tangerinez

K+k's Home

but i think it will look great as a feature wall too (and might not be overly $$$), if area not very big and planned properly lor. :)

erm, i was planning to do the entire wall - the one between living room and bedroom 3, which i reckon is around 4.5m wide.

i think i'm dead. :jawdrop:

may_dream1, i saw it on 2 walls, at the reception area. we were actually heading to the siloso beach resort but made a turn outside costa sands and i made my mr walk back with me to take pics! haha.

yea, seems like everything that i like is high-maintenance. *big sigh*

i met with one contractor and when i said i want light coloured tiles, 80x80, he went NOOOO...

firstly 80x80 will give you uneven surface (is this true? i mean, is the uneven surface due to workmanship or just the way it is)

and white tiles will turn yellow after 3 mths

so sad

but i think i will insist to go ahead with white tiles

i also wanted a light coloured or white kitchen but contractor also advise against. my mr even said to me "can you be more practical and less stubborn" :unsure:

so sad. now considering to do light-tone oakwood for kitchen. would it look old-fashioned?

i am going for red and white kitchen.

how can tiles turn yellow? i don't understand the way your contractor says it. tiles are made of homogenous, the colour will not change... but if you say white kitchen, maybe the laminate might turn yellowish.... althought that is also a not easy and fast like 3 months. There are a few people here that have white kitchen and they never say its turning yellowish.

as for 80x80 tiles, why would it be uneven?? hmmm.... the workmanship lousy then? hahahaha.....

ICIC..

So how what's the price u got for your unit?COV?

in total about $150k higher than yours. inclusive of $20k cov

very painful on the pockets. you got yourself a really good deal though can't really compare cos different locations.

how can tiles turn yellow? i don't understand the way your contractor says it. tiles are made of homogenous, the colour will not change... but if you say white kitchen, maybe the laminate might turn yellowish.... althought that is also a not easy and fast like 3 months. There are a few people here that have white kitchen and they never say its turning yellowish.

as for 80x80 tiles, why would it be uneven?? hmmm.... the workmanship lousy then? hahahaha.....

tile turn yellow: i also have no idea. hahaha. lucky mr says ok to go ahead with white tiles. maybe the contractor meant the white grout lines will turn yellow and i misunderstood him

white kitchen: i have seen my fren's white kitchen which is still clean-looking after at least 3 years?

80x80 tiles: the reason given is that each tile is not 100% even. so when you join the tiles, there is bound to be some "uneveness". i have witnessed this myself in an ID's home. you can feel the rough edges along some of the grout lines. i think i saw this being discussed in one of the threads as well but i can't remember which one. with 60x60 tiles, the chances are lower.

tile turn yellow: i also have no idea. hahaha. lucky mr says ok to go ahead with white tiles. maybe the contractor meant the white grout lines will turn yellow and i misunderstood him

white kitchen: i have seen my fren's white kitchen which is still clean-looking after at least 3 years?

80x80 tiles: the reason given is that each tile is not 100% even. so when you join the tiles, there is bound to be some "uneveness". i have witnessed this myself in an ID's home. you can feel the rough edges along some of the grout lines. i think i saw this being discussed in one of the threads as well but i can't remember which one. with 60x60 tiles, the chances are lower.

well, the white grout lines can be cleaned. no prolem with that. and you have friend that have white kitchen also no problem. hahahaha....

as for the 80x80, i don't know why it can be so. well, you have to decide then what you want.

u mean clean the grout lines manually using mop/detergent, or there is such a service out there that can clean them after they turn yellow?

I use bleach... :) a good mop is definitely a must!!

one thing that i have decided from even before i got the house - is that die die also want a brick wall.

so one day we were at sentosa costa sands and saw this brick wall at the foyer and LOVE it!

photo3jj.jpg

most likely will do this on the wall where the tv will be. 2-in-1: i get my brick wall and it serves as a tv feature wall as well. yay!!

Hi tangerinez, just dropping by to say hi! :) You know me from Sgbrides.

The resale we bought actually has this feature wall - was done by the previous owners and we're keeping it too! :)

Edited by strikingreality

Hi tangerinez, just dropping by to say hi! :) You know me from Sgbrides.

The resale we bought actually has this feature wall - was done by the previous owners and we're keeping it too! :)

hihi!!! thanks for dropping by! you are so lucky to 'inherit' this! everyone is quoting me at least 3k for this wall...

I also prefer cold tiles as I don't on aircon so stepping on it is not so cold. But if always on aircon, parquet is more comfortable to step on. If keep then cheaper reno loh.

actually not good to step on cold tiles directly (even aircon not on) cos it's easier to bring "cold wind" to your body and cause rheumatism in long run. that's why even at home, it's recommended to wear slippers :) so parquet is good in this sense~

i wish to have parquet floor hahaha... miss the one at my parents' home.... :wub:

Later on we mentioned this to another friend and he said that $499 for a sofa bed is expensive. Any thoughts?

actually $499 is quite ok leh. ikea most simple 2-seater one already cost $359 i think (or more... can't remember) star furniture feedback is quite good so far~

one thing that i have decided from even before i got the house - is that die die also want a brick wall.

so one day we were at sentosa costa sands and saw this brick wall at the foyer and LOVE it!

photo3jj.jpg

most likely will do this on the wall where the tv will be. 2-in-1: i get my brick wall and it serves as a tv feature wall as well. yay!!

nice brick wall! :) though i will never do cos it will be a headache to clean... hahahaha :lol:

actually not good to step on cold tiles directly (even aircon not on) cos it's easier to bring "cold wind" to your body and cause rheumatism in long run. that's why even at home, it's recommended to wear slippers :) so parquet is good in this sense~

i wish to have parquet floor hahaha... miss the one at my parents' home.... :wub:

actually $499 is quite ok leh. ikea most simple 2-seater one already cost $359 i think (or more... can't remember) star furniture feedback is quite good so far~

nice brick wall! :) though i will never do cos it will be a headache to clean... hahahaha :lol:

i know its not good to step on cold tiles but i love the feel..... my body is "heaty" type so easy to get hot so hopefully will not have "wind" in y body. hehehehe...don't know got connection or not.

ya, i think $499 for sofa bed is not ex....

i have the same thinking too..... love the look but not the cleaning. heehehe....

may_dream1, i saw it on 2 walls, at the reception area. we were actually heading to the siloso beach resort but made a turn outside costa sands and i made my mr walk back with me to take pics! haha.

yea, seems like everything that i like is high-maintenance. *big sigh*

i met with one contractor and when i said i want light coloured tiles, 80x80, he went NOOOO...

firstly 80x80 will give you uneven surface (is this true? i mean, is the uneven surface due to workmanship or just the way it is)

and white tiles will turn yellow after 3 mths

so sad

but i think i will insist to go ahead with white tiles

i also wanted a light coloured or white kitchen but contractor also advise against. my mr even said to me "can you be more practical and less stubborn" :unsure:

so sad. now considering to do light-tone oakwood for kitchen. would it look old-fashioned?

u mean clean the grout lines manually using mop/detergent, or there is such a service out there that can clean them after they turn yellow?

80 x 80 tiles is easier to be uneven becos it's one big piece, it's harder to ensure that whole piece is even as compared to a smaller surface area (60 x 60 or 30 x 30). is not a workmanship problem but is a tile manufacturing problem. that's why 80 x 80 tends to be more expensive too as they will have lower yield during manufacturing and QC (harder to make = more rejects).

but, if you can, use 80 x 80 cos the floor will look nicer and more spacious :good:

for tiles turning yellow, it's something like oxidation esp if there is sunlight i think. you can't reverse the process.

and kitchen with white floor.... hmmmm you can read my complain in my t-blog (Page 7 or 8 i think). BE PREPARED to clean on a daily basis~ :~

and if you are using glossy homo tiles, don't mop floor with bleach!

i know its not good to step on cold tiles but i love the feel..... my body is "heaty" type so easy to get hot so hopefully will not have "wind" in y body. hehehehe...don't know got connection or not.

ya, i think $499 for sofa bed is not ex....

i have the same thinking too..... love the look but not the cleaning. heehehe....

hahahaha "wind" and "heaty-ness" are two different matters... you can be heaty and still have "wind" :lol:

sigh, talking about cleaning......... SIAN :(