was slightly better. Then we tried Denon + Pro Cinema 800 and preferred this to Onkyo. Then we tried music instead of movie and loved the crisp sound from Denon. When we switched back to Onkyo, the music sounded very muffled. Therefore we shortlisted Denon over Onkyo. As for the 2nd set, it seemed that for movies, it has less bass than Denon. But the surround sound seems clearer. Music from just the Heco speakers is really nice. Now we are really confused: 1) everyone in RT seems to favour Onkyo but we didn't like it compared to Denon. something wrong with our ears? 2) love the sounds from Heco but it doesn't seem to be popular here? 3) saw some comments here that suggests morel is overpriced? (note i didn't really care that it looked better but it was the only speakers that this shop recommended) any comments are greatly appreciated! thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 but not for me leh...some recommended here charge me an arm & leg... maybe what you are doing is a lot leh? you still haven't choose your ID/contractor meh?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 finally, some serious updates. 09.03.11 - Fengshui Audit it was a nervous day for me. when we were searching for our house, we sent the floorplans of the houses which we like to the geomancer and have his approval/disapproval before proceeding to make an offer. but for the house which we bought eventually, we didn't send the floorplan for his approval. reason is we learnt the hard way that we cannot wait. if we love the house we must make an offer quickly. so based on the basic knowledge which i learnt from the previous approvals/disapprovals from the geomancer, i myself 'approved' the house's fengshui. hence i was really worried that the house is actually not suitable for us. well, it turned out that the toilets are indeed not very ideal but luckily not in the worst sector. so supposedly it can be remedied by installing mirror doors to make them 'invisible'. phew. we've never met the geomancer before and he turned out to be a really friendly looking person who looks a little young (40 y/o). apparently the house (other than the toilets) is good for us and just needed a few things to enhance. i've done up a simple layout of the things that are required: (* the altar were not 'required' by fengshui. but we wanted them and we were recommended to place them in the respective positions) when we left the house, it was drizzling and the mr commented that it's a pity that it was a rainy day (house not bright enough) and the geomancer commented that drizzling is GOOD! apparently many of his clients request him to do an audit when it's raining but of course he can't control the weather so he said it was a really good sign for us. well, i dunno how true it is, but i certainly felt extremely pleased upon hearing this comment! hee... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 by the way i love your blog and the details you provide. i went to adelphi today and the first stop was KEC and it's all cos i read your post on the HTS. heh. LOL! I was at Adelphi, KEC to audition the systems too... decided that I'm not an enthusiast or audiophile, just a simple consumer... thinking of just getting one of the packages which is within my budget and sounds gd enough for our ears (coz we seriously cannot tell the difference)... Auditioned the following at KEC: 1. Wharfedale Diamond 10HCP + Onkyo TX-SR508 2. DefTech Pro Cinema 800 + Denon AVR-1911 3. DefTech Pro Cinema 600 + Denon AVR-1611 felt that the Pro Cinema 800 really got difference... esp when listening to music... but that one also one of the more $$$ one... at the same time, I also audition their Epson TW3600 home cinema projector... really looks gd!! and i think my wife is convinced! will be a great addition to the living room, esp when we play our Wii with rock band (or X-box with kinect, next time)... or watching blu-ray movies! the dream combo which includes the item 2 + Epson TW3600 + 100" screen + installation will set me back $6.5K.... I later then went over to Harvey Norman to audition the slightly consumerist brands (Yamaha, Onkyo). 1. Yamaha MHT-6673 2. Onkyo TX-SR508 + SKS-HT728 i'm hoping to get a 5.1 HTS + projector + screen for $5K... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 Now we are really confused: 1) everyone in RT seems to favour Onkyo but we didn't like it compared to Denon. something wrong with our ears? 2) love the sounds from Heco but it doesn't seem to be popular here? 3) saw some comments here that suggests morel is overpriced? (note i didn't really care that it looked better but it was the only speakers that this shop recommended) any comments are greatly appreciated! thanks! hi! for qns 1, i also think a lot of ppl recommend Onkyo... esp the 608... but seriously, i also don't know why it's so gd... but yes when comparing the denon to onkyo for music, we did feel that the onkyo was inferior... like you've mentioned the bass sounded muffled. but for viewing movies, it felt ok... so i think it's back to what people say lor... how you going to use the HTS... more for movies or for music... etc... when I was at Harvey Norman, I was auditioning the standard Onkyo 508 package set... it actually felt ok.. for the price... which is like < $1.5K? for a 5.1... left & right is floorstander kind... and with an active sub... I think i'm quite lost too... but would really like to keep my budget for 5.1 HTS, home cinema projector, projector screen to <$5K... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 LOL! I was at Adelphi, KEC to audition the systems too... decided that I'm not an enthusiast or audiophile, just a simple consumer... thinking of just getting one of the packages which is within my budget and sounds gd enough for our ears (coz we seriously cannot tell the difference)... Auditioned the following at KEC: 1. Wharfedale Diamond 10HCP + Onkyo TX-SR508 2. DefTech Pro Cinema 800 + Denon AVR-1911 3. DefTech Pro Cinema 600 + Denon AVR-1611 felt that the Pro Cinema 800 really got difference... esp when listening to music... but that one also one of the more $$$ one... at the same time, I also audition their Epson TW3600 home cinema projector... really looks gd!! and i think my wife is convinced! will be a great addition to the living room, esp when we play our Wii with rock band (or X-box with kinect, next time)... or watching blu-ray movies! the dream combo which includes the item 2 + Epson TW3600 + 100" screen + installation will set me back $6.5K.... I later then went over to Harvey Norman to audition the slightly consumerist brands (Yamaha, Onkyo). 1. Yamaha MHT-6673 2. Onkyo TX-SR508 + SKS-HT728 i'm hoping to get a 5.1 HTS + projector + screen for $5K... haha, such coincidence! what time were you there? didn't see any other couple there (i think). we were there at around 3pm. how much did KEC quote you for item 2? we auditioned a combi of 1 and 2 (4 permutations) and item 2 is still the best. price also the 'best' haha. glad for you that your wife is convinced! for us it's the other way round. i told the mr about 100" screen and projector and he said i siao! now he keep asking me why i need to buy 3k HTS. sigh... with your budget, maybe you can try to settle for a lower-end HTS? i think the projector and screen will be more costly to replace so buy a better one now? just my 2 cents. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 i always believe to go for what you feel its the best. it may be so happens that the people who frequent here favours Onkyo. just take the feedbacks with a pinch of salt. yea, i think i will go with my 'feelings' eventually. the cons of research - getting confused by what reviews! haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 (edited) csingeu, $1.5k sounds like a good buy! esp when your ears like it... with this, should be able to fit into the 5k budget? Edited March 12, 2011 by tangerinez Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 haha, such coincidence! what time were you there? didn't see any other couple there (i think). we were there at around 3pm. how much did KEC quote you for item 2? we auditioned a combi of 1 and 2 (4 permutations) and item 2 is still the best. price also the 'best' haha. glad for you that your wife is convinced! for us it's the other way round. i told the mr about 100" screen and projector and he said i siao! now he keep asking me why i need to buy 3k HTS. sigh... with your budget, maybe you can try to settle for a lower-end HTS? i think the projector and screen will be more costly to replace so buy a better one now? just my 2 cents. Oh... We went there after dinner, after 6-7pm... was having marriage prep course from 1-5pm... though we already ROM-ed le... LOL... KEC quoted me standard price lor... $2750... I didn't bargain hard for discounts la... did they offer you a better price? Yes... I do agree item 2 is the best, among the few we listened to... YEAH!... coz all the while, when my wife thinks of projector... she's thinking of those lousy data projector she was using in office, where the resolution is crappy... but when she saw the actual demo (first at RimBlock's place & now here), she's happy with the image and display. yes... will be looking at a 5.1 HTS which is less than $2K... won't be super gd... but see how la... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 KEC quoted me standard price lor... $2750... I didn't bargain hard for discounts la... did they offer you a better price? Yes... I do agree item 2 is the best, among the few we listened to... $2700 inclusive of installation i think (which is $80). otherwise it would be $2830. we didn't exactly bargain too. just asked whether this is the best price. didn't bargain further cos not intending to buy on the spot. heh... marriage counseling is cool! did you or your wife wanted to go more? is this related to religion? i want to go too but i think my boyfriend will never agree! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2011 $2700 inclusive of installation i think (which is $80). otherwise it would be $2830. we didn't exactly bargain too. just asked whether this is the best price. didn't bargain further cos not intending to buy on the spot. heh... marriage counseling is cool! did you or your wife wanted to go more? is this related to religion? i want to go too but i think my boyfriend will never agree! ohh.. coz i also not intending to buy on spot... so nv pressed for discounts.. plus i was buying as a package together with the projector and screen. The package deal was 1. Pro 800 + Denon AVR 1911 - $2750 2. Epson 3600 - $2699 3. 100" projector screen (manual) - $500 4. installation fee (overall) - $599 Total: $6548 Jack offered me $6500... which I thought could have more discount lor... since I'm buying quite a bit of stuffs... $48 is like no discount lor... plus $599 for installation is quite $$$.... anyway, the epson 3500, which RimBlock has gotten, was abt $2.3K ... if i'm not wrong... they said... no more 3500 le... sigh.. i think it's useful to go for the marriage prep course. In fact, I've recommended it to some of my friends/colleagues... coz i think they have "problems" talking abt finances with the other halves... wife wanted to go more, but i'm quite cool abt it... coz i think we already covered a lot of the discussion pts... but it's gd to go and do a "relationship inventory check"... it's not related to religion... it's offered by Fei Yue Community Services... non-religion-related... covers very fundamental stuffs like communication, conflict management, in-laws, finance, sex & intimacy, parenting, etc... in fact, the areas we both didn't talk abt much is spirituality and religion... coz we both are free thinkers... LOL... let me know, if you have shortlisted your HTS... ... lazy to think... i might really just get a standard package from onkyo or so.. at $1.5K or less.