tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2011 so we went shopping this weekend! Saturday 20.02.11 1st stop: Univonna Selling: Specializes in leather sofas Location: Genting Lane Served by: Jennifer We asked a friend who used to work in a furniture shop to recommend some reputable shops and this was one of the shops which he introduced. Unfortunately we didn't tell him that we (actually more of myself) are not looking for leather sofas so we ended up in a shop which sells only leather sofas. I was a little 'sian' entering the shop but later learnt that Univonna sells good quality leather sofas. After trying some of the sofas in Univonna, every other shop which we went to, we kept thinking about how comfortable Univonna sofas are - with the soft 'cushioning' (i don't know what they are called haha) and real leather. The designs are not very modern though as they only have a few colours to choose from. We think black is practical but boring, white is really great looking but hard to maintain, off-white is pretty much the same as white and brown doesn't fit the theme that we have in mind etc. And they don't have grey which is what I originally had in mind. But we did KIV a few items: we love this in white. thinking of putting this in the guestroom. but it's expensive. slightly above $1k also saw a daybed (no pics) at ~$700 Jennifer was a patient lady who can probably tell that we are just doing window shopping but still entertained us with our many questions. ------------------------------------------------------------------ 2nd stop: Rozel Selling: Furniture Location: Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 Served by: Alvin Got a shock when we walked into the store. It's quite a huge store but there were no customers. All the staff were sitting on a sofa at the main door, playing with their iphones, chit chatting, etc. Again we were looking at sofas. Saw a grey fabric L-shaped sofa. We like the colour and design but the sofa is definitely not as comfortable as a leather sofa. We are thinking that the sofa might be too big (2.9m IIRC) for our living room. It's made in China and costs ~$1.9k Alvin was helpful, patient and not pushy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2011 3rd stop: Mondi Selling: Furniture Location: Northstar (AMK ave 5) Served by: hmm... didn't get his name This shop is also recommended by our friend. The place sells furniture that looks to be of high quality and the mr did spend some time looking at many of the stuff, including wallpaper and dining tables. However, the things didn't really catch my eye. I think because the furniture is mostly very modern and I'm not really into the modern modern stuff. Nothing really caught our fancy. Hence didn't ask for model numbers, dimensions and price, etc. Which is why we didn't know the name of the guy who served us. And in any case he wasn't very friendly. Maybe because he could tell we won't be buying anything. But I always believe if they spend a little more time with us (friendly yet not overbearing) leaving a good impression, we will be more inclined to visit again. And I have to add, it's not like the shop was crowded. In fact we were the only customers as well. ----------------------------------------------- 4th stop: Star Living Selling: Furniture Location: Northstar (AMK ave 5) Served by: an uncle. didn't ask for his name We popped by this shop since it was a couple of shops beside Mondi. Both of us took a fancy to a sofa bed. It's really really comfy. The cover is made from a waterproof type of fabric, so it feels quite soft. And when it is being let down into a bed, there is no crease when it bends originally. Some sofa beds are made up of 2 separate pieces but this one is just one piece. So there is no discomfort when laying on it. We ALMOST bought it right on the spot. But we stopped ourselves because we are not sure if the colour is too bold (turquoise) and we are not sure if it would fit into our entertainment room (where we intend to place a drum set and keyboard). We thought for a really long time, over an item that costs $499. LOL. Later on we mentioned this to another friend and he said that $499 for a sofa bed is expensive. Any thoughts? The uncle who served us was quite friendly but was a teeny weeny pushy. Kept telling us to buy now, place deposit of $199 because prices will go up soon after the Budget and if this item doesn't suit us, we can buy other items from the store. "Our store is so big, I don't believe you can't find something else that costs $499" he said. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 20, 2011 Welcome! Welcome! Hi guys, shoot me...cos I luv parquet...Tangerinez, your parquet flooring is so beautiful... Anyway, I'm antique and old fashioned... I luv marble, parquet...stuff which is of natural colouring/lines/designs that we can't control..To me, that's the beauty. Mashmallow's broken marble flooring also very nice... But due to $$$, I can't afford marble flooring for my new hse living room... So ex loh.... thanks friends78! hey, it actually makes me feel better that you think the parquet flooring is beautiful. guess i'll try to look at it from another angle. i'm actually very old fashioned too and i like lines and natural stone as well but i dunno why i just don't like parquet. at first we wanted to do marble flooring for living room too. but we got frightened by the horror stories about stains. so we will probably go for homogeneous tiles. sidetrack: it's really interesting chatting with you guys because i've seen all your t-blogs before! haha... so many many hours spent on RT during the days when we couldn't find the right place to buy. now realize have to start reading all over again cos back then i didn't take notes. now got to research all over again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 21, 2011 Hi guys, shoot me...cos I luv parquet...Tangerinez, your parquet flooring is so beautiful... Anyway, I'm antique and old fashioned... I luv marble, parquet...stuff which is of natural colouring/lines/designs that we can't control..To me, that's the beauty. Mashmallow's broken marble flooring also very nice... But due to $$$, I can't afford marble flooring for my new hse living room... So ex loh.... hi friends78, no one going to shoot you. Haha... I like natural lines too so most if not all my tiles have the look of marble. Cannot afford real marble, whether it's full piece or broken. But for parquet, maybe I have bad experience before. The bedrooms in my parents house was parquet and I remembered when I was young, there was white ants attack then have to change everything. Was a headache... So now, don't like parquet. I agreed lah that the parquet is beautiful. If tangerinez likes it then should keep but if me I will change it cos I prefer cold marble looking tiles. Hehe.