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rmgthatsme 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2011 ohh.. coz i also not intending to buy on spot... so nv pressed for discounts.. plus i was buying as a package together with the projector and screen. The package deal was 1. Pro 800 + Denon AVR 1911 - $2750 2. Epson 3600 - $2699 3. 100" projector screen (manual) - $500 4. installation fee (overall) - $599 Total: $6548 Jack offered me $6500... which I thought could have more discount lor... since I'm buying quite a bit of stuffs... $48 is like no discount lor... plus $599 for installation is quite $$$.... anyway, the epson 3500, which RimBlock has gotten, was abt $2.3K ... if i'm not wrong... they said... no more 3500 le... sigh.. i think it's useful to go for the marriage prep course. In fact, I've recommended it to some of my friends/colleagues... coz i think they have "problems" talking abt finances with the other halves... wife wanted to go more, but i'm quite cool abt it... coz i think we already covered a lot of the discussion pts... but it's gd to go and do a "relationship inventory check"... it's not related to religion... it's offered by Fei Yue Community Services... non-religion-related... covers very fundamental stuffs like communication, conflict management, in-laws, finance, sex & intimacy, parenting, etc... in fact, the areas we both didn't talk abt much is spirituality and religion... coz we both are free thinkers... LOL... let me know, if you have shortlisted your HTS... ... lazy to think... i might really just get a standard package from onkyo or so.. at $1.5K or less.. Hi there, what are they going to do for HT installation that needs charging you $599? Are you doing a lot of concealed cables or something which requires specialist tools? Careful of the "expert" sprouting "black magic" jargon about the complexity of such home systems. for the kind of money the average joe is spending on his HTS, it really isn't rocket science and is generally designed to be easy to install and tune...the satisfaction and bragging rights you'll get from your installation...priceless! Re the marriage counselling: its a very interesting concept; did not have such stuff in my day. The deal I struck with "her who shall be obeyed" (aka the missus) is that I bring home the money, it goes into a joint account and she looks after all the bills/saving etc. seems to have worked well for the last 20yrs . She keeps my wallet topped up so I don't run out of cash; great stuff. I am not ethnic Chinese but my wife is and her sisters were horrified that she did not have any "see gay cheen" i.e. personal cash in Cantonese. We still laugh many years later that she doesn't need it as she has all our money anyway . One rule we do have which has worked through the years is to try not to go to bed mad with each other. Usually works well as both sides normally only argue because they don't understand each other. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted March 15, 2011 i think it's useful to go for the marriage prep course. In fact, I've recommended it to some of my friends/colleagues... coz i think they have "problems" talking abt finances with the other halves... wife wanted to go more, but i'm quite cool abt it... coz i think we already covered a lot of the discussion pts... but it's gd to go and do a "relationship inventory check"... it's not related to religion... it's offered by Fei Yue Community Services... non-religion-related... covers very fundamental stuffs like communication, conflict management, in-laws, finance, sex & intimacy, parenting, etc... in fact, the areas we both didn't talk abt much is spirituality and religion... coz we both are free thinkers... LOL... Re the marriage counselling: its a very interesting concept; did not have such stuff in my day. The deal I struck with "her who shall be obeyed" (aka the missus) is that I bring home the money, it goes into a joint account and she looks after all the bills/saving etc. seems to have worked well for the last 20yrs . She keeps my wallet topped up so I don't run out of cash; great stuff. I am not ethnic Chinese but my wife is and her sisters were horrified that she did not have any "see gay cheen" i.e. personal cash in Cantonese. We still laugh many years later that she doesn't need it as she has all our money anyway . One rule we do have which has worked through the years is to try not to go to bed mad with each other. Usually works well as both sides normally only argue because they don't understand each other. My fren's sis is working in Fei Yue as a counseller it's a Christian organisation but they provide community service to everyone, regardless of religion it's very good to go for marriage prep course. i also encourage my frens to go... sometimes some couples have been together for years and yet they can still discover hidden issues that they have not been addressed on~ it's good to realise and talk about early before marriage Share this post Link to post Share on other sites