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 22, 2011 met up with one contractor and we told him we have our own contacts for parquet flooring and even then he recommends to hack the parquet because he thinks it is likely that there are splits (which may lead to white ants). i'm secretly pleased. hopefully can do tiles! haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 22, 2011 Sunday 20.02.11 Only stop: Hafary Selling: Tiles Location: Defu Ave 1 Served by: no one Yes, we are that excited. Decided to go take a look at tiles. Just for fun. We did visit an ID's home a few days before and her flooring was 80x80 homogeneous tiles. really really pretty! So we decided that we want 80x80 tiles as well. The 80x80 tiles in Hafary is really limited but we found something we like anyway. light coloured homogeneous tiles with lines. we love it! The rest of the window shopping at Hafary was basically quite confusing. Too many variety to look at and with no one to help us, we were at a loss. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 22, 2011 one thing that i have decided from even before i got the house - is that die die also want a brick wall. so one day we were at sentosa costa sands and saw this brick wall at the foyer and LOVE it! most likely will do this on the wall where the tv will be. 2-in-1: i get my brick wall and it serves as a tv feature wall as well. yay!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 22, 2011 That brick wall is really special!! I didn't see that though when I went to hafary. Good choice!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 That brick wall is really special!! I didn't see that though when I went to hafary. Good choice!! I also like this kind of brick wall or is it slate wall? intending to use it for my outdoor balcony. BUT the price is not cheap. think it's considered as craft-stones, and selling ard $95 per carton. not too sure how many pieces in one carton; think ard 10 pieces. and might not be very big pieces. Think if only do on one small part of the wall, such as the TV feature wall, might be still ok. But i'm intending to do for all 3 sides of my balcony, so that's quite a huge area. I was quoted ard $2.2K to do my balcony. A slightly cheaper alternative is homogeneous tiles, which actually have slight textured pattern. BUT of coz, it won't look as gd or have the same effect as the craft stone. I saw some tiles, at $4.9 per piece (ard 600mm x 300mm kind). I might be considering that. Some advice given by the contractors for such textured brick-like tiles, etc is that... maintenance issue. If used indoors, over time, may trap dust, unlike normal flat homogeneous tiles. If used outdoors, like my balcony case, unsheltered from sun and rain, algae might grow... you might find it ok, if you're into those rustic look la. BUT I did saw this kind of brick wall being used by HDB for some of the outdoor signage area. Looks gd and ok leh... but don't know if Town Council got go and maintain or not... I'm still hoping to get the homogeneous alternative tiles for the walls and wood-plastic composite (WPC) deck tiles for my balcony... to complete my intend look... but i think just like tat...will set me back at least $5K or so... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 btw, can check out this t-blog. http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=612853 I think he has used the homogenenous alternative brick-wall tiles, I've mentioned for his balcony and toilet. of coz, not as gd as the real one, which has better "3D effect"... but think it's still gd enough and more affordable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 oops... pardon this noob here ok.. may_dream1, the pic is taken from costa sands. i didn't actually see exactly the same in hafary although there is a section in hafary selling similar stuff (but stupid me can't remember whether it's the actual bricks itself or just slate walls) csingeu, eh... i dunno whether it is craft stone or slate wall! wahaha. paiseh. i'm quite bimbo when it comes to these things. guess i have to learn from scratch when the research for reno gets more intense. wow, 5k for the balcony, really expensive! but i'm sure it will look really really nice! if only i also have a balcony to play with. i'm hoping i can afford at least slate wall instead of homogeneous tiles for my tv wall. yea, maintenance may be a pain though... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
azman79 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 Hi, Whre's your location? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 oops... pardon this noob here ok.. may_dream1, the pic is taken from costa sands. i didn't actually see exactly the same in hafary although there is a section in hafary selling similar stuff (but stupid me can't remember whether it's the actual bricks itself or just slate walls) csingeu, eh... i dunno whether it is craft stone or slate wall! wahaha. paiseh. i'm quite bimbo when it comes to these things. guess i have to learn from scratch when the research for reno gets more intense. wow, 5k for the balcony, really expensive! but i'm sure it will look really really nice! if only i also have a balcony to play with. i'm hoping i can afford at least slate wall instead of homogeneous tiles for my tv wall. yea, maintenance may be a pain though... hehehe... sorry, i didn't read that line. costa sands sentosa have such beautiful wall? hhhmm.... nice choice.... makes me want to change my tiles to this as well. hahahahaah..... but will it be easy to clean? too much grooves might be difficult to maintain. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
csingeu 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 hehehe... sorry, i didn't read that line. costa sands sentosa have such beautiful wall? hhhmm.... nice choice.... makes me want to change my tiles to this as well. hahahahaah..... but will it be easy to clean? too much grooves might be difficult to maintain. yes. that's what the IDs/contractors said lor... so many grooves and gaps, easy to trap dust. unless you're prepared to do the maintenance or ok with it. usually, so far, i see people do it for more outdoor areas, esp for landed properties, etc. maybe the rain will wash the dust away... LOL... but the rain may bring abt algae problem... but i think it will look great as a feature wall too (and might not be overly $$$), if area not very big and planned properly lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tangerinez 0 Report post Posted February 23, 2011 may_dream1, i saw it on 2 walls, at the reception area. we were actually heading to the siloso beach resort but made a turn outside costa sands and i made my mr walk back with me to take pics! haha. yea, seems like everything that i like is high-maintenance. *big sigh* i met with one contractor and when i said i want light coloured tiles, 80x80, he went NOOOO... firstly 80x80 will give you uneven surface (is this true? i mean, is the uneven surface due to workmanship or just the way it is) and white tiles will turn yellow after 3 mths so sad but i think i will insist to go ahead with white tiles i also wanted a light coloured or white kitchen but contractor also advise against. my mr even said to me "can you be more practical and less stubborn" so sad. now considering to do light-tone oakwood for kitchen. would it look old-fashioned? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites